Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsuro (JP 08-199448) in view of DiTullio (USPN 4,359,501).
Regarding Claim 1, Tatsuro discloses a mesh woven fabric (Para. 1) comprising a warp thread (Para. 1) and a weft thread (Para. 1), wherein a bending angle of the warp thread and a bending angle of the weft thread at an intersection where the warp thread and the weft thread intersect each other are different from each other (Para. 40-43), and a rate of an absolute value of a bending angle difference between the warp thread and the weft thread to an average of the bending angle of the warp thread and the bending angle of the weft thread is 20% or less (Para. 40-43 & 50-68) and the mesh woven fabric satisfies two conditions described below: a rate of an absolute value of a tensile strength difference between a warp direction and a weft direction to an average of a tensile strength in the warp direction and a tensile strength in the weft direction is 20% or less; and a rate of an absolute value of a tensile elongation difference between the warp direction and the weft direction to an average of a tensile elongation in the warp direction and a tensile elongation in the weft direction is 68% or less (Para. 40-43 & 50-68). Tatsuro does not specifically disclose each of the warp thread and weft thread is a monofilament having a diameter of 10um or more. However, Tatsuro discloses a single filament needs to be between 4d and .1d, which would include the range of having a diameters of 10/um or more. Furthermore, DiTullio discloses a woven fabric using monofilament warp and weft threads having a diameter of 10um or more (Col. 4, lines 39-55 & Col 7, lines 3-22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the warp and weft thread as claimed, since it is well within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known thread on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Also, such a modification would be considered a mere choice of preferred thread that is on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In other words, using a monofilament thread for the weft and warp at the diameter more than claimed would have been an "obvious to try" approach because the use of such a material that is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Regarding Claim 2, Tatsuro discloses in curves showing a relation between a tensile load 36 and a tensile elongation percentage, with respect to slopes in elastic deformation regions of the curves, a rate of an absolute value of a slope difference between the warp direction and the weft direction to an average of a slope for the warp direction and a slope for the weft direction is 62% or less (Para. 40-43 & 50-68).
Regarding Claim 3, Tatsuro discloses a rate of an absolute value of a thermal deformation amount difference between a warp direction and a weft direction to an average of a thermal deformation amount in the warp direction and a thermal deformation amount in the weft direction is 180% or less (Para. 37-43 & 50-68).
Regarding Claim 4, Tatsuro discloses at least one of the warp thread and the weft thread is a synthetic fiber (Para. 22).
Regarding Claim 5, Tatsuro discloses the synthetic fiber is a PE fiber, a PTFE fiber, a PPS fiber, an LCP fiber, or a PEEK fiber (Para. 22).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732