DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 61-66, 68, and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2023/0319881 A1) in view of Hosseini et al. (US 2022/0046664 A1).
Regarding claim 61 and 78, Li discloses one or more processors configured to perform operations and method comprising: receiving an indication of a sidelink inter-user equipment (UE) coordination (IUC) scheme (paragraph [0010]-[0014]; [0033]-[0035]; [0048]-[0049]; [0057]-[0058]; [0079]-[0095]; [0099]-[0102]; [0106]-[0107]; and so on, illustrating the reception of IUC indication); receiving, in accordance with the sidelink IUC scheme, sidelink control information (SCI) that indicates a request for IUC information (paragraph [0088]-[0089]; [0071]-[0073]; [0075]-[0077]); selecting one or more candidate sidelink resources from a non-preferred resource set (paragraph [0094]-[0095]; [0083]; [0090]-[0091]; [0093]-[0094]; [0106]; and so on, explaining the reception of SCI indicating a request for IUC information); and instructing radio frequency (RF) circuitry to transmit the requested IUC information via the one or more selected candidate sidelink resources (paragraph [0090]-[0091]; [0129]; and etc., describing the transmission of the request IUC information through selected candidate sidelink resources such as preferred and non-preferred resources).
Li does not disclose the resource set is based at least on a first sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,0), a second sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,1), and a third sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,2).
Hosseini teaches the resource set is based at least on a first sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,0), a second sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,1), and a third sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,2) (paragraph [0091]-[0094]; [0098]-[0100]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the resource set is based at least on a first sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,0), a second sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,1), and a third sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,2) as taught by Hosseini into Li in order to reduce delay and improve quality of service.
Regarding claim 80, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 61. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 61 in order to define the corresponding user equipment (UE), and the rejection to claim 61 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 62, as applied above, Li discloses selecting resources. Li does not disclose wherein the third sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,2) is equal to a summation of the first sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,0) and the second sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,1).
Hosseini teaches wherein the third sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,2) is equal to a summation of the first sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,0) and the second sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,1) (e.g. fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the third sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,2) is equal to a summation of the first sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,0) and the second sidelink processing time as taught by Hosseini into Li in order to reduce delay and improve quality of service.
Regarding claim 63 and 79, the modified communication of Li discloses wherein the third sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,2) is equal to the first sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,0) (Hosseini, e.g. paragraph [0094]).
Regarding claim 64, Li discloses wherein selecting the one or more candidate sidelink resources comprises: determining a set of candidate single-slot resources available for transmission of the IUC information (paragraph [0098]; and so on); and excluding, from the set of candidate single-slot resources, one or more resources that overlap with the non-preferred resource set (paragraph [0143]).
Regarding claim 65, Li discloses wherein the sidelink IUC scheme indicates that transmission of IUC information is triggered by an explicit request (paragraph [0080]-[0081]; [0084]-[0091]; [0106]; [0113]; [0125]-[0129]; and so on).
Regarding claim 66, Li discloses wherein the sidelink IUC scheme indicates a priority value for sensing and candidate resource selection for transmission of a transport block (TB) containing the IUC information (paragraph [0117]; [0124]-[0127]; [0129]-[0130]).
Regarding claim 68, Li discloses wherein transmitting the requested IUC information comprises transmitting a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) comprising the requested IUC information (paragraph [0088]-[0089]; [0101]; and so on).
Regarding claim 70, Li discloses wherein the request further indicates at least one of a priority, a number of subchannels, a resource reservation period, a resource selection window location, or a resource set type to use for transmission of the IUC information (paragraph [0117]; [0124]-[0127]; [0129]-[0130]; [0096]).
Regarding claim 72, Li discloses wherein selecting the one or more candidate sidelink resources comprises determining a resource set type to use for transmission of the requested IUC information based at least in part on a sidelink resource type determination field of the sidelink IUC scheme (paragraph [0090]-[0094]; [0106]; [0083]).
Regarding claim 73, Li discloses wherein selecting the one or more candidate sidelink resources comprises: determining a sensing window based at least on the first sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,0) and a number of slots (To) associated with a sidelink resource pool configuration (e.g. paragraph [0004]; [0096]; and so on). Li does not explicitly disclose performing full or partial sensing of the one or more candidate sidelink resources within the sensing window in accordance with the sidelink IUC scheme.
Hosseini teaches performing full or partial sensing of the one or more candidate sidelink resources within the sensing window in accordance with the sidelink IUC scheme (fig. 6; paragraph [0079]; [0082]; [0096]-[0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use performing full or partial sensing of the one or more candidate sidelink resources within the sensing window in accordance with the sidelink IUC scheme as taught by Hosseini into Li in order to reduce delay and improve quality of service.
Regarding claim 74, Li discloses wherein the first sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,0) comprises a first quantity of slots associated with a user equipment (UE) processing capability (paragraph [0138]; [0136]; [0134]; and so on).
Regarding claim 75, Li discloses wherein the first quantity of slots is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) configuration of a sidelink bandwidth part (BWP) comprising the one or more candidate sidelink resources (paragraph [0084]-[0087]; [0090]-[0091]; [0093]; [0105]).
Regarding claim 76, Li discloses wherein the second sidelink processing time (T.sub.proc,1) comprises a second quantity of slots associated with a user equipment (UE) processing capability (paragraph [0136]; [0138]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 77, Li discloses wherein the second quantity of slots is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing (SCS) configuration of a sidelink bandwidth part (BWP) comprising the one or more candidate sidelink resources (paragraph [0084]-[0087]; [0090]-[0091]; [0093]; [0105]).
Claims 67, 69, and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hosseini, and Park (US 2022/0322302 A1).
Regarding claim 67, 69, and 71, as applied above, Li discloses the sidelink IUC scheme and transmitting the requested IUC information comprises transmitting the requested IUC information. Li does not disclose wherein the sidelink IUC scheme indicates whether SCI format 2-C can be used to convey the IUC information and the information is using SCI format 2-C.
Park teaches wherein the sidelink IUC scheme indicates whether SCI format 2-C can be used to convey the IUC information and the information is using SCI format 2-C (paragraph [0191]-[0194]; [0218]-[0220]; [0298]-[0300]; [0321]-[0323]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the sidelink IUC scheme indicates whether SCI format 2-C can be used to convey the IUC information and the information is using SCI format 2-C as taught by Park into Li in order to improve resource utilization and power consumption.
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461