Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. US 20220346180 A1 (Domestic Priority April 22, 2021) in view of Fujishiro et al. US 20220256587 A1 (Domestic Priority August 10, 2017), and in further view of Babaei et al. US 20210307108 A1 (Domestic Priority March 29, 2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Previously Presented), Tseng discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving, from a radio access network (RAN), a system information block (SIB) (see, Radio Access Network broadcasting a configuration through the system information block, section 0255); triggering, when performing a small data transmission (SDT) procedure, a buffer status report (BSR) to the RAN (see, UE may report BSRs of sidelink logical channel(s) to the serving RAN after a trigger, sections 0385-0388); and in response to the triggering and when the SIB includes a configuration of a delay timer for the SDT procedure, starting or restarting the delay timer according to the configuration.
Tseng discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: in response to the triggering and when the SIB includes a configuration of a delay timer for the SDT procedure, starting or restarting the delay timer according to the configuration.
However Fujishiro from a similar field of endeavor discloses: in response to the triggering and when the SIB includes a configuration of a delay timer for the SDT procedure (see, timer is set in the UE from the eNB 200 by a SIB, section 0258 Fujishiro; noted, eNB transmits (broadcasts) PRACH resource information indicating a PRACH resource (PRACH resource pool), which is a resource that can be used for the random access preamble transmission by system information (SIB), section 0105 Fujishiro), starting or restarting the delay timer according to the configuration.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Tseng with the SIB associated with timer of Fujishiro. The motivation would have been to improve early data transmission in which uplink user data is transmitted during a random access procedure.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: starting or restarting the delay timer according to the configuration.
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: starting or restarting the delay timer according to the configuration (see, if the BSR is triggered for a logical channel for which logicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied with value true is configured by upper layers, the MAC entity may start or restart the logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer, section 0240 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the start or restart of delay timer of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 2 (Previously Presented), the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration is specific to a logical channel on which uplink (UL) data is available for transmission to the RAN.
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration is specific to a logical channel on which uplink (UL) data is available for transmission to the RAN (see, uplink data for one of the logical channels may become available to the MAC entity of the UE where the UE may determine whether to trigger the regular BSR (and/or BSR), section 0095 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the logical channels of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 3 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 1, wherein the starting or restarting of the delay timer is further in response to the configuration including a IogicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied field.
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the starting or restarting of the delay timer is further in response to the configuration including a IogicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied field (see, if the BSR is triggered for a logical channel for which logicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied with value true is configured by upper layers, the MAC entity may start or restart the logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer, section 0240 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the logical channels of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration includes sdt- LogicalChannelSR-DelayTimer-r17 as a value for the delay timer.
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration includes sdt- LogicalChannelSR-DelayTimer-r17 as a value for the delay timer (see, A timer may be configured with or may be associated with a value (e.g., an initial value). The timer may be started or restarted with the value of the timer. The value of the timer may indicate a time duration that the timer may be running upon being started or restarted and until the timer expires, section 0169 Babaei; noted, if the BSR is triggered for a logical channel for which logicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied with value true is configured by upper layers, the MAC entity may start or restart the logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer, section 0240 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the logical channels of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 1, wherein the starting or restarting of the delay timer is further in response to the UE supporting the delay timer
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the starting or restarting of the delay timer is further in response to the UE supporting the delay timer (see, the MAC entity may start or restart drx-ShortCycleTimer in the first symbol after the expiry of drx-InactivityTimer or in the first symbol after the end of DRX Command MAC CE reception, section 0203 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the timer of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 6 (Previously Presented), the method of claim 1, wherein the starting or restarting of the delay timer occurs in a first instance (see, first timer is set in the UE from the eNB by a SIB. When the first timer expires without receiving the Msg4, the UE stops processing of receiving the Msg4 (for example, monitoring of PDCCH) and resumes a random access procedure from Msg1 transmission, section 0258 Fujishiro); the method further comprising, in a second instance: in response to the triggering and when the SIB does not include the configuration of the delay timer, refraining from starting or restarting the delay timer
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the starting or restarting of the delay timer occurs in a first instance; the method further comprising, in a second instance: in response to the triggering and when the SIB does not include the configuration of the delay timer, refraining from starting or restarting the delay timer (see, upon starting a timer, the timer may start running until the timer is stopped or until the timer expires and can be restarted with a value of the timer, section 0169 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the timer of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to determining that an uplink grant is available for transmitting the BSR to the RAN, transmitting the BSR to the RAN.
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to determining that an uplink grant is available for transmitting the BSR to the RAN, transmitting the BSR to the RAN (see, parameters to control the BSR can include a parameter logicalChannelSR-Mask may control SR triggering when a configured uplink grant is configured and a parameter logicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied may indicate whether to apply the delay timer for SR transmission for this logical channel, sections 0233-0235 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the logical channels of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to determining that (i) an uplink grant is unavailable for transmitting the BSR to the RAN and (ii) the delay timer is not running, performing a random access procedure to transmit the BSR to the RAN.
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to determining that (i) an uplink grant is unavailable for transmitting the BSR to the RAN (see, wireless device may trigger a buffer status report or a scheduling request or may initiate a random access process based on transmitting the buffer status report and receiving the control information without mention of grant, section 0706 Babaei) and (ii) the delay timer is not running, performing a random access procedure to transmit the BSR to the RAN (see, wireless device may start a random access process/transmit a random access preamble in response to the receiving the command/signaling and after transmitting the buffer status report with this all not limited by a timer, section 0439 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the timer of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to determining that (i) an uplink grant is unavailable for transmitting the BSR to the RAN and (ii) the delay timer is running, refraining from performing a random access procedure to transmit the BSR to the RAN.
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to determining that (i) an uplink grant is unavailable for transmitting the BSR to the RAN (see, wireless device may trigger a buffer status report or a scheduling request or may initiate a random access process based on transmitting the buffer status report and receiving the control information without mention of grant, section 0706 Babaei) and (ii) the delay timer is running, refraining from performing a random access procedure to transmit the BSR to the RAN (see, no transmission of BSR when buffer status report timer is started, section 0440 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the grant of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Tseng discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: a transceiver (see, UE includes processing circuitry, a transceiver coupled to the processing circuitry and a memory coupled to the processing circuitry, section 0016); and a processing hardware (see, UE includes processing circuitry, a transceiver coupled to the processing circuitry and a memory coupled to the processing circuitry, section 0016); wherein the UE is configured to: receive, from a radio access network (RAN), a system information block (SIB) (see, Radio Access Network broadcasting a configuration through the system information block, section 0255), trigger, when performing a small data transmission (SDT) procedure, a buffer status report (BSR) to the RAN (see, UE may report BSRs of sidelink logical channel(s) to the serving RAN after a trigger, sections 0385-0388), and in response to the triggering and when the SIB includes a configuration of a delay timer for the SDT procedure, start or restart the delay timer according to the configuration.
Tseng discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: and in response to the triggering and when the SIB includes a configuration of a delay timer for the SDT procedure, start or restart the delay timer according to the configuration.
However Fujishiro from a similar field of endeavor discloses: and in response to the triggering and when the SIB includes a configuration of a delay timer for the SDT procedure (see, timer is set in the UE from the eNB 200 by a SIB, section 0258 Fujishiro; noted, eNB transmits (broadcasts) PRACH resource information indicating a PRACH resource (PRACH resource pool), which is a resource that can be used for the random access preamble transmission by system information (SIB), section 0105 Fujishiro), start or restart the delay timer according to the configuration.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Tseng with the SIB associated with timer of Fujishiro. The motivation would have been to improve early data transmission in which uplink user data is transmitted during a random access procedure.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: start or restart the delay timer according to the configuration.
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: start or restart the delay timer according to the configuration (see, if the BSR is triggered for a logical channel for which logicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied with value true is configured by upper layers, the MAC entity may start or restart the logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer, section 0240 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the start or restart of delay timer of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
Regarding claim 11 (Previously Presented), Tseng discloses a method for wireless communications at a radio access network (RAN), the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a system information block (SIB) (see, Radio Access Network broadcasting a configuration through the system information block, section 0255) that includes a configuration of a delay timer for performing a small data transmission (SDT) procedure; and receiving a buffer status report (BSR) from the UE according to the configuration while the RAN (see, UE may report BSRs of sidelink logical channel(s) to the serving RAN after a trigger, sections 0385-0388)and UE do not have an active radio connection (see, UE may stop the running SL-DRX operation with/without releasing the stored SL-DRX configuration if the stored SL-DRX configuration is provided by the serving cell through an SL-SIB from the serving cell via a SIB<b>12</b> or SIB<b>13</b> in the broadcasting system information to the UE when the radio link failure event happens, section 0164).
Tseng discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: that includes a configuration of a delay timer for performing a small data transmission (SDT) procedure; and receiving a buffer status report (BSR) from the UE according to the configuration while the RAN (see, UE may report BSRs of sidelink logical channel(s) to the serving RAN after a trigger, sections 0385-0388) and UE do not have an active radio connection (see, UE may stop the running SL-DRX operation with/without releasing the stored SL-DRX configuration if the stored SL-DRX configuration is provided by the serving cell through an SL-SIB from the serving cell via a SIB<b>12</b> or SIB<b>13</b> in the broadcasting system information to the UE when the radio link failure event happens, section 0164).
However Fujishiro from a similar field of endeavor discloses: that includes a configuration of a delay timer for performing a small data transmission (SDT) procedure(see, timer is set in the UE from the eNB 200 by a SIB, section 0258 Fujishiro; noted, eNB transmits (broadcasts) PRACH resource information indicating a PRACH resource (PRACH resource pool), which is a resource that can be used for the random access preamble transmission by system information (SIB), section 0105 Fujishiro); and receiving a buffer status report (BSR) from the UE according to the configuration while the RAN and UE do not have an active radio connection.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Tseng with the SIB associated with timer of Fujishiro. The motivation would have been to improve early data transmission in which uplink user data is transmitted during a random access procedure.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), the method of claim 11, wherein the configuration is specific to a logical channel associated on which uplink (UL) data is available for transmission to the RAN
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 11, wherein the configuration is specific to a logical channel associated on which uplink (UL) data is available for transmission to the RAN (see, uplink data for one of the logical channels may become available to the MAC entity of the UE where the UE may determine whether to trigger the regular BSR (and/or BSR), section 0095 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the logical channels of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 13 (Previously Presented), the method of claim 11, wherein the configuration includes sdt-LogicalChannelSR-DelayTimer-r17 as a value for the delay timer
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 11, wherein the configuration includes sdt-LogicalChannelSR-DelayTimer-r17 as a value for the delay timer (see, A timer may be configured with or may be associated with a value (e.g., an initial value). The timer may be started or restarted with the value of the timer. The value of the timer may indicate a time duration that the timer may be running upon being started or restarted and until the timer expires, section 0169 Babaei; noted, if the BSR is triggered for a logical channel for which logicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied with value true is configured by upper layers, the MAC entity may start or restart the logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer, section 0240 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the logical channels of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 16 (New), the method of claim 11, wherein the logical channel is configured for the SDT.
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method of claim 11, wherein the logical channel is configured for the SDT (see, a wireless device may transmit a buffer status report indicating available data for one or more logical channels, section 0702 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the logical channels of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 17 (New), the UE of claim 10, wherein: the configuration is specific to a logical channel on which uplink (UL) data is available for transmission to the RAN
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 10, wherein: the configuration is specific to a logical channel on which uplink (UL) data is available for transmission to the RAN (see, uplink data for one of the logical channels may become available to the MAC entity of the UE where the UE may determine whether to trigger the regular BSR (and/or BSR), section 0095 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the logical channels of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 18 (New), the UE of claim 10, wherein: wherein the starting or restarting of the delay timer is further in response to the configuration including a LogicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied field.
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 10, wherein: wherein the starting or restarting of the delay timer is further in response to the configuration including a LogicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied field (see, if the BSR is triggered for a logical channel for which logicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied with value true is configured by upper layers, the MAC entity may start or restart the logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer, section 0240 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the logical channels of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 19 (New), the UE of claim 10, wherein: the configuration includes sdt- LogicalChannelSR-DelayTimer-r17 as a value for the delay timer.
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 10, wherein: the configuration includes sdt- LogicalChannelSR-DelayTimer-r17 as a value for the delay timer (see, A timer may be configured with or may be associated with a value (e.g., an initial value). The timer may be started or restarted with the value of the timer. The value of the timer may indicate a time duration that the timer may be running upon being started or restarted and until the timer expires, section 0169 Babaei; noted, if the BSR is triggered for a logical channel for which logicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied with value true is configured by upper layers, the MAC entity may start or restart the logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer, section 0240 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the logical channels of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 20 (New), the UE of claim 10, wherein: the starting or restarting of the delay timer is further in response to the UE supporting the delay timer.
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 10, wherein: the starting or restarting of the delay timer is further in response to the UE supporting the delay timer (see, the MAC entity may start or restart drx-ShortCycleTimer in the first symbol after the expiry of drx-InactivityTimer or in the first symbol after the end of DRX Command MAC CE reception, section 0203 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the logical channels of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 21 (New), the UE of claim 10, wherein: the starting or restarting of the delay timer occurs in a first instance (see, first timer is set in the UE from the eNB by a SIB. When the first timer expires without receiving the Msg4, the UE stops processing of receiving the Msg4 (for example, monitoring of PDCCH) and resumes a random access procedure from Msg1 transmission, section 0258 Fujishiro); the UE further configured to, in a second instance: in response to the triggering and when the SIB does not include the configuration of the delay timer, refrain from starting or restarting the delay timer.
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 10, wherein: the starting or restarting of the delay timer occurs in a first instance; the UE further configured to, in a second instance: in response to the triggering and when the SIB does not include the configuration of the delay timer, refrain from starting or restarting the delay timer (see, upon starting a timer, the timer may start running until the timer is stopped or until the timer expires and can be restarted with a value of the timer, section 0169 Babaei).
The combination of Tseng and Fujishiro discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 22 (New), the UE of claim 10, further configured to: in response to determining that an uplink grant is available for transmitting the BSR to the RAN, transmit the BSR to the RAN .
However Babaei from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the UE of claim 10, further configured to: in response to determining that an uplink grant is available for transmitting the BSR to the RAN, transmit the BSR to the RAN (see, parameters to control the BSR can include a parameter logicalChannelSR-Mask may control SR triggering when a configured uplink grant is configured and a parameter logicalChannelSR-DelayTimerApplied may indicate whether to apply the delay timer for SR transmission for this logical channel, sections 0233-0235 Babaei).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Tseng and Fujishiro with the grant of Babaei. The motivation would have been to improve characteristics of mobile communications system.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473