CTNF 18/858,879 CTNF 80300 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “ pf ”, where pf represents the power coefficient and is unbounded, and the claim also recites “ (2-pf) * f(t) ” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation because it limits the range of pf to be pf < 2 . That is, if the modified blocking window is (2-pf) * f(t) , a power coefficient of pf = 2 would result in a modified blocking window of 0. Additionally, any power coefficient pf > 2 would result in a negative blocking window, which would be non-functional in the context of the recited method. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Phillippe et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2010/0283639, hereinafter “Phillippe”) . In regard to claim 1, Phillippe discloses a method comprising: receiving an initial time-domain audio signal (Fig. 10A, step 101, a digital signal is received, paragraph [0122]; comprising a time-domain audio signal, paragraph [0013]); modifying an initial blocking window, based on a power coefficient, to generate a modified blocking window (step 102, a modified weighting window is generated, paragraphs [0042-0047] and paragraph [0122]; where the window is selected such that gain factor D(n) applied at synthesis corrects distortions caused by the modified window, paragraphs [0086-0088]); generating a blocked time-domain audio signal using the modified blocking window (step 103, the analysis weighting window is applied to the signal, paragraph [0122]); transforming the blocked time-domain audio signal to generate a frequency-domain audio signal (the signal is encoded, paragraph [0122]; by transforming the signal into the frequency domain using an MDCT, paragraph [0016]); and compressing the frequency-domain audio signal to generate a compressed frequency- domain audio signal (step 104, the signal is encoded, paragraph [0122]; thus compressing the signal, paragraph [0008]). In regard to claim 2, Phillippe discloses generating a data packet including the compressed frequency-domain audio signal and the power coefficient (the coded signal and an indication of the modified window from which the gain correction can be determined are provided to a decoder, paragraphs [0122-0123]). In regard to claim 3, Phillippe discloses storing the compressed frequency-domain audio signal and the power coefficient (stored in computer memory, paragraph [0125]). In regard to claim 4, Phillippe discloses the modified blocking window is of an encoder (a coder, paragraph [0122]), a decoder blocking window is different from the modified blocking window (a decoder uses a time reversed and gain corrected window, paragraphs [0086] and [0123]), and a product of the modified blocking window with the decoder blocking window at an instance of the modified blocking window is equal to an amplitude of one (1) (see paragraph [0079], the first line of the disclosed equation shows that a product of the modified analysis window h a2 (n) and the synthesis window h s2 (n) equals 1). In regard to claim 6, Phillippe discloses the initial blocking window includes a first portion, a second portion and a third portion, and modifying the initial blocking window to generate the modified blocking window includes modifying the first portion based on the power coefficient and modifying the third portion based on the power coefficient (any window can arbitrarily be divided into “a first portion, a second portion and a third portion”; Phillippe discloses in Fig. 7 a window that includes a portion from samples 0:M, a portion from samples M:2M-Mz, and a portion from Mz:2M, paragraph [0098]); additionally, Phillippe discloses the gain factor D(n) is applied across the entire frame, see paragraphs [0086-0089]; therefore, the modified frame “includes modifying the first portion based on the power coefficient and modifying the third portion based on the power coefficient”, because these portions are part of the entire modified frame). In regard to claim 7, Phillippe discloses the power coefficient is generated based on the initial time-domain audio signal (based on minimizing the encoding entropy of the initial time-domain audio signals transformed to the frequency-domain, paragraph [0067]). In regard to claim 8, Phillippe discloses the power coefficient is generated based on an entropy associated with the compressing of the frequency- domain audio signal (based on minimizing the encoding entropy of the initial time-domain audio signals transformed to the frequency-domain, paragraph [0067]). In regard to claim 9, Phillippe discloses the power coefficient is generated based on the initial time-domain audio signal, and the power coefficient is modified based on an entropy associated with the compressing of the frequency- domain audio signal (based on minimizing the encoding entropy of the initial time-domain audio signals transformed to the frequency-domain, paragraph [0067]). In regard to claim 10, Phillippe discloses the initial time- domain audio signal is associated with a first timespan (an immediately preceding frame, paragraph [0066]), the method further comprising: detecting a change in the initial time-domain audio signal from the first timespan to a second timespan (the window for the current frame is independently selected and different from the preceding frame, thus the analyzed time-domain audio signal must have changed compared to the preceding frame, paragraphs [0065-0069]); and changing the power coefficient based on the second timespan (the window for the current frame is independently selected and different from the preceding frame, thus the gain factor must also be changed compared to the preceding frame, paragraphs [0065] and [0086-0089]). In regard to claim 11, Phillippe discloses the blocked time-domain audio signal is a portion of the initial time-domain audio signal over a timespan equal to a timespan associated with the modified blocking window (see Figs. 3 and 7, windows span from 0:2M samples, paragraphs [0030] and [0098]). In regard to claim 12, Phillippe discloses the frequency- domain audio signal includes a frequency content representation of the blocked time-domain audio signal (transforming the signal into the frequency domain using an MDCT, paragraph [0016]). In regard to claim 13, Phillippe discloses a method comprising: receiving a formatted data packet including a compressed frequency-domain audio signal and a power coefficient (the coded audio signal and an indication of the modified window from which the gain correction can be determined are received from an encoder, paragraph [0123]; decompressing the compressed frequency-domain audio signal (the audio signal is decoded by the decoder, paragraph [0124]); transforming the decompressed frequency-domain audio signal into a blocked time- domain audio signal (the decoded signal is transformed to a time-domain signal, paragraph [0124]); modifying an initial blocking window based on a power coefficient to generate a modified blocking window (the gain correction is applied to synthesis windows, paragraph [0124]); and generating a reconstructed time-domain audio signal based on the blocked time-domain audio signal using the modified blocking window (the gain corrected windows are applied to generate perfect reconstruction of the original signal, paragraph [0124]). In regard to claim 15, Phillippe discloses an encoder blocking window is different as compared to the modified blocking window (a decoder uses a time reversed and gain corrected window, paragraphs [0086] and [0123]), and a product of the modified blocking window with the encoder blocking window at an instance of the modified blocking window is equal to an amplitude of one (1) (see paragraph [0079], the first line of the disclosed equation shows that a product of the modified analysis window h a2 (n) and the synthesis window h s2 (n) equals 1). In regard to claim 16, Phillippe discloses the initial blocking window includes a first portion, a second portion and a third portion, and modifying the initial blocking window to generate the modified blocking window includes modifying the first portion based on the power coefficient and modifying the third portion based on the power coefficient (any window can arbitrarily be divided into “a first portion, a second portion and a third portion”; Phillippe discloses in Fig. 7 a window that includes a portion from samples 0:M, a portion from samples M:2M-Mz, and a portion from Mz:2M, paragraph [0098]); additionally, Phillippe discloses the gain factor D(n) is applied across the entire frame, see paragraphs [0086-0089]; therefore, the modified frame “includes modifying the first portion based on the power coefficient and modifying the third portion based on the power coefficient”, because these portions are part of the entire modified frame). In regard to claim 17, Phillippe discloses the power coefficient is generated based on an input audio signal corresponding to the reconstructed time- domain audio signal (based on minimizing the encoding entropy of the initial time-domain audio signals transformed to the frequency-domain, paragraph [0067]). In regard to claim 18, Phillippe discloses the power coefficient is generated based on an entropy associated with the compressing of the frequency- domain audio signal (based on minimizing the encoding entropy of the initial time-domain audio signals transformed to the frequency-domain, paragraph [0067]). In regard to claim 19, Phillippe discloses the power coefficient is generated based on an input audio signal corresponding to the reconstructed time-domain audio signal, and the power coefficient is modified based on an entropy associated with the compressing of the frequency- domain audio signal (based on minimizing the encoding entropy of the initial time-domain audio signals transformed to the frequency-domain, paragraph [0067]). In regard to claim 20, Phillippe discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions stored thereon (computer program stored in memory, paragraph [0125]) that, when executed by at least one processor, are configured to cause a computing system to: receive an initial time-domain audio signal (Fig. 10A, step 101, a digital signal is received, paragraph [0122]; comprising a time-domain audio signal, paragraph [0013]); modify an initial blocking window, based on a power coefficient, to generate a modified blocking window (step 102, a modified weighting window is generated, paragraphs [0042-0047] and paragraph [0122]; where the window is selected such that gain factor D(n) applied at synthesis corrects distortions caused by the modified window, paragraphs [0086-0088]); generate a blocked time-domain audio signal using the modified blocking window (step 103, the analysis weighting window is applied to the signal, paragraph [0122]); transform the blocked time-domain audio signal to generate a frequency-domain audio signal (the signal is encoded, paragraph [0122]; by transforming the signal into the frequency domain using an MDCT, paragraph [0016]); and compress the frequency-domain audio signal to generate a compressed frequency- domain audio signal (step 104, the signal is encoded, paragraph [0122]; thus compressing the signal, paragraph [0008]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillippe, in view of Hedelin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2025/0069616, hereinafter “Hedelin”) . In regard to claim 14, Phillippe does not expressly disclose playing back the reconstructed time-domain audio signal. Hedelin discloses a method for decoding an encoded audio signal comprising playing back the reconstructed time-domain audio signal (an encoded audio signal is decoded by a decoder for playback, paragraph [0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to play back the reconstructed time-domain audio signal, because it would allow a person to hear the audio signal . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Price, Goodwin et al., Deruty, Chebiyyam et al., Otani, Takada, Lecomte et al., Gerrits et al., Sinha et al., Youn, Link, and Herre disclose additional audio coding systems that modify the gain of window functions. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRIAN LOUIS ALBERTALLI whose telephone number is (571)272-7616. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8AM-3PM, 4PM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Bhavesh Mehta can be reached at 571-272-7453. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. BLA 5/14/26 /BRIAN L ALBERTALLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656 Application/Control Number: 18/858,879 Page 2 Art Unit: 2656 Application/Control Number: 18/858,879 Page 3 Art Unit: 2656 Application/Control Number: 18/858,879 Page 4 Art Unit: 2656 Application/Control Number: 18/858,879 Page 5 Art Unit: 2656 Application/Control Number: 18/858,879 Page 6 Art Unit: 2656 Application/Control Number: 18/858,879 Page 7 Art Unit: 2656 Application/Control Number: 18/858,879 Page 8 Art Unit: 2656 Application/Control Number: 18/858,879 Page 9 Art Unit: 2656