Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5 and 15, “DL-TDoA” is a term not defined in the claims and therefore the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10-11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy (US 20230276401) in view of Meng et al (US 20230109909).
Regarding claim 1 and 11, Reddy teaches a method for operating an electronic device, the method comprising: identifying two-way ranging (TWR) values for a plurality of anchors (para 53 and 58); allocating a ranging round to each of the first cluster and the second cluster (para 64)
Regarding claim 1, Reddy does not teach configuring a first cluster including a first initiator anchor and first responder anchors based on the TWR values; configuring a second cluster including a second initiator anchor and second responder anchors based on the TWR value Meng teaches configuring a first cluster including a first initiator anchor and first responder anchors based on the TWR values; configuring a second cluster including a second initiator anchor and second responder anchors based on the TWR values (para 25). It would have been obvious to modify Reddy to include configuring a first cluster including a first initiator anchor and first responder anchors based on the TWR values; configuring a second cluster including a second initiator anchor and second responder anchors based on the TWR values because it is merely a substitution of a well-known method to establish the size of the clusters of Reddy with the method to establish the size of the clusters of Meng to yield a predictable method to establish the size of the clusters to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Reddy teaches the first initiator anchor included in the first cluster is a global initiator anchor controlling spatial reuse of a DL-TDoA infrastructure (para 29 and 73).
Regarding claim 10, Reddy teaches the electronic device is a UWB device or a server device (para 2).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy in view of Meng as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (US 20230071554).
Regarding claim 2 and 12, Zhang teaches identifying a first value corresponding to an average TWR between the first anchor and the second anchor; identifying a second value corresponding to a distance between the first anchor and the second anchor; and determining whether a non-line-of-sight (NLOS) occurs between the first anchor and the second anchor based on the first value and the second value (para 3 and 5). It would have been obvious to modify Reddy in view of Meng to include identifying a first value corresponding to an average TWR between the first anchor and the second anchor; identifying a second value corresponding to a distance between the first anchor and the second anchor; and determining whether a non-line-of-sight (NLOS) occurs between the first anchor and the second anchor based on the first value and the second value because it would help determine if the two way ranging was accurate.
Regarding claim 3 and 13, Zhang teaches determining that a link between the first anchor and the second anchor is ineffective based on determining that the non-line-of-sight (NLOS) occurs between the first anchor and the second anchor (para 3). It would have been obvious to modify Reddy in view of Meng to include determining that a link between the first anchor and the second anchor is ineffective based on determining that the non-line-of-sight (NLOS) occurs between the first anchor and the second anchor because it would have the device increase strength or reduce packet signal to make to improve signal performance.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy in view of Meng as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Abraham et al (US 20190166572).
Regarding claim 4 and 14, Abraham teaches the second initiator anchor included in the second cluster is one of the first responder anchors included in the first cluster (fig 2). It would have been obvious to modify Reddy in view of Meng to include the second initiator anchor included in the second cluster is one of the first responder anchors included in the first cluster because it is merely a substitution of the connect the clusters into a signal network
Claim(s) 6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy in view of Meng as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Patil (US 11412466)
Regarding claim 6, Patil teaches configuring a third cluster including a third initiator anchor and third responder anchors based on the TWR values, wherein the third initiator anchor included in the third cluster is one of the second responder anchors included in the second cluster (fig 5 and 6). It would have been obvious to modify Reddy in view of Meng to include configuring a third cluster including a third initiator anchor and third responder anchors based on the TWR values, wherein the third initiator anchor included in the third cluster is one of the second responder anchors included in the second cluster because it is merely adding a third cluster to the system to yield a predictable clusters.
Regarding claim 8, Patil teaches an area of each of the first cluster to the third cluster is equal to or larger than a minimum area value (fig 8). It would have been obvious to modify Reddy in view of Meng to include an area of each of the first cluster to the third cluster is equal to or larger than a minimum area value because it expected that the clusters would have minimum area.
Regarding claim 9, Reddy teaches a number of responder anchors included in each of the first cluster to the third cluster is limited by a number of slots allocable in one ranging round (fig 4).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy in view of Meng in view of Patil as applied to claims 6 above, and further in view of Huseth et al (US 20080220780).
Regarding claim 7, Huseth teaches identifying whether the distance between the first initiator anchor and the third initiator anchor is larger than or equal to a minimum distance (para 34). It would have been obvious to modify Reddy in view of Meng in view of Patil to include identifying whether the distance between the first initiator anchor and the third initiator anchor is larger than or equal to a minimum distance because it would indicate where the clusters overlap.
Regarding claim 7, Reddy teaches identifying a number of clusters in an entire positioning space and a number of allocable ranging rounds (fig 4).
TIMOTHY A. BRAINARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648