DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Regarding Claim 4, line 1, it appears that the term “pusher” should be changed to “pusher component.”
Regarding Claim 6, line 2, it appears that the term “second” should be changed to “a second.”
Regarding Claim 11, line 1, it appears that the term “chamber” should be changed to “chambers.”
Regarding Claim 11, line 2, perhaps the language “to direct the direct” should be changed to “to direct.”
Regarding Claim 12, line 1, it appears that the term “chamber” should be changed to “chambers.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gaudinot et al. (PCT No. WO 2015/117878 A1, hereinafter “Gaudinot”).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Gaudinot discloses a circuit interrupter (Abstract) comprising: a plurality of mounting components (FIG. 1) for receiving a first busbar (21a; FIG. 2) and a second bus bar component (21b; FIG. 2), wherein the plurality of mounting components are comprised of an insulating material (p. 2, the 4th to the last paragraph, of the attached English machine translation), an arc chamber (60, 61a, 61b) for providing a primary arc path for a current between the first and second busbar components (FIGS. 1 and 2), and a pyrotechnic charge (40; FIG. 1) and pusher component (30) located in between the first and second busbar components (FIG. 2) and the arc chamber (60, 61a, 61b), wherein the pusher component (30) can be triggered upon detection of a fault to direct ionized particles or resulting gases toward the arc chamber (60, 61a, 61b; as shown when comparing FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, where the pusher has been triggered in FIG. 2) and wherein the pusher component (30) is comprised of an insulating material (p. 6, line 5, of the attached English machine translation).
Regarding Claim 2, Gaudinot discloses that the circuit interrupter is associated with a first operating state (FIG. 1) in which current flow occurs between a unitary bus bar component, the unitary busbar component including the first and second bus bar components (21a, 21b; IG. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Gaudinot discloses that the pyrotechnic charge (40) is configured to fracture the unitary bus bar component to form the first and second bus bar components (21a, 21b; FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Gaudinot discloses that the pusher [component 30] is configured to bend the first busbar component (21a) and the second bus bar components (p. 5, the last paragraph, of the attached English machine translation).
Regarding Claim 5, Gaudinot discloses that the arc chamber (60, 61a, 61b) comprises interlocking or interdigitated insulating plates configured to separate out discharge (p. 5, the 3rd to the last paragraph, of the attached English machine translation).
Regarding Claim 6, Gaudinot discloses that the circuit interrupter is associated with [a] second operating state in which typical current flow in the busbar is prevented (via positioning of plunger 30; FIG. 2) and in which any potential resulting arcs are directed to the arc chamber (FIG. 2).
Claim 7 includes language similar to that of Claim 1 and is rejected for reasons at least similar to those discussed above.
Regarding Claim 8, Gaudinot discloses that an associated unitary bus bar component comprises a weakening feature (a thinning of the busbar at an approximate midpoint between 23a and 23b).
Claim 9 includes language similar to that of Claim 5 and is rejected for reasons at least similar to those discussed above.
Regarding Claim 10, Gaudinot discloses that the arc chamber (60, 61a, 61b) further comprises a plurality of chambers, the plurality of chambers configured to receive the discharge when the pyrotechnic charge (40) is triggered (FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Gaudinot discloses that the plurality of chamber[s] are further configured to direct [the direct] the discharge in a downward direction (FIG. 1, when rotated 90 degrees, gases would direct towards a bottom surface; e.g., where 51, 53, and 453 are identified).
Regarding Claim 12, Gaudinot discloses that the plurality of chamber[s] are isolated to prevent combination of exhaust (FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Gaudinot discloses that the force comprises a shockwave (p. 5, the last paragraph).
Regarding Claim 14, Gaudinot discloses that in the second operation state any potential resulting arcs are directed to an arc chamber (60, 61a, 61b; FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Gaudinot discloses a circuit interrupter (FIG. 1) comprising: a plurality of mounting components for receiving bus bar components (e.g., housing 10 an internal wall surfaces supporting, e.g., 21a, 21b, 60, etc.; FIG. 2), wherein the plurality of mounting components are comprised of an insulating material (p. 2, the 4th to the last paragraph, of the attached English machine translation), an arc chamber (60, 61a, 61b) for providing a primary arc path for a current between a first bus bar component (21a; FIG. 2) and a second bus bar component (21b; FIG. 2), and means for directing ionized particles or resulting gases toward the arc chamber (60, 61a, 61b) upon detection of a fault (FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Gaudinot discloses that the means for directing ionized particles or resulting gases toward the arc chamber (60, 61a, 61b) upon detection of a fault includes a pyrotechnic charge (40) and pusher component (30) located in between the first and second busbar components and the arc chamber (60, 61a, 61b; FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Gaudinot discloses the arc chamber (60, 61a, 61b) comprises interlocking or interdigitated insulating plates configured to separate out discharge (FIGS. 1 and 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Poeltl et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2025/0385060 A1) discloses a pyrotechnic current breaker for severing a conductor by means of a severing piston but does not disclose the plates recited in Claim 5.
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831