DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (USPGPub 2022/0322115).
As per claim 1, Zhou teaches a method for configuring inter-cell measurements at a user equipment (UE), (Zhou, see paragraph [0007], inter-cell mobility of a UE across serving and non-serving cells is based on layer 1 measurements) the method implemented in a radio access network (RAN) node (Zhou, see paragraph [0051], radio access technology (RAT) mobility) and comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, a resource set including (i) a list of N resources including synchronization signal block (SSB) indices for signal measurement (Zhou, see paragraph [0007], The UE also receives the one or more reference signals from the non-serving cell. The UE may perform the L1 measurements on a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Note: this is transmitted to the UE)) and (ii) a list of N indices corresponding to the N resources, each index in the list of N indices referencing an identifier of a cell with which the signal measurement is associated (Zhou, see paragraph [0082], the UE receives, from the serving cell, a resource configuration configuring resources of one or more reference signals from a non-serving cell. The one or more reference signals may include at least one of a SSB, a CSI-RS, or a PRS from the non-serving cell. The reception of the resource configuration may be performed, e.g., by a reception component 830 and/or a configuration component 840 of the apparatus) and receiving, from the UE, a measurement report based on the resource set (Zhou, see paragraph [0076], the UE may report, by transmitting to the serving cell, the L1 measurements of the one or more reference signals received from the one or more non-serving cells. The transmission of the report may be performed, e.g., by the report component 846 and/or the transmission component 834 of the apparatus 802).
As per claim 2, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the identifier of a cell is a physical cell identifier (PCI), and the index is a PCI index (Zhou, see paragraph [0048], the UE can determine a physical cell identifier (PCI). Based on the PCI).
As per claim 3, Zhou teaches the method of claim 2, wherein: the PCI index is in a range of [0, 7]. (Zhou, see paragraph [0029], an Evolved Packet Core (EPC) 160, and another core network 190 (e.g., a 5G Core (5GC)). (Note: physical cell identity for 5G ranges from 0 to 1007)).
As per claim 4, Zhou teaches the method of claim 2 wherein: the PCI is in a range of [0, 1007]. (Zhou, see paragraph [0029], an Evolved Packet Core (EPC) 160, and another core network 190 (e.g., a 5G Core (5GC)). (Note: physical cell identity for 5G ranges from 0 to 1007)).
As per claim 5, Zhou teaches the method of claim 2 further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, a ServingCellConfig information element (IE) including a list of PCIs, wherein the PCI index refers to the list of PCIs (Zhou, see paragraph [0067], csi-SSB-ResourceList-r17 SEQUENCE (SIZE(1..maxNrofCSI-SSB- ResourcePerSet)) OF SSB-Index, csi-SSB-PcIList-r17 SEQUENCE (SIZE(1..maxNrofCSI-SSB- ResourcePerSet)) OF PhysCellID }
where the parameter csi-SSB-ResourceSetId-r17 configures the SSB resource set identifier, the list csi-SSB-ResourceList-r17 configures a sequence of SSB indexes, and the list csi-SSB-PcIList-r17 configures a sequence of physical cell identifiers for the sequence of SSB indexes.).
As per claim 6, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1 wherein: the index set to zero references a serving cell. (Zhou, see paragraph [0043], The L1 measurement configuration component 199 may also be configured to transmit to the UE 104, via the serving cell, a report configuration to report the L1 measurements of the one or more reference signals from the non-serving cell. Also see paragraph [0045], For slot configuration 0, each slot may include 14 symbols, and for slot configuration 1, each slot may include 7 symbols. The symbols on DL may be cyclic prefix (CP) OFDM (CP-OFDM) symbols).
As per claim 7, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the transmitting of the resource set includes: transmitting a CSI-SSB-ResourceSet information element (IE), wherein the list of the resources and the list of indices are respective fields in the IE. (Zhou, see paragraph [0085], …CSI-SSB-ResourceSet-17 ::= SEQUENCE {csi-SSB-ResourceSetId-r17 CSI-SSB-ResourceSetId-r17, csi-SSB-ResourceList-r17 SEQUENCE (SIZE(1..maxNrofCSI-SSB- ResourcePerSet)) OF SSB-Index, csi-SSB-PcIList-r17 SEQUENCE (SIZE(1..maxNrofCSI-SSB- ResourcePerSet)) OF PhysCellID } where the parameter csi-SSB-ResourceSetId-r17 configures the SSB resource set identifier, the list csi-SSB-ResourceList-r17 configures a sequence of SSB indexes, and the list csi-SSB-PcIList-r17 configures a sequence of physical cell identifiers for the sequence of SSB indexes).
As per claim 8, a method for performing inter-cell measurements, the method implemented in a user equipment (UE) (Zhou, see paragraph [0007], inter-cell mobility of a UE across serving and non-serving cells is based on layer 1 measurements) and comprising:
receiving, from a radio access network (RAN), a resource set including (i) a list of N resources including synchronization signal block (SSB) indices for signal measurement (Zhou, see paragraph [0007], The UE also receives the one or more reference signals from the non-serving cell. The UE may perform the L1 measurements on a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Note: this is transmitted to the UE)) and (ii) a list of N indices corresponding to the N resources , each index in the list referencing an identifier of a cell with which the signal measurement is associated; (Zhou, see paragraph [0082], the UE receives, from the serving cell, a resource configuration configuring resources of one or more reference signals from a non-serving cell. The one or more reference signals may include at least one of a SSB, a CSI-RS, or a PRS from the non-serving cell. The reception of the resource configuration may be performed, e.g., by a reception component 830 and/or a configuration component 840 of the apparatus) and
transmitting, to the RAN, a measurement report based on the resource set (Zhou, see paragraph [0076], the UE may report, by transmitting to the serving cell, the L1 measurements of the one or more reference signals received from the one or more non-serving cells. The transmission of the report may be performed, e.g., by the report component 846 and/or the transmission component 834 of the apparatus 802).
As per claim 9, Zhou teaches the method of claim 8, wherein: the identifier of a cell is a physical cell identifier (PCI), and the index is a PCI index. (Zhou, see paragraph [0048], the UE can determine a physical cell identifier (PCI). Based on the PCI).
As per claim 10, Zhou teaches the method of any of claim 8 further comprising: receiving, from the RAN, a ServingCellConfig information element (IE) including a list of PCIs, wherein the PCI index refers to the list of PCIs. (Zhou, see paragraph [0067], csi-SSB-ResourceList-r17 SEQUENCE (SIZE(1..maxNrofCSI-SSB- ResourcePerSet)) OF SSB-Index, csi-SSB-PcIList-r17 SEQUENCE (SIZE(1..maxNrofCSI-SSB- ResourcePerSet)) OF PhysCellID }
where the parameter csi-SSB-ResourceSetId-r17 configures the SSB resource set identifier, the list csi-SSB-ResourceList-r17 configures a sequence of SSB indexes, and the list csi-SSB-PcIList-r17 configures a sequence of physical cell identifiers for the sequence of SSB indexes.).
As per claim 11, Zhou teaches the method of claim 8 wherein: the index set to zero references a serving cell. (Zhou, see paragraph [0043], The L1 measurement configuration component 199 may also be configured to transmit to the UE 104, via the serving cell, a report configuration to report the L1 measurements of the one or more reference signals from the non-serving cell. Also see paragraph [0045], For slot configuration 0, each slot may include 14 symbols, and for slot configuration 1, each slot may include 7 symbols. The symbols on DL may be cyclic prefix (CP) OFDM (CP-OFDM) symbols).
As per claim 12, Zhou teaches the method of claim 8 wherein the receiving of the resource set includes: receiving a CSI-SSB-ResourceSet information element (IE), wherein the list of the resources and the list of indices are respective fields in the IE. (Zhou, see paragraph [0085], …CSI-SSB-ResourceSet-17 ::= SEQUENCE {csi-SSB-ResourceSetId-r17 CSI-SSB-ResourceSetId-r17, csi-SSB-ResourceList-r17 SEQUENCE (SIZE(1..maxNrofCSI-SSB- ResourcePerSet)) OF SSB-Index, csi-SSB-PcIList-r17 SEQUENCE (SIZE(1..maxNrofCSI-SSB- ResourcePerSet)) OF PhysCellID } where the parameter csi-SSB-ResourceSetId-r17 configures the SSB resource set identifier, the list csi-SSB-ResourceList-r17 configures a sequence of SSB indexes, and the list csi-SSB-PcIList-r17 configures a sequence of physical cell identifiers for the sequence of SSB indexes).
As per claim 13, Zhou teaches radio access network (RAN) node radio access technology (RAT) mobility) comprising:
an antenna set; (Zhou, see paragraph [0037], The base station 180 and the UE 104 may each include a plurality of antennas, such as antenna elements, antenna panels, and/or antenna arrays to facilitate the beamforming) and
a processing hardware configured the RAN node configured to
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a resource set including (i) a list of N resources including synchronization signal block (SSB) indices for signal measurement (Zhou, see paragraph [0007], The UE also receives the one or more reference signals from the non-serving cell. The UE may perform the L1 measurements on a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Note: this is transmitted to the UE)) and (ii) a list of N indices corresponding to the N resources, each index in the list of N indices referencing an identifier of a cell with which the signal measurement is associated; (Zhou, see paragraph [0082], the UE receives, from the serving cell, a resource configuration configuring resources of one or more reference signals from a non-serving cell. The one or more reference signals may include at least one of a SSB, a CSI-RS, or a PRS from the non-serving cell. The reception of the resource configuration may be performed, e.g., by a reception component 830 and/or a configuration component 840 of the apparatus) and receive, from the UE, a measurement report based on the resource set (Zhou, see paragraph [0076], the UE may report, by transmitting to the serving cell, the L1 measurements of the one or more reference signals received from the one or more non-serving cells. The transmission of the report may be performed, e.g., by the report component 846 and/or the transmission component 834 of the apparatus 802).
As per claim 16, Zhou teaches the RAN node of claim 13, wherein: the identifier of a cell is a physical cell identifier (PCI), and the index is a PCI index. (Zhou, see paragraph [0048], the UE can determine a physical cell identifier (PCI). Based on the PCI).
As per claim 17, Zhou teaches the RAN node of claim 16, wherein: the PCI index is in a range of [0, 7]. (Zhou, see paragraph [0029], an Evolved Packet Core (EPC) 160, and another core network 190 (e.g., a 5G Core (5GC)). (Note: physical cell identity for 5G ranges from 0 to 1007)).
As per claim 18, Zhou teaches the RAN node of claim 16, wherein: the PCI is in a range of [0, 1007]. (Zhou, see paragraph [0029], an Evolved Packet Core (EPC) 160, and another core network 190 (e.g., a 5G Core (5GC)). (Note: physical cell identity for 5G ranges from 0 to 1007)).
As per claim 19, Zhou teaches the RAN node of claim 13, further configured to: transmitting, to the UE, a ServingCellConfig information element (IE) including a list of PCIs, wherein the PCI index refers to the list of PCIs. (Zhou, see paragraph [0067], csi-SSB-ResourceList-r17 SEQUENCE (SIZE(1..maxNrofCSI-SSB- ResourcePerSet)) OF SSB-Index, csi-SSB-PcIList-r17 SEQUENCE (SIZE(1..maxNrofCSI-SSB- ResourcePerSet)) OF PhysCellID }
where the parameter csi-SSB-ResourceSetId-r17 configures the SSB resource set identifier, the list csi-SSB-ResourceList-r17 configures a sequence of SSB indexes, and the list csi-SSB-PcIList-r17 configures a sequence of physical cell identifiers for the sequence of SSB indexes.).
As per claim 20, Zhou teaches the RAN node of claim 13, wherein: the index set to zero references a serving cell. (Zhou, see paragraph [0043], The L1 measurement configuration component 199 may also be configured to transmit to the UE 104, via the serving cell, a report configuration to report the L1 measurements of the one or more reference signals from the non-serving cell. Also see paragraph [0045], For slot configuration 0, each slot may include 14 symbols, and for slot configuration 1, each slot may include 7 symbols. The symbols on DL may be cyclic prefix (CP) OFDM (CP-OFDM) symbols).
As per claim 21, Zhou teaches the RAN node of claim 13, wherein to transmitting the resource set, the RAN node is configured to: transmit a CSI-SSB-ResourceSet information element (IE), wherein the list of the resources and the list of indices are respective fields in the IE. (Zhou, see paragraph [0085], …CSI-SSB-ResourceSet-17 ::= SEQUENCE {csi-SSB-ResourceSetId-r17 CSI-SSB-ResourceSetId-r17, csi-SSB-ResourceList-r17 SEQUENCE (SIZE(1..maxNrofCSI-SSB- ResourcePerSet)) OF SSB-Index, csi-SSB-PcIList-r17 SEQUENCE (SIZE(1..maxNrofCSI-SSB- ResourcePerSet)) OF PhysCellID } where the parameter csi-SSB-ResourceSetId-r17 configures the SSB resource set identifier, the list csi-SSB-ResourceList-r17 configures a sequence of SSB indexes, and the list csi-SSB-PcIList-r17 configures a sequence of physical cell identifiers for the sequence of SSB indexes).
Conclusion
/HERMON ASRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449