DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
2. This application, filed October 22, 2024, is the national stage entry of PCT/GB2023/051052, filed April 21, 2023. Pursuant to a pre-examination amendment of the claims, filed October 22, 2024, claims 1-18 are pending in the application. The applicant has cancelled claim 19. The applicant has amended claims 2, 6-9, 12, 16, and 17.
Specification
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. In particular, the title is much too general.
Claim Interpretation
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“communication module” in claims 9, 11, 17, and 18; and
“computing arrangement” in claims 9, 11, 17, and 18..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 9, 11, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, the claim limitation, “communication module” invokes 35 USC. 112(f), but the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the claimed communication function. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application would have recognized that such a function could be performed in any number of ways by hardware alone or by a combination of hardware and software. The specification does not provide sufficient details to inform one of ordinary skill in the art which structure(s) perform(s) the claimed function. For these reasons, claims 1 and 16 are indefinite.
9. Claims 9, 11, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed communication function. The specification does not demonstrate that the applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1, 2, 6, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US 2021/0401061 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Davis discloses:
a container for delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material ([0156], [0169]; FIG. 2) comprising:
a body surrounding a cavity and an opening in the body through which the cavity can be accessed ([0169]; FIG. 2: 58);
a closing arranged to openably close the opening in the body ([0192], [0389]; FIG. 2: 31; FIG. 25B);
Davis does not explicitly disclose a lock for controllably locking the closing, but Davis does disclose electronic apparatuses for controllably locking the container ([0174]; FIG. 3: 72, 82, 84), and Davis does disclose a microcontroller, comprising a processor ([0166], [0192]; FIG. 2: 31), that opens and closes the closing to allow and prevent the flow of a fluid payload through the opening ([0389]), which suggests that this apparatus constitutes a lock for controllably locking the closing for the benefit of controllably opening and closing the closing to allow and prevent the flow of a fluid payload through the opening;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the system of Davis in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the system to controllably open and close the closing to allow and prevent the flow of a fluid payload through the opening;
control circuitry for changing a state of the lock ([0174], [0192]; FIG. 2: 21; FIG. 3: 72, 82, 84);
user authorisation means for verifying a user ([0180], [0186]; FIG. 4: 404); and,
tamper prevention means arranged to impact the cavity when the closing is opened when the lock is in a locked state ([0189]),
wherein the control circuitry is arranged to change a state of the lock to unlock in response to receiving a signal originating from the user authorisation means associated with an authorised user ([0186], [0187]; FIG. 4: 404, 414).
Regarding claim 2, Davis discloses that the lock comprises at least one of a physical locking element and an electrical locking element. ([0192], [0389]; FIG. 2: 31; FIG. 25B)
Regarding claim 6, Davis discloses that the tamper prevention means is arranged to structurally alter or damage delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material, contained in use in the container, in response to contact with the delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material. ([0192], [0389]; FIG. 2: 31; FIG. 25B)
Regarding claim 9, Davis discloses that the user authorisation means comprises at least one of: a face scanner; a projector scanner; a microphone; a fingerprint scanner; an iris scanner; and, a communication module for communicating with at least one of: a remote database; a remote computing arrangement; an onboard database; and, an onboard computing arrangement. ([0154], [0203]; FIG. 3: 72, 74)
Regarding clam 10, Davis discloses:
a system ([0002]) comprising:
a container for delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material ([0156], [0169]; FIG. 2) comprising:
a body surrounding a cavity and an opening in the body through which the cavity can be accessed ([0169]; FIG. 2: 58);
a closing arranged to openably close the opening in the body ([0192], [0389]; FIG. 2: 31; FIG. 25B);
Davis does not explicitly disclose a lock for controllably locking the closing, but Davis does disclose electronic apparatuses for controllably locking the container ([0174]; FIG. 3: 72, 82, 84), and Davis does disclose a microcontroller, comprising a processor ([0166], [0192]; FIG. 2: 31), that opens and closes the closing to allow and prevent the flow of a fluid payload through the opening ([0389]), which suggests that this apparatus constitutes a lock for controllably locking the closing for the benefit of controllably opening and closing the closing to allow and prevent the flow of a fluid payload through the opening;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the system of Davis in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the system to controllably open and close the closing to allow and prevent the flow of a fluid payload through the opening;
control circuitry for changing a state of the lock ([0174], [0192]; FIG. 2: 31; FIG. 3: 72, 82, 84); and,
tamper prevention means arranged to impact the cavity when the closing is opened when the lock is in a locked state ([0189]), and
user authorisation means for verifying a user ([0180], [0186]; FIG. 4: 404),
wherein the control circuitry is arranged to change a state of the lock to unlock in response to receiving a signal originating from the user authorisation means associated with an authorised user ([0186], [0187]; FIG. 4: 404, 414).
Claim 11 is rejected as claim 9.
Regarding claim 12, Davis discloses that the user authorisation means is not integral with the container. ([0174]; FIG. 3: 72, 82, 84)
12. Claims 3-5, 14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis in view of Adelaar et al. (US 10,737,041 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Davis does not disclose that the tamper prevention means comprises at least one compound arranged to be released into the cavity when the closing is opened when the lock is in a locked state.
Adelaar, in the same field of containers for delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material (col. 1, lines 16-18), teaches methods and systems for fluid handling and dispensing liquid substances using vaporization or nebulization in a controlled, safe manner (col. 1, lines 38-41), wherein a tamper prevention means comprises at least one compound arranged to be released into the cavity when the closing is opened when the lock is in a locked state (col. 4, lines 26-36) for the benefit of rendering the substance in the cavity inert, so that it does not provide a narcotic effect, while still being safe to consume (col. 4, lines 26-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Adelaar with the container of Davis because that would have enabled the container to render the substance in the cavity inert, so that it does not provide a narcotic effect, while still being safe to consume.
Regarding claim 4, Davis does not disclose that the at least one compound is arranged to chemically alter delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material, contained in use in the container, in response to contact with the delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material.
Adelaar, in the same field of containers for delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material (col. 1, lines 16-18), teaches methods and systems for fluid handling and dispensing liquid substances using vaporization or nebulization in a controlled, safe manner (col. 1, lines 38-41), wherein a tamper prevention means comprises at least one compound arranged to be released into the cavity and render the substance in the cavity inert when the closing is opened when the lock is in a locked state (col. 4, lines 26-36) for the benefit that the inert substance does not provide a narcotic effect, while still being safe to consume (col. 4, lines 26-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Adelaar with the container of Davis because that would have enabled the inert substance not to provide a narcotic effect, while still being safe to consume.
Regarding claim 5, Davis does not disclose that the at least one compound is arranged to render delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material, contained in use in the container, chemically inert in response to contact.
Adelaar, in the same field of containers for delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material (col. 1, lines 16-18), teaches methods and systems for fluid handling and dispensing liquid substances using vaporization or nebulization in a controlled, safe manner (col. 1, lines 38-41), wherein a tamper prevention means comprises at least one compound arranged to be released into the cavity and render the substance in the cavity inert when the closing is opened when the lock is in a locked state (col. 4, lines 26-36) for the benefit that the inert substance does not provide a narcotic effect, while still being safe to consume (col. 4, lines 26-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Adelaar with the container of Davis because that would have enabled the inert substance not to provide a narcotic effect, while still being safe to consume.
Regarding claim 14, Davis does not disclose detecting an unauthorised access attempt by a user, activating the tamper prevention means to be released into the cavity.
Adelaar, in the same field of containers for delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material (col. 1, lines 16-18), teaches methods and systems for fluid handling and dispensing liquid substances using vaporization or nebulization in a controlled, safe manner (col. 1, lines 38-41), wherein a tamper prevention means comprises at least one compound arranged to be released into the cavity when the closing is opened when the lock is in a locked state (col. 4, lines 26-36) for the benefit of rendering the substance in the cavity inert, so that it does not provide a narcotic effect, while still being safe to consume (col. 4, lines 26-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Adelaar with the container of Davis because that would have enabled the container to render the substance in the cavity inert, so that it does not provide a narcotic effect, while still being safe to consume.
Regarding claim 16, Davis discloses that activating the tamper prevention means comprises at least one of:
releasing a chemical into the cavity to chemically alter the delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material in the cavity; and,
activating a mover to structurally alter or damage the delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material in the cavity ([0192], [0389]; FIG. 2: 31; FIG. 25B).
Regarding claim 17, Davis discloses that verifying, by user authorisation means, a user attempting to access a container of delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material contained in use in a cavity of the container comprises verification using at least one of: a face scanner; a projector scanner; a microphone; a fingerprint scanner; an iris scanner; a mobile device; and, a communication module for communicating with at least one of: a remote database; a remote computing arrangement; an onboard database; and, an onboard computing arrangement. ([0154], [0203]; FIG. 3: 72, 74)
Regarding claim 18, Davis discloses that receiving, by control circuitry, a signal originating from the user authorisation means comprises at least one of:
(i) receiving, by control circuitry, a signal direct from the user authorization means ([0157], [0165]); and,
(ii) sending by a communication module a signal to at least one of:
a remote database;
a remote computing arrangement ([0187]);
an onboard database ([0157], [0166], [0185]); and,
an onboard computing arrangement ([0166], [0186], [0187]),
receiving, by a communication module, a signal from the at least one of:
a remote database;
a remote computing arrangement ([0187]);
an onboard database ([0157], [0166], [0185]); and,
an onboard computing arrangement ([0166], [0186], [0187]),
and sending a signal, by a communication module, to the control circuitry ([0157], [0166], [0187]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
14. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis.
Regarding claim 13, Davis discloses:
a method of preventing unauthorised access to a container for delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material ([0002], [0186], [0189]), the method comprising:
verifying, by user authorisation means, a user attempting to access a container of delivery systems and/or aerosol generating material contained in use in a cavity of the container ([0180], [0186]; FIG. 4: 404);
receiving, by control circuitry, a signal originating from the user authorization means ([0165]; FIG. 2: 36; FIG. 3: 72)
in response to receiving a signal originating from the user authorisation means performing at least one of:
changing, by the control circuitry, a state of a lock of the container ([0174]); and,
activating, by the control circuitry, user authorisation means ([0186]).
Allowable Subject Matter
15. Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOHN F MORTELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689