DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-28 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits: This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/098810 filed 06/15/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/22/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “headroom” in claim 19 is unclear which renders the claim indefinite.
The term “headroom” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yan et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/077886).
As per claim 1, Yan disclose An apparatus (see Fig.12, a communication device 400) for wireless communication at a receiving device (see Fig.12, a communication device 400), comprising:
a memory (see Fig.2, a memory 402); and
one or more processors (see Fig.2, a processor 401), coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive an indication of an upcoming backscatter reading operation (see Fig. 3a, Fig. 3b, para. 0067-0104, 0206-0210, a schematic flowchart of a backscatter communication method according to an embodiment of this application. The backscatter communication method is applicable to an excitation device 10, a backscatter device 20, and a receiving device 30. S301: The excitation device 10 determines a first sequence. S302: The excitation device 10 generates a first signal. S303: The excitation device 10 sends the first signal (corresponding to "transmit a signal to enable the backscatter reading operation/ an upcoming backscatter reading operation "). S304: The excitation device 10 sends first indication information (corresponding to "an indication") to the receiving device 30. The first indication information is used to indicate the parameter of the first sequence); and
adjust a reception parameter of the receiving device in response to the indication (see Fig. 3a, Fig. 3b, para. 0067-0104, 0206-0210, S308:the receiving device 30 receives the first indication information from the excitation device 10, and determines the parameter of the first sequence from the first indication information. S309: The receiving device 30 determines the first sequence based on the parameter of the first sequence / "adjust a reception parameter of the receiving device in response to the indication", S310: The receiving device 30 receives the second signal from the backscatter device 20. S311: The receiving device 30 demodulates the second signal based on the first sequence, to obtain the backscatter device data carried on the second signal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/077886), and further in view of He (US Pub. No.: 2024/0323847).
As per claim 2, Yan disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Yan however does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication is included in downlink control information, a medium access control layer control element, or a radio resource control message.
He however disclose wherein an indication is included in downlink control information, a medium access control layer control element, or a radio resource control message (see para. 0113, 0216, the configuration information / an indication is carried in one or more of: a system message (or a system broadcast or a broadcast message), a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a medium access control (MAC) layer signaling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality wherein an indication is included in downlink control information, a medium access control layer control element, or a radio resource control message, as taught by He, in the system of Yan, so as to enable the terminal to perform transmission of the power saving signal in the first transmission manner when capable, so as to achieve better power saving, see He, paragraphs 0175.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/077886), and further in view of Lee (US Pub. No.: 2022/0120893).
As per claim 3, Yan disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Yan however does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication is included in sidelink control information, a sidelink medium access control layer control element, or a sidelink radio resource control message.
Lee however disclose wherein an indication is included in sidelink control information, a sidelink medium access control layer control element, or a sidelink radio resource control message (see Fig.10, para. 0107, a BS schedules an SL resource to be used by the UE for SL transmission. For example, the BS performs resource scheduling to a UE 1 through a PDCCH (more specifically, downlink control information (DCI)), and the UE 1 performs V2X or SL communication with respect to a UE 2 according to the resource scheduling. For example, the UE 1 may transmit a sidelink control information (SCI) to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and thereafter transmit data based on the SCI to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) see also para. 0167-0168.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality to activate a low-power mode for one or more hardware components of a receiving device in response to an indication, as taught by Lee, in the system of Yan, so as to enable sidelink communication and perform direct communication (e.g., sidelink communication) with each other without passing through the BSs/network, see Lee, paragraphs 0002, 0107,0167.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/077886) and further in view of Herzinger (US Pub. No.: 2020/0025872).
As per claim 4, Yan disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Yan however does not explicitly disclose wherein, to adjust the reception parameter, the one or more processors are configured to: enable an analog passband filter based on one or more desired frequencies; enable an analog stopband filter based on one or more continuous wave frequencies; or a combination thereof.
Herzinger however disclose wherein, to adjust the reception parameter, the one or more processors are configured to: enable an analog passband filter based on one or more desired frequencies; enable an analog stopband filter based on one or more continuous wave frequencies; or a combination thereof (see Fig.3, Fig. 7, para. 0007-0008, 0052, the analog polyphase filter 312 is configured to have an asymmetric transfer function with respect to zero frequency (0 Hz). In other words, the analog polyphase filter's frequency transfer function can be spectrally asymmetric. In particular, a transition from the analog polyphase filter's passband to stopband can contain 0 Hz. In such implementations the analog polyphase filter's passband can be in the negative or positive half-plane of the frequency spectrum, and the lower and upper limiting frequencies, also denoted lower and upper stopband corner frequencies, are the frequencies where the stopband and the transition bands meet in a filter specification. The stopband of a low-pass filter is the frequencies from the stopband corner frequency (which is slightly higher than the passband 3 dB cut-off frequency) up to the infinite frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein, to adjust the reception parameter, the one or more processors are configured to: enable an analog passband filter based on one or more desired frequencies; enable an analog stopband filter based on one or more continuous wave frequencies; or a combination thereof, as taught by Herzinger, in the system of Yan and He, so as to enable transition from a passband to a stopband of the analog polyphase filter comprises zero frequency (0 Hz), the analog polyphase filter's transition band can contain 0 Hz, meaning that its passband ends in the positive (or negative) signal frequencies close to 0 Hz, see Herzinger, paragraphs 0006-0010.
As per claim 5, Yan disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Yan however does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a capability message indicating settings associated with an analog passband of the receiving device, settings associated with an analog stopband of the receiving device, or a combination thereof, wherein the indication of the upcoming backscatter reading operation is based on the capability message.
Herzinger however disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a capability message indicating settings associated with an analog passband of the receiving device, settings associated with an analog stopband of the receiving device, or a combination thereof, wherein the indication of the upcoming backscatter reading operation is based on the capability message (see Fig.3, Fig. 7, para. 0007-0008, 0052, the analog polyphase filter 312 is configured to have an asymmetric transfer function with respect to zero frequency (0 Hz). In other words, the analog polyphase filter's frequency transfer function can be spectrally asymmetric. In particular, a transition from the analog polyphase filter's passband to stopband can contain 0 Hz. In such implementations the analog polyphase filter's passband can be in the negative or positive half-plane of the frequency spectrum, and the lower and upper limiting frequencies, also denoted lower and upper stopband corner frequencies, are the frequencies where the stopband and the transition bands meet in a filter specification. The stopband of a low-pass filter is the frequencies from the stopband corner frequency (which is slightly higher than the passband 3 dB cut-off frequency) up to the infinite frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a capability message indicating settings associated with an analog passband of the receiving device, settings associated with an analog stopband of the receiving device, or a combination thereof, wherein the indication of the upcoming backscatter reading operation is based on the capability message, as taught by Herzinger, in the system of Yan and He, so as to enable transition from a passband to a stopband of the analog polyphase filter comprises zero frequency (0 Hz), the analog polyphase filter's transition band can contain 0 Hz, meaning that its passband ends in the positive (or negative) signal frequencies close to 0 Hz, see Herzinger, paragraphs 0006-0010.
As per claim 6, Yan disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Yan however does not explicitly disclose wherein, to adjust the reception parameter, the one or more processors are configured to: adjust a dynamic range associated with an analog-to-digital converter of the receiving device.
Herzinger however disclose wherein, to adjust the reception parameter, the one or more processors are configured to: adjust a dynamic range associated with an analog-to-digital converter of the receiving device (see Fig.3, Fig. 7, para. 0007-0008, 0052, the analog polyphase filter 312 is configured to have an asymmetric transfer function with respect to zero frequency (0 Hz). In other words, the analog polyphase filter's frequency transfer function can be spectrally asymmetric. In particular, a transition from the analog polyphase filter's passband to stopband can contain 0 Hz. In such implementations the analog polyphase filter's passband can be in the negative or positive half-plane of the frequency spectrum, and the lower and upper limiting frequencies, also denoted lower and upper stopband corner frequencies, are the frequencies where the stopband and the transition bands meet in a filter specification. The stopband of a low-pass filter is the frequencies from the stopband corner frequency (which is slightly higher than the passband 3 dB cut-off frequency) up to the infinite frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein, to adjust the reception parameter, the one or more processors are configured to: adjust a dynamic range associated with an analog-to-digital converter of the receiving device, as taught by Herzinger, in the system of Yan, so as to enable transition from a passband to a stopband of the analog polyphase filter comprises zero frequency (0 Hz), the analog polyphase filter's transition band can contain 0 Hz, meaning that its passband ends in the positive (or negative) signal frequencies close to 0 Hz, see Herzinger, paragraphs 0006-0010.
As per claim 7, Yan disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Yan however does not explicitly wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a capability message indicating a dynamic range associated with an analog-to-digital converter of the receiving device, wherein the indication of the upcoming backscatter reading operation is based on the capability message.
Herzinger however disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a capability message indicating a dynamic range associated with an analog-to-digital converter of the receiving device, wherein the indication of the upcoming backscatter reading operation is based on the capability message (see Fig.3, Fig. 7, para. 0007-0008, 0052, the analog polyphase filter 312 is configured to have an asymmetric transfer function with respect to zero frequency (0 Hz). In other words, the analog polyphase filter's frequency transfer function can be spectrally asymmetric. In particular, a transition from the analog polyphase filter's passband to stopband can contain 0 Hz. In such implementations the analog polyphase filter's passband can be in the negative or positive half-plane of the frequency spectrum, and the lower and upper limiting frequencies, also denoted lower and upper stopband corner frequencies, are the frequencies where the stopband and the transition bands meet in a filter specification. The stopband of a low-pass filter is the frequencies from the stopband corner frequency (which is slightly higher than the passband 3 dB cut-off frequency) up to the infinite frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a capability message indicating a dynamic range associated with an analog-to-digital converter of the receiving device, wherein the indication of the upcoming backscatter reading operation is based on the capability message, as taught by Herzinger, in the system of Yan, so as to enable transition from a passband to a stopband of the analog polyphase filter comprises zero frequency (0 Hz), the analog polyphase filter's transition band can contain 0 Hz, meaning that its passband ends in the positive (or negative) signal frequencies close to 0 Hz, see Herzinger, paragraphs 0006-0010.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/077886), and further in view of Wanuga (US Pub. No.: 2022/0225121).
As per claim 8, Yan disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Yan further disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a backscattered signal using the adjusted reception parameter (see Fig. 3a, Fig. 3b, para. 0067-0104, 0206-0210, S308:the receiving device 30 receives the first indication information from the excitation device 10, and determines the parameter of the first sequence from the first indication information. S309: The receiving device 30 determines the first sequence based on the parameter of the first sequence / "adjust a reception parameter of the receiving device in response to the indication", S310: The receiving device 30 receives the second signal from the backscatter device 20. S311: The receiving device 30 demodulates the second signal based on the first sequence, to obtain the backscatter device data carried on the second signal).
Yan however does not explicitly disclose wherein the backscattered signal is received based on at least one of an associated priority or an associated quality-of-service.
Wanuga however disclose wherein a backscattered signal is received based on at least one of an associated priority or an associated quality-of-service (see para. 0167, a backscattered signal is received based on at least one of an associated priority or an associated quality-of-service).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a backscattered signal is received based on at least one of an associated priority or an associated quality-of-service, as taught by Wanuga, in the system of Yan, so as to efficiently enable JCS-aided beam management, see Wanuga, paragraphs 0002-0003.
Claims 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/077886), and further in view of He (US Pub. No.: 2024/0323847).
As per claim 9, Yan disclose An apparatus (see Fig.12, a communication device 400) for wireless communication at a receiving device (see Fig.12, a communication device 400), comprising:
a memory (see Fig.2, a memory 402); and
one or more processors (see Fig.2, a processor 401), coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive an indication of an upcoming backscatter reading operation (see Fig. 3a, Fig. 3b, para. 0067-0104, 0206-0210, a schematic flowchart of a backscatter communication method according to an embodiment of this application. The backscatter communication method is applicable to an excitation device 10, a backscatter device 20, and a receiving device 30. S301: The excitation device 10 determines a first sequence. S302: The excitation device 10 generates a first signal. S303: The excitation device 10 sends the first signal (corresponding to "transmit a signal to enable the backscatter reading operation/ an upcoming backscatter reading operation "). S304: The excitation device 10 sends first indication information (corresponding to "an indication") to the receiving device 30. The first indication information is used to indicate the parameter of the first sequence).
Yan however does not explicitly activate a low-power mode for one or more hardware components of the receiving device in response to the indication.
He however disclose activate a low-power mode for one or more hardware components of a receiving device in response to an indication (see Fig.3, Fig.12, 0043, 0053-0056, 0141, 0164-0169, 0170-0175, a wake-up module including the wake-up receiver has a capability to receive the power saving signal and activate a low-power mode for one or more hardware components of a receiving device in response to an indication, the UE in the connected state thus have better performance in power saving / a low-power mode, thereby improving the endurance time of the UE, see also Fig.22, para. 0216-0227).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality to activate a low-power mode for one or more hardware components of a receiving device in response to an indication, as taught by He, in the system of Yan, so as to enable the terminal to perform transmission of the power saving signal in the first transmission manner when capable, so as to achieve better power saving, see He, paragraphs 0175.
As per claim 10, the combination of Yan and He disclose the apparatus of claim 9.
He also disclose wherein the indication is included in downlink control information, a medium access control layer control element, or a radio resource control message (see para. 0113, 0216, the configuration information / an indication is carried in one or more of: a system message (or a system broadcast or a broadcast message), a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a medium access control (MAC) layer signaling).
As per claim 12, the combination of Yan and He disclose the apparatus of claim 9.
Yan further disclose wherein the indication identifies one or more time resources, one or more frequency resources, or a combination thereof (see Fig.4a and 4b, para. 0010-0012, 0082-0084, FIG. 4a and FIG. 4b are a schematic diagram of a time-frequency structure of a first signal according to an embodiment of this application. It is assumed that the time-frequency structure of the first signal includes N resource elements (REs). RE is the smallest resource unit in physical resources, and the RE occupies one OFDM symbol ( 1/14 ms) in time domain and one subcarrier in frequency domain).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/077886), in view of He (US Pub. No.: 2024/0323847) and further in view of Lee (US Pub. No.: 2022/0120893).
As per claim 11, the combination of Yan and He disclose the apparatus of claim 9.
The combination of Yan and He disclose wherein the indication is included in sidelink control information, a sidelink medium access control layer control element, or a sidelink radio resource control message.
Lee however disclose wherein an indication is included in sidelink control information, a sidelink medium access control layer control element, or a sidelink radio resource control message (see Fig.10, para. 0107, a BS schedules an SL resource to be used by the UE for SL transmission. For example, the BS performs resource scheduling to a UE 1 through a PDCCH (more specifically, downlink control information (DCI)), and the UE 1 performs V2X or SL communication with respect to a UE 2 according to the resource scheduling. For example, the UE 1 may transmit a sidelink control information (SCI) to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and thereafter transmit data based on the SCI to the UE 2 through a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) see also para. 0167-0168.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality to activate a low-power mode for one or more hardware components of a receiving device in response to an indication, as taught by Lee, in the system of Yan and He, so as to enable sidelink communication and perform direct communication (e.g., sidelink communication) with each other without passing through the BSs/network, see Lee, paragraphs 0002, 0107,0167.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/077886), in view of He (US Pub. No.: 2024/0323847) and further in view of Herzinger (US Pub. No.: 2020/0025872).
As per claim 13, the combination of Yan and He disclose the apparatus of claim 9.
The combination of Yan and He however does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: enable an analog passband filter based on one or more desired frequencies; enable an analog stopband filter based on one or more continuous wave frequencies; or a combination thereof.
Herzinger however disclose wherein one or more processors are further configured to: enable an analog passband filter based on one or more desired frequencies; enable an analog stopband filter based on one or more continuous wave frequencies; or a combination thereof (see Fig.3, Fig. 7, para. 0007-0008, 0052, the analog polyphase filter 312 is configured to have an asymmetric transfer function with respect to zero frequency (0 Hz). In other words, the analog polyphase filter's frequency transfer function can be spectrally asymmetric. In particular, a transition from the analog polyphase filter's passband to stopband can contain 0 Hz. In such implementations the analog polyphase filter's passband can be in the negative or positive half-plane of the frequency spectrum, and the lower and upper limiting frequencies, also denoted lower and upper stopband corner frequencies, are the frequencies where the stopband and the transition bands meet in a filter specification. The stopband of a low-pass filter is the frequencies from the stopband corner frequency (which is slightly higher than the passband 3 dB cut-off frequency) up to the infinite frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein one or more processors are further configured to: enable an analog passband filter based on one or more desired frequencies; enable an analog stopband filter based on one or more continuous wave frequencies; or a combination thereof, as taught by Herzinger, in the system of Yan and He, so as to enable transition from a passband to a stopband of the analog polyphase filter comprises zero frequency (0 Hz), the analog polyphase filter's transition band can contain 0 Hz, meaning that its passband ends in the positive (or negative) signal frequencies close to 0 Hz, see Herzinger, paragraphs 0006-0010.
Claim(s) 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (WO2022/111454).
As per claim 14, Yang disclose An apparatus (see Fig.9, a terminal 900) for wireless communication at a receiving device (see Fig.9, a terminal 900), comprising: a memory (see Fig.9, a memory 909); and one or more processors (see Fig.9. a processor 910), coupled to the memory, configured to:
measure a set of beamformed reference signals associated with an upcoming backscatter reading operation (see Fig.3, para. 0107-0123, S310, receiving, by a first terminal, measurement parameters for a first base station configuration of a first cell. The measurement parameters include a measurement object. The measurement object comprises at least one of: a plurality of first reference signals transmitted by the first cell, wherein different first reference signals correspond to different forwarding beams of the first wireless assistance device /"measure a set of beamformed reference signals associated with an upcoming backscatter reading operation"); and
transmit a report indicating a set of measurements of the set of beamformed reference signals (see Fig.3, para. 0107-0123, S312, as a function of the measurement parameters, taking an interference measurement, and report the measurement result to the first base station /"transmit a report indicating a set of measurements of the set of beamformed reference signals").
As per claim 15, Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 14.
Yang further disclose wherein the set of measurements includes one or more reference signal received power values, one or more reference signal received quality values, one or more signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio values, or a combination thereof (see page 2, measuring the reference signal of the first cell).
As per claim 16, Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 14.
Yang further disclose wherein the report indicates a ratio between a direct signal and a continuous wave signal (see page 11, the signal-to-interference-to-noise ratio (RSRQ) affected by the two-cell reference signal, a ratio between a direct signal and a continuous wave signal).
As per claim 17, Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 14.
Yang further disclose wherein the report indicates a delta associated with a continuous wave signal with respect to a reference signal (see pages 11-12, the first base station judges whether the signal quality of the first terminal is affected by the first wireless auxiliary device according to the second measurement result, the report indicates a delta associated with a continuous wave signal with respect to a reference signal).
As per claim 18, Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 14.
Yang further disclose wherein the report indicates a delta associated with a continuous wave signal with respect to a direct signal (see pages 11-12, the first base station judges whether the signal quality of the first terminal is affected by the first wireless auxiliary device according to the second measurement result, the report indicates a delta associated with a continuous wave signal with respect to a direct signal).
Claims 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (WO2022/111454), and further in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No.: 2007/0004368).
As per claim 19, Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 14.
Yang however does not explicitly disclose wherein the report indicates a headroom associated with a continuous wave signal.
Lee however disclose wherein a report indicates a headroom associated with a continuous wave signal (see Figs. 6-9, para, 0065-0069, a report indicates a headroom voltage associated with a continuous wave signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a report indicates a headroom associated with a continuous wave signal, as taught by Lee, in the system of Yang, so as to enable a circuit and method for linearizing a voltage-to-current relationship for an input signal, while also producing a satisfactory and amplified output current magnitude, see Lee, paragraphs 0005-0009.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (WO2022/111454) and further in view of He (US Pub. No.: 2024/0323847).
As per claim 20, Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 14.
Yang however does not explicitly disclose wherein the report comprises a power control command.
He however disclose wherein a report comprises a power control command (see Fig.3, Fig.12, 0043, 0053-0056, 0141, 0164-0169, 0170-0175, a wake-up module including the wake-up receiver has a capability to receive the power saving signal and activate a low-power mode for one or more hardware components of a receiving device in response to an indication / a power control command, see also Fig.22, para. 0216-0227).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a report comprises a power control command, as taught by He, in the system of Yang, so as to enable the terminal to perform transmission of the power saving signal in the first transmission manner when capable, so as to achieve better power saving, see He, paragraphs 0175.
Claim(s) 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yan et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/077886).
As per claim 21, Yan disclose An apparatus (see Fig.12, a communication device 400) for wireless communication at a transmitting device (see Fig.12, a communication device 400), comprising:
a memory (see Fig.2, a memory 402); and
one or more processors (see Fig.2, a processor 401), coupled to the memory, configured to:
transmit an indication of an upcoming backscatter reading operation (see Fig. 3a, Fig. 3b, para. 0067-0104, 0206-0210, a schematic flowchart of a backscatter communication method according to an embodiment of this application. The backscatter communication method is applicable to an excitation device 10, a backscatter device 20, and a receiving device 30. S301: The excitation device 10 determines a first sequence. S302: The excitation device 10 generates a first signal. S303: The excitation device 10 sends the first signal (corresponding to "transmit a signal to enable the backscatter reading operation/ an upcoming backscatter reading operation "). S304: The excitation device 10 sends first indication information (corresponding to "an indication") to the receiving device 30. The first indication information is used to indicate the parameter of the first sequence); and
transmit a continuous wave (CW) signal to enable the backscatter reading operation (see para. 0082, generate and transmit a continuous wave (CW) signal to enable the backscatter reading operation, see also para. 0088-0098, 003-0105).
As per claim 22, Yan disclose the apparatus of claim 21.
Yan further disclose wherein the indication is transmitted to a receiving device that will perform the backscatter reading operation (see Fig. 3a, Fig. 3b, para. 0067-0104, 0206-0210, a schematic flowchart of a backscatter communication and transmitting to a receiving device that will perform the backscatter reading operation, see also para. 0105-0122).
As per claim 23, Yan disclose the apparatus of claim 22.
Yan further disclose wherein the receiving device is selected based on a location of the receiving device relative to one or more locations of one or more devices near the receiving device (see Fig. 3a, Fig. 3b, para. 0067-0104, the backscatter device 20 receives the first signal from the excitation device 10, where the first signal carries the first sequence, and the first sequence is used to perform first scrambling on the backscatter device data, when the first signal activates the backscatter device 20, on a location of the receiving device relative to one or more locations of one or more devices near the receiving device, the backscatter device 20 obtains the backscatter device data. The backscatter device data may be data (for example, a backscatter device identifier) stored in the backscatter device 20, or data (for example, data such as temperature, humidity, and brightness) collected by a sensor connected to the backscatter device 20 / one or more devices near the receiving device).
As per claim 24, Yan disclose the apparatus of claim 21.
Yan further disclose wherein the indication is transmitted to one or more devices near a receiving device that will perform the backscatter reading operation (see Fig. 3a, Fig. 3b, para. 0067-0104, the backscatter device 20 receives the first signal from the excitation device 10, where the first signal carries the first sequence, and the first sequence is used to perform first scrambling on the backscatter device data, when the first signal activates the backscatter device 20, transmitted to one or more devices near a receiving device that will perform the backscatter reading operation, the backscatter device 20 obtains the backscatter device data. The backscatter device data may be data (for example, a backscatter device identifier) stored in the backscatter device 20, or data (for example, data such as temperature, humidity, and brightness) collected by a sensor connected to the backscatter device 20 / one or more devices near the receiving device).
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0250868), and further in view of Herzinger (US Pub. No.: 2020/0025872).
As per claim 25, Yan disclose the apparatus of claim 21.
Yan however does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a capability message indicating settings associated with an analog passband of a receiving device, settings associated with an analog stopband of the receiving device, or a combination thereof, wherein the indication of the upcoming backscatter reading operation is based on the capability message.
Herzinger however disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a capability message indicating settings associated with an analog passband of a receiving device, settings associated with an analog stopband of the receiving device, or a combination thereof, wherein the indication of the upcoming backscatter reading operation is based on the capability message (see Fig.3, Fig. 7, para. 0007-0008, 0052, the analog polyphase filter 312 is configured to have an asymmetric transfer function with respect to zero frequency (0 Hz). In other words, the analog polyphase filter's frequency transfer function can be spectrally asymmetric. In particular, a transition from the analog polyphase filter's passband to stopband can contain 0 Hz. In such implementations the analog polyphase filter's passband can be in the negative or positive half-plane of the frequency spectrum, and the lower and upper limiting frequencies, also denoted lower and upper stopband corner frequencies, are the frequencies where the stopband and the transition bands meet in a filter specification. The stopband of a low-pass filter is the frequencies from the stopband corner frequency (which is slightly higher than the passband 3 dB cut-off frequency) up to the infinite frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a capability message indicating settings associated with an analog passband of a receiving device, settings associated with an analog stopband of the receiving device, or a combination thereof, wherein the indication of the upcoming backscatter reading operation is based on the capability message, as taught by Herzinger, in the system of Yan, so as to enable transition from a passband to a stopband of the analog polyphase filter comprises zero frequency (0 Hz), the analog polyphase filter's transition band can contain 0 Hz, meaning that its passband ends in the positive (or negative) signal frequencies close to 0 Hz, see Herzinger, paragraphs 0006-0010.
As per claim 26, Yan disclose the apparatus of claim 21.
Yan however does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a capability message indicating a dynamic range associated with an analog-to-digital converter of a receiving device, wherein the indication of the upcoming backscatter reading operation is based on the capability message.
Herzinger however disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a capability message indicating a dynamic range associated with an analog-to-digital converter of a receiving device, wherein the indication of the upcoming backscatter reading operation is based on the capability message (see Fig.3, Fig. 7, para. 0007-0008, 0052, the analog polyphase filter 312 is configured to have an asymmetric transfer function with respect to zero frequency (0 Hz). In other words, the analog polyphase filter's frequency transfer function can be spectrally asymmetric. In particular, a transition from the analog polyphase filter's passband to stopband can contain 0 Hz. In such implementations the analog polyphase filter's passband can be in the negative or positive half-plane of the frequency spectrum, and the lower and upper limiting frequencies, also denoted lower and upper stopband corner frequencies, are the frequencies where the stopband and the transition bands meet in a filter specification. The stopband of a low-pass filter is the frequencies from the stopband corner frequency (which is slightly higher than the passband 3 dB cut-off frequency) up to the infinite frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a capability message indicating a dynamic range associated with an analog-to-digital converter of a receiving device, wherein the indication of the upcoming backscatter reading operation is based on the capability message, as taught by Herzinger, in the system of Yan, so as to enable transition from a passband to a stopband of the analog polyphase filter comprises zero frequency (0 Hz), the analog polyphase filter's transition band can contain 0 Hz, meaning that its passband ends in the positive (or negative) signal frequencies close to 0 Hz, see Herzinger, paragraphs 0006-0010.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0250868), and further in view of Yang et al. (WO2022/111454).
As per claim 27, Yan disclose the apparatus of claim 21.
Yan however does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a set of beamformed reference signals associated with the upcoming backscatter reading operation; and receive a report indicating a set of measurements of the set of beamformed reference signals, wherein the CW signal is transmitted based on the report.
Yang however disclose wherein one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a set of beamformed reference signals associated with the upcoming backscatter reading operation; and receive a report indicating a set of measurements of the set of beamformed reference signals, wherein the CW signal is transmitted based on the report (see Fig.3, para. 0107-0123, S310, receiving, by a first terminal, measurement parameters for a first base station configuration of a first cell. The measurement parameters include a measurement object. The measurement object comprises at least one of: a plurality of first reference signals transmitted by the first cell, wherein different first reference signals correspond to different forwarding beams of the first wireless assistance device /"measure a set of beamformed reference signals associated with an upcoming backscatter reading operation" and sending a report indicating a set of measurements of the set of beamformed reference signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a set of beamformed reference signals associated with the upcoming backscatter reading operation; and receive a report indicating a set of measurements of the set of beamformed reference signals, wherein the CW signal is transmitted based on the report, as taught by Yang, in the system of Yan, so as to enable the terminal to perform transmission of the power saving signal in the first transmission manner when capable, so as to reduce wireless spectrum utilization, see Yang, pages 2 and 3.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021/0250868), in view of Yang et al. (WO2022/111454) and further in view of He (US Pub. No.: 2024/0323847).
As per claim 28, the combination of Yan and Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 27.
The combination of Yan and Yang however does not explicitly disclose wherein the report comprises a power control command.
He however disclose wherein a report comprises a power control command (see Fig.3, Fig.12, 0043, 0053-0056, 0141, 0164-0169, 0170-0175, a wake-up module including the wake-up receiver has a capability to receive the power saving signal and activate a low-power mode for one or more hardware components of a receiving device in response to an indication / a power control command, see also Fig.22, para. 0216-0227).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of a report comprises a power control command, as taught by He, in the system of Yan and Yang, so as to enable the terminal to perform transmission of the power saving signal in the first transmission manner when capable, so as to achieve better power saving, see He, paragraphs 0175.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Roy (US Pub. No.:2023/0086144) – see para. 0141, “The WTRU may perform mono-static sensing based on one or more active or activated sensing configurations of the sensing configurations set. The WTRU, for example, may transmit a sensing signal using the allocated resources and the granted sensing parameter set of one (“a first”) active or activated sensing configurations, and may perform one or more measurements related to the transmitted sensing signal. The WTRU, for example, may measure a power of a backscatter associated with (e.g., resulting from) the transmitted sensing signal. The sensing signal may be or include one or more reference signals (RSs). Examples of such RSs may include conventional RSs, such as demodulation reference signals (DMRS), and one or more new RSs defined specifically for backscatter measurements. Such new RSs may be reference signals with specific time-frequency characteristics that enable appropriate sensing (e.g., resolution).”.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469