DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 15, recites “The UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one PHR comprises only one PHR corresponding to a first uplink channel of the plurality of uplink channels and a second uplink channel of the of uplink channels” which should be “The UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one PHR comprises only one PHR corresponding to a first uplink channel of the plurality of uplink channels and a second uplink channel of the plurality of uplink channels”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 21, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Patent #12,177,792, hereinafter Park **792) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0127425, hereinafter Park **425).
Regarding claims 1, 21, and 27, Park **792 teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Col 4, lines 12-25; Col 7, lines 19-44), configured to:
receive configuration information corresponding to power headroom reporting associated with transmissions on a plurality of uplink channels (Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7, especially claim 5….. receive, from a base station, configuration information associated with power headroom reporting (PHR), identify whether a PHR is triggered based on the configuration information, in case that the PHR is triggered, identify a first power headroom (PH) value for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) corresponding to a first CORESET pool index and a second PH value for a second PUSCH corresponding to a second CORESET pool index),
transmit, based at least in part on the configuration information, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE) that includes at least one power headroom report (PHR) corresponding to the plurality of uplink channels (Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7, especially claim 5…..identify a PHR medium access control control element (MAC CE) related to the first PH value and the second PH value, transmit, to the base station, the PHR MAC CE via a first transmission and reception point (TRP) corresponding to the first CORESET pool index, in case that the first PH value is associated with an actual PHR and the second PH value is associated with a virtual PHR, and transmit, to the base station, the PHR MAC CE a second TRP corresponding to the second CORESET pool index, in case that the first PH value is associated with the virtual PHR and the second PH value is associated with the actual PHR), but does not specifically teach the configuration information indicating a maximum total transmit power limit associated with a simultaneous transmissions.
However, in related art, Park **425 teaches the configuration information indicating a maximum total transmit power limit associated a the simultaneous transmissions (See claim 10 and Paragraph [0020]…….. if the configuration information includes the information indicating the maximum number of the beams simultaneously transmittable by the user equipment, the configuration information may further include at least one of (A-1) information on a maximum value of a power sum of all the simultaneously transmitted beams, (A-2) information on a maximum allowable transmission power of each beam simultaneously transmittable by the user equipment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Park **425’s teaching about the configuration information indicating a maximum total transmit power limit associated with a simultaneous transmissions with Park **792’s invention in order to reduce interference and achieve a high data transfer rate.
Regarding claim 29, Park **792 teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising:
transmitting configuration information corresponding to power headroom reporting associated with simultaneous transmissions on a plurality of uplink channels (Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7, especially claim 5….. receive, from a base station, configuration information associated with power headroom reporting (PHR), identify whether a PHR is triggered based on the configuration information, in case that the PHR is triggered, identify a first power headroom (PH) value for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) corresponding to a first CORESET pool index and a second PH value for a second PUSCH corresponding to a second CORESET pool index), ,
receiving, based at least in part on the configuration information, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE) that includes at least one power headroom report (PHR) corresponding to the plurality of uplink channels (Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7, especially claim 5…..identify a PHR medium access control control element (MAC CE) related to the first PH value and the second PH value, transmit, to the base station, the PHR MAC CE via a first transmission and reception point (TRP) corresponding to the first CORESET pool index, in case that the first PH value is associated with an actual PHR and the second PH value is associated with a virtual PHR, and transmit, to the base station, the PHR MAC CE a second TRP corresponding to the second CORESET pool index, in case that the first PH value is associated with the virtual PHR and the second PH value is associated with the actual PHR), but does not specifically teach the configuration information indicating a maximum total transmit power limit associated with the simultaneous transmissions.
However, in related art, Park **425 teaches the configuration information indicating a maximum total transmit power limit associated with the simultaneous transmissions (See claim 10 and Paragraph [0020]…….. if the configuration information includes the information indicating the maximum number of the beams simultaneously transmittable by the user equipment, the configuration information may further include at least one of (A-1) information on a maximum value of a power sum of all the simultaneously transmitted beams, (A-2) information on a maximum allowable transmission power of each beam simultaneously transmittable by the user equipment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Park **425’s teaching about the configuration information indicating a maximum total transmit power limit associated with the simultaneous transmissions with Park **792’s invention in order to reduce interference and achieve a high data transfer rate.
Claims 2, 22, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Patent #12,177,792, hereinafter Park **792) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0127425, hereinafter Park **425), and further in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2022/0046555).
Regarding claims 2, 22, 28, and 30, the combination of Park **792 and Park **425 fail to teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one PHR comprises a first PHR corresponding to a first uplink channel of the plurality of uplink channels and a second PHR corresponding to a second uplink channel of the plurality of uplink channels.
However, in related art, Khoshnevisan teaches the UF of claim 1, wherein the at least one PHR comprises a first PHR corresponding to a first uplink channel of the plurality of uplink channels and a second PHR corresponding to a second uplink channel of the plurality of uplink channels (Paragraphs [0087, 0111, 0114, 0142, and 0143]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Khoshnevisan’s teaching about the configuration information indicating a maximum total transmit power limit associated with the simultaneous transmissions with Park **792’s and Park **425’s invention in order to effectively adjust the transmission power in different channel.
Claims 3 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Patent #12,177,792, hereinafter Park **792) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0127425, hereinafter Park **425) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2022/0046555), and further in view of Han et al. (US Patent #9,078,264).
Regarding claim 3 and 23, the combination of Park **792, Park **425, and Khoshnevisan fail to teach the UE of claim 2, wherein the first PHR indicates a first power headroom value corresponding to the first uplink channel and the second PHR indicates a second power headroom value corresponding to the second uplink channel, and wherein each of the first power headroom value and the second power headroom value is based on the maximum total transmit power limit.
However, in related art, Han teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein the first PHR indicates a first power headroom value corresponding to the first uplink channel and the second PHR indicates a second power headroom value corresponding to the second uplink channel, and wherein each of the first power headroom value and the second power headroom value is based on the maximum total transmit power limit (Claims 1 and 7…………wherein the condition of transmitting the first power headroom report comprises a determination that uplink data channel transmission occurs in a current transmission time interval; obtaining the first power headroom report and a second power headroom report, wherein the first power headroom report comprises a first power headroom value that comprises a difference between maximum transmitting power of a carrier and a sum of transmitting power of a control channel of the carrier and transmitting power of a data channel of the carrier, and the second power headroom report comprises a second power headroom value that comprises a difference between the maximum transmitting power of the carrier and the transmitting power of the data channel of the carrier). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Han’s teaching about wherein the first PHR indicates a first power headroom value corresponding to the first uplink channel and the second PHR indicates a second power headroom value corresponding to the second uplink channel, and wherein each of the first power headroom value and the second power headroom value is based on the maximum total transmit power limit with Park **792’s, Park **425’s, and Khoshnevisan’s invention in order to enabling correct and effective uplink power control performance.
Claims 4, 5, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Patent #12,177,792, hereinafter Park **792) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0127425, hereinafter Park **425) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2022/0046555) in view of Han et al. (US Patent #9,078,264), and further in view of Yi et al. (US 2021/0045070).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Park **792, Park **425, Khoshnevisan, and Han fail to teach the UE of claim 3, wherein the first power headroom value is further based on a first set of parameter values, of a set of parameters associated with the first uplink channel, and wherein the second power headroom value is further based on a second set of parameter values, of the set of parameters, associated with the second uplink channel.
However, in related art, Yi teaches the UE of claim 3, wherein the first power headroom value is further based on a first set of parameter values, of a set of parameters associated with the first uplink channel, and wherein the second power headroom value is further based on a second set of parameter values, of the set of parameters, associated with the second uplink channel (Paragraph [0358]….. the wireless device may determine a power headroom (PH) value based on scheduling information of uplink channel(s) (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS) which are overlapped in time with a PUSCH carrying a PHR. When determining a PH value based on an actual transmission, several parameters are considered. For example, the wireless device may determine a maximum allowed power for the cell (for example, Pcmax) based on, for example, one or more parameters (set of PHR parameter) of maximum power configuration and one or more MPR (maximum power reduction) values). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Yi teaching about wherein the first power headroom value is further based on a first set of parameter values, of a set of parameters associated with the first uplink channel, and wherein the second power headroom value is further based on a second set of parameter values, of the set of parameters, associated with the second uplink channel with Park **792’s, Park **425’s, Khoshnevisan’s, and Han’s invention in order to adjust the maximum transmit power.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Park **792, Park **425, Khoshnevisan, Han, and Yi teach all the claimed elements in claim 4. In addition, Yi teaches the UE of claim 4, wherein the set of parameters comprises at least one of a maximum power reduction (MPR) (Paragraph [0358]), an additional-MPR, a power management-MPR (P- MPR), or an additional power adjustment parameter.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Park **792, Park **425, Khoshnevisan, and Han fail to teach the network node of claim 23, wherein the first power headroom value is further based on a first set of parameter values, of a set of parameters, associated with the first uplink channel, and wherein the second power headroom value is further based on a second set of parameter values, of the set of parameters, associated with the second uplink channel, wherein the set of parameters comprises at least one of a maximum power reduction (MPR), an additional-MPR, a power management-MPR (P-MPR), or an additional power adjustment parameter.
However, in related art, Yi teaches the network node of claim 23, wherein the first power headroom value is further based on a first set of parameter values, of a set of parameters, associated with the first uplink channel, and wherein the second power headroom value is further based on a second set of parameter values, of the set of parameters, associated with the second uplink channel, wherein the set of parameters comprises at least one of a maximum power reduction (MPR), an additional-MPR, a power management-MPR (P-MPR), or an additional power adjustment parameter (Paragraph [0358]….. the wireless device may determine a power headroom (PH) value based on scheduling information of uplink channel(s) (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS) which are overlapped in time with a PUSCH carrying a PHR. When determining a PH value based on an actual transmission, several parameters are considered. For example, the wireless device may determine a maximum allowed power for the cell (for example, Pcmax) based on, for example, one or more parameters (set of PHR parameter) of maximum power configuration and one or more MPR (maximum power reduction) values). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Yi teaching about wherein the first power headroom value is further based on a first set of parameter values, of a set of parameters, associated with the first uplink channel, and wherein the second power headroom value is further based on a second set of parameter values, of the set of parameters, associated with the second uplink channel, wherein the set of parameters comprises at least one of a maximum power reduction (MPR), an additional-MPR, a power management-MPR (P-MPR), or an additional power adjustment parameter with Park **792’s, Park **425’s, Khoshnevisan’s, and Han’s invention in order to adjust the maximum transmit power.
Claims 15 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Patent #12,177,792, hereinafter Park **792) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0127425, hereinafter Park **425), and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0051606).
Regarding claims 15 and 26, the combination of Park **792 and Park **425 fail to teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one PHR comprises only one PHR corresponding to a first uplink channel of the plurality of uplink channels and a second uplink channel of the of uplink channels.
However, in related art, Yang teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one PHR comprises only one PHR corresponding to a first uplink channel of the plurality of uplink channels and a second uplink channel of the of uplink channels (Paragraphs [0019, 0164, and 0226]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Khoshnevisan’s teaching about the configuration information indicating a maximum total transmit power limit associated with the simultaneous transmissions with Park **792’s and Park **425’s invention in order to effectively adjust the transmission power.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Patent #12,177,792, hereinafter Park **792) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0127425, hereinafter Park **425) in view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0051606), and further in view of Han et al. (US Patent #9,078,264).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Park **792, Park **425, and Yang fail to teach the UE of claim 15, wherein the first PHR indicates a power headroom value corresponding to the first uplink channel and the second uplink channel, and wherein the power headroom value is based on the maximum total transmit power limit.
However, in related art, Han teaches the UE of claim 15, wherein the first PHR indicates a power headroom value corresponding to the first uplink channel and the second uplink channel, and wherein the power headroom value is based on the maximum total transmit power limit (Claims 1 and 7…………wherein the condition of transmitting the first power headroom report comprises a determination that uplink data channel transmission occurs in a current transmission time interval; obtaining the first power headroom report and a second power headroom report, wherein the first power headroom report comprises a first power headroom value that comprises a difference between maximum transmitting power of a carrier and a sum of transmitting power of a control channel of the carrier and transmitting power of a data channel of the carrier, and the second power headroom report comprises a second power headroom value that comprises a difference between the maximum transmitting power of the carrier and the transmitting power of the data channel of the carrier). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Han’s teaching about wherein the first PHR indicates a first power headroom value corresponding to the first uplink channel and the second PHR indicates a second power headroom value corresponding to the second uplink channel, and wherein each of the first power headroom value and the second power headroom value is based on the maximum total transmit power limit with Park **792’s, Park **425’s, and Yang’s invention in order to enabling correct and effective uplink power control performance.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Patent #12,177,792, hereinafter Park **792) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0127425, hereinafter Park **425) in view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0051606) in view of Han et al. (US Patent #9,078,264), and further in view of Yi et al. (US 2021/0045070).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Park **792, Park **425, Yang, and Han fail to the UE of claim 16, wherein the power headroom value is further based on a first set of parameter values, of a set of parameters, associated with the first uplink channel, and a second set of parameter values, of the set of parameters, associated with the second uplink channel.
However, in related art, Yi teaches the UE of claim 16, wherein the power headroom value is further based on a first set of parameter values, of a set of parameters, associated with the first uplink channel, and a second set of parameter values, of the set of parameters, associated with the second uplink channel (Paragraph [0358]….. the wireless device may determine a power headroom (PH) value based on scheduling information of uplink channel(s) (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS) which are overlapped in time with a PUSCH carrying a PHR. When determining a PH value based on an actual transmission, several parameters are considered. For example, the wireless device may determine a maximum allowed power for the cell (for example, Pcmax) based on, for example, one or more parameters (set of PHR parameter) of maximum power configuration and one or more MPR (maximum power reduction) values). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Yi teaching about wherein the power headroom value is further based on a first set of parameter values, of a set of parameters, associated with the first uplink channel, and a second set of parameter values, of the set of parameters, associated with the second uplink channel with Park **792’s, Park **425’s, Yang’s, and Han’s invention in order to adjust the maximum transmit power.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Park **792, Park **425, Yang, Han, and Yi teach all the claimed elements in claim 17. In addition, Yi teaches the UE of claim 17, wherein the set of parameters comprises at least one of a maximum power reduction (MPR), an additional-MPR (Paragraph [0358]….. the wireless device may determine a power headroom (PH) value based on scheduling information of uplink channel(s) (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH, SRS) which are overlapped in time with a PUSCH carrying a PHR. When determining a PH value based on an actual transmission, several parameters are considered. For example, the wireless device may determine a maximum allowed power for the cell (for example, Pcmax) based on, for example, one or more parameters (set of PHR parameter) of maximum power configuration and one or more MPR (maximum power reduction) values), a power management-MPR (P- MPR), or an additional power adjustment parameter.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Patent #12,177,792, hereinafter Park **792) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0127425, hereinafter Park **425) in view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0051606) in view of Han et al. (US Patent #9,078,264) in view of Yi et al. (US 2021/0045070), and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0345410).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Park **792, Park **425, Yang, Han, and Yi fail to teach the UE of claim 18, wherein the PHR indicates a first P-MPR corresponding to the first uplink channel and a second P-MPR corresponding to the second uplink channel.
However, in related art, Zhou teaches the UE of claim 18, wherein the PHR indicates a first P-MPR corresponding to the first uplink channel and a second P-MPR corresponding to the second uplink channel (Paragraph [0321]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Zhou’s teaching about wherein the PHR indicates a first P-MPR corresponding to the first uplink channel and a second P-MPR corresponding to the second uplink channel with Park **792’s, Park **425’s, Yang’s, Han’s, and Yi’s invention in order to uplink transmission power to be maintained at an appropriate level.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US Patent #12,177,792, hereinafter Park **792) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0127425, hereinafter Park **425) in view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0051606) in view of Han et al. (US Patent #9,078,264) in view of Yi et al. (US 2021/0045070) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0345410), and MolavianJazi et al. (US 2019/0104477).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Park **792, Park **425, Yang, Han, Yi, and Zhou fail to teach the UE of claim 19, wherein the PHR further indicates a first configured maximum output power (Pemax) value corresponding to the first uplink channel and a second Pcmax value corresponding to the second uplink channel.
However, in related art, MolavianJazi teaches the UE of claim 19, wherein the PHR further indicates a first configured maximum output power (Pemax) value corresponding to the first uplink channel and a second Pcmax value corresponding to the second uplink channel (Paragraphs [0108, 0110, 0112, 0114, 0116, 0124, 0126, 0128, 0130, 0132, 0161, and 0169). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use MolavianJazi’s teaching about wherein the PHR further indicates a first configured maximum output power (Pemax) value corresponding to the first uplink channel and a second Pcmax value corresponding to the second uplink channel with Park **792’s, Park **425’s, Yang’s, Han’s, Yi’s, and Zhou’s invention in order to control transmit power for the uplink transmission based on the configured maximum output power.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-14 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record fails to teach the UE of claim 5, wherein the PHR indicates a first set of PHR parameter values, of a set of PHR parameters, corresponding to the first uplink channel and a second set of PHR parameter values, of the set of PHR parameters, corresponding to the second uplink channel.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record fails to teach the UE of claim 2, wherein the first PHR indicates a first power headroom value corresponding to the first uplink channel and the second PHR indicates a second power headroom value corresponding to the second uplink channel, and wherein each of the first power headroom value and the second power headroom value is based on a reference power split of the maximum total transmit power limit between the first uplink channel and the second uplink channel.
Regarding claim 25, the prior art of record fails to teach the network node of claim 24, wherein the PHR indicates a first set of PHR parameter values, of a set of PHR parameters, corresponding to the first uplink channel and a second set of PHR parameter values, of the set of PHR parameters, corresponding to the second uplink channel, wherein the set of PHR parameters comprises at least one of a power headroom, a configured maximum output power (Pcmax), or a P-MPR.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bagheri et al. (US 2022/0312440), Zhou et al. (US 2021/0297959), Zhang et al. (US Patent #10,798,663), Jung et al. (US Patent #10,652,830), Sridharan et al. (US 2020/0037328), Hosseini et al. (US 2019/03944822), Akkarakaran et al. (US Patent #10,462,755), Lohr et al. (US Patent #10,375,719), Patel et al. (US Patent #10,149,255), Yu et al. (US Patent #9,282,523), Jeong et al. (US Patent #9,113,422), Hsu et al. (US Patent #8,934,362), and Hwang et al. (US 2012/0082043).
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132