DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Singh (WO 2022/266769), hereinafter “Singh”.
Regarding claim 1, Singh discloses an internal combustion engine system comprising: an internal combustion engine (140);at least one fuel tank (25) that stores a fuel gas in a compressed state (paragraph 36); a fuel gas pipe (57) that connects the fuel tank to the internal combustion engine (paragraph 70); and a pressurizing pump (70) that pressurizes the fuel gas in the fuel tank or in the fuel gas pipe (paragraph 39, shown in figure 10).
Regarding claim 2, Singh discloses the internal combustion engine system according to claim 1, further comprising a pressure reducing valve (120) that is located at the fuel gas pipe (57) and reduces pressure of the fuel gas to a predetermined value or less (paragraph 41), wherein the pressurizing pump (70) pressurizes the fuel gas located upstream of the pressure reducing valve (120, shown in figure 10).
Regarding claim 3, Singh discloses the internal combustion engine system according to claim 1, wherein the pressurizing pump (70) is driven by utilizing energy generated by the internal combustion engine (paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 4, Singh discloses the internal combustion engine system according to claim 3, wherein the pressurizing pump (70) is mechanically driven by the internal combustion engine (paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 5, Singh discloses the internal combustion engine system according to claim 1, further comprising an accumulator (100, paragraph 39) connected to the fuel gas pipe (57).
Regarding claim 6, Singh discloses the internal combustion engine system according to claim 1, wherein the fuel gas pipe (57) includes an internal combustion engine channel (25 to 57 to 92 to 122 to 100 and then on to 140) extending from the fuel tank (25) toward the internal combustion engine and a pump channel (25 to 57 to 82 to 70 and then on to 140) extending from the fuel tank to the pressurizing pump (70),the internal combustion engine system further comprising: a valve system (valve system includes 40, 50, 82, 92, and 110) that is operatable in a state where the fuel tank communicates with the internal combustion engine channel or a state where the fuel tank communicates with the pump channel; and processing circuitry configured to control the valve system (paragraph 70).
Regarding claim 7, Singh discloses the internal combustion engine system according to claim 6, wherein: the at least one fuel tank includes a first fuel tank (25) and a second fuel tank (35); the processing circuitry determines which of internal pressure of the first fuel tank and internal pressure of the second fuel tank is lower; and the processing circuitry controls the valve system such that the fuel gas in one of the first fuel tank and the second fuel tank which is lower in the internal pressure is guided to the pressurizing pump (paragraphs 37 and 43).
Regarding claim 8, Singh discloses the internal combustion engine system according to claim 6, wherein: the processing circuitry determines whether or not internal pressure of the fuel tank is less than a predetermined lower limit value; the processing circuitry controls the valve system such that the fuel gas of the fuel tank having the internal pressure that is less than the predetermined lower limit value is guided to the pressurizing pump (paragraphs 37 and 43).
Regarding claim 9, Singh discloses the internal combustion engine system according to claim 1, wherein the fuel gas includes a hydrogen gas (paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 10, Singh discloses a vehicle comprising the internal combustion engine system according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle moves by driving power generated by the internal combustion engine system (paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 11, Singh discloses the vehicle according to claim 10, wherein: the internal combustion engine system further includes a valve system that switches channels among the fuel tank, the pressurizing pump, and the fuel gas pipe and first processing circuitry configured to control the valve system (paragraph 43); the vehicle further includes second processing circuitry configured to control equipment different from the valve system; and the first processing circuitry and the second processing circuitry are connected to each other so as to perform information communication therebetween (paragraph 44). Examiner note that the controller is also an engine controller that controls the fuel command and the engine operating commands with parallel algorithms.
Regarding claim 12, Singh discloses a method of supplying a fuel gas, the method comprising: supplying to a fuel gas consuming source the fuel gas of one of two channels which is higher in pressure; pressurizing by a pressurizing pump the fuel gas of one of the two channels which is lower in pressure (paragraph 43); and supplying the pressurized fuel gas to the fuel gas consuming source (paragraph 43). Examiner notes that the controller (150) pressurizes the gas when the pressure in the fuel tanks are lower than a threshold.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892.
/SYED O HASAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747 1/7/2026