DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Dai et al. (US 2025/0048316)(hereafter Dai).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Dai discloses a method comprising:
receiving, from a second device, a first side link (SL) positioning reference signal (PRS), based on a first resource (see, Fig. 10, UE-A sending the SL-PRS 1 to UE-B ,1106);
receiving, from the second device, information for at least one resource (see, para [0107], [0114], Based on the information extracted from the sensing operations, the resource selection procedure determines the resource(s) that the UE may use side link transmissions. For that purpose, another interval known as the resource selection window 910 is defined. The resource selection window 910 is defined by the interval n+T1 912 and n+T2 914, where T1 and T2 are two parameters that are determined by the UE implementation); and
transmitting, to the second device, a second SL PRS, based on the at least one resource (see, Fig. 10, the UE- sending the SL-PRS2 , 1008 to the UE-A, [0127], UE-B 1004 transmits SL-PRS 2 1008, which is received by UE-A 1002 after a second time-of-flight TOF-2).
Dai further discloses at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, cause the first device to perform operations, as per claims 14 and 15 (see, para [0198], A user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to perform method steps).
Regarding claim 2, Dai further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first resource and the at least one resource are selected by the second device based on sensing (see, para [0110], [0111], sensing based resource selection procedure).
Regarding claim 3, Dai further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first resource and the at least one resource are resources allocated by a base station (see, fig. 6, base station, 604 allocating resources to the UE, 606-1 and 606-2, see, para [0100]).
Regarding claim 4, Dai further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the information for the at least one resource includes a resource pool index related to the at least one resource or an offset value of the at least one resource from the first resource (see, para [0103], [0104], [0107], A UE can be (pre-) configured with multiple resource pools for transmission (e.g., transmit resource pools (RPs)) and with multiple resource pools for reception (e.g., receive resource RPs). A UE can receive data on resource pools used for SL transmissions by other UEs and transmit on the SL using it transmit RPs, [0162], [0167], the resource pool for positioning 1904 includes a fourth positioning resource window 1916 of duration A and having a fourth set of one or more contiguous positioning resources. In this example, the fourth positioning resource window 1916 is offset from an end of the second positioning resource window 1912 by an offset interval B, and is offset from the start of the next occurrence of the resource pool for positioning 1902 by an offset interval C. In certain aspects, the duration A, offset interval B, and offset interval C may be separately configurable parameters, para [0168]).
Regarding claim 5, Dai further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the information for the at least one resource is received through a control channel related to the first SL PRS (see, para [0101]).
Regarding claim 6, Dai further discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the information for the at least one resource includes information for an SL PRS resource configuration or a location of the at least one resource (see, para [0163]-[0166]).
Regarding claim 7, Dai further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the information for the at least one resource includes information for a resource related to the at least one resource, based on a resource pool related to the first resource and a resource pool related to the at least one resource being different ([0164] Just as anchor positioning resources may be paired, target positioning resources may also be paired in a resource pool for positioning in accordance with certain aspects of the disclosure. FIG. 18 depicts an example side link resource pool 1800, including a resource pool for positioning 1802 that occurs within the side link resource pool 1800 with a configurable periodicity 1804. In certain aspects, the resource pool for positioning 1802 includes a first positioning resource window 1806 having a first set of one or more contiguous target positioning resources, a second positioning resource window 1808 having a second set of one or more contiguous target positioning resources, and a third positioning resource window 1810 having a third set of one or more contiguous anchor positioning resources extending between an end of the first positioning resource window 1806 and a start of the second positioning resource window 1808. In accordance with certain aspects of the disclosure, the second positioning resource window 1808 may be followed by a fourth positioning resource window 1812 having a fourth set of one or more contiguous positioning resources that may be dedicated to another UE, such as an anchor UE. In this example, the first positioning resource window 1806 and second positioning resource window 1808 are paired windows and have a configurable duration Z (e.g., as measured in ms, slots, etc.), while the third positioning resource window 1810 has a configurable duration X (e.g., as measured in ms, slots, etc.)).
Regarding claim 8, Dai further discloses the method of claim 7, wherein an offset value of the at least one resource from the first resource is determined based on numerology of the resource pool related to the at least one resource, based on the resource pool related to the first resource and the resource pool related to the at least one resource being different ([0167] In certain aspects, the resource pool for positioning 1904 includes a fourth positioning resource window 1916 of duration A and having a fourth set of one or more contiguous positioning resources. In this example, the fourth positioning resource window 1916 is offset from an end of the second positioning resource window 1912 by an offset interval B, and is offset from the start of the next occurrence of the resource pool for positioning 1902 by an offset interval C. In certain aspects, the duration A, offset interval B, and offset interval C may be separately configurable parameters).
Regarding claim 9, Dai further discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the offset value is determined based on a priority or a latency requirement related to an SL PRS (see, para [0168]).
Regarding claim 10, Dai further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a time distance between the at least one resource and the first resource is greater than equal to a minimum gap (see, para [0173], the first positioning resource and the second positioning resource may be reserved based on a duration of time between the first positioning resource and the second positioning resource being greater than a minimum time threshold).
Regarding claim 12, Dai further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first resource is a resource to which a second resource is reselected by the second device, wherein the at least one resource is a resource to which a third resource is reselected by the second device, based on an interval between the first resource and the third resource being smaller than a threshold value, and wherein the second resource and the third resource are reserved by the second device (see, para [0115], the transmitting UE performs the resource selection from the identified candidate resources by reserving the selected resources in its SCI transmission. [0184], reserving the third positioning resource based on the third positioning resource being spaced from the first positioning resource by a first time interval and from the second positioning resource by a second time interval, wherein a difference between a duration of the first time interval and a duration of the second time interval is less than a differential threshold time value).
Regarding claim 13, Dai further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first resource is a resource to which a second resource is reselected by the second device, and wherein the second resource is reelected to the first resource such that an interval between the second resource and the at least one resource is greater than equal to a threshold value (see, para [0173], As will be appreciated, a technical advantage of the method 2000 is the availability of greater number of positioning resources for allocation to two-phase positioning methods in which the positioning resources may be readily allocated in a manner to meet timing thresholds that mitigate the effect of clock drift errors in positioning measurements. As an example, the first positioning resource and the second positioning resource may be reserved based on a duration of time between the first positioning resource and the second positioning resource being greater than a minimum time threshold, and a third positioning resource may be reserved from the third positioning resource window for transmission of a third PRS by a further UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Manolakos et al. (US 2023/0199522) (hereafter Manolakos).
Regarding claim 11, Dai does not disclose the method, further comprising: selecting at least one second resource based on sensing, based on all transmission for the second SL PRS being failed based on the at least one resource, wherein the second SL PRS is transmitted based on the at least one second resource.
However, in same field of endeavor, Manolakos teaches in para [0136], t stage 760, the UE 500 (e.g., the positioning priority unit 560) determines priority between the positioning session and the radio communication session. The positioning priority unit 560 may determine the priority without instruction from the server 400. The positioning priority unit 560 may send a report to the server 400 indicating the determined priority that the UE 500 will implement (e.g., in a capabilities message). Alternatively, the positioning priority unit 560 may send a request 762 to the server 400 for priority information. For example, the positioning priority unit 560 may request higher priority for positioning in response to insufficient position information having been determined (e.g., a lack of position information determination, failure to meet one or more QoS parameters) and/or in response to a scheduled (e.g., periodic) position information report being imminently due. The UE 500 may request to change the priority or request a specific priority, e.g., of the positioning session over the radio communication session (e.g., an RRM procedure), over DL channels, etc. The request of priority may be part of the request assistance information message 732 (e.g., part of a Request Assistance Data message body) or part of a location information message -10discussed further below. The request for priority may have an associated expiration, e.g., a timer that indicates an amount of time for which the UE 500 is requesting that priority will be in effect (barring a subsequent change in the priority).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Manolakos with the Dai, as a whole, so as to use the second resource for the PRS based on the SL-PRS being failed, the motivation is to providing prioritization between position services and radio communication services.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hu et al. (US 2025/0234329) discloses METHODS AND APPARATUSES FOR SIDELINK POSITIONING.
Hwang et al. (US 12302384) discloses Method Of transmission reception For Side link In a Wireless Communication System and Apparatus Therefor.
Hu et al. (US 2025/0133577) discloses METHODS AND APPARATUSES FOR SIDELINK POSITIONING.
Barbu et al. (US 2025/0113329) discloses HANDOVER OF SIDELINK POSITIONING SESSION.
Hassan et al. (US 2025/0024554) discloses RESOURCE CONFLICT AVOIDANCE IN A SIDELINK RESOURCE POOL.
/DHAVAL V PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631