Claim Interpretation
In claim 7, the phrase “restricting means” invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f). “Restricting means” is interpreted to be restricting the relative movement of the two bearing elements to one another (para. [0019]). Examples are an abutment (para. [0019]) or an arm portion (para. [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selzer (US 20160053809 A1) in view of Komata (US 5710470 A).
Regarding claim 1, Selzer discloses (in annotated fig. 1A) an axial and radial sliding bearing (fig. 1A) comprising
a first bearing element (11) includes a first bearing ring (11),
a second bearing element (4, 5, 12),
wherein the bearing elements are arranged rotatably to one another about a bearing axis (A),
and the second bearing element (4, 5, 12) forms a substantially U-shaped cross-section in order to at least partially accommodate the first bearing ring (11)
sliding elements (20) made of a polymer material (abstract) that are arranged between the first (11) and the second bearing element (4, 5, 12) in order to axially and radially decouple the bearing elements,
wherein the second bearing element (4, 5, 12) comprises two bearing disc portions spaced from one another (4, 12) and at least one bearing cylinder portion (5) arranged between the two bearing disc portions (4, 12) and coaxially oriented to the first bearing ring (11).
Selzer does not disclose the sliding elements include at least one axial sliding ring to be arranged between radial surfaces associated with one another of the two bearing elements and two radial sliding rings to be arranged between axial surfaces associated with one another of the two bearing elements, wherein the axial sliding ring is constructed in one piece and has a sleeve shape and wherein the radial sliding rings reconfigured as respective ring discs each having opposite flat sliding surfaces, so that a sliding functionality between the first and the second bearing element is provided by three separate sliding elements, each of them in one piece.
Komata teaches (in fig. 2) the sliding elements (12a, 13a and 14a) include at least one axial sliding ring (12a) to be arranged between radial surfaces associated with one another of the two bearing elements (10, 16, 27) and two radial sliding rings (13a and 14a) to be arranged between axial surfaces associated with one another of the two bearing elements (10, 16, 27), wherein the axial sliding ring (12a) is constructed in one piece and has a sleeve shape and wherein the radial sliding rings (13a, 14a) reconfigured as respective ring discs (13a, 14a) each having opposite flat sliding surfaces, so that a sliding functionality between the first and the second bearing element ((10, 16, 27) is provided by three separate sliding elements (12a, 13a, and 14a), each of them in one piece.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the sliding elements of Selzer with the three separate sliding elements of Komata for the predictable results of providing sliding between the elements in the bearing.
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the two-part sliding elements to be three parts, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 2, Selzer in view of Komata teaches (in Selzer annotated fig. 1A and Komata fig. 2) the axial and radial sliding bearing according to claim 1, wherein an axial height of the bearing cylinder portion (Selzer 5) is substantially equal to a sum of the axial heights of the two radial sliding rings (Komata 13a, 14a) and of axial height of the first bearing ring (Selzer 11) and moreover is substantially equal to an axial height of the axial sliding ring (Komata 12a, the claim says “substantially” so the combination has this limitation).
Regarding claim 3, Selzer in view of Komata teaches (in Selzer annotated fig. 1A) the axial and radial sliding bearing according to claim 1, wherein the bearing cylinder portion (5) is configured in one piece with one of the two bearing disc portions (4) to which the other of the two bearing disc portions (12) is fixed.
Regarding claim 4, Selzer in view of Komata teaches (in Selzer annotated fig. 1A) the axial and radial sliding bearing according to claim 1, wherein the bearing cylinder portion (5) is configured as a full cylinder and at least one of the two bearing disc portions (12) is fixed to the bearing cylinder portion (5) by means of with a screw connection (SC, Selzer para. [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Selzer in view of Komata teaches (in Selzer annotated fig. 1A) the axial and radial sliding bearing according to claim 1, wherein a multitude of axial ducts (SC, Selzer para. [0034]) arranged radially spaced from an axis (A) of the first bearing ring (11) are configured through the two bearing disc portions (4, 12) and the at least one bearing cylinder portion (5) arranged between the two bearing disc portions (4, 12) and oriented centered and coaxially thereto.
Regarding claim 6, Selzer in view of Komata teaches the axial and radial sliding bearing according to claim 1, but does not teach the radial dimension of the bearing is less than 80 mm, and an axial dimension of the bearing is less than 20 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radial dimension of the bearing is less than 80 mm, and an axial dimension of the bearing is less than 20 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the radial dimension of the bearing is less than 80 mm, and an axial dimension of the bearing is less than 20 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 7, Selzer in view of Komata teaches (in Selzer annotated fig. 1A) the axial and radial sliding bearing according to claim 1, wherein the bearing comprises a restricting means (SC) for restricting a relative movement of the two bearing elements (12, and 4, 5) to one another.
Regarding claim 13, Selzer in view of Komata teaches (in Selzer annotated fig. 1A) the axial and radial sliding bearing teaches the axial and radial sliding bearing according to claim 1, wherein the bearing cylinder portion (5) is configured as a full cylinder and at least one of the two bearing disc portions (4, 12) is fixed to the bearing cylinder portion (5) with a screw connection (SC, Selzer para. [0034]) extending coaxially to the first bearing element (11).
Regarding claim 14, Selzer in view of Komata teaches the axial and radial sliding bearing according to claim 1, but does not teach a radial dimension of the bearing is less than or equal to 60 mm and an axial dimension of the bearing is less than or equal to 16 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radial dimension of the bearing is less than 60 mm, and an axial dimension of the bearing is less than 16 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the radial dimension of the bearing is less than 60 mm, and an axial dimension of the bearing is less than 16 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 15, Selzer in view of Komata teaches the axial and radial sliding bearing according to claim 1, but does not teach a radial dimension of the bearing is less than or equal to 40 mm and an axial dimension of the bearing is less than or equal to 12 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the radial dimension of the bearing is less than 40 mm, and an axial dimension of the bearing is less than 12 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the radial dimension of the bearing is less than 40 mm, and an axial dimension of the bearing is less than 12 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 17, Selzer in view of Komata teaches (in Komata annotated fig. 2) the axial and radial sliding bearing according to claim 1 wherein the sleeve shape of the axial sliding ring (12a) includes a cylindrical inner circumferential surface (ICS) and a cylindrical outer circumferential surface (OCS).
Regarding claim 18, Selzer in view of Komata teaches (in Komata annotated fig. 2)the axial and radial sliding bearing according to claim 1 wherein the sleeve shape of the axial sliding ring (12a) includes a cylindrical inner circumferential surface (ICS) and a cylindrical outer circumferential surface (OCS), wherein both cylindrical inner and outer circumferential surfaces are sliding surfaces (the parts can move relative to each other along these surfaces during normal bearing operation or when there is slippage).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selzer (US 20160053809 A1) in view of Komata (US 5710470 A) and in further view of Rosensweig (US 3612630 A).
Regarding claim 11, Selzer in view of Komata teaches an axial and radial sliding bearing according to claim 1 but does not teach a system including a vehicle and an axial and radial sliding bearing in an interior of the vehicle.
Rosensweig teaches a system including a vehicle and an axial and radial sliding bearing (col. 1, lines 23-24 “The entrapment of the pad by magnetic fluids may be incorporated into radial bearings, thrust bearings, or combinations of both.”) in an interior of the vehicle (col. 4, lines 33-37 lists different vehicles the thrust and radial bearings can be used in like space vehicles and submarines).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system, as taught by Rosensweig, and substitute it with an axial and radial sliding bearing of Selzer in view of Komata, as it is substituting one known bearing for another that performs the same function.
Response to Arguments
With regards to the specification objection, applicant amendments have overcome the previously raised issue.
With regards to the claim objection, applicant amendments have overcome the previously raised issue.
With regards to the drawing objection, applicant amendments have overcome the previously raised issue.
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, applicant amendments have overcome the previously raised issue.
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections, applicant amendments have overcome the previously raised issue.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-15, filed 06/17/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
New prior art Komata (US 5710470 A) is used in combination with the primary prior art Selzer (US 20160053809 A1) as it shows the sliding elements 12a, 13a, and 14a are three different elements. Even so, as stated above, it would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the two-part sliding elements be in three parts, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. Meaning that the sliding element 20 of Selzer can be constructed into three different parts instead of two different parts.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIMEE TRAN NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/JAMES PILKINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617