DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 10/22/2024.
Claims 1-9,13-15 and 24-31are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 10/22/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 13-15 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. (US 20230029146 A1), hereinafter “Kadiri”; and in further view of Mediatek “Discussion on MBS broadcast reception on SCell and Non-serving cell”, hereinafter “Mediatek”.
Regarding claim 1, Kadiri teaches A method comprising: receiving, on a first component carrier (CC), a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message from a serving base station (BS) [Fig. 3],
receiving, from a multicast and broadcast services (MBS) BS one or more system information blocks (SIBs) corresponding to a multicast control channel (MCCH); transmitting, to the serving BS, [Fig. 4; Par. 30, 57- 63 teaches receiving broadcast service from cells; Par. 31 teaches using one or more channels for communication link];
However, Kadiri does not teach an indication of interest comprising information related to one or more MBS CCs including a second CC; receiving, from the MBS BS, broadcast transmission on the second CC;
and receiving, unicast transmission from the serving BS.
Nevertheless, Mediatek, in the similar field of endeavor, teaches an indication of interest comprising information related to one or more MBS CCs including a second CC [Section 1 disclosed receiving broadcast with information on a different carrier frequency than UE’s serving cell]; receiving, from the MBS BS, broadcast transmission on the second CC [See section 1, 2 MBS broadcast reception on Scell];
and receiving, unicast transmission from the serving BS [Fig. 1, 2; section 1, 2; Pg. 4; observation 7, unicast reception].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time when the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Mediatek to transmit over second carrier and second cell. One in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Mediatek in the Kadiri system with a motivation to make this modification in order to receive broadcast information on different cells [Mediatek: section 1].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Kadiri in view of Mediatek teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Kadiri in view of Mediatek further teaches wherein the indication of interest is reported via dedicated signaling [Kadiri: Par. 58 teaches signaling over granted uplink resource].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Kadiri in view of Mediatek teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Kadiri in view of Mediatek further teaches comprise frequency information corresponding to the one or more MBS CCs [Kadiri: Par. 58 teaches UE can transmit, to at least a serving cell of the one or more cells, a broadcast service interest indication… a frequency over which the broadcast service is provided].
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 24- 27 and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412