DETAIL ACTION
Notice on Prior Art Rejections
Status of Claims
3. This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's application filed October 22, 2024. Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Drawings
4. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings (Fig. 1-3) are objected to because the Examiner may require and is requiring descriptive text labels. The unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels” [MPEP 608.02(b) examiner note]. Therefore, descripted text labels must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Judicial Exception Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
6. Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim1 recites “determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior of the vehicle for a planned upcoming driving event based on predicted driving conditions of the vehicle for the planned upcoming driving event; determining an average rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior based on the determined estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior and a predetermined transient rolling resistance coefficient model according to which a transient rolling resistance coefficient is calculated as a function of ambient temperature; and estimating the distance to empty based on available driving energy for the vehicle and in consideration of the estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior and the determined averaged rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior”.
The limitations of claim 1 above, as drafted, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a vehicle” nothing in the claims elements precludes the steps from practically being performed as part of human activities. For example, “determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior of the vehicle” in the context of this claim encompasses the user the user manually or mentally calculating an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior of the vehicle. Similarly, the limitation of “determining an average rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind where a person is mentally able to mathematically calculate an average rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. “estimating the distance to empty based on available driving energy for the vehicle” is not a practical application. Accordingly, the claim lack of additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, there are no additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. The independent claims 2-8 are also rejected for their dependency upon claim 1. Further, claims 9 and 11-21 are also rejected because they amount no more than the same mere instructions of the method of claim 1 in a system which does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Lane et al, US 2023/0194281, in view of Futamura et al. US 2004/0068391, hereinafter referred to as Lane and Futamura, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Lane discloses a method, performed by a control device, for estimating a distance to empty for a vehicle (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 25, 28, 96, 101, 8, “predicting the energy requirement of a battery electric machine (BEM) to complete one or more travel route segments along a path”), the method comprising the following steps:
determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior of the vehicle for a planned upcoming driving event based on predicted driving conditions of the vehicle for the planned upcoming driving event (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 32, 33, 44, 48, 49, 55, 57, 67, 70, 80, 85, 94, 100, 31, “determine energy requirements imposed upon the one or more machine batteries or other power sources based on information characterizing the machine, operation of the machine, and the environment of the machine, which may include the current location of the machine…current temperature, the predicted temperature for upcoming route segments, current air pressure, predicted air pressure for upcoming route segments, time of day, date, day of week, visibility, present road surface conditions, predicted road surface conditions for upcoming travel route segments, and the distance to/from other machines operating at the job site”);
determining an average rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior based on the determined estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior and a predetermined transient rolling resistance coefficient model according to which a transient rolling resistance coefficient is calculated as a function of ambient temperature (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 24, 27, 31, 32, 35, 41, 45, 46, 80, 23 “power management logic that can calculate an estimated energy requirement for the machine batteries based on information provided from the external environment of the machine, the operational status of the machine, the rolling resistance encountered by the machine over a particular segment of the travel path, one or more command inputs from an operator, and one or more operational parameters of the machine”); and
estimating the distance to empty based on available driving energy for the vehicle and in consideration of the estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior and the determined averaged rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 39, 40, 48, 64, 8, “predicting the energy requirement of a battery electric machine (BEM) to complete one or more travel route segments along a path traversed by the BEM. The control system may be further configured for calculating the actual energy consumption of the BEM in completing the one or more travel route segments, comparing the actual energy consumption with the predicted energy requirement, and then updating the predicted energy”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lane and include determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the method to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 2, Lane discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the step of determining estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior comprises: estimating an initial tire rubber temperature at the start of the planned upcoming driving event; and based on the estimated initial tire rubber temperature, ambient temperature and the predicted driving conditions for the vehicle, determining an estimated duration until the tire has reached a temperature equal to or above a predetermined temperature threshold (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 24, 27, 31, 32, 35, 41, 46, 80, 23, 45 “current temperature, the predicted temperature for upcoming route segments, current air pressure, predicted air pressure for upcoming route segments, visibility, present road conditions, predicted road conditions for upcoming route segments, and the distance from other machines, obstacles, or humans.”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lane and include determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the method to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 3, Lane discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: identifying one or more portions of the planned driving event during which a transient tire rubber temperature behavior of the vehicle may occur, wherein the steps of determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior of the vehicle for the planned upcoming driving event based on predicted driving conditions of the vehicle for the planned upcoming driving event and determining an average rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior are performed for each of said one or more identified portions of the planned driving event, and wherein the step of estimating the distance to empty is performed in consideration of the estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature and the determined averaged rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior for each of said one or more identified portions of the planned driving event (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 39, 40, 48, 8, 64, “identical physical and operational characteristics traveling over one or more travel route segments with same or similar or identical physical characteristics. A feedback loop may be provided such that a predicted or estimated energy usage for a particular travel route segment based on parameters that may
include the machine location, machine systems efficiencies, site operational information (such as speed limits, delays caused by exterior conditions, etc.), battery characteristics such as state-of-charge, battery state-of-health, and number of charge cycles, and machine performance characteristics, may be compared with actual energy requirements, and the predicted energy usages may then be improved.”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lane and include determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the method to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 4, Lane discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the step of determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior comprises determining the estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature based on stored reference data (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 39, 40, 48, 8, 64, 84, 93, “The data may be stored in one or more memory devices as a reference database, and may include values pertaining to actual energy usage, rolling resistance, wheel slip ratio, machine velocity, and
machine pose (including pitch, roll, and yaw) under different job site surface conditions and at different locations calculated for various types of machines operating over different travel route segments at the job site.”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lane and include determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the method to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 5, Lane discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the predicted driving conditions comprises at least vehicle speed and vehicle load (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 39, 40, 48, 8, 64, 84, 93, 94, “The method may include determining a location of the machine, determining a terrain on which the machine is operating, estimating a terrain surface coefficient of friction, and generating signals indicative of data representing one or more of speed of the machine, pose of the machine, size of the machine, weight of the machine, tire type and pressure on the machine, load on the machine, cooling system performance on the machine, gear ratio for the drive train of the machine, weather characteristics, and road conditions and characteristics for the machine operating at a job site, using a sensing system”).
Regarding claim 6, Lane discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined transient rolling resistance coefficient model further takes into account an estimated tire rubber temperature at initiation of the transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 39, 40, 48, 8, 64, 84, 93, 94, 31, “current temperature, the predicted temperature for upcoming route segments, current air pressure, predicted air pressure for upcoming route segments, time of day, date, day of week, visibility, present road surface conditions, predicted road surface conditions for upcoming travel route segments, and the distance to/from other machines operating at the job site”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses estimated tire rubber temperature at initiation of the transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches estimated tire rubber temperature at initiation of the transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lane and include estimated tire rubber temperature at initiation of the transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the method to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 7, Lane discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined transient rolling resistance coefficient model further takes into account one or more parameters that may cause a cooling or warming effect of the tire during driving (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 39, 40, 48, 8, 64, 84, 93, 94, 31, 76, “Some of the unpredictable portions of paths may include soft underfoot condition portions, iced portions, wet portions, or portions with oil or other slippery materials, which may cause machines to experience significant wheel slip and/or rolling resistance, or to lose traction with the ground surface.
Each location along travel route segments with conditions that affect traction of one of machines may or may not affect a heading and/or location of the machine.”).
Regarding claim 8, Lane discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the one or more parameters that may cause a cooling or warming effect of the tire during driving comprises rain, wet road conditions, humidity, and/or braking (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 39, 40, 48, 8, 64, 84, 93, 94, 31, 76, 80, “The sensing system may also be configured to generate signals indicative of weather characteristics at the time that may affect slippage of the machine, such as ambient temperature, humidity, rain, wind, ice, snow, etc. The sensing system may be still further configured to generate signals indicative of road surface and soil conditions”).
Regarding claim 9, Lane discloses a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium, said computer program product for estimating a distance to empty for a vehicle (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 25, 28, 96, 101, 8, “predicting the energy requirement of a battery electric machine (BEM) to complete one or more travel route segments along a path”), wherein said computer program product comprising computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to perform the following operations:
determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior of the vehicle for a planned upcoming driving event based on predicted driving conditions of the vehicle for the planned upcoming driving event (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 32, 33, 44, 48, 49, 55, 57, 67, 70, 80, 85, 94, 100, 31, “determine energy requirements imposed upon the one or more machine batteries or other power sources based on information characterizing the machine, operation of the machine, and the environment of the machine, which may include the current location of the machine…current temperature, the predicted temperature for upcoming route segments, current air pressure, predicted air pressure for upcoming route segments, time of day, date, day of week, visibility, present road surface conditions, predicted road surface conditions for upcoming travel route segments, and the distance to/from other machines operating at the job site”);
determining an average rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior based on the determined estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior and a predetermined transient rolling resistance coefficient model according to which a transient rolling resistance coefficient is calculated as a function of ambient temperature (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 24, 27, 31, 32, 35, 41, 45, 46, 80, 23 “power management logic that can calculate an estimated energy requirement for the machine batteries based on information provided from the external environment of the machine, the operational status of the machine, the rolling resistance encountered by the machine over a particular segment of the travel path, one or more command inputs from an operator, and one or more operational parameters of the machine”); and
estimating the distance to empty based on available driving energy for the vehicle and in consideration of the estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior and the determined averaged rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 39, 40, 48, 64, 8, “predicting the energy requirement of a battery electric machine (BEM) to complete one or more travel route segments along a path traversed by the BEM. The control system may be further configured for calculating the actual energy consumption of the BEM in completing the one or more travel route segments, comparing the actual energy consumption with the predicted energy requirement, and then updating the predicted energy”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lane and include determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the method to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 11, Lane discloses a control device configured to estimate distance to empty for a vehicle, wherein the control device is configured to:
determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior of the vehicle for a planned upcoming driving event based on predicted driving conditions of the vehicle for the planned upcoming driving event (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 32, 33, 44, 48, 49, 55, 57, 67, 70, 80, 85, 94, 100, 31, “determine energy requirements imposed upon the one or more machine batteries or other power sources based on information characterizing the machine, operation of the machine, and the environment of the machine, which may include the current location of the machine…current temperature, the predicted temperature for upcoming route segments, current air pressure, predicted air pressure for upcoming route segments, time of day, date, day of week, visibility, present road surface conditions, predicted road surface conditions for upcoming travel route segments, and the distance to/from other machines operating at the job site”);
determine an average rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior based on the determined estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior and a predetermined transient rolling resistance coefficient model according to which a transient rolling resistance coefficient is calculated as a function of ambient temperature (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 24, 27, 31, 32, 35, 41, 45, 46, 80, 23 “power management logic that can calculate an estimated energy requirement for the machine batteries based on information provided from the external environment of the machine, the operational status of the machine, the rolling resistance encountered by the machine over a particular segment of the travel path, one or more command inputs from an operator, and one or more operational parameters of the machine”); and
estimate the distance to empty based on available driving energy for the vehicle and in consideration of the estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior and the determined averaged rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 39, 40, 48, 64, 8, “predicting the energy requirement of a battery electric machine (BEM) to complete one or more travel route segments along a path traversed by the BEM. The control system may be further configured for calculating the actual energy consumption of the BEM in completing the one or more travel route segments, comparing the actual energy consumption with the predicted energy requirement, and then updating the predicted energy”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lane and include determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the system to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 12, Lane discloses a vehicle comprising control device configured to estimate distance to empty for a vehicle, wherein the control device is configured to:
determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior of the vehicle for a planned upcoming driving event based on predicted driving conditions of the vehicle for the planned upcoming driving event (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 32, 33, 44, 48, 49, 55, 57, 67, 70, 80, 85, 94, 100, 31, “determine energy requirements imposed upon the one or more machine batteries or other power sources based on information characterizing the machine, operation of the machine, and the environment of the machine, which may include the current location of the machine…current temperature, the predicted temperature for upcoming route segments, current air pressure, predicted air pressure for upcoming route segments, time of day, date, day of week, visibility, present road surface conditions, predicted road surface conditions for upcoming travel route segments, and the distance to/from other machines operating at the job site”);
determine an average rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior based on the determined estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior and a predetermined transient rolling resistance coefficient model according to which a transient rolling resistance coefficient is calculated as a function of ambient temperature (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 24, 27, 31, 32, 35, 41, 45, 46, 80, 23 “power management logic that can calculate an estimated energy requirement for the machine batteries based on information provided from the external environment of the machine, the operational status of the machine, the rolling resistance encountered by the machine over a particular segment of the travel path, one or more command inputs from an operator, and one or more operational parameters of the machine”); and
estimate the distance to empty based on available driving energy for the vehicle and in consideration of the estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior and the determined averaged rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 39, 40, 48, 64, 8, “predicting the energy requirement of a battery electric machine (BEM) to complete one or more travel route segments along a path traversed by the BEM. The control system may be further configured for calculating the actual energy consumption of the BEM in completing the one or more travel route segments, comparing the actual energy consumption with the predicted energy requirement, and then updating the predicted energy”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lane and include determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the system to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 13, Lane discloses the computer program product according to claim 9, wherein determining estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior comprises: estimating an initial tire rubber temperature at the start of the planned upcoming driving event; and based on the estimated initial tire rubber temperature, ambient temperature and the predicted driving conditions for the vehicle, determining an estimated duration until the tire has reached a temperature equal to or above a predetermined temperature threshold (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 24, 27, 31, 32, 35, 41, 46, 80, 23, 45 “current temperature, the predicted temperature for upcoming route segments, current air pressure, predicted air pressure for upcoming route segments, visibility, present road conditions, predicted road conditions for upcoming route segments, and the distance from other machines, obstacles, or humans.”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lane and include determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the method to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 14, Lane discloses the computer program product according to claim 9, wherein said computer program product further comprises computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to perform the following operations: identifying one or more portions of the planned driving event during which a transient tire rubber temperature behavior of the vehicle may occur, wherein determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior of the vehicle for the planned upcoming driving event based on predicted driving conditions of the vehicle for the planned upcoming driving event and determining an average rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior are performed for each of said one or more identified portions of the planned driving event, and wherein estimating the distance to empty is performed in consideration of the estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature and the determined averaged rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior for each of said one or more identified portions of the planned driving event (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 39, 40, 48, 8, 64, “identical physical and operational characteristics traveling over one or more travel route segments with same or similar or identical physical characteristics. A feedback loop may be provided such that a predicted or estimated energy usage for a particular travel route segment based on parameters that may include the machine location, machine systems efficiencies, site operational information (such as speed limits, delays caused by exterior conditions, etc.), battery characteristics such as state-of-charge, battery state-of-health, and number of charge cycles, and machine performance characteristics, may be compared with actual energy requirements, and the predicted energy usages may then be improved.”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lane and include determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the method to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 15, Lane discloses the computer program product according to claim 9, wherein determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior comprises determining the estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature based on stored reference data (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 39, 40, 48, 8, 64, 84, 93, “The data may be stored in one or more memory devices as a reference database, and may include values pertaining to actual energy usage, rolling resistance, wheel slip ratio, machine velocity, and
machine pose (including pitch, roll, and yaw) under different job site surface conditions and at different locations calculated for various types of machines operating over different travel route segments at the job site.”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lane and include determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the method to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 16, Lane discloses the computer program product according to claim 9, wherein the predicted driving conditions comprises at least vehicle speed and vehicle load (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 39, 40, 48, 8, 64, 84, 93, 94, “The method may include determining a location of the machine, determining a terrain on which the machine is operating, estimating a terrain surface coefficient of friction, and generating signals indicative of data representing one or more of speed of the machine, pose of the machine, size of the machine, weight of the machine, tire type and pressure on the machine, load on the machine, cooling system performance on the machine, gear ratio for the drive train of the machine, weather characteristics, and road conditions and characteristics for the machine operating at a job site, using a sensing system”).
Regarding claim 17, Lane discloses the control device according to claim 11, wherein determine estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior comprises: estimate an initial tire rubber temperature at the start of the planned upcoming driving event; and based on the estimated initial tire rubber temperature, ambient temperature and the predicted driving conditions for the vehicle, determine an estimated duration until the tire has reached a temperature equal to or above a predetermined temperature threshold (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 24, 27, 31, 32, 35, 41, 46, 80, 23, 45 “current temperature, the predicted temperature for upcoming route segments, current air pressure, predicted air pressure for upcoming route segments, visibility, present road conditions, predicted road conditions for upcoming route segments, and the distance from other machines, obstacles, or humans.”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lane and include determining an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the method to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 18, Lane discloses the control device according to claim 11, wherein said control device is further configured to: identify one or more portions of the planned driving event during which a transient tire rubber temperature behavior of the vehicle may occur, wherein determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior of the vehicle for the planned upcoming driving event based on predicted driving conditions of the vehicle for the planned upcoming driving event and determine an average rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior are performed for each of said one or more identified portions of the planned driving event, and wherein estimate the distance to empty is performed in consideration of the estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature and the determined averaged rolling resistance coefficient during the transient tire rubber temperature behavior for each of said one or more identified portions of the planned driving event (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 39, 40, 48, 8, 64, “identical physical and operational characteristics traveling over one or more travel route segments with same or similar or identical physical characteristics. A feedback loop may be provided such that a predicted or estimated energy usage for a particular travel route segment based on parameters that may include the machine location, machine systems efficiencies, site operational information (such as speed limits, delays caused by exterior conditions, etc.), battery characteristics such as state-of-charge, battery state-of-health, and number of charge cycles, and machine performance characteristics, may be compared with actual energy requirements, and the predicted energy usages may then be improved.”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lane and include determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the method to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 19, Lane discloses the control device according to claim 11, wherein determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior comprises determine the estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature based on stored reference data (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 39, 40, 48, 8, 64, 84, 93, “The data may be stored in one or more memory devices as a reference database, and may include values pertaining to actual energy usage, rolling resistance, wheel slip ratio, machine velocity, and
machine pose (including pitch, roll, and yaw) under different job site surface conditions and at different locations calculated for various types of machines operating over different travel route segments at the job site.”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lane and include determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the method to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 20, Lane discloses the control device according to claim 11, wherein the predicted driving conditions comprises at least vehicle speed and vehicle load (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 9, 10, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 39, 40, 48, 8, 64, 84, 93, 94, “The method may include determining a location of the machine, determining a terrain on which the machine is operating, estimating a terrain surface coefficient of friction, and generating signals indicative of data representing one or more of speed of the machine, pose of the machine, size of the machine, weight of the machine, tire type and pressure on the machine, load on the machine, cooling system performance on the machine, gear ratio for the drive train of the machine, weather characteristics, and road conditions and characteristics for the machine operating at a job site, using a sensing system”).
Regarding claim 21, Lane discloses the control device according to claim 11, wherein determine estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior comprises: estimate an initial tire rubber temperature at the start of the planned upcoming driving event; and based on the estimated initial tire rubber temperature, ambient temperature and the predicted driving conditions for the vehicle, determine an estimated duration until the tire has reached a temperature equal to or above a predetermined temperature threshold (See at least fig 1-5, ¶ 24, 27, 31, 32, 35, 41, 46, 80, 23, 45 “current temperature, the predicted temperature for upcoming route segments, current air pressure, predicted air pressure for upcoming route segments, visibility, present road conditions, predicted road conditions for upcoming route segments, and the distance from other machines, obstacles, or humans.”).
Lane fails to explicitly discloses determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior.
However, Futamura teaches determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 34, 97, 98, 132, 138, 148, 151, 179, 150, “a method for readily evaluating the effects of compound changes on tire temperatures using only the thermal finite element model of the tire… The method can be used for either steady state or transient analysis.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lane and include determine an estimated duration of transient tire rubber temperature behavior as taught by Futamura because it would allow the method to calculate total energy loss and the resulting tire rolling resistance force (Futamura ¶ 8).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUIS A MARTINEZ BORRERO whose email is luis.martinezborrero@uspto.gov and telephone number is (571)272-4577. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:00-5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, HUNTER LONSBERRY can be reached on (571)272-7298. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LUIS A MARTINEZ BORRERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665