DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-65 are currently pending and are addressed below. Claims 26-65 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 26-65 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/17/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“calculation unit configured to generate...”, and
“output unit that is configured to output...” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tateno et al. (US 2013/0011018).
Regarding claim 1:
Tateno teaches a control apparatus that generates a control signal for controlling a robot arm to which a process apparatus that performs a process on an object, a first imaging apparatus that outputs first image data, and a second imaging apparatus that outputs second image data are mounted (See at least Fig. 2b), wherein
the robot arm is controlled by the control signal to move the process apparatus and the first and imaging apparatuses (see at least ¶0069),
the control apparatus comprises:
a calculation unit that is configured to generate the control signal (see at least ¶0070); and
an output unit that is configured to output the control signal generated by the calculation unit (see at least ¶0070),
the calculation unit is configured to:
generate first information indicating a position and a pose of the object by using the first image data generated by the first imaging apparatus imaging the object (see at least ¶0032, ¶0055);
generate second information indicating a position and a pose of the object by using three-dimensional position data, which is generated from the second image data generated by the second imaging apparatus imaging the object and which indicates a three-dimensional position of each of a plurality of points of the object, and three-dimensional model data of the object having a position and a pose that are determined based on the first information (see at least ¶0031, ¶0034, ¶0060-0064); and
generate the control signal based on the second information (see at least ¶0059, ¶0069-0070).
Regarding claim 8:
Tateno further teaches wherein the output unit is configured to output the control signal, which is generated based on the second information by the calculation unit, in a first cycle (the Examiner notes that, absent further limitation defining what the “first cycle” constitutes, any outputting of the control signal is met by the teachings of Tateno as in claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tateno et al. (US 2013/0011018) in view of Taamazyan et al. (US 2022/0405506).
Regarding claim 2:
Tateno teaches the limitations as in claim 1.
Tateno does not explicitly teach the first and second sensors utilizing different coordinate systems.
Taamazyan teaches a system and method for vision guidance of a robot end effector, including wherein the first information indicates the position and the pose of the object in a first coordinate system, the determined position and pose of a three-dimensional model indicated by the three-dimensional model data are a position and a pose in a second coordinate system that is different from the first coordinate system, and the second information indicates the position and the pose of the object in the second coordinate system (see at least ¶0101-0110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the robotic vision control system and method as taught by Tateno by utilizing a first and second coordinate system for the two sensors as taught by Taamazyan in order to properly identify a pose of the target object based on a known relative location of the sensors, compensating for a particular offset/location of the sensors.
Regarding claims 3-6:
The combination of Tateno and Taamazyan teaches the limitations as in claim 2 above, including wherein it is known to utilize transforms to convert between different camera/sensor coordinate systems, thereby rendering the limitations of claims 3-6 obvious as a matter of design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art, since utilizing one or another coordinate system for determining a pose are known equivalents.
Regarding claim 7:
Taamazyan further teaches wherein a time at which the first imaging apparatus images the object to generate the first image data and a time at which the second imaging apparatus images the object to generate the second image data are the same time (see at least ¶0152).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tateno as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kitajima (US 2017/017970).
Regarding claim 20-24:
Tateno teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Tateno is silent as to deciding a target object.
Kitajima teaches a system and method of identifying a target object based on a first image, by comparing the first image to a two-dimensional model and determining a degree of similarity is above a threshold by detecting an edge of the first image and determining a degree of similarity between the detected edge and the model (see at least ¶0004-0009, ¶0015, ¶0054-0067, ¶0105, ¶0124-0125).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the robotic control apparatus as taught by Tateno with the target object identification technique as taught by Kitajima in order to identify an object in the environment as a target object, to ensure the appropriate object is processed.
Regarding claim 25:
Kitajima further teaches wherein the calculation unit is configured to: perform, as the object detection processing, a matching processing using two-dimensional model data, which indicates a two-dimensional model of the object, and the first image data; determine, based on a second degree of similarity, which is calculated by the matching processing, between the two-dimensional model of the object and the first image indicated by the first image data, whether to decide the object as the target object; determine to decide the object as the target object in a case where the first and second degrees of similarity are higher than a predetermined first threshold value; and determine not to decide the object as the target object in a case where at least one of the first and second degrees of similarity is lower than the predetermined first threshold value (multiple scans, extractions, threshold comparisons, broadly interpreted meet the claim limitations, see at least abstract, ¶0015, ¶0080-0085).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619