DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 10/22/2024.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 1-12, 15-30 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 15-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kari Pajukoski et al (WO 2021/233550 A1) in view of Sharon Levy et al (16942223 represented here by US 20220321298 A1).
For Claim 1, Pajukoski discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Pajukoski teaches, in ¶ 0061, lines 1-3, that FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating frequency domain spectrum shaping and spectrum extension according to an example embodiment), comprising: transmitting a data message on a first set of frequency resources (Pajukoski teaches, in ¶ 0064, lines 1-3, that At 810, the UE #1 may transmit a spectrum shaped block of data via only the set of frequency resources (subcarriers 0-11 of PRB #1) assigned to the UE #1); and
transmitting a pilot signal associated with the data message on a set of subcarriers within a second set of frequency resources (Pajukoski teaches, in ¶ 0063, lines 1-4, that UE #1 may transmit a DMRS signal via both in-band (within PRB #1 allocated to the UE #1) subcarriers (818) 0, 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10, and via excess band (or out of band) subcarriers (820) 12 and 14 (where subcarriers 12 and 14 are not part of PRB #1, but rather are part of PRB #2 that is allocated to UE #2)), the set of subcarriers comprises one of odd or even indexed subcarriers within the second set of frequency resources, at least a first portion of the set of subcarriers are within the first set of frequency resources (Pajukoski teaches, in ¶ 0063, lines 20-23, that In this example, for DMRS transmission, UE #1 is allocated or assigned every 2.sup.nd subcarrier within its PRB #1 (in-band subcarriers 0, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10), and is assigned two (excess band subcarriers 12 and 14) of the first four subcarriers in the adjacent PRB #2 that is assigned to UE #2), and at least a second portion of the set of subcarriers are within the second set of frequency resources and outside the first set of frequency resources (Pajukoski teaches, in ¶ 0062, lines 9-13, that Each UE may transmit a spectrum shaped and spectrum extended DMRS signal via a different (or orthogonal) set of subcarriers, including a subset of in-band subcarriers within the PRB allocated (or assigned) to the UE, and one or more excess band subcarriers that are outside the PRB allocated to the UE and are within a PRB allocated to another UE).
Pajukoski fails to expressly disclose that the first set of frequency resources is a subset of the second set of frequency resources.
However, Levy, in the analogous art, discloses that the first set of frequency resources is a subset of the second set of frequency resources (Levy teaches, in ¶ 0010, where the first set of frequency resources is a subset of the second set of frequency resources and the first pilot signal and the second pilot signal are associated with a same data message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Pajukoski with the subset of frequency resources taught in Levy. The motivation is to support channel estimation and interference mitigation in the OOB regions [Levy: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 2, Pajukoski discloses a method, further comprising: receiving, from a network entity, an indication of a set of one or more parameters for the UE to use to determine the pilot signal for the set of subcarriers based at least in part on the data message, wherein transmitting the pilot signal is based at least in part on the set of one or more parameters (Pajukoski teaches, in ¶ 0032, receiving, by a user device (or UE) from a network node (e.g., BS, gNB, eNB), information indicating a set of frequency resources assigned to the user device for uplink transmission and a spectrum shaping configuration indicating at least spectrum shaping with spectrum extension for transmission of reference signals via the set of frequency resources).
For Claim 3, Pajukoski discloses a method, further comprising receiving, from a network entity, an indication identifying the set of subcarriers for the UL to use to transmit the pilot signal, wherein transmitting the pilot signal is based at least in part on the indication identifying the set of subcarriers (Pajukoski teaches, in ¶ 0034 For example, the spectrum shaping configuration may indicate one or more parameters associated with spectrum shaping and/or spectrum extension, e.g., such as an indication of a type of filter or processing to be used to perform spectrum shaping and/or spectrum extension, information indicating or describing an IFDM comb (e.g., indicating which in-band subcarriers of a physical resource block allocated to the UE, and which excess band subcarriers outside of the PRB allocated to the UE) that may be used by the UE for reference signal (e.g., DMRS) transmission).
For Claim 4, Pajukoski disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of transmitting, to a network entity, a UE capability message indicating a first capability of the UE to transmit the data message for digital post-distortion processing at the network entity, a second capability of the UE to transmit a plurality of pilot signals distributed across the second set of frequency resources or a combination thereof, wherein transmitting the pilot signal outside the first set of frequency resources is based at least in part on the UF capability message.
However, Levy, in the analogous art, discloses transmitting, to a network entity, a UE capability message indicating a first capability of the UE to transmit the data message for digital post-distortion processing at the network entity, a second capability of the UE to transmit a plurality of pilot signals distributed across the second set of frequency resources or a combination thereof, wherein transmitting the pilot signal outside the first set of frequency resources is based at least in part on the UF capability message (Levy teaches, in ¶ 0014, transmitting, to the base station, a UE capability message indicating a first capability of the UE to transmit the data message for DPoD processing at the base station, a second capability of the UE to transmit a set of pilot signals distributed across the second set of frequency resources, or a combination thereof, where transmitting the second pilot signal may be based on the UE capability message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Pajukoski with the subset of frequency resources taught in Levy. The motivation is to support channel estimation and interference mitigation in the OOB regions [Levy: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 5, Pajukoski disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of receiving, from the network entity and in response to the UE capability message, a configuration message configuring the UE to implement the first capability, the second capability, or a combination thereof, wherein transmitting the pilot signal is further based at least in part on the configuration message.
However, Levy, in the analogous art, discloses receiving, from the network entity and in response to the UE capability message, a configuration message configuring the UE to implement the first capability, the second capability, or a combination thereof, wherein transmitting the pilot signal is further based at least in part on the configuration message (Levy teaches, in ¶ 0015, receiving, from the base station and in response to the UE capability message, a configuration message configuring the UE to implement the first capability, the second capability, or a combination thereof, where transmitting the second pilot signal may be further based on the configuration message).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Pajukoski with the subset of frequency resources taught in Levy. The motivation is to support channel estimation and interference mitigation in the OOB regions [Levy: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 6, Pajukoski discloses a method, wherein the set of subcarriers comprises all of the one of odd or even indexed subcarriers of the second set of frequency resources (Pajukoski teaches, in ¶ 0063, lines 1-3, For example, at 816, UE #1 may transmit a DMRS signal via both in-band (within PRB #1 allocated to the UE #1) subcarriers (818) 0, 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10).
For Claim 7, Pajukoski discloses a method, wherein the set of subcarriers comprises every fourth subcarrier within the second set of frequency resources (Pajukoski teaches, in ¶ 0063, For example, at 816 the UE #1 may transmit a spectrum shaped and spectrum DMRS signal via an interlaced frequency division multiplex (IFDM) comb 822 using every nth (e.g., every 2.sup.nd, every 3.sup.rd, every 4.sup.th, ...) subcarrier within the in-band subcarriers 818 of PRB #1 (that is allocated to the UE #1)).
For Claim 8, Pajukoski discloses a method, wherein the first set of frequency resources further comprises a second set of subcarriers for a second pilot signal of a second UE that is associated with a data message of the second UE transmitted on frequency resources outside the first set of frequency resources, and the second set of subcarriers comprises a different one of the odd or even indexed subcarriers within a first portion of the first set of frequency resources (Pajukoski teaches, in ¶ 0063, where PRB #1 (allocated or assigned to UE #1) is adjacent to PRB #2 (allocated or assigned to UE #2). The IFDM comb includes a subset of subcarriers that is orthogonal to (different from) the subset of subcarrier that may be used by the adjacent UE (UE #2) to transmit its DMRS signal).
For Claim 9, Pajukoski discloses a method, wherein the first set of frequency resources further comprises a second set of subcarriers for a second pilot signal of a second UE that is associated with a data message of the second UE transmitted on frequency resources outside the first set of frequency resources, and the second set of subcarriers comprises a different one of the odd or even indexed subcarriers within a first portion of the first set of frequency resources (Pajukoski teaches, in ¶ 0061, A physical resource block (PRB) is shown for each of three UEs, including a PRB #1 allocated to UE #1, a PRB #2 allocated for UE #2, and a PRB #3 allocated to UE #3).
For Claim 10, Pajukoski disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the second set of frequency resources comprises the first frequency resources allocated for data communications of the first UE and second frequency resources unallocated for the data communications of the first UE, the method further comprising: determining the second frequency resources based at least in part on an estimated non-linearity characteristic of the data message.
However, Levy, in the analogous art, discloses that the second set of frequency resources comprises the first frequency resources allocated for data communications of the first UE and second frequency resources unallocated for the data communications of the first UE, the method further comprising: determining the second frequency resources based at least in part on an estimated non-linearity characteristic of the data message (Levy teaches, in ¶ 0031, the first set of frequency resources includes in-band frequency resources allocated for the data communications of the UE and the second set of frequency resources includes the in-band frequency resources for the UE and OOB frequency resources unallocated for the data communications of the UE … determining the OOB frequency resources for the UE based on an estimated non-linearity characteristic of the data communications of the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Pajukoski with the subset of frequency resources taught in Levy. The motivation is to support channel estimation and interference mitigation in the OOB regions [Levy: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 11, Pajukoski disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of selecting the second frequency resources based at least in part on the estimated non-linearity characteristic of the data message satisfying an interference threshold for the second frequency resource.
However, Levy, in the analogous art, discloses selecting the second frequency resources based at least in part on the estimated non-linearity characteristic of the data message satisfying an interference threshold for the second frequency resource (Levy teaches, in ¶ 0032, determining the OOB frequency resources for the UE may include operations, features, means, or instructions for selecting the OOB frequency resources for the UE based on the estimated non-linearity characteristic satisfying an interference threshold for the OOB frequency resources for the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Pajukoski with the subset of frequency resources taught in Levy. The motivation is to support channel estimation and interference mitigation in the OOB regions [Levy: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 12, Pajukoski discloses a method, wherein the pilot signal comprises a demodulation reference signal (Pajukoski teaches, in ¶ 0037, the reference signal comprises at least one of: demodulation reference signals (DMRS); or sounding reference signals (SRS)).
For Claims 15-21, please refer to the rejection of claims 1-7, above.
For Claim 22, Pajukoski discloses a method, further comprising: receiving, from a second UE, a second data message on a third set of frequency resources, wherein the third set of frequency resources overlaps at least a portion of the second set of frequency resources (Pajukoski teaches, in ¶ 0063, where PRB #1 (allocated or assigned to UE #1) is adjacent to PRB #2 (allocated or assigned to UE #2). The IFDM comb includes a subset of subcarriers that is orthogonal to (different from) the subset of subcarrier that may be used by the adjacent UE (UE #2) to transmit its DMRS signal); and receiving, from the second UE, a second pilot signal associated with the second data message on a second set of subcarriers, wherein the second set of
subcarriers comprises a different one of the odd or even indexed subcarriers within the
third set of frequency resources, a first portion of the second set of subcarriers are
within the first set of frequency resources, and a second portion of the second set of
subcarriers are within the second set of frequency resources (Levy also teaches, in ¶ 0096, the UE 115-a may transmit pilot signals 220-a on frequency resources located within the first CC and at least a portion of the second CC. The UE 115-b may transmit pilot signals 220-b on frequency resources located within the second CC as well as resources located within at least a portion of the first CC and at least a portion of the third CC).
For Claim 23, Pajukoski discloses a method, further comprising: receiving, from a third UE, a third data message on a fourth set of frequency resources, wherein the fourth set of frequency resources overlaps at least a portion of the second set of frequency resources, and is outside the third set of frequency resources (Pajukoski teaches, in ¶ 0061, A physical resource block (PRB) is shown for each of three UEs, including a PRB #1 allocated to UE #1, a PRB #2 allocated for UE #2, and a PRB #3 allocated to UE #3); and receiving, from the third UE, a third pilot signal associated with the third data message on a third set of subcarriers, wherein the third set of subcarriers comprises the different one of the odd or even indexed subcarriers within the fourth set of frequency resources, a first portion of the third set of subcarriers are within the first set of frequency resources, and a second portion of the third set of subcarriers are within the second set of frequency resources (Levy also teaches, in ¶ 0096, the UE 115-a may transmit pilot signals 220-a on frequency resources located within the first CC and at least a portion of the second CC. The UE 115-b may transmit pilot signals 220-b on frequency resources located within the second CC as well as resources located within at least a portion of the first CC and at least a portion of the third CC).
For Claims 24-25, please refer to the rejection of claims 10-11, above.
For Claim 26, Pajukoski disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of performing a digital post-distortion technique on the data message and at least one other data message of a second UE; and decoding the data message and the at least one other data message based at least in part on performing the digital post-distortion technique.
However, Levy, in the analogous art, discloses performing a digital post-distortion technique on the data message and at least one other data message of a second UE; and decoding the data message and the at least one other data message based at least in part on performing the digital post-distortion technique (Levy teaches, in ¶ 0030, performing a DPoD technique on the data message and the channel estimation and decoding the data message based on performing the DPoD technique).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Pajukoski with the subset of frequency resources taught in Levy. The motivation is to support channel estimation and interference mitigation in the OOB regions [Levy: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 27, Pajukoski disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception of performing channel estimation based at least in part on the pilot signal associated with the data message; and decoding the data message based at least in part on the channel estimation.
However, Levy, in the analogous art, discloses performing channel estimation based at least in part on the pilot signal associated with the data message; and decoding the data message based at least in part on the channel estimation (Levy teaches, in ¶ 0021, performing channel estimation based on the set of pilot signals, and decoding a data message based on the channel estimation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system in Pajukoski with the subset of frequency resources taught in Levy. The motivation is to support channel estimation and interference mitigation in the OOB regions [Levy: ¶ 0004].
For Claim 28, please refer to the rejection of claim 12, above.
For Claims 29-30, please refer to the rejection of claim 1, above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 13-14 are considered allowable because the prior art does not teach limitations including:
“aligning a first amplitude associated with a complementary cumulative distribution function of the pilot signal with a second amplitude associated with the complementary cumulative distribution function of the data message; and transmitting the pilot signal based at least in part on the alignment,” in addition to other claim limitations as recited, in various permutations, in independent claim 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sano et al (US 20170332364 A1) teaches a technique to perform an uplink interference reduction process in a radio communication system, comprising transmitting to the connected base station by the interference base station, control information used for reducing the interference signal at the connected base station, and interference reduction step reducing, by the connected base station, the interference signal using the control information, to acquire a desired signal transmitted from a user apparatus that is connected to the connected base station.
/MOHAMED A KAMARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412