DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 10/22/2024.
The IDS filed on 10/22/2024, 10/3/2025, 1/2/2026 and 3/13/2026 is considered.
Claims 18-20 and 22-25 are canceled.
Claims 1-17 and 21 are examined and rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao (US 20250184201 A1, hereinafter “Xaio”).
Regarding Claim 1, Xiao teaches a network device (see FIG. 9, gNB; also see FIG. 3, paras 58-60, block diagram of network equipment/gNB), comprising: a memory, in which instructions are stored; and at least one processor, configured to execute the instructions stored in the memory to
generate a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (see para 126, FIG. 9, DMRS sequence generation by gNB); and
send the DMRS to a wireless device (see para 127, the transmitter of gNB transmits a configuration for Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS)),
wherein the DMRS is coded with one of a plurality of expanded orthogonal cover codes (OCCs) belonging to an expanded code division multiplexing (CDM) group (see Table 2, paras 106-107, the additional DMRS ports with TD-OCC and FD-OCC are grouped into new CDM groups. This scheme is based on the assumption that additional new CDM groups are introduced for the additional DMRS ports, and the mapping between DMRS ports and CDM groups are provided in Table 2), the expanded CDM group is generated by expanding a legacy CDM group including a plurality of legacy OCCs (see para 109, FIG. 6A illustrates CDM group 0 DMRS ports 1, 1, 4, 5 and CDM group 1, DMRS ports 8-15/i.e., legacy OCC, For DMRS type 1, CDM group 2 and CDM group 3 are introduced. CDM group 2 includes the additional DMRS ports 8, 9, 12, 13 mapped to REs 612 and CDM group 3 includes the additional DMRS ports 10, 11, 14, 15 mapped to REs 613 as shown in FIG. 6A. For DMRS type 2, CDM group 3, CDM group 4 and CDM group 5 are introduced. CDM group 3 includes the additional DMRS ports 12, 13, 18, 19 mapped to REs 623, CDM group 4 includes the additional DMRS ports 14, 15, 20, 21 mapped to REs 624 and CDM group 5 includes the additional DMRS ports 16, 17, 22, 23 mapped to REs 625 as shown in FIG. 6B; also see FIG. 7A para 119, A long DMRS sequence for each CDM group may be generated same as in Release 16 and the long sequence may be shared by the legacy DMRS ports and the additional DMRS ports within a CDM group), and the number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of expanded OCCs is expanded as twice the number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of legacy OCCs (see para 120, for DMRS type 1 as shown in FIG. 7A (a schematic diagram illustrating an example of a long DMRS sequence for the additional DMRS ports and legacy DMRS ports within a CDM group for DMRS type 1), DMRS ports mapped to REs 710 and REs 712 correspond to different parts of a same long DMRS sequence/i.e., expanded OCCs, which is doubled as the number of REs occupied by each DMRS port).
Xiao teaches new CDM group for additional DMRS ports with TD and FD OCC.
Xiao does not specify the new CDM group as “expanded CDM group”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the new CDM as expanded OCC, since Xiao already supports additional DMRS ports in new CDM groups.
Regarding Claim 11, Xiao teaches a wireless device (see FIG. 8, UE, and FIG. 2. Block diagram of UE, paras 51-52), comprising: a memory, in which instructions are stored; and at least one processor, configured to execute the instructions stored in the memory to
receive a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) from a network device (see para 124, At step 802, the receiver 214 of UE 200 receives a configuration for Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) that includes a first set of DMRS ports and a second set of DMRS ports, wherein the first set of DMRS ports comprises type 1 DMRS ports 0-7 or type 2 DMRS ports 0-11; and the second set of DMRS ports comprises type 1 DMRS ports 8-15 or type 2 DMRS ports 12-23); and
perform a channel estimation based on the DMRS (see para 125, At step 804, the processor 202 of UE 200 generates DMRS sequences/i.e., channel estimation, for the first and second sets of DMRS ports),
wherein the first DMRS is coded with one of a plurality of first orthogonal cover codes (OCCs) belonging to a first code division multiplexing (CDM) group (see Table 2, paras 106-107, the additional DMRS ports with TD-OCC and FD-OCC are grouped into new CDM groups. This scheme is based on the assumption that additional new CDM groups are introduced for the additional DMRS ports, and the mapping between DMRS ports and CDM groups are provided in Table 2), the first CDM group is generated by expanding a second CDM group including a plurality of second OCCs (see para 109, FIG. 6A illustrates CDM group 0 DMRS ports 1, 1, 4, 5 and CDM group 1, DMRS ports 8-15/i.e., legacy OCC, For DMRS type 1, CDM group 2 and CDM group 3 are introduced. CDM group 2 includes the additional DMRS ports 8, 9, 12, 13 mapped to REs 612 and CDM group 3 includes the additional DMRS ports 10, 11, 14, 15 mapped to REs 613 as shown in FIG. 6A. For DMRS type 2, CDM group 3, CDM group 4 and CDM group 5 are introduced. CDM group 3 includes the additional DMRS ports 12, 13, 18, 19 mapped to REs 623, CDM group 4 includes the additional DMRS ports 14, 15, 20, 21 mapped to REs 624 and CDM group 5 includes the additional DMRS ports 16, 17, 22, 23 mapped to REs 625 as shown in FIG. 6B; also see FIG. 7A para 119, A long DMRS sequence for each CDM group may be generated same as in Release 16 and the long sequence may be shared by the legacy DMRS ports and the additional DMRS ports within a CDM group), and the number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of first OCCs is expanded as twice the number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of second OCCs (see para 120, for DMRS type 1 as shown in FIG. 7A (a schematic diagram illustrating an example of a long DMRS sequence for the additional DMRS ports and legacy DMRS ports within a CDM group for DMRS type 1), DMRS ports mapped to REs 710 and REs 712 correspond to different parts of a same long DMRS sequence/i.e., expanded OCCs, which is doubled as the number of REs occupied by each DMRS port).
Xiao teaches new CDM group for additional DMRS ports with TD and FD OCC.
Xiao does not specify the new CDM group as “expanded CDM group”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the new CDM as expanded OCC, since Xiao already supports additional DMRS ports in new CDM groups.
Regarding Claim 21, Xiao teaches a method for a wireless device, comprising:
receiving a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) from a network device (see para 124, At step 802, the receiver 214 of UE 200 receives a configuration for Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) that includes a first set of DMRS ports and a second set of DMRS ports, wherein the first set of DMRS ports comprises type 1 DMRS ports 0-7 or type 2 DMRS ports 0-11; and the second set of DMRS ports comprises type 1 DMRS ports 8-15 or type 2 DMRS ports 12-23);; and
performing a channel estimation based on the DMRS (see para 125, At step 804, the processor 202 of UE 200 generates DMRS sequences/i.e., channel estimation, for the first and second sets of DMRS ports),
wherein the first DMRS is coded with one of a plurality of first orthogonal cover codes (OCCs) belonging to a first code division multiplexing (CDM) group (see Table 2, paras 106-107, the additional DMRS ports with TD-OCC and FD-OCC are grouped into new CDM groups. This scheme is based on the assumption that additional new CDM groups are introduced for the additional DMRS ports, and the mapping between DMRS ports and CDM groups are provided in Table 2), the first CDM group is generated by expanding a second CDM group including a plurality of second OCCs (see para 109, FIG. 6A illustrates CDM group 0 DMRS ports 1, 1, 4, 5 and CDM group 1, DMRS ports 8-15/i.e., legacy OCC, For DMRS type 1, CDM group 2 and CDM group 3 are introduced. CDM group 2 includes the additional DMRS ports 8, 9, 12, 13 mapped to REs 612 and CDM group 3 includes the additional DMRS ports 10, 11, 14, 15 mapped to REs 613 as shown in FIG. 6A. For DMRS type 2, CDM group 3, CDM group 4 and CDM group 5 are introduced. CDM group 3 includes the additional DMRS ports 12, 13, 18, 19 mapped to REs 623, CDM group 4 includes the additional DMRS ports 14, 15, 20, 21 mapped to REs 624 and CDM group 5 includes the additional DMRS ports 16, 17, 22, 23 mapped to REs 625 as shown in FIG. 6B; also see FIG. 7A para 119, A long DMRS sequence for each CDM group may be generated same as in Release 16 and the long sequence may be shared by the legacy DMRS ports and the additional DMRS ports within a CDM group), and the number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of first OCCs is expanded as twice the number of frequency domain elements in each of the plurality of second OCCs (see para 120, for DMRS type 1 as shown in FIG. 7A (a schematic diagram illustrating an example of a long DMRS sequence for the additional DMRS ports and legacy DMRS ports within a CDM group for DMRS type 1), DMRS ports mapped to REs 710 and REs 712 correspond to different parts of a same long DMRS sequence/i.e., expanded OCCs, which is doubled as the number of REs occupied by each DMRS port).
Xiao teaches new CDM group for additional DMRS ports with TD and FD OCC.
Xiao does not specify the new CDM group as “expanded CDM group”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the new CDM as expanded OCC, since Xiao already supports additional DMRS ports in new CDM groups.
Claim(s) 2-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao (US 20250184201 A1, hereinafter “Xaio”) in view of Liu (US 20190036664 A1, from IDS, hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding Claim 2, Xiao teaches the network device of claim 1, but does not teach the underlined limitation: frequency occupation for resource elements of the DMRS is doubled by repeating frequency occupation of a legacy DMRS pattern in consecutive frequency domain resource elements.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches this limitation: see FIG. 4, para 105-108, A receiving device determines the first resource map/i.e., legacy DMRS pattern, of the reference signal supporting Z antenna ports. The receiving device determines, according to the predetermined resource mapping rule, the first resource map of the reference signal supporting Z antenna ports. Step 404: The receiving unit receives, based on the first resource map, the reference signal supporting Z antenna ports from the target time-frequency resource. The first resource map is repeated in time domain and/or frequency domain in a repetition unit of K resource units. The K resource units are K consecutive resource units in time domain or K consecutive resource units in frequency domain in a reference signal resource set.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teaching of Xiao to include details regarding repeating the legacy DMRS pattern in consecutive FD resource elements, as taught by Liu, the motivation being, to reduce resource overhead when a quantity of the antenna ports is increased to 20, 24, 28, or 32, reference signals need to occupy a large quantity of radio resources in each resource unit (see Liu, para 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang (US 20250080387 A1) teaches resource mapping of DMRS ports… FIG. 6B, para 90 For type 2 DMRS pattern 620, RE group 0 of CDM group 0 consists of REs from carrier {0 6} in a PRB and, length 2 OCC sequence is used for carrier {0 6} in a PRB; RE group 1 of CDM group 0 consists of REs from carrier {1 7} in a PRB and, length 2 OCC sequence is used for carrier {1 7} in a PRB. As another example, for type 2 DMRS pattern 620, RE group 0 of CDM group 0 consists of REs from carrier {0,1} in a PRB and, length 2 OCC sequence is used for carrier {0 1} in a PRB; RE group 1 of CDM group 0 consists of REs from carrier {6, 7} in a PRB. And the length 2 OCC sequence is used for carrier {6, 7} in a PRB. Here, REs for one DMRS port group are distributed evenly in a PRB and this is used to achieve better demodulation performance. Note: The extended CMD group is illustrated as the last one with Res for DMRS ports 12-23.
/DEEPA BELUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472