DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 14-15, 18, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20230328707 hereinafter He) in view of Kumagai et al. (US20240397498 hereinafter Kumagai).
Regarding claims 1 and 30. He teaches the method and apparatus for a random access device (fig. 14 and pars. 0193-0199, teaches communication device 600), comprising: a processor (fig. 14 and pars. 0193-0199, teaches processor 610); and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (fig. 14 and pars. 0193-0199, teaches the processor 610 may invoke and run a computer program from the memory 620 to implement the method in implementations of the disclosure); wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations (fig. 14 and pars. 0193-0199, teaches the processor 610 may invoke and run a computer program from the memory 620 to implement the method in implementations of the disclosure) comprising:
determining configuration information (fig. 11 and pars. 0118-0123, teaches the network device determines, according to a bandwidth capability supported by a terminal device and bandwidth information carried in system information, a frequency domain resource for transmission of first information in a random access procedure. Wherein, the network device can correctly send the first information in the random access procedure. Furthermore, par. 0148, teaches appropriate bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP and appropriate bandwidth of the initial downlink BWP can be configured according to the bandwidth capability of the RedCap terminal. Wherein, par. 0068, teaches the UE may obtain initial downlink BWP configuration information and initial uplink BWP configuration information from the SIB1. Thus, the network device determines the configuration information for the initial downlink BWP configuration information and initial uplink BWP configuration information),
wherein the configuration information is configured to determine an initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP) configured for a terminal (fig. 11 and pars. 0118-0123, teaches the network device determines, according to a bandwidth capability supported by a terminal device and bandwidth information carried in system information, a frequency domain resource for transmission of first information in a random access procedure. Wherein, the network device can correctly send the first information in the random access procedure. Furthermore, par. 0148, teaches appropriate bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP and appropriate bandwidth of the initial downlink BWP can be configured according to the bandwidth capability of the RedCap terminal. Wherein, par. 0068, teaches the UE may obtain initial downlink BWP configuration information and initial uplink BWP configuration information from the SIB1. Thus, the network device determines the bandwidth capability supported by a terminal device in order to determine the initial downlink BWP configuration information and initial uplink BWP configuration information).
However, although He teaches the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal (par. 0068, teaches a random access procedure of the UE may be performed on the initial downlink BWP), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, determining whether the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in a connected state.
Kumagai disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for an initial downlink BWP, so Kumagai is analogous to He. Furthermore, Kumagai teaches determining whether the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in a connected state (pars. 0045-0053, teaches separate initial DL-BWP for the RedCap UE is configured. Wherein, regarding the separate initial DL-BWP and/or initial UL-BWP for the RedCap UE, it is necessary to determine whether to support RRC connected mode and whether to support a random access procedure. Thus, determining whether the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in a connected state. Par. 0196, teaches bandwidth part (BWP) and par. 0153 teaches Radio Resource Control (RRC)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize determining whether the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in a connected state, as disclosed by Kumagai with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communication systems. (see Kumagai pars. 0005-0008)
Regarding claim 2. He and Kumagai teaches the method of claim 1.
However, although He teaches the initial downlink BWP (par. 0148, teaches appropriate bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP and appropriate bandwidth of the initial downlink BWP can be configured according to the bandwidth capability of the RedCap terminal), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in the connected state.
Kumagai further teaches the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in the connected state (pars. 0045-0053, teaches separate initial DL-BWP for the RedCap UE is configured. Wherein, regarding the separate initial DL-BWP and/or initial UL-BWP for the RedCap UE, it is necessary to determine whether to support RRC connected mode and whether to support a random access procedure. Thus, when it is determined that the initial DL-BWP supports a RRC connected mode and a random access procedure is configured for the UE, it reads as the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in the connected state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in the connected state, as disclosed by Kumagai with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communication systems. (see Kumagai pars. 0005-0008)
Regarding claim 5. He and Kumagai teaches the method of claim 2.
However, although He teaches a center frequency of the initial downlink BWP and a center frequency of an initial uplink BWP (pars. 0092-0093 and 0111-0112), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, a center frequency of the initial downlink BWP is consistent with a center frequency of an initial uplink BWP configured for the terminal.
Kumagai further teaches a center frequency of the initial downlink BWP is consistent with a center frequency of an initial uplink BWP configured for the terminal (pars. 0045-0053, teaches the center frequency of this DL-BWP may be the same as that of a separate initial UL-BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a center frequency of the initial downlink BWP is consistent with a center frequency of an initial uplink BWP configured for the terminal, as disclosed by Kumagai with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communication systems. (see Kumagai pars. 0005-0008)
Regarding claim 9. He and Kumagai teaches the method of claim 1.
However, although He teaches the initial downlink BWP (par. 0148, teaches appropriate bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP and appropriate bandwidth of the initial downlink BWP can be configured according to the bandwidth capability of the RedCap terminal), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, the initial downlink BWP does not support random access for the terminal in the connected state.
Kumagai further teaches the initial downlink BWP does not support random access for the terminal in the connected state (Interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict the initial downlink BWP and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i). However, Kumagai teaches this limitation in at least pars. 0045-0053, teaches separate initial DL-BWP for the RedCap UE is configured. Wherein, regarding the separate initial DL-BWP and/or initial UL-BWP for the RedCap UE, it is necessary to determine whether to support RRC connected mode and whether to support a random access procedure. Thus, when it is determined that the initial DL-BWP does not support RRC connected mode and/or does not support the random access procedure reads as the initial downlink BWP does not support random access for the terminal in the connected state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the initial downlink BWP does not support random access for the terminal in the connected state, as disclosed by Kumagai with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communication systems. (see Kumagai pars. 0005-0008)
Regarding claim 14. He teaches a random access method, performed by a terminal and comprising: determining configuration information, wherein the configuration information is configured to determine an initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP) configured for the terminal (par. 0068, teaches the UE receiving the initial downlink BWP configuration information and initial uplink BWP configuration information. Wherein, the UE may perform a random access procedure on the initial downlink BWP and the initial uplink BWP. Whereas it is obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art that the UE would have to make a determination regarding the received initial downlink BWP configuration information and initial uplink BWP configuration information in order to use the initial downlink BWP and the initial uplink BWP for the random access procedure), and
based on the configuration information, performing random access (par. 0068, teaches the UE receiving the initial downlink BWP configuration information and initial uplink BWP configuration information. Wherein, the UE may perform a random access procedure on the initial downlink BWP and the initial uplink BWP).
However, although He teaches the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal (par. 0068, teaches a random access procedure of the UE may be performed on the initial downlink BWP), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, determining whether the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in a connected state.
Kumagai disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a initial downlink BWP, so Kumagai is analogous to He. Furthermore, Kumagai teaches determining whether the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in a connected state (pars. 0045-0053, teaches separate initial DL-BWP for the RedCap UE is configured. Wherein, regarding the separate initial DL-BWP and/or initial UL-BWP for the RedCap UE, it is necessary to determine whether to support RRC connected mode and whether to support a random access procedure. Thus, determining whether the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in a connected state. Par. 0196, teaches bandwidth part (BWP) and par. 0153 teaches Radio Resource Control (RRC)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize determining whether the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in a connected state, as disclosed by Kumagai with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communication systems. (see Kumagai pars. 0005-0008)
Regarding claim 15. He and Kumagai teaches the method of claim 14. He further teaches the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal …(par. 0068, teaches a random access procedure of the UE may be performed on the initial downlink BWP); wherein based on the configuration information (par. 0068, teaches the UE receiving the initial downlink BWP configuration information and initial uplink BWP configuration information. Wherein, the UE may perform a random access procedure on the initial downlink BWP and the initial uplink BWP. Furthermore, pars. 0072-0073, teaches the UE obtaining the bandwidth information obtained from the system information, so that the terminal device can correctly send or receive the first information in the random access procedure, and complete the random access procedure. Wherein, par. 0076, teaches the bandwidth information includes an initial downlink BWP and an initial uplink BWP), performing the random access comprises: performing the random access by using the initial downlink BWP (par. 0068, teaches a random access procedure of the UE may be performed on the initial downlink BWP. Furthermore, pars. 0072-0073, teaches the UE obtaining the bandwidth information obtained from the system information, so that the terminal device can correctly send or receive the first information in the random access procedure, and complete the random access procedure. Wherein, par. 0076, teaches the bandwidth information includes an initial downlink BWP and an initial uplink BWP).
However, although He teaches the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal (par. 0068, teaches a random access procedure of the UE may be performed on the initial downlink BWP), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in the connected state.
Kumagai disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a initial downlink BWP, so Kumagai is analogous to He. Furthermore, Kumagai teaches the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in the connected state (pars. 0045-0053, teaches separate initial DL-BWP for the RedCap UE is configured. Wherein, regarding the separate initial DL-BWP and/or initial UL-BWP for the RedCap UE, it is necessary to determine whether to support RRC connected mode and whether to support a random access procedure. Thus, when the determination is that the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in a connected state, it reads on the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in the connected state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the initial downlink BWP supports random access for the terminal in the connected state, as disclosed by Kumagai with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communication systems. (see Kumagai pars. 0005-0008)
Regarding claim 18. He and Kumagai teaches the method of claim 15.
However, although He teaches a center frequency of the initial downlink BWP and a center frequency of an initial uplink BWP (pars. 0092-0093 and 0111-0112), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, a center frequency of the initial downlink BWP is consistent with a center frequency of an initial uplink BWP configured for the terminal.
Kumagai further teaches a center frequency of the initial downlink BWP is consistent with a center frequency of an initial uplink BWP configured for the terminal (pars. 0045-0053, teaches the center frequency of this DL-BWP may be the same as that of a separate initial UL-BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a center frequency of the initial downlink BWP is consistent with a center frequency of an initial uplink BWP configured for the terminal, as disclosed by Kumagai with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communication systems. (see Kumagai pars. 0005-0008)
Regarding claim 31. He and Kumagai teaches the method of claim 14. He further teaches a random access device (fig. 14 and pars. 0193-0199, teaches communication device 600), comprising: a processor (fig. 14 and pars. 0193-0199, teaches processor 610); and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (fig. 14 and pars. 0193-0199, teaches the processor 610 may invoke and run a computer program from the memory 620 to implement the method in implementations of the disclosure); wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the random access method of claim 14 (fig. 14 and pars. 0193-0199, teaches the processor 610 may invoke and run a computer program from the memory 620 to implement the method in implementations of the disclosure).
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20230328707 hereinafter He), in view of Kumagai et al. (US20240397498 hereinafter Kumagai), in view of Liu et al. (US20250056620 hereinafter Liu), in further view of Agiwal et al. (US20190306827 hereinafter Agiwal).
Regarding claim 3. He and Kumagai teaches the method of claim 2. He further teaches the initial downlink BWP is configured (par. 0068, teaches the UE may obtain initial downlink BWP configuration information and initial uplink BWP configuration information from the SIB1).
However, the combination of He and Kumagai explicitly fails to disclose, the initial downlink BWP is configured …; wherein the initial downlink BWP comprises a common search space for the random access and at least one other common search space, and the at least one other common search space is different from the common search space for the random access.
Liu disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for an initial downlink BWP, so Liu is analogous to He. Furthermore, Liu teaches the initial downlink BWP is configured (pars. 0018-0019 and 0202-0203, teaches the base station sending a first initial downlink (DL) BWP configuration and a second initial DL BWP configuration including multiple common search space (CSS) sets);
wherein the initial downlink BWP comprises a common search space for the random access and at least one other common search space (pars. 0018-0019 and 0202-0203, teaches the base station sending a first initial downlink (DL) BWP configuration and a second initial DL BWP configuration including multiple common search space (CSS) sets. Wherein, at least one of the multiple CSS sets corresponds to a CSS set for random access procedure), and
the at least one other common search space is different from the common search space for the random access (pars. 0018-0019 and 0202-0203, teaches the base station sending a first initial downlink (DL) BWP configuration and a second initial DL BWP configuration including multiple common search space (CSS) sets. Wherein, at least one of the multiple CSS sets corresponds to a CSS set for random access procedure and at least one of the multiple CSS sets corresponds to a CSS set for receiving SIB1 message. Thus, the CSS set for the random access procedure is different than the CSS for receiving a SIB message. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the initial downlink BWP is configured …; wherein the initial downlink BWP comprises a common search space for the random access and at least one other common search space, and the at least one other common search space is different from the common search space for the random access, as disclosed by Liu with the combination of He and Kumagai. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see Liu par. 0004)
However, the combination of He, Kumagai, and Liu explicitly fails to disclose, the initial downlink BWP is configured with a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB).
Agiwal disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for an initial downlink BWP, so Agiwal is analogous to He. Furthermore, Agiwal teaches the initial downlink BWP is configured with a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB) (pars. 0011 and 0052, teaches the configuration of initial DL BWP is signaled in a master information block (MIB). The MIB is transmitted on a PBCH. The PBCH is transmitted in a synchronization signal (SS) block (SSB) together with synchronization signals (i.e., primary SS (PSS)/secondary SS (SSS)). Par. 0008, teaches physical broadcast channel (PBCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the initial downlink BWP is configured with a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB), as disclosed by Agiwal with the combination of He, Kumagai, and Liu. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce unnecessary power consumption and delay. (see Agiwal par. 0018)
Regarding claim 16. He and Kumagai teaches the method of claim 15. He further teaches the initial downlink BWP is configured (par. 0068, teaches the UE may obtain initial downlink BWP configuration information and initial uplink BWP configuration information from the SIB1).
However, the combination of He and Kumagai explicitly fails to disclose, the initial downlink BWP is configured …; wherein the initial downlink BWP comprises a common search space for the random access and at least one other common search space, and the at least one other common search space is different from the common search space for the random access.
Liu disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for an initial downlink BWP, so Liu is analogous to He. Furthermore, Liu teaches the initial downlink BWP is configured (pars. 0018-0019 and 0202-0203, teaches the base station sending a first initial downlink (DL) BWP configuration and a second initial DL BWP configuration including multiple common search space (CSS) sets);
wherein the initial downlink BWP comprises a common search space for the random access and at least one other common search space (pars. 0018-0019 and 0202-0203, teaches the base station sending a first initial downlink (DL) BWP configuration and a second initial DL BWP configuration including multiple common search space (CSS) sets. Wherein, at least one of the multiple CSS sets corresponds to a CSS set for random access procedure), and
the at least one other common search space is different from the common search space for the random access (pars. 0018-0019 and 0202-0203, teaches the base station sending a first initial downlink (DL) BWP configuration and a second initial DL BWP configuration including multiple common search space (CSS) sets. Wherein, at least one of the multiple CSS sets corresponds to a CSS set for random access procedure and at least one of the multiple CSS sets corresponds to a CSS set for receiving SIB1 message. Thus, the CSS set for the random access procedure is different than the CSS for receiving a SIB message. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the initial downlink BWP is configured …; wherein the initial downlink BWP comprises a common search space for the random access and at least one other common search space, and the at least one other common search space is different from the common search space for the random access, as disclosed by Liu with the combination of He and Kumagai. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see Liu par. 0004)
However, the combination of He, Kumagai, and Liu explicitly fails to disclose, the initial downlink BWP is configured with a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB).
Agiwal disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for an initial downlink BWP, so Agiwal is analogous to He. Furthermore, Agiwal teaches the initial downlink BWP is configured with a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB) (pars. 0011 and 0052, teaches the configuration of initial DL BWP is signaled in a master information block (MIB). The MIB is transmitted on a PBCH. The PBCH is transmitted in a synchronization signal (SS) block (SSB) together with synchronization signals (i.e., primary SS (PSS)/secondary SS (SSS)). Par. 0008, teaches physical broadcast channel (PBCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the initial downlink BWP is configured with a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB), as disclosed by Agiwal with the combination of He, Kumagai, and Liu. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce unnecessary power consumption and delay. (see Agiwal par. 0018)
Claims 6, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20230328707 hereinafter He), in view of Kumagai et al. (US20240397498 hereinafter Kumagai), in further view of Chen et al. (US20190150200 hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 6. He and Kumagai teaches the method of claim 2.
However, although He teaches the initial downlink BWP (par. 0148, teaches appropriate bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP and appropriate bandwidth of the initial downlink BWP can be configured according to the bandwidth capability of the RedCap termina), the combination of He and Kumagai explicitly fails to disclose, transmitting exclusive information for the terminal by using the initial downlink BWP.
Chen disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for the initial downlink BWP, so Chen is analogous to He. Furthermore, Chen teaches transmitting exclusive information for the terminal by using the initial downlink BWP (pars. 0006 and 0098, teaches the BS would only transmit the random access response message to the UE on the initial downlink BWP. Wherein, the “the random access response message” reads as exclusive information for the terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize transmitting exclusive information for the terminal by using the initial downlink BWP, as disclosed by Chen with the combination of He and Kumagai. The motivations for doing so would be to balance the resource utilization among the BWPs and further reduce the UE's transmission latency. (see Chen par. 0098)
Regarding claim 12. He and Kumagai teaches the method of claim 9.
However, although He teaches the initial downlink BWP (par. 0148, teaches appropriate bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP and appropriate bandwidth of the initial downlink BWP can be configured according to the bandwidth capability of the RedCap termina), the combination of He and Kumagai explicitly fails to disclose, the configuration information is further configured to determine an active BWP configured for the terminal, and the active BWP comprises a random access resource to perform the random access for the terminal; wherein the active BWP is different from the initial downlink BWP.
Chen further teaches the configuration information is further configured to determine an active BWP configured for the terminal (fig. 8B and par. 0035 teaches the BS configures four uplink BWPs and four downlink BWPs for a UE. Wherein, par. 0048, teaches the BS 2 configures the downlink BWP DLBWP3 as the active downlink BWP to the UE 1. Furthermore, par. 0039, teaches the BS 2 can determine that which uplink BWP needs to be configured with a PRACH and which downlink BWP needs to be configured with the common search space for receiving random access response message. Par. 0002, teaches bandwidth part (BWP)), and
the active BWP comprises a random access resource to perform the random access for the terminal (par. 0098, teaches the BWP configuration mechanism of the present invention enables the UE to transmit a preamble on its active uplink BWP and to receive a random access response message transmitted by the BS on an active downlink BWP corresponding to the active uplink BWP based on a linkage);
wherein the active BWP is different from the initial downlink BWP (fig. 8B and par. 0035 teaches the BS configures four uplink BWPs and four downlink BWPs for a UE. Wherein, par. 0048, teaches the BS 2 configures the downlink BWP DLBWP3 as the active downlink BWP to the UE 1. Moreover, par. 0047, teaches the downlink BWPs configured to the UE 1 by the BS 2 further includes the initial downlink BWP DLBWP1. Thus, the active BWP is different from the initial downlink BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the configuration information is further configured to determine an active BWP configured for the terminal, and the active BWP comprises a random access resource to perform the random access for the terminal; wherein the active BWP is different from the initial downlink BWP, as disclosed by Chen with the combination of He and Kumagai. The motivations for doing so would be to balance the resource utilization among the BWPs and further reduce the UE's transmission latency. (see Chen par. 0098)
Regarding claim 19. He and Kumagai teaches the method of claim 15.
However, although He teaches the initial downlink BWP (par. 0148, teaches appropriate bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP and appropriate bandwidth of the initial downlink BWP can be configured according to the bandwidth capability of the RedCap termina), the combination of He and Kumagai explicitly fails to disclose, receiving exclusive information for the terminal by using the initial downlink BWP.
Chen disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for the initial downlink BWP, so Chen is analogous to He. Furthermore, Chen teaches receiving exclusive information for the terminal by using the initial downlink BWP (pars. 0006 and 0098, teaches the BS would only transmit the random access response message to the UE on the initial downlink BWP. Wherein, the “the random access response message to the UE” reads as exclusive information received by the terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving exclusive information for the terminal by using the initial downlink BWP, as disclosed by Chen with the combination of He and Kumagai. The motivations for doing so would be to balance the resource utilization among the BWPs and further reduce the UE's transmission latency. (see Chen par. 0098)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20230328707 hereinafter He), in view of Kumagai et al. (US20240397498 hereinafter Kumagai), in further view of Rastegardoost et al. (US20240243895 hereinafter Rastegardoost, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/251,014, filed Sep. 30, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Rastegardoost in the rejection below).
Regarding claim 10. He and Kumagai teaches the method of claim 9.
However, although He teaches the initial downlink BWP (par. 0148, teaches appropriate bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP and appropriate bandwidth of the initial downlink BWP can be configured according to the bandwidth capability of the RedCap terminal), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, the initial downlink BWP does not comprise the SSB.
Kumagai further teaches the initial downlink BWP does not comprise the SSB (Interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict the initial downlink BWP and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i). However, Kumagai teaches this limitation in at least par. 0039, teaches the RedCap UE is not required to expect that SSB is to be transmitted in a separate initial DL-BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the initial downlink BWP does not comprise the SSB, as disclosed by Kumagai with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communication systems. (see Kumagai pars. 0005-0008)
However, although He teaches a center frequency of the initial downlink BWP and a center frequency of an initial uplink BWP (pars. 0092-0093 and 0111-0112), the combination of He and Kumagai explicitly fails to disclose, the center frequency of the initial downlink BWP is not consistent with the center frequency of the initial uplink BWP configured for the terminal.
Rastegardoost disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for center frequencies, so Rastegardoost is analogous to He. Furthermore, Rastegardoost teaches the center frequency of the initial downlink BWP is not consistent with the center frequency of the initial uplink BWP configured for the terminal (Interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict the initial downlink BWP and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i). However, Rastegardoost teaches this limitation in at least par. 0311, teaches the center frequency may not be the same for the initial DL BWP and initial UL BWP. Par. 0121, teaches bandwidth parts (BWPs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the center frequency of the initial downlink BWP is not consistent with the center frequency of the initial uplink BWP configured for the terminal, as disclosed by Rastegardoost with the combination of He and Kumagai. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see Rastegardoost par. 0269)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20230328707 hereinafter He), in view of Kumagai et al. (US20240397498 hereinafter Kumagai), in further view of Loehr et al. (US20190253230 hereinafter Loehr).
Regarding claim 23. He and Kumagai teaches the method of claim 14. He further teaches based on the configuration information, performing the random access comprises: … performing random access by using the initial downlink BWP (par. 0068, teaches a random access procedure of the UE may be performed on the initial downlink BWP. Furthermore, pars. 0072-0073, teaches the UE obtaining the bandwidth information obtained from the system information, so that the terminal device can correctly send or receive the first information in the random access procedure, and complete the random access procedure. Wherein, par. 0076, teaches the bandwidth information includes an initial downlink BWP and an initial uplink BWP).
However, although He teaches the initial downlink BWP (par. 0148, teaches appropriate bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP and appropriate bandwidth of the initial downlink BWP can be configured according to the bandwidth capability of the RedCap terminal), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, the initial downlink BWP does not support random access for the terminal in the connected state.
Kumagai further teaches the initial downlink BWP does not support random access for the terminal in the connected state (Interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict the initial downlink BWP and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i). However, Kumagai teaches this limitation in at least pars. 0045-0053, teaches separate initial DL-BWP for the RedCap UE is configured. Wherein, regarding the separate initial DL-BWP and/or initial UL-BWP for the RedCap UE, it is necessary to determine whether to support RRC connected mode and whether to support a random access procedure. Thus, when it is determined that the initial DL-BWP does not support RRC connected mode and/or does not support the random access procedure reads as the initial downlink BWP does not support random access for the terminal in the connected state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the initial downlink BWP does not support random access for the terminal in the connected state, as disclosed by Kumagai with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communication systems. (see Kumagai pars. 0005-0008)
However, the combination of He and Kumagai explicitly fails to disclose, based on the configuration information, performing the random access comprises: stopping performing random access by using the initial downlink BWP.
Loehr disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for performing the random access, so Loehr is analogous to He. Furthermore, Loehr teaches based on the configuration information, performing the random access comprises: stopping performing random access by using the initial downlink BWP (par. 0039, teaches If the active UL BWP has no PRACH resources configured, upon triggering of a RACH procedure, the UE is to switch to the initial DL BWP and UL BWP and perform RACH procedure. Whereas, if the UE is to switch to the initial DL BWP and UL BWP and perform RACH procedure, the UE stops the ongoing Random Access procedure and initiate a Random Access procedure on the new activated BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize based on the configuration information, performing the random access comprises: stopping performing random access by using the initial downlink BWP, as disclosed by Loehr with the combination of He and Kumagai. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see Loehr par. 0040)
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20230328707 hereinafter He), in view of Kumagai et al. (US20240397498 hereinafter Kumagai), in view of Loehr et al. (US20190253230 hereinafter Loehr), in further view of Rastegardoost et al. (US20240243895 hereinafter Rastegardoost, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/251,014, filed Sep. 30, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Rastegardoost in the rejection below).
Regarding claim 24. He, Kumagai, and Loehr teaches the method of claim 23.
However, although He teaches the initial downlink BWP (par. 0148, teaches appropriate bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP and appropriate bandwidth of the initial downlink BWP can be configured according to the bandwidth capability of the RedCap terminal), the apparatus and methods of He explicitly fails to disclose, the initial downlink BWP does not comprise the SSB.
Kumagai further teaches the initial downlink BWP does not comprise the SSB (Interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict the initial downlink BWP and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i). However, Kumagai teaches this limitation in at least par. 0039, teaches the RedCap UE is not required to expect that SSB is to be transmitted in a separate initial DL-BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the initial downlink BWP does not comprise the SSB, as disclosed by Kumagai with the method and apparatus of He. The motivations for doing so would be to improve communication systems. (see Kumagai pars. 0005-0008)
However, although He teaches a center frequency of the initial downlink BWP and a center frequency of an initial uplink BWP (pars. 0092-0093 and 0111-0112), the combination of He and Kumagai explicitly fails to disclose, the center frequency of the initial downlink BWP is not consistent with the center frequency of the initial uplink BWP configured for the terminal.
Rastegardoost disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for center frequencies, so Rastegardoost is analogous to He. Furthermore, Rastegardoost teaches the center frequency of the initial downlink BWP is not consistent with the center frequency of the initial uplink BWP configured for the terminal (Interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict the initial downlink BWP and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i). However, Rastegardoost teaches this limitation in at least par. 0311, teaches the center frequency may not be the same for the initial DL BWP and initial UL BWP. Par. 0121, teaches bandwidth parts (BWPs)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the center frequency of the initial downlink BWP is not consistent with the center frequency of the initial uplink BWP configured for the terminal, as disclosed by Rastegardoost with the combination of He and Kumagai. The motivations for doing so would be to improve efficiency. (see Rastegardoost par. 0269)
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US20230328707 hereinafter He), in view of Kumagai et al. (US20240397498 hereinafter Kumagai), in view of Loehr et al. (US20190253230 hereinafter Loehr), in further view of Chen et al. (US20190150200 hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 26. He, Kumagai, and Loehr teaches the method of claim 23.
However, although He teaches the initial downlink BWP (par. 0148, teaches appropriate bandwidth of the initial uplink BWP and appropriate bandwidth of the initial downlink BWP can be configured according to the bandwidth capability of the RedCap termina), the combination of He, Kumagai, and Loehr explicitly fails to disclose, the configuration information is further configured to determine an active BWP configured for the terminal, and the active BWP comprises a random access resource to perform the random access for the terminal; wherein the active BWP is different from the initial downlink BWP; wherein based on the configuration information, performing the random access further comprises: performing the random access by using the active BWP.
Chen further teaches the configuration information is further configured to determine an active BWP configured for the terminal (fig. 8B and par. 0035 teaches the BS configures four uplink BWPs and four downlink BWPs for a UE. Wherein, par. 0048, teaches the BS 2 configures the downlink BWP DLBWP3 as the active downlink BWP to the UE 1. Furthermore, par. 0039, teaches the BS 2 can determine that which uplink BWP needs to be configured with a PRACH and which downlink BWP needs to be configured with the common search space for receiving random access response message. Par. 0002, teaches bandwidth part (BWP)), and
the active BWP comprises a random access resource to perform the random access for the terminal (par. 0098, teaches the BWP configuration mechanism of the present invention enables the UE to transmit a preamble on its active uplink BWP and to receive a random access response message transmitted by the BS on an active downlink BWP corresponding to the active uplink BWP based on a linkage);
wherein the active BWP is different from the initial downlink BWP (fig. 8B and par. 0035 teaches the BS configures four uplink BWPs and four downlink BWPs for a UE. Wherein, par. 0048, teaches the BS 2 configures the downlink BWP DLBWP3 as the active downlink BWP to the UE 1. Moreover, par. 0047, teaches the downlink BWPs configured to the UE 1 by the BS 2 further includes the initial downlink BWP DLBWP1. Thus, the active BWP is different from the initial downlink BWP);
wherein based on the configuration information, performing the random access further comprises: performing the random access by using the active BWP (par. 0034, teaches the BS 2 would only transmit the random access response message 202 on the downlink BWP DLBWP3 corresponding to the uplink BWP ULBWP3. Thus, in order to receive random access response message 202, the UE 1 has to switch from the current active downlink BWP DLBWP4 to the active downlink BWP DLBWP3 corresponding to the active uplink BWP ULBWP3 according to the linkage between the uplink BWPs and the downlink BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the configuration information is further configured to determine an active BWP configured for the terminal, and the active BWP comprises a random access resource to perform the random access for the terminal; wherein the active BWP is different from the initial downlink BWP; wherein based on the configuration information, performing the random access further comprises: performing the random access by using the active BWP, as disclosed by Chen with the combination of He, Kumagai, and Loehr. The motivations for doing so would be to balance the resource utilization among the BWPs and further reduce the UE's transmission latency. (see Chen par. 0098)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474