DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on October 22, 2024. Claim(s) 1 – 30 are pending and examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on October 22, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0065566 A1 to LI et al. (herein after "Li, already of record from IDS.
(Note: Claim language is in bold typeface, and the Examiner’s comments and cited passages from the prior art reference(s) are in normal typeface.)
As to Claim 1,
Li’s mobile edge computing deployment system for unmanned aerial vehicle traffic discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a server (see at least Fig. 1A ~ illustrates a general arrangement of radio based wireless devices 102n in coupled communication over a communications network 106/110/112 to ground based stations 114n,
see Fig. 1B ~ illustrates a general arrangement of a control system that performs wherein wireless transmit / receive unit ( WTRU ) within an aircraft to ground based station communication system,
see Fig. 9 ~ illustrates an operating schematic of drones (UAVs) in cooperation with ATC & ground stations, ¶0044 ~ wireless transmit / receive unit ( WTRU ), and ¶0049 ~ computer server), comprising:
a processor (see at least ¶0046 ~ processor 118);
memory coupled with the processor (see at least ¶0050 ~ "any type... memory , such as the non - removable memory 130 and / or the removable memory 132"); and
(see at least ¶0046 ~ performs computer executable instructions wherein UAVs as described in Figs. 1A, 9, and ¶0003 ~ detect risk of collision with one or mobile objects in an airspace serviced by mobile edge computing (MEC) nodes (smartphones)) to:
receive, via a radio access network and from an aircraft, first information associated with the aircraft (see at least Fig. 9, ¶0044, ¶0054 ~ "WTRU 102 may include a full duplex radio for which transmission and reception of some or all of the signals", ¶0125 ~ "similar to manned aircrafts using ADS - B , for surrounding UAVs to track its trajectory. The PIBS message from a UAV may also be received via an access network node in the broadcasting range and forwarded to an edge - UTM function deployed at MEC platform of the mobile operator network", and ¶0126 ~ "PIBS may be transmitted from a UAV directly to another UAV in broadcast mode... Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V)... like ADS-B");
transmit, to the aircraft in response to receiving the first information, situational information to trigger a situational response by the aircraft while the aircraft operates in a zone associated with the server (Pursuant to [0119] of the disclosure, see ¶0127 ~ "PIBS - based DAA for UAS operations may be performed between two UAVs involving collision risks", ¶0132, ¶0145 ~ "as in Table 3, UAV's ID and a collision risk information element ( RISK - IE ) , which refers to a given risk . It may follow the resolution advisory ( RA ) for the destination UAV . The RA may have multi - levels . A first level may be the simplest, indicating the one of 6 directions to move ( e.g. , slow / fast, left / right, or up / down )". See also ¶0149); and
communicate, between the server and an unmanned aircraft service supplier, second information associated with the aircraft, the communicating being via a network function and based at least in part on receiving the first information. (See at least Figs. 1 - 2 and 9, ¶0145, and ¶0217 ~ "The edge USS coordinator may receive updates either from a cloud USS… The edge USS coordinator may send alerts to either the cloud USS or the edge USS instance . The edge USS… The edge - UTM proxy may intercept update packets , forward them to the edge USS coordinator , and wait for its responses after processing.")
As to Claim 2,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to transmit the situational information are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a warning indicative of a potential conflict associated with the aircraft. (See at least ¶0123 ~ “The USS server monitors the UAS operations via the status reports from UAVs . If a UAV is not conforming to its planned mission route , the USS may take certain control action to alert , correct or abort the mission” and ¶0218; Li ~ UAV / USS sends alert notifying of potential conflicts associated with the aircraft).
As to Claim 3,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to
transmit the situational information are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit an indication of an avoidance instruction for avoiding a potential conflict by the aircraft. (See at least Fig. 9, Fig. 20, ¶0123 ~ “The USS server monitors the UAS operations via the status reports from UAVs . If a UAV is not conforming to its planned mission route , the USS may take certain control action to alert , correct or abort the mission” and ¶0218; Li ~ UAV / USS sends alert notifying of potential conflicts associated with the aircraft).
As to Claim 4,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to
transmit the situational information are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit neighboring vehicle information associated with one or more vehicles operating in the zone or another proximal zone. (See at least Fig. 9, Fig. 20 and ¶0123; Li).
As to Claim 5,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to
transmit the situational information are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit topographical information, ground-based obstruction information, or both associated with the zone or another proximal zone. (See at least Figs. 9, Fig. 19 ~ illustrates a UAV detecting a ground based obstruction (i.e., trees, etc.) and Fig. 20 and ¶0098 ~ "UTM system to make UAS Traffic Management decisions . Some obstacles are static , such terrain , buildings and / or towers").
As to Claim 6,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to
receive the first information are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive a deconfliction request or conflict warning associated with a potential conflict detected by the aircraft,
wherein situational information is transmitted based at least in part on receiving the deconfliction request or the conflict warning and includes an avoidance instruction. (See at least ¶0123; Li ~ “The USS server monitors the UAS operations via the status reports from UAVs . If a UAV is not conforming to its planned mission route , the USS may take certain control action to alert , correct or abort the mission” and ¶0218; Li ~ UAV / USS sends alert notifying of potential conflicts associated with the aircraft).
As to Claim 7,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to
receive the first information are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive metadata associated with the aircraft, wherein the metadata comprises an aircraft type, an aircraft capability, an aircraft position, an aircraft velocity, an aircraft identity, aircraft operator information, or a combination thereof. (See Fig. 9, Fig. 20, ¶0123, ¶0130; Li ~ "periodically over a broadcasting media . The or velocity periodically over a broadcasting media", and ¶0143; Li).
As to Claim 8,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from the aircraft, third information associated with one or more vehicles detected by the aircraft. (See at least Fig. 9, Fig. 20 and ¶0123; Li).
As to Claim 9,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more vehicles comprise
a piloted aircraft, an aircraft operating in an autonomous flying mode, a ground vehicle, or a combination thereof. (See at least Figs. 9 and 20, ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145; Li).
As to Claim 10,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to
communicate the second information are executable by the processor to cause (see at least Figs. 9 and 20, ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145; Li) the apparatus to:
transmit, to the unmanned aircraft service supplier, an indication of conflict information associated with the aircraft, an indication of vehicle congestion information of the zone, or a combination thereof. (See Figs. 9 and 20, ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145; Li).
As to Claim 11,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to
communicate the second information are executable by the processor (see at least Figs. 9 and 20, ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145; Li) to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to the unmanned aircraft service supplier, a request for the second information associated with the aircraft; and receive, from the unmanned aircraft service supplier, in response to transmitting the request, the second information. (See Figs. 9 and 20, ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145; Li).
As to Claim 12,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
determine, based at least in part on receiving the first information, that a potential conflict exists for the aircraft, a second aircraft, or both (see at least Figs. 9 and 20, ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145; Li); and
transmit, to the aircraft, the second aircraft, or both, an indication of the potential conflict. (See at least Figs. 9 and 20, ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145; Li).
As to Claim 13,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from one or more sensors associated with the server, zone information associated with the zone, wherein the situational information is based at least in part on the zone information. (See Figs. 9 and 20, ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145; Li).
As to Claim 14,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one or more sensors comprise
a detect and avoid broadcast receiver, a broadcast remote identifier receiver, an automatic dependent surveillance-broadcast receiver, a weather sensor, a radar, a new-radio sensor, a lidar, an aircraft transponder, or a combination thereof. (See at least Figs. 9 and 20, ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145; Li; Li teaches avoiding an aircraft (UAV) transponder).
As to Claim 15,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the server communicates with the aircraft via an access link, a sidelink, or both. (See at least ¶0117, ¶0122, ¶0136, and ¶0142; Li).
As to Claim 16
Li discloses an apparatus for wireless communications a first aircraft (see Fig. 1A ~ illustrates a general arrangement of radio based wireless devices 102n in coupled communication over a communications network 106/110/112 to ground based stations 114n, Fig. 1B ~ illustrates a general arrangement of a control system that performs wherein wireless transmit / receive unit ( WTRU ) within an aircraft to ground based station communication system, Fig. 9 ~ illustrates an operating schematic of drones (UAVs) in cooperation with ATC & ground stations, and ¶0044 ~ wireless transmit / receive unit ( WTRU )), comprising:
a processor (see ¶0046 ~ processor 118);
memory coupled with the processor (see ¶0050 ~ "any type... memory , such as the non - removable memory 130 and / or the removable memory 132"); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus (see at least ¶0046 ~ performs computer executable instructions wherein UAVs as described in Figs. 1A, 9, and ¶0003 ~ detect risk of collision with one or mobile objects in an airspace serviced by mobile edge computing (MEC) nodes (smartphones)) to:
receive first information associated with one or more second vehicles (see at least Fig. 9, ¶0125 ~ "similar to manned aircrafts using ADS - B , for surrounding UAVs to track its trajectory. The PIBS message from a UAV may also be received via an access network node in the broadcasting range and forwarded to an edge - UTM function deployed at MEC platform of the mobile operator network", and ¶0126 ~ "PIBS may be transmitted from a UAV directly to another UAV in broadcast mode... Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V)... like ADS-B");
transmit, to a server operating in a radio access network and based at least in part on receiving the first information associated with the one or more second vehicles, second information associated with the first aircraft (see Fig. 9 and ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145); and
receive, from the server based at least in part on transmitting the second information, situational information to trigger a situational response by the first aircraft while the first aircraft operates in a zone associated with the server. (See at least Pursuant to [0119] of the disclosure, see ¶0127 ~ "PIBS - based DAA for UAS operations may be performed between two UAVs involving collision risks", ¶0132, ¶0145 ~ "as in Table 3, UAV's ID and a collision risk information element ( RISK - IE ) , which refers to a given risk . It may follow the resolution advisory ( RA ) for the destination UAV . The RA may have multi - levels . A first level may be the simplest, indicating the one of 6 directions to move ( e.g. , slow / fast, left / right, or up / down )". See also ¶0149).
As to Claim 17,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions to receive the situational information are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive a warning indicative of a potential conflict associated with the first aircraft. (See at least ¶0123; Li ~ “The USS server monitors the UAS operations via the status reports from UAVs . If a UAV is not conforming to its planned mission route , the USS may take certain control action to alert , correct or abort the mission” and ¶0218; Li ~ UAV / USS sends alert notifying of potential conflicts associated with the aircraft).
As to Claim 18,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions to
receive the situational information are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive an indication of an avoidance instruction for avoiding a potential conflict by the first aircraft. (See at least Fig. 9, Fig. 20, ¶0123 ~ “The USS server monitors the UAS operations via the status reports from UAVs . If a UAV is not conforming to its planned mission route , the USS may take certain control action to alert , correct or abort the mission” and ¶0218; Li ~ UAV / USS sends alert notifying of potential conflicts associated with the aircraft).
As to Claim 19,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions to
receive the situational information are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive information associated with one or more vehicles operating in the zone or another proximal zone. (See Figs. 9 and 20, ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145; Li).
As to Claim 20,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions to
receive the situational information are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive topographical information, ground-based obstruction information, or both associated with the zone or another proximal zone. (See at least Figs. 9, Fig. 19 ~ illustrates a UAV detecting a ground based obstruction (i.e., trees, etc.) and Fig. 20 and ¶0098 ~ "UTM system to make UAS Traffic Management decisions . Some obstacles are static , such terrain , buildings and / or towers").
As to Claim 21,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions to
transmit the second information are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit deconfliction request or conflict warning associated with a potential conflict detected by the first aircraft,
wherein situational information is received based at least in part on transmitting the deconfliction request or the conflict warning and includes an avoidance instruction. (See Figs. 9 and 20, ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145; Li).
As to Claim 22,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions to
transmit the second information are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit metadata associated with the first aircraft,
wherein the metadata comprises an aircraft type, an aircraft capability, an aircraft position, an aircraft velocity, an aircraft identity, aircraft operator information, or a combination thereof. (See Fig. 9, Fig. 20, ¶0123, ¶0130; Li ~ "periodically over a broadcasting media . The or velocity periodically over a broadcasting media", and ¶0143; Li).
As to Claim 23,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to the server, an indication of the first information associated with one or more vehicles received by the first aircraft. (See Figs. 9 and 20, ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145; Li).
As to Claim 24,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the one or more second vehicles comprise
a piloted aircraft, an aircraft operating in an autonomous flying mode, a ground vehicle, or a combination thereof. (See Figs. 9 and 20, ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145; Li).
As to Claim 25,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein:
the first aircraft communicates with the server via an access link, a sidelink, or both. (See at least ¶0117, ¶0122, ¶0136, and ¶0142; Li)
As to Claim 26,
Li discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from an unmanned aircraft service supplier, an indication of reachability information for the server, an indication of the zone associated with the server, or both, wherein the first aircraft communicates with the server based at least in part on receiving the reachability information, the indication of the zone, or both. (See at least Figs. 9, 20, ¶0123, ¶0125, and ¶0145; Li).
As to Claim 27,
Li discloses a method for wireless communications at a server (see at least Figs. 1A - 1B, Fig. 20 ~ outlines a process method performing wherein radio based wireless devices 102n in coupled communication over a communications network 106/110/112 to ground based stations 114n identify collision threats and execute avoidance / evasive maneuvers,
see ¶0125 ~ "similar to manned aircrafts using ADS - B , for surrounding UAVs to track its trajectory. The PIBS message from a UAV may also be received via an access network node in the broadcasting range and forwarded to an edge - UTM function deployed at MEC platform of the mobile operator network", and ¶0044 ~ wireless transmit / receive unit ( WTRU )), comprising:
receiving, via a radio access network and from an aircraft, first information associated with the aircraft (see at least Fig. 9, ¶0125 ~ "similar to manned aircrafts using ADS - B , for surrounding UAVs to track its trajectory. The PIBS message from a UAV may also be received via an access network node in the broadcasting range and forwarded to an edge - UTM function deployed at MEC platform of the mobile operator network", and ¶0126 ~ "PIBS may be transmitted from a UAV directly to another UAV in broadcast mode... Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V)... like ADS-B");
transmitting, to the aircraft in response to receiving the first information, situational information to trigger a situational response by the aircraft while the aircraft operates in a zone associated with the server (see at least Fig. 9 and ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145); and
communicating, between the server and an unmanned aircraft service supplier, second information associated with the aircraft, the communicating being via a network function and based at least in part on receiving the first information. (See Pursuant to [0119] of the disclosure, see ¶0127 ~ "PIBS - based DAA for UAS operations may be performed between two UAVs involving collision risks", ¶0132, ¶0145 ~ "as in Table 3, UAV's ID and a collision risk information element ( RISK - IE ) , which refers to a given risk . It may follow the resolution advisory ( RA ) for the destination UAV . The RA may have multi - levels . A first level may be the simplest, indicating the one of 6 directions to move ( e.g. , slow / fast, left / right, or up / down )". See also ¶0149).
As to Claim 28,
Li discloses the method of claim 27, wherein transmitting the situational information comprises:
transmitting an indication of an avoidance instruction for avoiding a potential conflict by the aircraft. (See at least Fig. 9, Fig. 20, ¶0123 ~ “The USS server monitors the UAS operations via the status reports from UAVs . If a UAV is not conforming to its planned mission route , the USS may take certain control action to alert , correct or abort the mission” and ¶0218; Li ~ UAV / USS sends alert notifying of potential conflicts associated with the aircraft).
As to Claim 29,
Li discloses the method of claim 27, wherein receiving the first information comprises:
receiving a deconfliction request or conflict warning associated with a potential conflict detected by the aircraft,
wherein situational information is transmitted based at least in part on receiving the deconfliction request or the conflict warning and includes an avoidance instruction. (See at least ¶0123; Li ~ “The USS server monitors the UAS operations via the status reports from UAVs . If a UAV is not conforming to its planned mission route , the USS may take certain control action to alert , correct or abort the mission” and ¶0218; Li ~ UAV / USS sends alert notifying of potential conflicts associated with the aircraft).
As to Claim 30,
Li discloses a method for wireless communications a first aircraft (see at least Fig. 1A ~ illustrates a general arrangement of radio based wireless devices 102n in coupled communication over a communications network 106/110/112 to ground based stations 114n, Fig. 1B ~ illustrates a general arrangement of a control system that performs wherein wireless transmit / receive unit ( WTRU ) within an aircraft to ground based station communication system, Fig. 9 ~ illustrates an operating schematic of drones (UAVs) in cooperation with ATC & ground stations, and ¶0044 ~ wireless transmit / receive unit ( WTRU )), comprising:
receiving first information associated with one or more second vehicles (see at least Fig. 9, ¶0125 ~ "similar to manned aircrafts using ADS - B , for surrounding UAVs to track its trajectory. The PIBS message from a UAV may also be received via an access network node in the broadcasting range and forwarded to an edge - UTM function deployed at MEC platform of the mobile operator network", and ¶0126 ~ "PIBS may be transmitted from a UAV directly to another UAV in broadcast mode... Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V)... like ADS-B");
transmitting, to a server operating in a radio access network and based at least in part on receiving the first information associated with the one or more second vehicles, second information associated with the first aircraft (see at least Fig. 9 and ¶0125 - ¶0127, and ¶0145); and
receiving, from the server based at least in part on transmitting the second information, situational information to trigger a situational response by the first aircraft while the first aircraft operates in a zone associated with the server. (Pursuant to [0119] of the disclosure, see ¶0127 ~ "PIBS - based DAA for UAS operations may be performed between two UAVs involving collision risks", ¶0132, ¶0145 ~ "as in Table 3, UAV's ID and a collision risk information element ( RISK - IE ) , which refers to a given risk . It may follow the resolution advisory ( RA ) for the destination UAV . The RA may have multi - levels . A first level may be the simplest, indicating the one of 6 directions to move ( e.g. , slow / fast, left / right, or up / down )". See also ¶0149).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Peter Nolan can be reached Monday through Friday, between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. at (571) 270 – 7016. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ASHLEY L REDHEAD JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661