DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang (US 2023/0422141)
Regarding Claim 21, Chang teaches a method of user equipment (UE) comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a DCR (Direct Communication Request) message from a remote UE (¶ [0026], see specifically discovery message);
measuring, by the UE, a signal strength of the DCR message (¶ [0024], see specifically SD-RSRP based on discovery messages.)
based on the signal strength of the DCR message being above a predetermined threshold, performing, by the UE, a UE to UE relay UE operation (¶ [0028], see specifically new PC5 connection.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16, 18, 20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT (S2-2202323) in view of Chang (US 2023/0422141)
Regarding Claims 14 and 22, CATT teaches a method of user equipment (UE) comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) the UE, a discovery message from a remote UE (Page 3, ¶ 3, see specifically receives a direct communication request or solicitation message)
based on the radio conditions, forwarding, by the UE, the discovery message (page 3, ¶ 3, see specifically decide whether to forward the message)
Catt fails to explicitly teach measuring, by the UE, a signal strength of the discovery message;
based on the signal strength of the discovery message being above a predetermined threshold, forwarding, by the UE, the discovery message.
Chang from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches measuring, by the UE, a signal strength of the discovery message (¶ [0024], see specifically SD-RSRP based on the discovery messages).
based on the signal strength of the discovery message being above a predetermined threshold, forwarding, by the UE, the discovery message (¶ [0024], see specifically SD-RSRP based on the discovery messages).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use the SD-RSRP within the discovery message in the system of CATT as taught by Chang.
The motivation is that CATT is a 3GPP document to develop the specific technology, and does not define how to measure the channel conditions between the source and relay UE. Using reference signals and using the RSRP of the reference signals would allow the system of CATT to measure the strength and quality of the transmission and would allow the relay to decide whether to participate.
Regarding Claim 15, CATT teaches the UE performs a UE to UE relay UE operation (page 3, figure 6.A.2.1-1, see specifically the UE1, the relays and UE2).
Regarding Claim 16, CATT teaches the discovery message is discovery solicitation message (Page 3, ¶ 3, see specifically receives a direct communication request or solicitation message)
Regarding Claim 18, CATT teaches the UE performs a UE to UE relay UE operation, based on that the remote UE request a service that is supported by the UE (page 3, ¶ 3, see specifically application ID, authorization policy specific to a service).
Regarding Claim 20, CATT teaches the UE performs a UE to UE relay UE operation, based on that a PDB (Packet Delay Budget) of the discovery message does not exceed a second predetermined value (Page 13, 6.D.1. ¶4, see specifically relay ensures PDB).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT (S2-2202323) in view of Chang (US 2023/0422141) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 2023/0141478).
Regarding Claim 17, CATT fails to explicitly teach the UE performs a UE to UE relay UE operation, based on the signal strength of the discovery message being above the predetermined threshold and being below another threshold.
Zhang from the same or similar field of endeavor teach the UE performs a UE to UE relay UE operation, based on the signal strength of the discovery message being above the predetermined threshold and being below another threshold (¶ [0055], see specifically PC5 interface maximum and minimum thresholds for RSRP).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to obey minimum and maximum thresholds for signal strength in the system of CATT as taught by Zhang.
The motivation is that too high or low of a signal strength can reduce performance, it would therefore be obvious to set both upper and lower limits to signal strength to improve it.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CATT (S2-2202323) in view of Chang (US 2023/0422141) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Aoyagi (U.S. 2025/0080203)
Regarding Claim 19, CATT fails to explicitly teach wherein the UE performs a UE to UE relay UE operation, based on that the number of link established by the UE does not exceed a first predetermined value.
Aoyagi from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the UE performs a UE to UE relay UE operation, based on that the number of link established by the UE does not exceed a first predetermined value (¶ [0052], see specifically number of connected UE’s).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to limit the number of UE’s being relayed in the system of CATT as taught by Aoyagi.
The motivation is partially provided by CATT on page 3, in ¶ 3, where it discusses that the relay may not forward the message based on traffic load of the relay UE. The number of connected UE’s to any given relay would be a similar concern as each connected UE would add load to the relay and it would be obvious to limit the number of connected UE’s for that reason by the local policy.
Conclusion
/ROBERT M MORLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409
ROBERT M. MORLAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409