DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 2021/0068123) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2024/0015741) in further view Cirik (US 2022/0329387).
Regarding claim 36, Zhu teaches a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor configured to (Paragraph [0096] describes a UE with processor):
receive configuration information indicating a first set of candidate beam reference signals (RSs) of a first type, a second set of candidate beam RSs of a second type, and one or more additional sets of candidate beam RSs of the second type (Paragraphs [0193]-[0196] describes RRC-signaled list of candidate TCI states which the UE receives as configuration and each TCI state is tied to a reference signal (SSB or CSI-RS) used as a beam indicator. Paragraph [0147] describes set of wide (type-1) beam RSs {1502, 1504, and 1506} that the UE is configured /structured to use, and the second set of narrow beam {1508, 1510, 1512, 1514, 1516, 1518, and 1520}),
wherein each of the one or more additional sets of candidate beam RSs of the second type is associated with a respective RS of the first set of candidate beam RSs (Paragraphs [0147] describes if the narrow beam set {1528, 1530, 1532} (associated with wide beam 1522) is treated as the second set of candidate beam RSs of the second type, then the remaining two narrow beam sets {1532, 1534, 1536} (associated with 1524) and {1536, 1538, 1540} (associated with 1526). Each of these additional sets is disclosed as being “associated with” its own respective wide beam RS (1524 and 1526, respectively from the first set {1522, 1524, 1526}));
Zhu doesn’t teach wherein the first set of candidate beam RSs and the second set of candidate beam RSs are received during a first monitoring window
However, in analogous art Tsai teaches receive the first set of candidate beam RSs of the first type and the second set of candidate beam RSs of the second type, wherein the first set of candidate beam RSs and the second set of candidate beam RSs are received during a first monitoring window (Paragraphs [0065]-[0066]; [0072]; [0079] describes within a single monitoring occasion, the UE receives both the SSB (the first type RS) and the CSI-RS/TRS (second-type RS). The first set and the second set of candidate beam RSs are received together within that single monitoring window );
Zhu and Tsai don’t teach detect a beam failure and determine a beam failure recovery (BFR) type; and based on the determined BFR type being a two-step BFR type: transmit an indication of a candidate beam RS that is selected from the first set of candidate beam RSs of the first type; receive a first additional set of candidate beam RSs of the second type, wherein the first additional set is one of the one or more additional sets of candidate beam RSs of the second type; perform measurements on the first additional set of candidate beam RSs of the second type during a second monitoring window; and transmit an indication of a candidate beam RS of the second type that is selected from the first additional set based on the measurements.
In analogues art Cirik teaches detect a beam failure and determine a beam failure recovery (BFR) type (Paragraphs [0150] describes the UE detects beam failure);
and based on the determined BFR type being a two-step BFR type: transmit an indication of a candidate beam RS that is selected from the first set of candidate beam RSs of the first type (Paragraphs [0218]-[0220] describes the WTRU selects RS2 from the first set (RS1, RS2, RS3) and transmit a random-access preamble mapped to/associated with RS2, which is an indication of the selected first type candidate beam RS);
receive a first additional set of candidate beam RSs of the second type, wherein the first additional set is one of the one or more additional sets of candidate beam RSs of the second type (Paragraphs [0225]-[0226] describes RS2 was the RS selected from the first set in the prior step, the set {RS2a, RS2b, RS2c, RS2d} associated with RS2 constitutes the “first additional set” the one additional set tied to the selected/respective RS) that the WTRU receives);
perform measurements on the first additional set of candidate beam RSs of the second type during a second monitoring window (Paragraphs [0166]; [0216]; [0220]; [0225]-[0226] describes the first monitoring window during which RS1, RS2, RS3 are measured and RS2 is selected closes at or before T0; the preamble (indicating RS2) is transmitted at T0; the RAR is received at T1; and between T1 and T2, the WTRU measures the additional/associated RS set (RS2a-RS2d and reports the selected RS2c in Msg3 at T2. The interval opened after T0 termed a separate time window during which this second round of RS measurement and selection occurs );
and transmit an indication of a candidate beam RS of the second type that is selected from the first additional set based on the measurements (Paragraphs [0223]-[0026] describes based on the radio-link-quality measurements, the WTRU selects RS2c from the additional set {RS2a-RS2d} and transmit an indication of that selection in the Msg2/PUSCH transmission ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhu device measures a set of beams on the other panel and uses the results to decide which panel and beam should take over and Tsai’s detect paging, and also learn a better beam for later use [0064]-[0071]. Another part of the invention addresses single-DCI scheduling of multiple downlink data channels from multiple transmission points, while reducing control overhead and decoding complexity into the combination of Cirik transmit an indication of a candidate beam RS of the second type to preserve more candidate control regions and improves reliability when beam-based control resources overlap (Cirik, Paragraph [342]-[356]).
Regarding claim 37, Zhu, Tsai and Cirik, Zhu teaches wherein the candidate beam reference signals of the first type are associated with wide beams, and the candidate beam reference signals of the second type are associated with narrow beams (Paragraph [0076] describes wide beams (type 1) and narrow beams (type 2)).
Regarding claim 38, Zhu, Tsai and Cirik, Cirik teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine whether the BFR type as one of a one-step BFR type or the two-step BFR type (Paragraphs [0219]-[0220]; [0224]-[0225] describes determining whether the BFR type as one of a one-step BFR type or the two-step BFR type).
Regarding claim 39, Zhu, Tsai and Cirik, Cirik teaches wherein the BFR type is determined based on one or more of the following: a frequency range (FR), a sub-carrier spacing (SCS), a measurement, or a configuration (Paragraphs [0169]; [0205]–[0206] describes BFR is determined based on a frequency range).
Regarding claim 40, Zhu, Tsai and Cirik, Cirik teaches wherein the beam failure is detected based on measurements of beam failure detection reference signals (BFD RSs) corresponding to the beam failure (Paragraphs [0150]-[0151] describes that the beam failure is detected based on “a determination that a quality of beam pair links of an associated control channel is unsatisfactory (a measurement based determination (error rate vs. threshold, received signal power vs. threshold))).
Regarding claim 41, Zhu, Tsai and Cirik, Cirik teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine a set of beam failure detection (BFD) parameters based on a type of the BFD RSs, wherein the set of BFD parameters comprises one or more timers, event counters, or thresholds, and wherein the beam failure is detected based on the parameters (Paragraphs [0151]; [0159]]-[0160]; [0202] describes beam failure determined using threshold and timer parameters).
Regarding claim 42, Zhu, Tsai and Cirik, Cirik teaches wherein the processor is further configured to transmit the indication of the candidate beam RS of the second type that is selected from the first additional set using any of a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble or resource (Paragraph [0155]; [0220] describes that the indication of the selected RS can be conveyed either through which preamble is used or through which random-access resource (PRACH resource) is used).
Regarding claim 43, Zhu, Tsai and Cirik, Cirik teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: monitor, in a third monitoring window, for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission using the candidate beam RS of the second type that is selected from the first additional set; receive the PDCCH transmission in the third monitoring window using the candidate beam RS of the second type that is selected from the first additional set, wherein the PDCCH transmission includes an indication of a confirmation (Paragraphs [0162]; [0166]; [0230] describes monitor for a PDCCH transmission addressed to a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) on the search space, a separate window configured to start after sending or transmitting a beam failure recovery request, and WTRU receives or detects DCI via PDCCH and Rx beam for downlink reception determined based on indicated TCI state or selected candidate beam ).
Claim 44 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 36 respectively.
Claim 45 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 37 respectively.
Claim 46 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 38 respectively.
Claim 47 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 39 respectively.
Claim 48 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 40 respectively.
Claim 49 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 41 respectively.
Claim 50 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 42 respectively.
Conclusion
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/KAN YUEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464