DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of at least the term ‘Wi-Fi’, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Any other instances of trade names appearing improperly in the Specification should also be corrected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a first embodiment of Zhou et al (US 20210377852 A1), and further in view of a second embodiment of Zhou et al (US 20210377852 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches
A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising ([0275]-[0277] and [Fig. 24] method for a UE):
receiving discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information for a plurality of cells including at least one first cell and at least one second cell through higher layer signaling ([0275]-[0277] and [Fig. 24] UE receives DRX parameters (DRX configuration information) from gNB via RRC message (through higher layer signaling), where the UE monitors the PDCCHs for multiple cells such as Cell 1 and Cell 2 (first cell and at least one second cell) according to the DRX parameters); and
monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in at least one of the plurality of cells based on the DRX configuration information ([0275]-[0277] and [Fig. 24] the UE monitors the PDCCHs for multiple cells such as Cell 1 and Cell 2 (first cell and at least one second cell) according to the DRX parameters),
wherein the DRX configuration information includes information about an On-duration configured in each of the plurality of cells ([0275]-[0277] and [Fig. 24] UE receives DRX parameters (DRX configuration information), which may indicate a DRX active state/DRX on duration and a DRX sleep state/DRX off duration of the DRX cycle (includes information about an On-duration configured in each of the plurality of cells)), and
The above-mentioned embodiment of Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein an On-duration configured in the at least one second cell among the plurality of cells starts with a dormancy state in which the PDCCH is not monitored based on the DRX configuration information, as it does not explicitly teach starting in the dormancy state.
However, another embodiment of Zhou does teach wherein an On-duration configured in the at least one second cell among the plurality of cells starts with a dormancy state in which the PDCCH is not monitored based on the DRX configuration information ([0289]-[0290], [0339], and [Fig. 26B] UE receives a power saving indication/go-to-sleep indication, and in response to receiving this indication (based on DRX configuration information) will skip monitoring PDCCH on a PCell or SCell (configured in the at least one second cell) in the next DRX on duration (on duration configured starting with a dormancy state in which the PDCCH is not monitored)).
The first mentioned embodiment of Zhou and the second mentioned embodiment of Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring DRX cycles. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first embodiment of Zhou to include the teachings of the second embodiment of Zhou where the SCell may start by skilling monitoring PDCCHs. The rationale behind this would be to reduce power consumption for PDCCH monitoring during the DRX active time ([0289] Zhou).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches The method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Zhou further teaches wherein the DRX configuration information indicates to configure an On-duration starting with the dormancy state in remaining cells excluding the at least one first cell among the plurality of cells ([0275]-[0277], [0289]-[0290], [0339], [Fig. 24], and [Fig. 26B] UE receives DRX parameters (DRX configuration information), which may indicate a DRX active state/DRX on duration and a DRX sleep state/DRX off duration of the DRX cycle (includes information about an On-duration configured in each of the plurality of cells), and the UE also receives a power saving indication/go-to-sleep indication (also DRX configuration information), and in response to receiving this indication (based on DRX configuration information) will skip monitoring PDCCH on an SCell (remaining cells excluding the at least one first cell among the plurality of cells) in the next DRX on duration (on duration configured starting with a dormancy state in which the PDCCH is not monitored)).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou teaches The method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Zhou further teaches wherein the DRX configuration information includes information indicating cells configured with an On-duration starting with the dormancy state ([0275]-[0277], [0289]-[0290], [0339], [Fig. 24], and [Fig. 26B] UE receives DRX parameters (DRX configuration information), which may indicate a DRX active state/DRX on duration and a DRX sleep state/DRX off duration of the DRX cycle (includes information about an On-duration configured in each of the plurality of cells), and the UE also receives a power saving indication/go-to-sleep indication (also DRX configuration information), and in response to receiving this indication (based on DRX configuration information) will skip monitoring PDCCH on a PCell or an SCell (indicating cells configured with on-duration starting with dormancy) in the next DRX on duration).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches The method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Zhou further teaches wherein upon a timer expires, monitoring of the PDCCH is started in the On-duration configured in the at least one second cell ([0277], [0289]-[0290], [0339], [Fig. 24], and [Fig. 26B] UE receives parameter indicating first time of DRX active state/DRX on duration, a parameter indicating time of DRX sleep state/DRX off duration, and a sleep indication to start the UE in sleep mode and skip monitoring PDCCHs during the first DRX active time (starting in dormancy state) and when the DRX off duration time ends (a timer expires) and another sleep indication is not received when the next DRX on duration starts, the UE will begin monitoring the PDCCHs for the SCell).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches The method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Zhou further teaches wherein the dormancy state is maintained in the at least one second cell until a specific signal is received in the at least one first cell ([0313] and [0340] in response to the SCell being transitioned into the dormant state, the UE may transmit CSI report for the SCell on a PCell, where the dormant state of the SCell is maintained until a second DCI is received which causes the UE to transition the SCell from the dormant state to the active state).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches The method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Zhou further teaches wherein the information about the On-duration includes information about an offset from a start of a DRX cycle to an On-duration start ([0382] configuration parameters of the DRX comprise a length of the DRX cycle, a starting offset of the DRX cycle and a length of the DRX on duration of the DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches The method according to claim 6, as is described above.
Zhou further teaches wherein the information about the offset is indicated for each cell or commonly for cells belonging to a same DRX group ([0382] configuration parameters of the DRX for a cell (for each cell) comprise a length of the DRX cycle, a starting offset of the DRX cycle and a length of the DRX on duration of the DRX cycle).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches The method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Zhou further teaches wherein the On- duration configured in the at least one second cell starts after starting an On-duration configured in the at least one first cell ([0277], [0289]-[0290], [0339], [Fig. 24], and [Fig. 26B] UE receives parameter indicating first time of DRX active state/DRX on duration, a parameter indicating time of DRX sleep state/DRX off duration, and a sleep indication to start the UE in sleep mode and skip monitoring PDCCHs for the SCell during the first DRX active time (starting in dormancy state for second cell) and when the DRX off duration time ends (a timer expires) and another sleep indication is not received when the next DRX on duration starts, the UE will begin monitoring the PDCCHs for the SCell (starts on duration for second cell after starting on duration for first cell)).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches The method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Zhou further teaches wherein the DRX configuration information is configured for data having a non-integer periodicity ([0275]-[0277] and [Fig. 24] UE receives DRX parameters (DRX configuration information) from gNB via RRC message (through higher layer signaling), where the UE monitors the PDCCHs for multiple cells such as Cell 1 and Cell 2 (first cell and at least one second cell) according to the DRX parameters (configured for data having non-integer periodicity)).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches
A non-transitory processor-readable recording medium recording a program for performing the method according to claim 1 ([0221]-[0222] and [Fig. 15] UE comprises memory that stores computer program instructions that can be executed by the processing system to carry out functionalities).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches
A device comprising ([0221]-[0222] and [Fig. 15] UE):
a memory configured to store instructions ([0221]-[0222] and [Fig. 15] UE comprises memory that stores computer program instructions); and
a processor configured to perform operations by executing the instructions ([0221]-[0222] and [Fig. 15] UE comprises memory that stores computer program instructions that can be executed by the processing system to carry out functionalities),
wherein the operations of the processor include ([0221]-[0222] and [Fig. 15] UE processing system carries out functionalities):
receiving discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information for a plurality of cells including at least one first cell and at least one second cell through higher layer signaling ([0275]-[0277] and [Fig. 24] UE receives DRX parameters (DRX configuration information) from gNB via RRC message (through higher layer signaling), where the UE monitors the PDCCHs for multiple cells such as Cell 1 and Cell 2 (first cell and at least one second cell) according to the DRX parameters);
monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in at least one of the plurality of cells based on the DRX configuration information ([0275]-[0277] and [Fig. 24] the UE monitors the PDCCHs for multiple cells such as Cell 1 and Cell 2 (first cell and at least one second cell) according to the DRX parameters),
wherein the DRX configuration information includes information about an On-duration configured in each of the plurality of cells ([0275]-[0277] and [Fig. 24] UE receives DRX parameters (DRX configuration information), which may indicate a DRX active state/DRX on duration and a DRX sleep state/DRX off duration of the DRX cycle (includes information about an On-duration configured in each of the plurality of cells)), and
The above-mentioned embodiment of Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein an On-duration configured in the at least one second cell among the plurality of cells starts with a dormancy state in which the PDCCH is not monitored based on the DRX configuration information as it does not explicitly teach starting in the dormancy state.
However, another embodiment of Zhou does teach wherein an On-duration configured in the at least one second cell among the plurality of cells starts with a dormancy state in which the PDCCH is not monitored based on the DRX configuration information ([0289]-[0290], [0339], and [Fig. 26B] UE receives a power saving indication/go-to-sleep indication, and in response to receiving this indication (based on DRX configuration information) will skip monitoring PDCCH on a PCell or SCell (configured in the at least one second cell) in the next DRX on duration (on duration configured starting with a dormancy state in which the PDCCH is not monitored)).
The first mentioned embodiment of Zhou and the second mentioned embodiment of Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring DRX cycles. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first embodiment of Zhou to include the teachings of the second embodiment of Zhou where the SCell may start by skilling monitoring PDCCHs. The rationale behind this would be to reduce power consumption for PDCCH monitoring during the DRX active time ([0289] Zhou).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches The method according to claim 11, as is described above.
Zhou further teaches wherein the device is an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or a digital signal processing device ([0221]-[0223] and [Fig. 15] UE comprises processing system which may be an application specific integrated circuit ASIC).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou teaches The method according to claim 11, as is described above.
Zhou further teaches wherein the device is a user equipment (UE) operating in a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP)-based wireless communication system ([0064]-[0068] and [0073] UE operating in 3GPP wireless system).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou teaches
A method performed by a base station (BS), the method comprising ([0221]-[0223] and [Fig. 15] base station performs functions):
transmitting discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information for a plurality of cells including at least one first cell and at least one second cell to a user equipment (UE) through higher layer signaling ([0275]-[0277] and [Fig. 24] gNB sends DRX parameters (DRX configuration information) to UE via RRC message (through higher layer signaling), where the UE monitors the PDCCHs for multiple cells such as Cell 1 and Cell 2 (first cell and at least one second cell) according to the DRX parameters); and
transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) to the UE in at least one of the plurality of cells based on the DRX configuration information ([0275]-[0277] and [Fig. 24] the UE monitors the PDCCHs for multiple cells such as Cell 1 and Cell 2 (first cell and at least one second cell) according to the DRX parameters),
wherein the DRX configuration information includes information about an On-duration configured in each of the plurality of cells ([0275]-[0277] and [Fig. 24] DRX parameters (DRX configuration information) may indicate a DRX active state/DRX on duration and a DRX sleep state/DRX off duration of the DRX cycle (includes information about an On-duration configured in each of the plurality of cells)), and
The above-mentioned embodiment of Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein an On-duration configured in the at least one second cell among the plurality of cells starts with a dormancy state in which the PDCCH is not monitored based on the DRX configuration information as it does not explicitly teach starting in the dormancy state.
However, another embodiment of Zhou does teach wherein an On-duration configured in the at least one second cell among the plurality of cells starts with a dormancy state in which the PDCCH is not monitored based on the DRX configuration information ([0289]-[0290], [0339], and [Fig. 26B] UE receives a power saving indication/go-to-sleep indication, and in response to receiving this indication (based on DRX configuration information) will skip monitoring PDCCH on a PCell or SCell (configured in the at least one second cell) in the next DRX on duration (on duration configured starting with a dormancy state in which the PDCCH is not monitored)).
The first mentioned embodiment of Zhou and the second mentioned embodiment of Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring DRX cycles. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first embodiment of Zhou to include the teachings of the second embodiment of Zhou where the SCell may start by skilling monitoring PDCCHs. The rationale behind this would be to reduce power consumption for PDCCH monitoring during the DRX active time ([0289] Zhou).
Conclusion
The following is prior art that is made of record and not relied upon but is considered to be pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20250133568 A1 to Matsumura et al teaches the use of a DRX timer being controlled based on whether new transmission of a PDCCH is notified ([0139] Matsumura).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478 /JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478