DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There are a total of 11 claims and claims 1-11 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's argument, filed on January 14, 2026 has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1-11 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 1, on pages 7-12 applicant argues "Alshina in view of Che-Wei fails to disclose, teach, or suggest at least the above emphasized claim features. For instance, for the claimed, "selecting one luma sample and two chroma samples as luma and chroma collocated samples of the current pixel position," as claimed in claim 1. While the applicant's argument points are understood, the examiner respectfully disagrees it is because Che-Wei discloses ([see in Fig. 1-2]-in-loop filtering technique cross-component sample adaptive offset (CCSAO): the CCSAO offsets of the luma and chroma components are applied to the corresponding reconstruction samples output from the SAO process. Additionally, because the CCSAO takes the output samples from the DBF as the input, the classification of the CCSAO can be operated in parallel with that of the SAO. As shown in Figure 1, the CCSAO exploits the correlation among luma and chroma components by taking the reconstructed samples in all three components to classify the corresponding reconstructed sample in one component. Specifically, given a luma/chroma sample. three collocated samples are first selected for the Y, U and V components. The magnitudes of the three collocated samples are then converted into three band values {bandy, band u, band v} and a joint index i is obtained from the band values to indicate the corresponding category of the given sample). The independent claims 10 and 11 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALSHINA et al. ( US 2015/0178891 A1) in view of Che-Wei et al. (NPL: EE2-5.1: Cross-component Sample Adaptive Offset; given by the applicant in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, ALSHINA discloses a video coding method comprising([Section-1]-encoding image for a video or a moving image): receiving a current sample at a current pixel position of a current block being coded([claim text 1]- the method comprising: determining, in a luma reference picture, a luma reference block for prediction of a current block by using a luma motion vector; generating a luma sample of a 2/4-pixel location included in the luma reference block, by applying an 8-tap interpolation filter to luma samples of an integer pixel location of the luma reference picture); selecting one luma sample and two chroma samples as luma and chroma collocated samples of the current pixel position([claim text 1]- generating a luma sample of a 1/4-pixel location or a 3/4-pixel location included in the luma reference block, by applying an interpolation filter to the luma samples of the integer pixel location of the luma reference picture without using the generated luma sample of the 2/4-pixel location; determining, in a chroma reference picture, a chroma reference block for prediction of the current block by using a chroma motion vector; and generating a chroma sample of a 4/8-pixel location included in the chroma reference block, by applying a 4-tap interpolation filter to chroma samples of an integer pixel location of the chroma reference picture).
However, ALSHINA does not explicitly disclose wherein only a subset of a plurality of candidate luma samples in a vicinity of the current pixel position are eligible to be selected as the luma collocated sample or used for deriving the luma collocated sample of the current pixel position; selecting a pixel category from a plurality of pixel categories based on the values of the selected luma and chroma collocated samples for the current pixel position; performing a lookup for an offset based on the selected pixel category; updating the current sample by applying the offset; and encoding or decoding the current block based on the updated current sample.
In an analogous art, Che-Wei discloses wherein only a subset of a plurality of candidate luma samples in a vicinity of the current pixel position are eligible to be selected as the luma collocated sample or used for deriving the luma collocated sample of the current pixel position; selecting a pixel category from a plurality of pixel categories based on the values of the selected luma and chroma collocated samples for the current pixel position; performing a lookup for an offset based on the selected pixel category; updating the current sample by applying the offset; and encoding or decoding the current block based on the updated current sample([ abstract and Fig. 1-2]-a new in-loop filtering technique cross-component sample adaptive offset (CCSAO): the CCSAO offsets of the luma and chroma components are applied to the corresponding reconstruction samples output from the SAO process. Additionally, because the CCSAO takes the output samples from the DBF as the input, the classification of the CCSAO can be operated in parallel with that of the SAO. As shown in Figure 1, the CCSAO exploits the correlation among luma and chroma components by taking the reconstructed samples in all three components to classify the corresponding reconstructed sample in one component. Specifically, given a luma/chroma sample. three collocated samples are first selected for the Y, U and V components. The magnitudes of the three collocated samples are then converted into three band values {bandy, band u, band v} and a joint index i is obtained from the band values to indicate the corresponding category of the given sample. Meanwhile, one offset is received from the bitstream and added to the reconstructed samples that belongs to the category. { Y 001 , U cul, V cod are the three collocated samples that are used to classify the current sample: (Ny, Nu, N v} are the numbers of bands that are applied to Y, U and V components, respectively; BD is the coding bit-depth; Cree and C'rec are the reconstructed samples before and after the CCSAO is applied; n ccsAo[i] is the value of the CCSAO offset !hat is applied to the i-th category; Clipl(-) is the dipping function that clips the input to the range of the bit-depth, i.e., [0.2 80-1]; >> represents the right-shift operation. In the proposed CCSAO, the collocated luma sample can be chosen from 9 candidate positions while the collocated chroma sample is fixed, as depicted in). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Che-Wei to the modified system of ALSHINA a technique one new in-loop filtering cross-component sample adaptive offset (CCSAO) for coding efficiency improvement beyond Versatile Video Coding (VVC) which reduces the sample distortion by 1) utilizing the strong correlation between luma and chroma components to classify the reconstructed samples into different categories and 2) deriving one offset for each category and adding the offset to the samples in the category [Che-Wei; abstract].
Regarding claim 2, Che-Wei discloses wherein the vicinity of the current pixel position encompasses eight candidate luma samples surrounding the current pixel position and one candidate luma sample at a center position of the vicinity of the current pixel position([see in Fig. 2]- the collocated luma sample can be chosen from 9 candidate positions while the collocated chroma sample is fixed, as depicted in Figure 2.).
Regarding claim 3, Che-Wei discloses wherein the selected luma collocated sample is at the center position of the vicinity of the current pixel position ([see in Fig. 2]- as multiple collocated luma positions can be selected in the proposed CCSAO, the above progressive search is repeated for each candidate positions to determine the best classifier).
Regarding claim 7, Che-Wei discloses wherein only one out of the plurality of candidate luma samples in the vicinity of the current pixel position is eligible to be the luma collocated sample of the current pixel position ([see in Fig. 2]- as multiple collocated luma positions can be selected in the proposed CCSAO, the above progressive search is repeated for each candidate positions to determine the best classifier).
Regarding claim 8, Che-Wei discloses wherein the plurality of candidate luma samples comprises nine luma samples, and the eligible subset of the plurality of candidate luma samples comprises four candidate luma samples([see in Fig. 2]- In (1 ), { Ycol, Uco1, Vco1} are the three collocated samples that are used to classify the current sample; {Ny, Nu, Nv} are the numbers of bands that are applied to Y, U and V components, respectively; BD is the coding bit-depth; Cree and c;ee are the reconstructed samples before and after the CC SAO is applied; accsAo [i] is the value of the CCSAO offset that is applied to the i-th category; Clipl(·) is the clipping function that clips the input to the range of the bit-depth, i.e., [0, zsD - 1]; >> represents the right-shift operation. In the proposed CCSAO, the collocated luma sample can be chosen from 9 candidate positions while the collocated chroma sample is fixed, as depicted in Figure 2.).
Regarding claim 9, Che-Wei discloses wherein a linear average of two or more candidate luma samples selected from the eligible subset of the plurality of candidate luma samples is used as the selected luma collocated sample([see in Fig. 1-2]- in Figure 1, the CCSAO exploits the correlation among luma and chroma components by taking the reconstructed samples in all three components to classify the corresponding reconstructed sample in one component. Specifically, given a luma/chroma sample, three collocated samples are first selected for the Y, U and V components. As shown in (l ), the magnitudes of the three collocated samples are then converted into three band values {bandy, bandu, bandv } and a joint index i is obtained from the band values to indicate the corresponding category of the given sample).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in method claim 1. Hence; all limitations for apparatus claim 10 have been met in method claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in method claim 1. Hence; all limitations for method claim 11 have been met in method claim 1.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALSHINA in view of Che-Wei as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Hu et al. ( US 2021/0076032 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of ALSHINA and Che-Wei do not explicitly disclose wherein the candidate luma sample at the center position is selected as the luma collocated sample implicitly without being signaled in a bitstream.
In an analogous art, Hu discloses wherein the candidate luma sample at the center position is selected as the luma collocated sample implicitly without being signaled in a bitstream ([para 0125]- chroma sample to be filtered and the center position of luma samples used for filtering may be signaled in bitstream). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Hu to the modified system of ALSHINA and Che-Wei a process to encode or decode video data, a video coding device determines a value by applying an adaptive loop filter (ALF) to luma samples corresponding to a chroma sample of a current picture, the luma samples corresponding to the chroma sample being within a filter pattern that is the same for all chroma formats and types of chroma samples to reduce or remove redundancy inherent in video sequence [Hu; abstract ].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, The video coding method of claim 1, wherein a first classification index is computed based on the values of the selected luma and chroma collocated samples for the current pixel position, the method further comprising: computing a second classification index based on differences between adjacent candidate luma samples (in the vicinity of the current pixel position) relative to a particular threshold, wherein the pixel category is selected by using the first and second classification indices.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. Francois et al., US 2022/0337848A1, discloses video encoding and decoding using chroma residual scaling.
2. Kuo et. al., US 2022/0038726 A1, discloses methods and apparatus on improving the chroma coding efficiency.
3. Xiu et al., US 2017/0374384 A1, discloses for coding screen content by considering characteristics of screen content.
4. Pang et al., US. 2016/0100189 A1, discloses prediction of video blocks based on other video blocks.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MD N HAQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487