DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 10/22/2024. Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, 13, and 20-31 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/03/2025, 10/22/2025, and 04/20/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The preliminary Amendment filed on 10/22/2024 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, 13, and 20 have been amended. Claims 2, 4, 6-8, 10, 12, and 14-19 have been canceled. Claims 21-31 have been newly added. Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, 13, and 20-31 remain pending for evaluation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 9, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 9, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, because the claims are incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01.
Specifically, the limitation reciting “receiving second information informing at least one CSI group configuration among the plurality of CSI group configurations” fails to specify what the second information informs or indicates with respect to the CSI group configuration. Thus, the claims do not establish how the second information identifies, selects, activates, or otherwise designates a CSI group configuration for the subsequently recited CSI-RS reception and/or CSI reporting operations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, 11, 20-27, and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hao et al. (WO2022047759), Hao hereinafter. Hao was provided in the IDS submitted on 04/20/2026.
Regarding Claim 1, Hao teaches a method performed by a user equipment, UE, the method comprising (Fig. 12, Para. [0111-0113]; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]):
receiving first information regarding a plurality of channel state information, CSI, group configurations (Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106] - [0104] FIG. 9 illustrates an example CSI-RS report configuration. As illustrated, the configuration may indicate, for a CSI report/resource setting, one non zero-power CSI-RS (NZP-CSI-RS) resource setting for channel measurement and zero or more (e.g., 0-2) resources for interference measurement (IM) . If one IM resource (IMR) is configured, the IMR can be configured as either CSI-IM (zero-power) setting or NZP-CSI-RS setting. If two IMRs, these resources may be configured as CSI-IM setting plus NZP CSI-RS settings. For NZP-CSI-RS IMR, any single port in the activated resources may be assumed as an interference layer, in which case, a UE may be configured to aggregate all the interference layers in CSI calculation. As indicated in FIG. 9, there may be a resource-wise association between CMR and CSI-IM resources; Fig. 12, step 1202, Para. [0111-0113] - [0112] Operations 1200 begin, at 1202, by the UE receiving a configuration for channel state information (CSI) reporting, the configuration indicating a plurality of CSI-RS ports or resources associated with a CSI report. At 1204, the UE receives dynamic signaling to activate a subset of the plurality of the CSI-RS ports or resources. As described in greater detail below, the configuration may be via RRC signaling, while the dynamic signaling activating the subset of CSI-RS ports or resources may be via a MAC CE or DCI signaling; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]),
wherein the plurality of CSI group configurations includes
a first CSI group configuration including information regarding at least one first CSI reference signal, CSI-RS resource within a CSI-RS resource set configured in a CSI report configuration (Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106] - [0104] FIG. 9 illustrates an example CSI-RS report configuration. As illustrated, the configuration may indicate, for a CSI report/resource setting, one non zero-power CSI-RS (NZP-CSI-RS) resource setting for channel measurement and zero or more (e.g., 0-2) resources for interference measurement (IM) . If one IM resource (IMR) is configured, the IMR can be configured as either CSI-IM (zero-power) setting or NZP-CSI-RS setting. If two IMRs, these resources may be configured as CSI-IM setting plus NZP CSI-RS settings. For NZP-CSI-RS IMR, any single port in the activated resources may be assumed as an interference layer, in which case, a UE may be configured to aggregate all the interference layers in CSI calculation. As indicated in FIG. 9, there may be a resource-wise association between CMR and CSI-IM resources; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159])
and a second CSI group configuration including information regarding at least one second CSI-RS resource within the CSI-RS resource set configured in the CSI report configuration (Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106] - [0104] FIG. 9 illustrates an example CSI-RS report configuration. As illustrated, the configuration may indicate, for a CSI report/resource setting, one non zero-power CSI-RS (NZP-CSI-RS) resource setting for channel measurement and zero or more (e.g., 0-2) resources for interference measurement (IM) . If one IM resource (IMR) is configured, the IMR can be configured as either CSI-IM (zero-power) setting or NZP-CSI-RS setting. If two IMRs, these resources may be configured as CSI-IM setting plus NZP CSI-RS settings. For NZP-CSI-RS IMR, any single port in the activated resources may be assumed as an interference layer, in which case, a UE may be configured to aggregate all the interference layers in CSI calculation. As indicated in FIG. 9, there may be a resource-wise association between CMR and CSI-IM resources; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]);
receiving second information informing at least one CSI group configuration among the plurality of CSI group configurations (Fig. 12, step 1204, Para. [0111-0113] - [0112] Operations 1200 begin, at 1202, by the UE receiving a configuration for channel state information (CSI) reporting, the configuration indicating a plurality of CSI-RS ports or resources associated with a CSI report. At 1204, the UE receives dynamic signaling to activate a subset of the plurality of the CSI-RS ports or resources. As described in greater detail below, the configuration may be via RRC signaling, while the dynamic signaling activating the subset of CSI-RS ports or resources may be via a MAC CE or DCI signaling; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]);
and transmitting a CSI report that includes CSI based on the at least one CSI group configuration informed by the second information (Fig. 12, step 1206, Para. [0111-0113] - [0113] At 1206, the UE performs CSI measurement using the activated subset of CSI-RS ports or resources. At 1208, the UE transmits a report based on the CSI measurement. The exact resources used to calculate the CSI measurements may depend on the configuration and activation scheme. For example, for one scheme, the UE may calculate CSI using the activated ports or port-groups, for another scheme, the UE may calculate CSI using all ports within the activate resources and not report a CSI resource indicator (CRI); See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]).
Examiner’s Note for Claim 1: The claimed ‘plurality of CSI group configurations” is mapped to Hao’s plurality of CSI-RS resource settings associated with a CSI report configuration. In particular, Fig. 9 shows a CSI report configuration that separately configures an NZP CSI-RS resource setting for channel measurement and an NZP CSI-RS resource setting for interference measurement; these respective resource settings are read as the claimed first and second CSI group configurations.
Hao’s Fig. 12 is then read in view of that configured structure: the UE receives the CSI reporting configuration identifying the available CSI-RS resources/settings, and subsequently receives dynamic signaling that activates a subset of those configured CSI-RS resources. Thus, the dynamic signaling corresponds to the claimed “second information.” The UE then measures CSI using the activated subset and transmits the CSI report based on that measurement, satisfying the final reporting limitation.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1: Fig. 9 from Hao1 (WO2022047759). Annotations show mappings to Claim 1’s first and second CSI group configurations.)]
Regarding Claim 9, Hao teaches a user equipment, UE, comprising (Fig. 3, system 120, Para. [0055-0061]):
at least one transceiver (Fig. 3, system 120, elements 354a-r, Para. [0055-0061]);
at least one processor (Fig. 3, system 120, elements 358, 380, and 364, Para. [0055-0061]);
and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions which when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising (Fig. 3, system 120, element 382, Para. [0055-0061]):
receiving first information regarding a plurality of channel state information, CSI, group configurations (Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 12, step 1202, Para. [0111-0113]; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]),
wherein the plurality of CSI group configurations includes
a first CSI group configuration including information regarding at least one first CSI reference signal, CSI-RS resource within a CSI-RS resource set configured in a CSI report configuration (Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159])
and a second CSI group configuration including information regarding at least one second CSI-RS resource within the CSI-RS resource set configured in the CSI report configuration (Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]);
receiving second information informing at least one CSI group configuration among the plurality of CSI group configurations (Fig. 12, step 1204, Para. [0111-0113]; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]);
and transmitting a CSI report that includes CSI based on the at least one CSI group configuration informed by the second information (Fig. 12, step 1206, Para. [0111-0113]; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]).
Regarding Claim 20, Hao teaches a base station, BS, comprising (Fig. 3, system 110, Para. [0055-0061]):
at least one transceiver (Fig. 3, system 110, elements 332a-t, Para. [0055-0061]);
at least one processor (Fig. 3, system 110, elements 320, 340, and 338, Para. [0055-0061]);
and at least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions which when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising (Fig. 3, system 110, element 342, Para. [0055-0061]):
transmitting first information regarding a plurality of channel state information, CSI, group configurations (Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 12, step 1202, Para. [0111-0113]; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]),
wherein the plurality of CSI group configurations includes
a first CSI group configuration including information regarding at least one first CSI reference signal, CSI-RS resource within a CSI-RS resource set configured in a CSI report configuration (Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159])
and a second CSI group configuration including information regarding at least one second CSI-RS resource within the CSI-RS resource set configured in the CSI report configuration (Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]);
transmitting second information informing at least one CSI group configuration among the plurality of CSI group configurations (Fig. 12, step 1204, Para. [0111-0113]; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]);
and transmitting a CSI report that includes CSI based on the at least one CSI group configuration informed by the second information (Fig. 12, step 1206, Para. [0111-0113]; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]).
Regarding Claims 3, 11, and 27, Hao teaches Claims 1, 9, and 20.
Hao further teaches
wherein the at least one first CSI-RS resource is related to a first number of antenna ports, and the at least one second CSI-RS resource is related to a second number of antenna ports (Para. [0068] - The base station may configure UEs for CSI reporting. For example, the BS configures the UE with a CSI report configuration or with multiple CSI report configurations. The CSI report configuration may be provided to the UE via higher layer signaling, such as radio resource control (RRC) signaling (e.g., CSI-ReportConfig) . The CSI report configuration may be associated with CSI-RS resources for channel measurement (CM) , interference measurement (IM) , or both. The CSI report configuration configures CSI-RS resources for measurement (e.g., CSI-ResourceConfig) . The CSI-RS resources provide the UE with the configuration of CSI-RS ports, or CSI-RS port groups, mapped to time and frequency resources (e.g., resource elements (REs) ) . CSI-RS resources can be zero power (ZP) or non-zero power (NZP) resources. At least one NZP CSI-RS resource may be configured for CM; Para. [0088] - The term CSI-RS port refers to an antenna port used for CSI-RS transmission. An antenna port is a logical concept related to physical layer (L1) , rather than an actual physical RF antenna. According to the 3GPP specification definition, an antenna port is defined such that the channel over which a symbol on the antenna port is conveyed can be inferred from the channel over which another symbol on the same antenna port is conveyed. In other words, each individual downlink transmission is carried out from a specific antenna port, the identity of which is known to the UE and the UE can assume that two transmitted signals have experienced the same radio channel if and only if they are transmitted from the same antenna port. The mapping of antenna ports to physical antennas is generally controlled by beam forming as a certain beam needs to transmits the signal on certain antenna ports to form a desired beam. As such, it is possible that two antenna ports may be mapped to one physical antenna port or that a single antenna port may be mapped to multiple physical antenna ports; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159] );
Regarding Claims 21, 24, and 29, Hao teaches Claims 1, 9, and 20.
Hao further teaches
receiving/transmitting CSI-RSs based on CSI-RS resources related to the at least one CSI group configuration informed by the second information (Fig. 12, step 1206, Para. [0111-0113] - [0113] At 1206, the UE performs CSI measurement using the activated subset of CSI-RS ports or resources. At 1208, the UE transmits a report based on the CSI measurement. The exact resources used to calculate the CSI measurements may depend on the configuration and activation scheme. For example, for one scheme, the UE may calculate CSI using the activated ports or port-groups, for another scheme, the UE may calculate CSI using all ports within the activate resources and not report a CSI resource indicator (CRI); See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]).
Examiner’s Note for Claims 21, 24, and 29: Hao’s performance of CSI measurement using the activated CSI-RS resources is mapped to receiving/transmitting the CSI-RSs on those resources because the CSI-RSs must be communicated on the activated resources for the UE to perform the disclosed CSI measurement.
Regarding Claims 22, 25, and 30, Hao teaches Claims 1, 9, and 20.
Hao further teaches
wherein the second information is received/transmitted via a medium access control, MAC, control element, CE (Fig. 12, step 1204, Para. [0111-0113] - [0112] Operations 1200 begin, at 1202, by the UE receiving a configuration for channel state information (CSI) reporting, the configuration indicating a plurality of CSI-RS ports or resources associated with a CSI report. At 1204, the UE receives dynamic signaling to activate a subset of the plurality of the CSI-RS ports or resources. As described in greater detail below, the configuration may be via RRC signaling, while the dynamic signaling activating the subset of CSI-RS ports or resources may be via a MAC CE or DCI signaling; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]).
Regarding Claims 23, 26, and 31, Hao teaches Claims 1, 9, and 20.
Hao further teaches
wherein the second information is received/transmitted via downlink control information (Fig. 12, step 1204, Para. [0111-0113] - [0112] Operations 1200 begin, at 1202, by the UE receiving a configuration for channel state information (CSI) reporting, the configuration indicating a plurality of CSI-RS ports or resources associated with a CSI report. At 1204, the UE receives dynamic signaling to activate a subset of the plurality of the CSI-RS ports or resources. As described in greater detail below, the configuration may be via RRC signaling, while the dynamic signaling activating the subset of CSI-RS ports or resources may be via a MAC CE or DCI signaling; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0078-0086]; Fig. 6, Para. [0087-0088]; Fig. 7, Para. [0089-0096]; Fig. 8A-B, Para. [0097-0103]; Fig. 9, Para. [0104-0106]; Fig. 10, Para. [0107]; Fig. 11A-B, Para. [0108-0110]; Fig. 12, Para. 0111-0113]; Fig. 13, Para. [0114-0115]; Figs. 14-17, Para. [0116-0137]; Para. [0138-0159]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 13, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao in view of Hindy et al. (US 20250240072), Hindy hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 5, 13, and 28, Hao teaches Claims 1, 9, and 20.
Yet, Hao does not expressly teach receiving/transmitting a physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, corresponding to a plurality of transmission configuration indicator, TCI, states, and wherein, based on the at least one CSI group configuration being the first CSI group configuration, the PDSCH is received/transmitted based on a TCI state related to the at least one first CSI- RS resource among the plurality of TCI states.
However, Hindy teaches
receiving/transmitting a physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, corresponding to a plurality of transmission configuration indicator, TCI, states (Fig. 5, step 508, Para. [0129-0136] - [0130] In various embodiments, the method 500 includes receiving 502, at a UE, a CSI reporting setting. In some embodiments, the method 500 includes receiving 504 a plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources for CMR. In certain embodiments, the method 500 includes transmitting 506 a CSI report based on the received NZP CSI-RS resources. In various embodiments, the method 500 includes receiving 508 DCI for scheduling a PDSCH. The DCI includes a TCI field, a TCI state codepoint corresponding to the TCI field comprises a plurality of TCI states, and QCL information associated with each TCI state corresponds to a DMRS for PDSCH and a distinct set of NZP CSI-RS resources; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0037-0044]; Fig. 3, Para. [0045-0126]; Fig. 4, Para. [0127-0128]; Fig. 5, Para. 0129-0136]; Fig. 6, Para. [0137-0213]),
and wherein, based on the at least one CSI group configuration being the first CSI group configuration, the PDSCH is received/transmitted based on a TCI state related to the at least one first CSI- RS resource among the plurality of TCI states (Fig. 5, step 508, Para. [0129-0136] - [0131] In certain embodiments, the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources are grouped into multiple CSI-RS resource groups via a higher layer configuration. In some embodiments, the QCL information corresponding to each TCI state is associated with one or more CSI-RS resources from a distinct CSI-RS resource group. In various embodiments, the CSI report comprises a CRI, a subset of CRI codepoints correspond to at least one combination of the NZP CSI-RS resources, and each combination of the at least one combination comprises at most one NZP CSI-RS resource from a CSI-RS resource group of the multiple CSI-RS resource groups. [0132] In one embodiment, a number of PMIs is reported in the CSI report corresponding to a number of NZP CSI-RS resources indicated in the CRI. In certain embodiments, ports of the DMRS for PDSCH are mapped with the NZP CSI-RS resources based on a corresponding CSI-RS resource group of the multiple CSI-RS resource groups, and the mapping is based on: a pre-defined rule; a higher-layer signaling for PDSCH configuration; or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, at least one NZP CSI-RS resource ID codepoint corresponds to a pair of NZP CSI-RS resources.; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0037-0044]; Fig. 3, Para. [0045-0126]; Fig. 4, Para. [0127-0128]; Fig. 5, Para. 0129-0136]; Fig. 6, Para. [0137-0213]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hao’s invention of “techniques for channel state information (CSI) feedback reporting” (Hao Para. [0002]) with Hindy’s invention of “methods for configuring a CSI report” (Hindy Para. [0003]) because Hindy’s invention provides methods which can mitigate the possible “super-linear increase in the amount of CSI feedback reported from the UE to the network” which can occur in multiple TRP communications (Hindy Para. [0047]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hao (US 20260058710) Figs. 21-24 and Para. [0137-0138, 0147-0148] teaches mTRP CSI reporting using multiple codebook configurations associated with CSI-RS channel measurement resources/port groups, including different CSI port configurations and codepoint mappings for selecting the applicable resource/codebook for CSI measurement and reporting.
Canonne-Velasquez (US 20250240072) Fig. 4 and Para. [0136-0138, 0159, 0185] teaches CSI-RS resources/port groups associated with respective TRPs and TCI states, including association of the respective reference signals with corresponding numbers of antenna ports for multi-TRP CSI reporting.
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468