DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 10/22/2024, 06/23/2025, and 07/23/2025 are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, the limitation “a process liquid source” in line 6, is indefinite because it is unclear if this refers to the same “process liquid source” in line 2. It seems only one process liquid source 3 is disclosed in the description. For the purpose of examination, the limitations will be interpreted as referring to the same liquid source.
Claim 10, the limitation “a process liquid source” in lines 8-9, is indefinite because it is unclear if this refers to the same “process liquid source” in line 4. It seems only one process liquid source 3 is disclosed in the description. For the purpose of examination, the limitations will be interpreted as referring to the same liquid source.
Claims 2-9 and 11-18 are rejected due to being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 20050147749).
Liu et al. disclose:
1. (Original) A vaporization system (fig. 4), configured to transfer steam to a process chamber (130), comprising a jet mixer (94, 104, 106), a mixing heater (116, 118, 126), a process liquid source (110a or 110b), a gas inlet pipeline (96), a liquid inlet pipeline (108a or 108b), and a gas outlet pipeline (128), wherein: the process liquid source is configured to store or output a process liquid (liquid 1 or liquid 2); a first inlet (opening of 94 connecting to 96) of the jet mixer is communicated with a gas source (98a or 98b) through the gas inlet pipeline, a second inlet (either connection opening in 106 to 108a or 108b) of the jet mixer is communicated with the process liquid source (110a or 110b) through the liquid inlet pipeline, the jet mixer is configured to mix the carrier gas input from the gas source with the process liquid input from the process liquid source to form a mist-like mixture (“When the precursor liquid from one of the sources 110A or 110B is flowing (under pressure from the supply source) into the gas flow passageway 106, it is injected by nozzles and atomized by the high velocity gas jet flowing through the same passageway 106 from orifice plate 104 thereby forming small liquid droplets. The gas and liquid droplet mixture i.e. the aerosol, then flows out of the gas flow passageway into the heated vaporization chamber 116”, see [0029]); and an inlet (connection opening of 116 to 106) of the mixing heater is communicated with an outlet (connection opening of 106 to 116) of the jet mixer, the mixing heater is configured to heat the mist-like mixture to vaporize the mist-like mixture into the steam (“The heater 118 provides energy needed to heat a block 120 on the internal cavity 121 of the vaporization chamber 116 to the desired temperature so as to provide the energy needed to heat the carrier gas and vaporize the liquid droplets in the aerosol formed at the atomizer 94”, [0031]), and an outlet (opening connection of 126 to 128) of the mixing heater is communicated with the process chamber through the gas outlet pipeline (as seen in fig. 4).
2. (Original) The vaporization system according to claim 1, wherein: a gas flow rate controller (100a or 100b) is arranged on the gas inlet pipeline and is configured to control a flow rate of the carrier gas transferred to the jet mixer through the gas inlet pipeline [0028]; and a liquid flow rate controller (112a or 112b) is arranged on the liquid inlet pipeline and is configured to control a flow rate of the process liquid transferred to the jet mixer through the liquid inlet pipeline [0029].
3. (Original) The vaporization system according to claim 2, wherein: a first on/off valve (102a or 102b) arranged on the gas inlet pipeline, the first on/off valve is located downstream of the gas flow rate controller and is configured to control the gas inlet pipeline to be on or off [0042]; and a second on/off valve (114a or 114b) is further arranged on the liquid inlet pipeline, and the second on/off valve is located downstream of the liquid flow rate controller and is configured to control the liquid inlet pipeline to be on or off [0034].
10. (Currently Amended) Semiconductor process equipment comprising: a process chamber (130); and a vaporization system (fig. 4), configured to transfer steam to the process chamber (130), comprising a jet mixer (94, 104, 106), a mixing heater (116, 118, 126), a process liquid source (110a or 110b), a gas inlet pipeline (96), a liquid inlet pipeline (108a or 108b), and a gas outlet pipeline (128), wherein: the process liquid source is configured to store or output a process liquid (liquid 1 or liquid 2); a first inlet (opening of 94 connecting to 96) of the jet mixer is communicated with a gas source (98a or 98b) through the gas inlet pipeline, a second inlet (either connection opening in 106 to 108a or 108b) of the jet mixer is communicated with the process liquid source (110a or 110b) through the liquid inlet pipeline, the jet mixer is configured to mix the carrier gas input from the gas source with the process liquid input from the process liquid source to form a mist-like mixture (“When the precursor liquid from one of the sources 110A or 110B is flowing (under pressure from the supply source) into the gas flow passageway 106, it is injected by nozzles and atomized by the high velocity gas jet flowing through the same passageway 106 from orifice plate 104 thereby forming small liquid droplets. The gas and liquid droplet mixture i.e. the aerosol, then flows out of the gas flow passageway into the heated vaporization chamber 116”, see [0029]); and an inlet (connection opening of 116 to 106) of the mixing heater is communicated with an outlet (connection opening of 106 to 116) of the jet mixer, the mixing heater is configured to heat the mist-like mixture to vaporize the mist-like mixture into the steam (“The heater 118 provides energy needed to heat a block 120 on the internal cavity 121 of the vaporization chamber 116 to the desired temperature so as to provide the energy needed to heat the carrier gas and vaporize the liquid droplets in the aerosol formed at the atomizer 94”, [0031]), and an outlet (opening connection of 126 to 128) of the mixing heater is communicated with the process chamber through the gas outlet pipeline (as seen in fig. 4); wherein one or more process chambers are included (one process chamber 130), a number of the gas outlet pipelines is same as a number of process chambers (outlet pipeline 128), and outlet ends of the gas outlet pipelines communicate with the process chambers in a one-to-one correspondence (end of 128 connects to chamber 130, fig. 4).
11. (New) The semiconductor process equipment according to claim 10, wherein: a gas flow rate controller (100a or 100b) is arranged on the gas inlet pipeline and is configured to control a flow rate of the carrier gas transferred to the jet mixer through the gas inlet pipeline (see fig. 4; [0028]); and a liquid flow rate controller (112a or 112b) is arranged on the liquid inlet pipeline and is configured to control a flow rate of the process liquid transferred to the jet mixer through the liquid inlet pipeline (see fig. 4; [0029]).
12. (New) The semiconductor process equipment according to claim 11, wherein: a first on/off valve (102a or 102b) arranged on the gas inlet pipeline, the first on/off valve is located downstream of the gas flow rate controller and is configured to control the gas inlet pipeline to be on or off (fig. 4; [0042]); and a second on/off valve (114a or 114b) is further arranged on the liquid inlet pipeline, and the second on/off valve is located downstream of the liquid flow rate controller and is configured to control the liquid inlet pipeline to be on or off (see fig. 4; [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20050147749) in view Ma et al. (CN 211913379).
Liu et al. disclose the invention as essentially disclosed, except for wherein: the first on/off valve is located upstream of the gas flow rate controller; a first check valve further arranged on the gas inlet pipeline, and the first check valve is located downstream of the gas flow controller and is configured to prevent the mist-like mixture in the jet mixer from backflowing into the gas inlet pipeline; and the second on/off valve is located upstream of the liquid flow rate controller.
Ma et al. teach a related vaporization system comprising a solenoid shut-off valve provided at the gas flow controller inlet end (equivalent to "the first on/off valve is located upstream of the gas flow controller"); a first one-way valve (equivalent to "first check valve”; first on/off valve and first check valve are also provided on the inlet pipe); a one-way valve is provided at the gas flow controller outlet end (equivalent to "the first non-return valve is located downstream of the gas flow controller"), the one-way valve acts to offset the gas flow controller outlet end with the instantaneous pressure generated by the instant vaporization and evaporation of the liquid to avoid liquid backflow (equivalent to "to prevent the mist-like mixture in the jet mixer from backflow into the gas inlet pipeline"), for the purpose of ensuring complete shut-off of the gas flow rate controller, thereby avoiding micro-leakage, and for the purpose of to avoid liquid backflow after vaporization into the cryogenic region causing liquefaction to damage the control equipment (see English Translation, “Specific implementation examples”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Liu et al., such that the first on/off valve is located upstream of the gas flow rate controller; a first check valve further arranged on the gas inlet pipeline, and the first check valve is located downstream of the gas flow controller and is configured to prevent the mist-like mixture in the jet mixer from backflowing into the gas inlet pipeline; and the second on/off valve is located upstream of the liquid flow rate controller, as taught by Ma et al., for the purpose of ensuring complete shut-off of the gas flow rate controller, thereby avoiding micro-leakage, and for the purpose of to avoid liquid backflow after vaporization into the cryogenic region causing liquefaction to damage the control equipment.
Claims 4-5 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20050147749) in view of Sargent et al. (EP 0208459).
Liu et al. disclose the invention as essentially disclosed, except for wherein a high-temperature flow rate controller is arranged on the gas outlet pipeline and is configured to control the flow rate of the steam transferred to the process chamber; and wherein the vaporization system further comprises a thermal insulation unit, and the thermal insulation unit is arranged on the gas outlet pipeline and the high-temperature flow rate controller and is configured to heat the gas outlet pipeline and the high-temperature flow rate controller.
Sargent teaches a related semiconductor manufacturing system, wherein a high-temperature flow rate controller (84) is arranged on the gas outlet pipeline (78) and is configured to control the flow rate of the steam transferred to the process chamber (16); and wherein the vaporization system further comprises a thermal insulation unit (82), and the thermal insulation unit is arranged on the gas outlet pipeline (80) and the high-temperature flow rate controller and is configured to heat the gas outlet pipeline and the high-temperature flow rate controller (“A temperature controller 84 is connected to the heating tape 82 to maintain the TEOS supply line 80 at a constant preselected temperature.”), so that the internal temperature of the output line or passage is always at or above the vaporization temperature to avoid condensation of the steam in the output line or passage.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Liu et al., such that a high-temperature flow rate controller is arranged on the gas outlet pipeline and is configured to control the flow rate of the steam transferred to the process chamber; and wherein the vaporization system further comprises a thermal insulation unit, and the thermal insulation unit is arranged on the gas outlet pipeline and the high-temperature flow rate controller and is configured to heat the gas outlet pipeline and the high-temperature flow rate controller, as taught by Sargent, for the purpose of keeping the temperature of the output line or passage at or above the vaporization temperature to avoid condensation of the steam in the output line or passage.
Claims 6-9 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20050147749) in view of Liu et al. (CN 213222075).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Liu ‘749 disclose the invention as essentially disclosed, except for wherein the process liquid source comprises a liquid source bottle and a preheater, wherein: a liquid source bottle configured to store the process liquid; and a preheater configured to heat the liquid source bottle so that the process liquid in the liquid source bottle is kept at a preset temperature.
Liu ‘075 teaches a related semiconductor manufacturing system, wherein the process liquid source comprises: a liquid source bottle (126) configured to store the process liquid; and a preheater (116, 123) configured to heat the liquid source bottle so that the process liquid in the liquid source bottle is kept at a preset temperature (“thermocouple 116 detects the source liquid temperature is reduced, timely adjusting the heating power of the temperature control cavity 123,” see English translation, Embodiment One), for the purpose of allowing adjustment of the source liquid temperature so to avoid too low a temperature of the source of the process liquid, further improving the reliability of the device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Liu ‘749, such that the process liquid source comprises a liquid source bottle and a preheater, wherein: a liquid source bottle configured to store the process liquid; and a preheater configured to heat the liquid source bottle so that the process liquid in the liquid source bottle is kept at a preset temperature, as taught by Liu ‘075, for the purpose of allowing adjustment of the source liquid temperature so to avoid too low a temperature of the source of the process liquid, further improving the reliability of the device.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Liu ‘749 disclose the invention as essentially disclosed, except for further comprising: a pressurization pipeline, a gas inlet end of the pressurization pipeline communicating with the gas source, the gas outlet end of the pressurization pipeline communicating with the liquid source bottle, the inlet end of the liquid inlet pipeline communicating with the liquid source bottle, and the gas outlet end of the pressurization pipeline being higher than the inlet end of the liquid inlet pipeline, comprising: a third on/off valve configured to control the pressurization pipeline to be on or off; and a second check valve located downstream of the third on/off valve and configured to prevent gas in the liquid source bottle from backflowing into the pressurization pipeline.
Liu ‘075 teaches a pressurization pipeline (100), a gas inlet end of the pressurization pipeline communicating with the gas source, the gas outlet end of the pressurization pipeline communicating with the liquid source bottle (“the lower side of the air inlet pipeline 100 extends to the source barrel cavity 203”), the inlet end (of 108) of the liquid inlet pipeline communicating with the liquid source bottle, and the gas outlet end of the pressurization pipeline being higher than the inlet end of the liquid inlet pipeline (the inlet end of refill pipe 108 communicates with source bottle 126 and that the outlet end of intake line 100 is higher than the inlet end of refill pipe 108), comprising: a third on/off valve (101) configured to control the pressurization pipeline to be on or off; and a second check valve (“the one-way power valve 103 air flow direction is set as the external flow source barrel 122”) located downstream of the third on/off valve and configured to prevent gas in the liquid source bottle from backflowing into the pressurization pipeline, for the purpose of ensuring consistent source volume carried by the gas and uniform liquid pressure within the source bottles, and reducing the impact of gas on the source liquid temperature which allows for continuous use of the source liquid, eliminating waste and improving its utilization rate (see English Translation, “Contents of the Invention”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Liu ‘749, to further comprise: a pressurization pipeline, a gas inlet end of the pressurization pipeline communicating with the gas source, the gas outlet end of the pressurization pipeline communicating with the liquid source bottle, the inlet end of the liquid inlet pipeline communicating with the liquid source bottle, and the gas outlet end of the pressurization pipeline being higher than the inlet end of the liquid inlet pipeline, comprising: a third on/off valve configured to control the pressurization pipeline to be on or off; and a second check valve located downstream of the third on/off valve and configured to prevent gas in the liquid source bottle from backflowing into the pressurization pipeline, as taught by Liu ‘075, for the purpose of ensuring consistent source volume carried by the gas and uniform liquid pressure within the source bottles, and reducing the impact of gas on the source liquid temperature which allows for continuous use of the source liquid, eliminating waste and improving its utilization rate.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Liu ‘749 disclose the invention as essentially disclosed, except wherein the process liquid source further comprises a liquid level controller, a first liquid level sensor, a second liquid level sensor, and a liquid refilling pipeline, wherein: the first liquid level sensor and the second liquid level sensor are arranged in the liquid source bottle and between a position of a gas outlet end of the pressurization pipeline and a position of an inlet end of the liquid inlet pipeline, the first liquid level sensor is arranged at a position higher than a position of the second liquid level sensor, the first liquid level sensor and the second liquid level sensor are configured to monitor a liquid surface height inside the liquid source bottle and send a detected liquid surface height value to the liquid level controller; the liquid refilling pipeline is communicated with the liquid source bottle and is configured to transfer the process liquid to the liquid source bottle, and a fourth on/off valve is arranged on the liquid refilling pipeline and is configured to control the liquid refilling pipeline to be on or off; and the liquid level controller is configured to control the fourth on/off valve to be on or off according to the liquid surface height value sent by the first liquid level sensor and the second liquid level sensor.
Liu ‘075 teaches the process liquid source further comprises a liquid level controller (the plant rehydration operation is such that the source liquid replenishment is controlled by a signal), a first liquid level sensor (113), a second liquid level sensor (114), and a liquid refilling pipeline (127), wherein: the first liquid level sensor and the second liquid level sensor are arranged in the liquid source bottle (fig. 3) and between a position of a gas outlet end of the pressurization pipeline (108) and a position of an inlet end of the liquid inlet pipeline (108), the first liquid level sensor is arranged at a position higher than a position of the second liquid level sensor (“the low liquid level detecting point is located at the lower side of the high liquid level detecting point”), the first liquid level sensor and the second liquid level sensor are configured to monitor a liquid surface height inside the liquid source bottle and send a detected liquid surface height value to the liquid level controller (“when the high liquid level detecting point 114 detecting signal display has no liquid, the low liquid level detecting point 115 detecting signal also shows no liquid, the state is the source bottle 126 needs to supplement the source liquid, the device performs the related liquid supplementing operation”); the liquid refilling pipeline (127) is communicated with the liquid source bottle (126) and is configured to transfer the process liquid to the liquid source bottle (fig. 3), and a fourth on/off valve (on/off control of pump) is arranged on the liquid refilling pipeline and is configured to control the liquid refilling pipeline to be on or off; and the liquid level controller is configured to control the fourth on/off valve to be on or off according to the liquid surface height value sent by the first liquid level sensor and the second liquid level sensor (“the source liquid in the source bottle 126 is sufficient, the liquid supplementing pump 107 is closed, the source bottle 126 needs to fill liquid; the liquid supplementing pump 107 is opened, the source barrel 122 is a source bottle 126 supplemental source liquid.”), for the purpose of minimizing fluctuations in the liquid volume, ensuring consistent source volume carried by the gas and uniform liquid pressure within the source bottles, and reducing the impact of gas on the source liquid temperature which allows for continuous use of the source liquid, eliminating waste and improving its utilization rate (see English Translation, “Contents of the Invention”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Liu ‘749, wherein the process liquid source further comprises a liquid level controller, a first liquid level sensor, a second liquid level sensor, and a liquid refilling pipeline, wherein: the first liquid level sensor and the second liquid level sensor are arranged in the liquid source bottle and between a position of a gas outlet end of the pressurization pipeline and a position of an inlet end of the liquid inlet pipeline, the first liquid level sensor is arranged at a position higher than a position of the second liquid level sensor, the first liquid level sensor and the second liquid level sensor are configured to monitor a liquid surface height inside the liquid source bottle and send a detected liquid surface height value to the liquid level controller; the liquid refilling pipeline is communicated with the liquid source bottle and is configured to transfer the process liquid to the liquid source bottle, and a fourth on/off valve is arranged on the liquid refilling pipeline and is configured to control the liquid refilling pipeline to be on or off; and the liquid level controller is configured to control the fourth on/off valve to be on or off according to the liquid surface height value sent by the first liquid level sensor and the second liquid level sensor, as taught by Liu ‘075, for the purpose of minimizing fluctuations in the liquid volume, ensuring consistent source volume carried by the gas and uniform liquid pressure within the source bottles, and reducing the impact of gas on the source liquid temperature which allows for continuous use of the source liquid, eliminating waste and improving its utilization rate.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Liu ‘749 disclose the invention as essentially disclosed, except for wherein: the pressurization pipeline further comprises a pressure detector configured to detect pressure inside the liquid source bottle (“the pressure gauge 102 can detect the pressure in the source barrel 122 exceeds the set value”); and the process liquid source further comprises a pressure-releasing pipeline communicating with the liquid source bottle or the pressurization pipeline, a fifth on/off valve being arranged on the pressure-releasing pipeline and configured to control the on/off of the pressure-releasing pipeline to be on or off according to a pressure value detected by the pressure detector.
Liu ‘075 teaches wherein the pressurization pipeline further comprises a pressure detector (pressure gauge 102) configured to detect pressure inside the liquid source bottle (on intake line 100); and the process liquid source further comprises a pressure-releasing pipeline communicating with the liquid source bottle or the pressurization pipeline (“the pressure control device comprises an air inlet pipeline 100 is connected with the air outlet pipeline 125”), a fifth on/off valve being arranged on the pressure-releasing pipeline (“the air outlet pipeline 125 is fixedly provided with an air outlet one-way valve 124”) and configured to control the on/off of the pressure-releasing pipeline to be on or off according to a pressure value detected by the pressure detector (“multiple air will be discharged from the one-way valve 124 to maintain the air pressure in the 122 source barrel; the air inlet pipeline 100 is provided with a pressure gauge 102; the device works normally, the air outlet one-way valve 124 is in the open state, the source barrel 122 in pressure is too large by the air outlet pipeline 125 for pressure adjustment, so that the pressure in the source barrel 122 is kept in a certain range”), for the purpose of minimizing fluctuations in the liquid volume, ensuring consistent source volume carried by the gas and uniform liquid pressure within the source bottles (see English Translation, “Contents of the Invention”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Liu ‘749, wherein: the pressurization pipeline further comprises a pressure detector configured to detect pressure inside the liquid source bottle (“the pressure gauge 102 can detect the pressure in the source barrel 122 exceeds the set value”); and the process liquid source further comprises a pressure-releasing pipeline communicating with the liquid source bottle or the pressurization pipeline, a fifth on/off valve being arranged on the pressure-releasing pipeline and configured to control the on/off of the pressure-releasing pipeline to be on or off according to a pressure value detected by the pressure detector, as taught by Liu ‘075, for the purpose of minimizing fluctuations in the liquid volume, ensuring consistent source volume carried by the gas and uniform liquid pressure within the source bottles.
Conclusion
/MARINA A TIETJEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753