Election/Restrictions
Claim 11-14 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/27/26.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I and species A-II in the reply filed on 9/27/26 is acknowledged. The first traversal is on the ground(s) that the action stated no claims were generic. This is not found persuasive because the statement was accurate as all claims were under either the invention and/or the species restriction, note the statement was not about just the species restriction but the entire restriction.
Applicant also argues that claims 8 and 14 would fall under species A-I as well as species A-II. This argument is found moot as the claims are of the elected species and will be examined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
“GPR in” “GPR out” and “BFW” of fig. 1 are not identified in the specification thus it is unclear what these elements are.
“BFW” (note it is believed to be BFW)in figure one is cut off all text must be clear and readable.
“GPRCOOL” “DESU1” “DESU2” “DESU3” in Fig. 4 are not identified in the specification thus it is unclear what these elements are.
“GPRCOOL” “DESU1” “DESU2” “DESU” “B1” in Fig. 5 are not identified in the specification thus it is unclear what these elements are.
Claimed elements “T1” “p1” “T2” “p2” “Tf” “Tc” of claims 1-5, 10, 18 are not shown (clearly identified).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the above elements must be shown and/or identified in the specification the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2-5, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: applicant is mixing scales of measurement as claim 1 uses Kelvin a specific scale for temperature and the rest of the claims use Celsius a different scale of measurement. Note while conversion is possible the mixing of terms creates confusion . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 requires “the temperature of the compressed steam stream after the at least one compressing step is reduced so that the temperature of the compressed steam stream does not exceed 300°C” which is indefinite as it is not clear to ne skilled in the art if there must be temperature reducing step of some sort. The claim requires the temperature be reduced to under 300C but since the previous limitation does not require the temperature to ever exceed 300C one skilled in the art would not be clear if this step is required if the temperature is already under 300C. The claim will be read as ““the temperature of the compressed steam stream after the at least one compressing step is reduced if the temperature of the compressed steam is greater than 300°C so that the temperature of the compressed steam stream does not exceed 300°C”.
Claim 7 is rejected for dependence from claim 6.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the used heated and compressed steam stream ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear what compressed stream or part of compressed stream is exactly being referenced.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the first heat exchanger". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear which heat exchanger is being referenced as the claim only claimed one heat exchanger, it is unclear if applicant is adding a new one or referencing the same one.
Claim 8 is so indefinite as to prevent the application of prior art.
Claim 9 recites the limitation " the stream comprising". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear what steam is being referenced as several streams have bene previously claimed.
Claim 9 is indefinite for the limitation “used for heat recovery” as this has not been previously claimed it is unclear if applicant is claiming a previous step or a new step of some form.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "an aqueous condensate obtained from” as there has already been a claimed “aqueous condensate” it is not clear if this is a new condensate or the same one just being further limited.
Claim 9 is so indefinite as to prevent the application of prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Chino et al. (U.S. PGPub 2006/0130482).
Regarding claim 1, Chino teaches a method for recovering energy comprising: a) Providing a hot fluid stream (para. 0055 “wastewater or atmosphere” note “hot fluid” is considered broadly and is read on if the fluid heats); b) Thermally contacting the hot fluid stream with an aqueous condensate “heat medium” from 52A para. 0058, note it is condensed at element 1) in a heat exchanger (element 54A), thereby transferring heat from the hot fluid stream to the aqueous condensate and vaporizing at least part of the aqueous condensate to obtain a steam stream having a temperature T1 and a pressure p1 (para. 0058-0060, evaporative element is steam t1 of 46C and p1 of 0.01MPa); c) Subjecting the steam stream to at least one compressing step to obtain a compressed steam stream having a pressure p2 ( via elements 53a-b, 0.4MPa para. 0059); and d) Using the compressed steam stream for energy recovery thereby obtaining a stream comprising an aqueous condensate (at element 1)), wherein- in the at least one compressing step c) the temperature of the steam stream is increased to a temperature T2 (140C para. 0062); - temperature T2 is 50 K to 250 K higher than the temperature T1 (per 140-46= 96 thus taught), and- the ratio of pressure p2 to pressure p₁, p2/p1, is 5 to 50 (.01 to .4 is 40 thus taught).
Regarding claim 2, Chino teaches the hot fluid stream has a temperature Tf of from 20 to 150°C as the atmosphere is inherently (-10 to 24C average range of temperatures in the US, thus overlapping with the claimed range).
Regarding claim 3, Chino teaches the aqueous condensate has a temperature Tc of from 40°C to 99°C (46C per para. 0048).
Regarding claim 4, Chino teaches temperature T1 is in the range of from 30°C to 150°C (46c per para. 0048).
Regarding claim 5, Chino teaches in the at least one compressing step c) the temperature of the heated first heat transfer fluid is increased to a temperature T2 and temperature T2 is in the range of from 125°C to 300°C (140C per para. 0062).
Regarding clam 6, Chino teaches the temperature is under 300C thus no reduction is needed (see the 112b above).
Regarding claim 10, Chino teaches the steam stream is subjected to a compression stage of a heat pump compressor in each compressing step to obtain a compressed steam stream having a pressure p₂ (per fig. 2, 50A and the compressors applied are a heat pump).
Regarding claim 16, Chino teaches in step c) the steam stream is subjected to 1-5 compressing steps (2 are taught in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Chino teaches in step c) the steam stream is subjected to 2-4 compressing steps (2 are taught in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Chino teaches temperature T2 is 65 K to 150 K higher than the temperature T1 (per 140-46= 96 thus taught).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is potentially allowed. It is currently under a 112b rejection and resolution of that will require consideration to determine if it is finally allowable. Currently no prior art teaches or makes obvious its limitation.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (note the base claim 6 is under a 112b so that must be resolved, and consideration of the resolution may affect allowability).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art does not teach the temperature of the compressed steam stream after each compressing step is reduced by combining the compressed steam stream with an aqueous condensate of higher pressure. The prior art teaches such is done after some compressors but not all in the sequence and in fact teaches away from such after the final compression step.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Odukomaiya et al. (U.S. PGPub 2026/0276247), Namba et al. (U.S. PGPub 2011/0005225), Sardo (U.S. PGPub 2011/0309635), Pacault (U.S. Patent 3,992,884), Kishibe et al. (U.S. Patent 7,981,254), Hisatome (U.S. Patent 5,265,410) all teach steam compression systems.
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763