DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Currently, claims 1 and 3-8 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 7 & 8 are amended. Claim 2 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments / Amendments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive, see discussion below.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103:
The applicant argued that Gudumasu fails to anticipate at least the features of "wherein, based on the track being a temporal level track, the highest temporal level identifier value is determined as a highest value among temporal level identifiers present in a scalability information box," as recited in amended claim 1.
As to the above argument, Gudumasu discloses the highest temporal level identifier value is determined as a highest value among temporal level identifiers present in a scalability information box by selecting the maximum number of temporal layers to be present in the G-PCC data file to support temporal scalability and distributes the G-PCC frames in the data file to multiple temporal layers (([0275]).
Gudumasu also discloses metadata for each track includes a list of sample description entries, each providing the coding or encapsulation format used in the track and the initialization data for processing that format. Each sample is associated with one of the sample description entries of the track. … Each entry sets forth part of the track time-line by mapping part of the composition timeline or by indicating ‘empty’ time, for example, portions of the presentation timeline that map to no media, also known as an ‘empty’ edit such as shown in the table below ([0097]).
It should be further noted that Applicant has not presented any specific arguments with regards to the rejections of the dependent claims.
Accordingly, Examiner maintains the rejection with regards to above arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 & 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being anticipated by Gudumasu et al. (US 20230281923, hereinafter Gudumasu).
Regarding Claim 1, Gudumasu discloses a method performed by a reception device of point cloud data, the method comprising:
obtaining a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file including the point cloud data ([0106], FIG. 7, data for a geometry-based point cloud compression GPCC item 702 for three G-PCC tiles is carried in three tile items by storing each G-PCC tile in a separate tile item 704, 706, 708); and
obtaining a sample group description box with a predetermined group type from the G-PCC file ([0117]-[0119], A G-PCC tile track is identified by a GPCCTileSampleEntry sample description. The sample entry type for a G-PCC geometry or attribute tile track is ‘gpt1’ with Sample Entry Type: ‘gpt1’ and Sample Description Box (‘stsd’));
wherein, based on the sample group description box being present in a track in the G-PCC file ([0112], G-PCC base track uses a GPCCSampleEntry with a sample entry type of ‘gpcb’when the G-PCC data file contains multiple tiles and the tile data is carried in geometry tile tracks and attribute tile tracks ), an entry count in the sample group description box is equal to a value obtained by adding 1 to a highest temporal level identifier value included in the track ([0275], [0312], select the maximum number of temporal layers to be present in the G-PCC data file to support temporal scalability and distributes the G-PCC frames in the data file to multiple temporal layers; and temporal level sample group ‘tele’ indicates a TemporalId value and the sample with temporal level TemporalId is mapped to the sample group description index TemporalId+1 (adding 1 to a highest temporal level identifier); [0366]); and
wherein, based on the track being a temporal level track, the highest temporal level identifier value is determined as a highest value among temporal level identifiers present in a scalability information box([0275], select the maximum number of temporal layers to be present in the G-PCC data file to support temporal scalability and distributes the G-PCC frames in the data file to multiple temporal layers; [0097], metadata for each track includes a list of sample description entries, each providing the coding or encapsulation format used in the track and the initialization data for processing that format. Each sample is associated with one of the sample description entries of the track. … Each entry sets forth part of the track time-line by mapping part of the composition timeline or by indicating ‘empty’ time, for example, portions of the presentation timeline that map to no media, also known as an ‘empty’ edit such as shown in the table below;
Regarding Claim 3, Gudumasu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, based on the track being a temporal level tile track, the highest temporal level identifier value is determined based on whether a tile scalability information box is present in the temporal level tile track ([0275], select the maximum number of temporal layers to be present in the G-PCC data file to support temporal scalability and distributes the G-PCC frames in the data file to multiple temporal layers; [0097], metadata for each track includes a list of sample description entries, each providing the coding or encapsulation format used in the track and the initialization data for processing that format. Each sample is associated with one of the sample description entries of the track. … Each entry sets forth part of the track time-line by mapping part of the composition timeline or by indicating ‘empty’ time).
Regarding Claim 4, Gudumasu discloses the method of claim 3, wherein, based on the tile scalability information box being present in the temporal level tile track, the highest temporal level identifier value is determined as a highest value among temporal level identifiers present in the tile scalability information box ([0366], A maximum number of temporal layers present in a data file including the timed-metadata track may be identified in the data file. A geometry tile track may signal at least one temporal layer identifier of G-PCC samples present in the geometry tile track. A samples of a G-PCC component of a geometry tile track may be grouped based on temporal level of each sample; [0097], metadata for each track includes a list of sample description entries, each providing the coding or encapsulation format used in the track and the initialization data for processing that format. Each sample is associated with one of the sample description entries of the track. … Each entry sets forth part of the track time-line by mapping part of the composition timeline or by indicating ‘empty’ time).
Regarding Claim 5, Gudumasu discloses the method of claim 3, wherein, based on the tile scalability information box not being present in the temporal level tile track, the highest temporal level identifier value is determined as a highest value among temporal level identifiers present in a scalability information box in a tile base track, andwherein the tile base track references the temporal level tile track ([0366], A maximum number of temporal layers present in a data file including the timed-metadata track may be identified in the data file. A geometry tile track may signal at least one temporal layer identifier of G-PCC samples present in the geometry tile track. A samples of a G-PCC component of a geometry tile track may be grouped based on temporal level of each sample; [0097], metadata for each track includes a list of sample description entries, each providing the coding or encapsulation format used in the track and the initialization data for processing that format. Each sample is associated with one of the sample description entries of the track. … Each entry sets forth part of the track time-line by mapping part of the composition timeline or by indicating ‘empty’ time).
Regarding Claim 6, Gudumasu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, based on a predetermined box being present in a temporal level tile track, the entry is identified based on a value of a sample group description index ([0312], temporal level sample group ‘tele’ indicates a TemporalId value and the sample with temporal level TemporalId is mapped to the sample group description index TemporalId+1 (adding 1 to a highest temporal level identifier); [0366]).
Regarding Claim 7, method performed by a transmission device claim 7 of using the corresponding reception device claimed in claim 1, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding Claim 8, reception device claim 8 of using the corresponding reception method claimed in claim 1, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487