DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-6, 11 and 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 and 8 of copending Application No. US20250261192A1 (Application Number: 18/859197) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and copending Application No. US20250261192A1 claims “receiving, from the base station, the ultra compact DCI, wherein the ultra compact DCI corresponds to the first configuration information; and receiving, from the base station, the one or more scheduling PDSCHs”.
Instant application 18/859205
copending Application No. US20250261192A1 (Application Number: 18/859197)
1. A method of a base station, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an ultra compact downlink control information (DCI) that schedules one or more scheduling physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) that schedule a data PDSCH;
transmitting, to the UE, the one or more scheduling PDSCHs; and
transmitting, to the UE, the data PDSCH as scheduled by the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for the ultra compact DCI.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
1. A method of a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a system information block (SIB) from a base station, the SIB comprising:
first configuration information for an ultra compact downlink control information (DCI); and
second configuration information for one or more scheduling physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs);
receiving, from the base station, the ultra compact DCI, wherein the ultra compact DCI corresponds to the first configuration information; and
receiving, from the base station, the one or more scheduling PDSCHs, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs correspond to the second configuration information.
Similarly for claims 11 and 15-16
Claim 1
11. A method of a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a base station, an ultra compact downlink control information (DCI) that schedules one or more scheduling physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) that schedule a data PDSCH;
receiving, from the base station, the one or more scheduling PDSCHs; and
receiving, from the base station, the data PDSCH as scheduled by the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
5. A method of a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a base station, an ultra compact downlink control information (DCI) comprising first fields for one or more scheduling physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) that schedule a data PDSCH;
receiving, from the base station, the one or more scheduling PDSCHs, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs correspond to data of the first fields; and
receiving, from the base station, the data PDSCH as scheduled by the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
17. The method of claim 11, further comprising receiving a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling corresponding to the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
8. The method of claim 5, further comprising transmitting, to the base station, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) comprising first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling for the one or more scheduling PDSCHs, wherein the ultra compact DCI further comprises second fields for the first HARQ-ACK signaling for the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
Claims 1 – 9 and 11 – 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 18 of copending Application No. US20260006611A1 (Application Number: 19/319,803). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and copending Application No. US20250261192A1 claims “receiving, from the base station, the ultra compact DCI, wherein the ultra compact DCI corresponds to the first configuration information; and receiving, from the base station, the one or more scheduling PDSCHs”.
Instant application 18/859205
copending Application No. US20260006611A1 (Application Number: 19/319,803)
1. A method of a base station, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an ultra compact downlink control information (DCI) that schedules one or more scheduling physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) that schedule a data PDSCH;
transmitting, to the UE, the one or more scheduling PDSCHs; and
transmitting, to the UE, the data PDSCH as scheduled by the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
1. A method of a base station, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an ultra compact downlink control information (DCI) that schedules one or more scheduling physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) that schedule a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH);transmitting, to the UE, the one or more scheduling PDSCHs; and receiving, from the UE, the PUSCH as scheduled by the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
2. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, from the UE, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling indicating that the UE decoded scheduling information from the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, from the UE, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling indicating that the UE decoded scheduling information from the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
3. (Original) The method of claim 2, wherein the ultra compact DCI schedules the PUCCH.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the ultra compact DCI schedules the PUCCH.
4. (Original) The method of claim 2, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs schedule the PUCCH.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs schedule the PUCCH.
5. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for the ultra compact DCI.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for the ultra compact DCI.
6. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
7. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling corresponding to the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling corresponding to the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
8. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs schedule the data PDSCH using a medium access control control element (MAC CE).
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs schedule the PUSCH using a medium access control control element (MAC CE).
9. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs comprise PDSCH repetitions.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs comprise PDSCH repetitions.
11. (Original) A method of a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station, an ultra compact downlink control information (DCI) that schedules one or more scheduling physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) that schedule a data PDSCH; receiving, from the base station, the one or more scheduling PDSCHs; and receiving, from the base station, the data PDSCH as scheduled by the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
10. A method of a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station, an ultra compact downlink control information (DCI) that schedules one or more scheduling physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) that schedule a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH);receiving, from the base station, the one or more scheduling PDSCHs; and transmitting, to the base station, the PUSCH as scheduled by the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
12. (Original) The method of claim 11, further comprising sending, to the base station, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling indicating that the UE decoded scheduling information from the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
11. The method of claim 10, further comprising sending, to the base station, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling indicating that the UE decoded scheduling information from the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
13. (Original) The method of claim 12, wherein the ultra compact DCI schedules the PUCCH.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the ultra compact DCI schedules the PUCCH.
14. (Original) The method of claim 12, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs schedule the PUCCH.
13. The method of claim 11, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs schedule the PUCCH.
15. (Original) The method of claim 11, further comprising receiving a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for the ultra compact DCI.
14. The method of claim 10, further comprising receiving a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for the ultra compact DCI.
16. (Original) The method of claim 11, further comprising receiving a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
15. The method of claim 10, further comprising receiving a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
17. (Original) The method of claim 11, further comprising receiving a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling corresponding to the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
16. The method of claim 10, further comprising receiving a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling corresponding to the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
18. (Original) The method of claim 11, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs schedule the data PDSCH using a medium access control control element (MAC CE).
17. The method of claim 10, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs schedule the PUSCH using a medium access control control element (MAC CE).
19. (Original) The method of claim 11, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs comprise PDSCH repetitions.
18. The method of claim 10, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs comprise PDSCH repetitions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 8 – 14 and 18 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US20190313385A1, hereinafter Yang in view of MolavianJazi et al. US20220408464A1, hereinafter MolavianJazi (para. [0001] U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/212,342 filed on Jun. 18, 2021, hereinafter MolavianJazi’342).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a method of a base station, comprising:
(Yang: Summary, Fig. 2 110 BS and para. [0067 & 0063-0073] controller/processor 240 and/or other processors and modules at the BS 110 may perform or direct the execution of processes for the techniques described herein. The memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for BS 110 and UE 120)
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an ultra compact downlink control information (DCI) (Yang: Fig. 5 and para. [0074-0075 & 0081] first DCI format is compressed. Para. [0049] BS 110 a includes a module for generating compact DCI. For example, the module for generating compact DCI generates a DCI having a first DCI format that is compressed relative to a second DCI format)
that schedules one or more scheduling physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) that schedule a data PDSCH;
(Yang: Fig. 5 and para. [0082] DCI schedules PDSCH transmission. In some examples, the BS may transmit the PDSCH with repetitions (e.g., transmission time interval (TTI) bundling repetitions))
transmitting, to the UE, the one or more PDSCHs; and
(Yang: Fig. 5 and para. [0082 & 0092] DCI schedules PDSCH transmission. In some examples, the BS may transmit the PDSCH with repetitions (e.g., transmission time interval (TTI) bundling repetitions))
transmitting, to the UE, the data PDSCH (data may be for the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) by the one or more PDSCHs.
(Yang: Fig. 5 and para. para. [0082 & 0092] DCI schedules PDSCH transmission. In some examples, the BS may transmit the PDSCH with repetitions (e.g., transmission time interval (TTI) bundling repetitions. Para. [0064] BS 110, a transmit processor 220 may receive data from a data source 212 and control information from a controller/processor 240. The control information may be for the physical broadcast channel (PBCH), physical control format indicator channel (PCFICH), physical hybrid ARQ indicator channel (PHICH), physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), group common PDCCH (GC PDCCH), etc. The data may be for the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH))
It is noted that Yang does not explicitly disclose: transmitting, to the UE, the one or more scheduling PDSCHs; and transmitting, to the UE, the data PDSCH as scheduled by the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
However, MolavianJazi from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: transmitting, to the UE, the one or more scheduling PDSCHs; and transmitting, to the UE, the data PDSCH as scheduled by the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
(MolavianJazi: Fig. 8 and para. [0257] 830, the UE detects, in the first PDSCH, a MAC CE that provides scheduling information for second PDSCH(s)/PUSCH(s). MolavianJazi’342: Fig. 5 step 530 and pages 51-52) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of MolavianJazi in the method of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for flexible link adaptation and improved reliability of the M-DCIs according to physical channel conditions (MolavianJazi: para. [0093]), and can be provided information for multi-cell scheduling of multiple PDSCHs/PDCCHs on multiple respective cells using a multi-cell mapping, wherein a field in a DCI format can be interpreted to provide multiple values for a corresponding scheduling parameter for the multiple co-scheduled cells. Such interpretation can be based on a configured one-to-many mapping/table or based on multiple configured offset values for respective cells that are applied to a reference value indicated by the DCI format. This approach can be beneficial, for example, for co-scheduling cells that have several similar physical channel characteristics or configurations, such as for intra-band CA operation (MolavianJazi: para. [0097 & 0075 & 0085-0086]).
Regarding claim 2, Yang and MolavianJazi teach the method of claim 1, Yang does not explicitly teach: further comprising receiving, from the UE, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling indicating that the UE decoded scheduling information from the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
However, MolavianJazi from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: further comprising receiving, from the UE, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) with hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling indicating that the UE decoded scheduling information (MolavianJazi: para. [0109] UE (such as the UE 116) receives a MAC-CE activation command to map up to N, e.g., N=8 TCI states to the codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’. When the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the (MAC-CE) activation command is transmitted in slot n. MolavianJazi’342: page 19 bottom paragraph) from the one or more scheduling PDSCHs. (MolavianJazi: Fig. 8 and para. [0257] 830, the UE detects, in the first PDSCH, a MAC CE that provides scheduling information for second PDSCH(s)/PUSCH(s). MolavianJazi’342: Fig. 5 step 530 and pages 51-52) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of MolavianJazi in the method of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for flexible link adaptation and improved reliability of the M-DCIs according to physical channel conditions (MolavianJazi: para. [0093]), and can be provided information for multi-cell scheduling of multiple PDSCHs/PDCCHs on multiple respective cells using a multi-cell mapping, wherein a field in a DCI format can be interpreted to provide multiple values for a corresponding scheduling parameter for the multiple co-scheduled cells. Such interpretation can be based on a configured one-to-many mapping/table or based on multiple configured offset values for respective cells that are applied to a reference value indicated by the DCI format. This approach can be beneficial, for example, for co-scheduling cells that have several similar physical channel characteristics or configurations, such as for intra-band CA operation (MolavianJazi: para. [0097 & 0075 & 0085-0086]).
Regarding claim 3, Yang and MolavianJazi teach the method of claim 2, wherein the ultra compact DCI schedules the PUCCH. (Yang: para. [0066] at UE 120, a transmit processor 264 may receive and process data (e.g., for the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)) from a data source 262 and control information (e.g., for the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) from the controller/processor 280)
Regarding claim 4, Yang and MolavianJazi teach the method of claim 2, Yang does not explicitly teach: wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs schedule the PUCCH.
MolavianJazi from the same or similar fields of endeavor teach: wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs (MolavianJazi: Fig. 8 and para. [0257] 830, the UE detects, in the first PDSCH, a MAC CE that provides scheduling information for second PDSCH(s)/PUSCH(s). MolavianJazi’342: Fig. 5 step 530 and pages 51-52) schedule the PUCCH. (MolavianJazi: para. [0385] set of cell-common scheduling information parameters can be predetermined in the specifications of the system operation, or can be provided by higher layer signaling. For example, the cell-common parameters can generally include parameters that do not relate to PDSCH receptions and in particular one or more of: a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI), a TPC command for PUCCH, or a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator (K1) field, or a downlink assignment information (DAI) field, when applicable. Therefore, the UE determines to transmit HARQ feedback information corresponding to the multiple PDSCH of the multiple co-scheduled cells in a same PUCCH resource as indicated by the common PRI, or with a same TPC command, or with a same K1 timeline as indicated by the K1 parameter, as indicated in the cell-common fields of the concatenated DCI format. MolavianJazi’342: page 50 bottom paragraph) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of MolavianJazi in the method of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for flexible link adaptation and improved reliability of the M-DCIs according to physical channel conditions (MolavianJazi: para. [0093]), and can be provided information for multi-cell scheduling of multiple PDSCHs/PDCCHs on multiple respective cells using a multi-cell mapping, wherein a field in a DCI format can be interpreted to provide multiple values for a corresponding scheduling parameter for the multiple co-scheduled cells. Such interpretation can be based on a configured one-to-many mapping/table or based on multiple configured offset values for respective cells that are applied to a reference value indicated by the DCI format. This approach can be beneficial, for example, for co-scheduling cells that have several similar physical channel characteristics or configurations, such as for intra-band CA operation (MolavianJazi: para. [0097 & 0075 & 0085-0086]).
Regarding claim 8, Yang and MolavianJazi teach the method of claim 1, Yang does not explicitly teach: wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs schedule the data PDSCH using a medium access control control element (MAC CE).
However, MolavianJazi from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs schedule the data PDSCH using a medium access control control element (MAC CE). (MolavianJazi: Fig. 8 and para. [0257] 830, the UE detects, in the first PDSCH, a MAC CE that provides scheduling information for second PDSCH(s)/PUSCH(s). MolavianJazi’342: Fig. 5 step 530 and pages 51-52) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of MolavianJazi in the method of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for flexible link adaptation and improved reliability of the M-DCIs according to physical channel conditions (MolavianJazi: para. [0093]), and can be provided information for multi-cell scheduling of multiple PDSCHs/PDCCHs on multiple respective cells using a multi-cell mapping, wherein a field in a DCI format can be interpreted to provide multiple values for a corresponding scheduling parameter for the multiple co-scheduled cells. Such interpretation can be based on a configured one-to-many mapping/table or based on multiple configured offset values for respective cells that are applied to a reference value indicated by the DCI format. This approach can be beneficial, for example, for co-scheduling cells that have several similar physical channel characteristics or configurations, such as for intra-band CA operation (MolavianJazi: para. [0097 & 0075 & 0085-0086]).
Regarding claim 9, Yang and MolavianJazi teach the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more scheduling PDSCHs comprise PDSCH repetitions. (Yang: Fig. 5 and para. [0082 & 0092] DCI schedules PDSCH transmission. In some examples, the BS may transmit the PDSCH with repetitions (e.g., transmission time interval (TTI) bundling repetitions))
Regarding claim 10, Yang and MolavianJazi teach the method of claim 1, Yang does not explicitly teach: further comprising receiving, from the UE, hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling indicating that the UE received the data PDSCH.
However, MolavianJazi from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: further comprising receiving, from the UE, hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling indicating that the UE received the data PDSCH (MolavianJazi: para. [0109 & 0078] UE (such as the UE 116) receives a MAC-CE activation command to map up to N, e.g., N=8 TCI states to the codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’. When the HARQ-ACK information corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the (MAC-CE) activation command is transmitted in slot n. MolavianJazi’342: page 19 bottom paragraph) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of MolavianJazi in the method of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for flexible link adaptation and improved reliability of the M-DCIs according to physical channel conditions (MolavianJazi: para. [0093]), and can be provided information for multi-cell scheduling of multiple PDSCHs/PDCCHs on multiple respective cells using a multi-cell mapping, wherein a field in a DCI format can be interpreted to provide multiple values for a corresponding scheduling parameter for the multiple co-scheduled cells. Such interpretation can be based on a configured one-to-many mapping/table or based on multiple configured offset values for respective cells that are applied to a reference value indicated by the DCI format. This approach can be beneficial, for example, for co-scheduling cells that have several similar physical channel characteristics or configurations, such as for intra-band CA operation (MolavianJazi: para. [0097 & 0075 & 0085-0086]).
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches a method of a user equipment (UE), comprising:
(Yang: Summary, Fig. 2 120 UE and para. [0067 & 0063-0073] controllers/ processors 240 and 280 may direct the operation at the BS 110 and the UE 120, respectively. The controller/processor 240 and/or other processors and modules at the BS 110 may perform or direct the execution of processes for the techniques described herein. The memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for BS 110 and UE 120)
receiving, from a base station, an ultra compact downlink control information (DCI)
(Yang: Fig. 7 step 705 and para. [0088] operations 700 begin, at 705, by receiving DCI, from a BS (e.g., such as the BS 110 a in the wireless communication network 100 illustrated in FIG. 1). The DCI schedules (e.g., contains a grant or scheduling information) at least one transmission (e.g., a URLLC transmission). The DCI has a first DCI format that is compressed relative to a second DCI format (e.g., a normal or fallback eMBB DCI). Para. [0049] BS 110 a includes a module for generating compact DCI. For example, the module for generating compact DCI generates a DCI having a first DCI format that is compressed relative to a second DCI format)
that schedules one or more scheduling physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) that schedule a data PDSCH; (Yang: Fig. 7 and para. [0082 & 0092] DCI schedules PDSCH transmission. In some examples, the BS may transmit the PDSCH with repetitions (e.g., transmission time interval (TTI) bundling repetitions))
receiving, from the base station, the one or more PDSCHs; and (Yang: Fig. 5 and para. [0082 & 0092] DCI schedules PDSCH transmission. In some examples, the BS may transmit the PDSCH with repetitions (e.g., transmission time interval (TTI) bundling repetitions))
receiving, from the base station, the data PDSCH (data may be for the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) by the one or more PDSCHs. (Yang: Fig. 5 and para. para. [0082 & 0092] DCI schedules PDSCH transmission. In some examples, the BS may transmit the PDSCH with repetitions (e.g., transmission time interval (TTI) bundling repetitions. Para. [0064] BS 110, a transmit processor 220 may receive data from a data source 212 and control information from a controller/processor 240. The control information may be for the physical broadcast channel (PBCH), physical control format indicator channel (PCFICH), physical hybrid ARQ indicator channel (PHICH), physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), group common PDCCH (GC PDCCH), etc. The data may be for the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH))
It is noted that Yang does not explicitly disclose: receiving, to the UE, the one or more scheduling PDSCHs; and receiving, to the UE, the data PDSCH as scheduled by the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
However, MolavianJazi from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: transmitting, to the UE, the one or more scheduling PDSCHs; and transmitting, to the UE, the data PDSCH as scheduled by the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
(MolavianJazi: Fig. 8 and para. [0257] 830, the UE detects, in the first PDSCH, a MAC CE that provides scheduling information for second PDSCH(s)/PUSCH(s). MolavianJazi’342: Fig. 5 step 530 and pages 51-52) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of MolavianJazi in the method of Yang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for flexible link adaptation and improved reliability of the M-DCIs according to physical channel conditions (MolavianJazi: para. [0093]), and can be provided information for multi-cell scheduling of multiple PDSCHs/PDCCHs on multiple respective cells using a multi-cell mapping, wherein a field in a DCI format can be interpreted to provide multiple values for a corresponding scheduling parameter for the multiple co-scheduled cells. Such interpretation can be based on a configured one-to-many mapping/table or based on multiple configured offset values for respective cells that are applied to a reference value indicated by the DCI format. This approach can be beneficial, for example, for co-scheduling cells that have several similar physical channel characteristics or configurations, such as for intra-band CA operation (MolavianJazi: para. [0097 & 0075 & 0085-0086]).
Regarding claims 12 – 14 and 18 – 20, Yang and MolavianJazi teaches all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 2 – 4 and 8 – 10, and therefore method claims 12 – 14 and 18 – 20 are rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 5 – 7 and 15 - 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and MolavianJazi as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Nishio et al. US20230101732A1, hereinafter Nishio.
Regarding claim 5, Yang and MolavianJazi teach the method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting configuration information (Yang: Fig. 5 and para. para. [0082 & 0092] DCI schedules PDSCH transmission. In some examples, the BS may transmit the PDSCH with repetitions (e.g., transmission time interval (TTI) bundling repetitions. Para. [0064] BS 110, a transmit processor 220 may receive data from a data source 212 and control information from a controller/processor 240. The control information may be for the physical broadcast channel (PBCH), physical control format indicator channel (PCFICH), physical hybrid ARQ indicator channel (PHICH), physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), group common PDCCH (GC PDCCH), etc. The data may be for the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) for the ultra compact DCI. (Yang: Fig. 5 and para. [0074-0075 & 0081] first DCI format is compressed. Para. [0049] BS 110 a includes a module for generating compact DCI. For example, the module for generating compact DCI generates a DCI having a first DCI format that is compressed relative to a second DCI format)
Yang and MolavianJazi do not explicitly teach: further comprising transmitting a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for the DCI.
Nishio from the same or similar fields of endeavor teach: further comprising transmitting a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for the DCI. (Nishio: para. [0134] Offset value KMAC_ACTION indicating the MAC CE application timing may be broadcast using the SIB or the like as a value common to the cell and/or beam, or may be notified by specific RRC signaling. Such an offset value may also be notified as a MAC CE, or may be notified in the DCI (or PDCCH). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Nishio in the method of Yang and MolavianJazi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for terminal 100 can accurately grasp the start timing (slot) for the downlink MAC CE action even when there is a downlink-uplink timing difference. It is thus possible to prevent occurrence of a discrepancy in the transmission/reception parameters and the like between base station 200 and terminal 100 (Nishio: para. [0086 & 0093 & 0104 & 0115]).
Regarding claim 6, Yang and MolavianJazi teach the method of claim 1, Yang and MolavianJazi do not explicitly teach: further comprising transmitting a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
Nishio from the same or similar fields of endeavor teach: further comprising transmitting a system information block (SIB) (SIB) comprising configuration information (KMAC_ACTION) (Nishio: para. [0111-0112] uplink and the downlink MAC CE action slots are configured with reference to a HARQ-ACK transmission slot of the terminal based on an offset value (KMAC_ACTION). Para. [0112-0113] Base station 200 notifies the offset value (KMAC_ACTION). Base station 200 may transmit KMAC_ACTION in the subject MAC CE or may transmit it in another MAC CE. Alternatively, KMAC_ACTION may be a fixed value determined in accordance with the specifications, or may be a value broadcast using the SIB from base station 200 to terminal 100) for the one or more scheduling PDSCHs. (Nishio: para. [0228 & 0067] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) including the MAC CE, the control circuitry configures slots in which the action in an uplink and a downlink is started) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Nishio in the method of Yang and MolavianJazi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for terminal 100 can accurately grasp the start timing (slot) for the downlink MAC CE action even when there is a downlink-uplink timing difference. It is thus possible to prevent occurrence of a discrepancy in the transmission/reception parameters and the like between base station 200 and terminal 100 (Nishio: para. [0086 & 0093 & 0104 & 0115]).
Regarding claim 7, Yang and MolavianJazi teach the method of claim 1, Yang and MolavianJazi do not explicitly teach: further comprising transmitting a system information block (SIB) comprising configuration information for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) signaling corresponding to the one or more scheduling PDSCHs.
Nishio from the same or similar fields of endeavor teach: further comprising transmitting a system information block (SIB) (SIB) comprising configuration information (KMAC_ACTION) for a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) (HARQ-ACK) signaling (Nishio: para. [0111-0112] plink and the downlink MAC CE action slots are configured with reference to a HARQ-ACK transmission slot of the terminal based on an offset value (KMAC_ACTION). Para. [0112-0113] Base station 200 notifies the offset value (KMAC_ACTION). Base station 200 may transmit KMAC_ACTION in the subject MAC CE or may transmit it in another MAC CE. Alternatively, KMAC_ACTION may be a fixed value determined in accordance with the specifications, or may be a value broadcast using the SIB from base station 200 to terminal 100) corresponding to the one or more scheduling PDSCHs. (Nishio: para. [0228 & 0067] Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) including the MAC CE, the control circuitry configures slots in which the action in an uplink and a downlink is started) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Nishio in the method of Yang and MolavianJazi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for terminal 100 can accurately grasp the start timing (slot) for the downlink MAC CE action even when there is a downlink-uplink timing difference. It is thus possible to prevent occurrence of a discrepancy in the transmission/reception parameters and the like between base station 200 and terminal 100 (Nishio: para. [0086 & 0093 & 0104 & 0115]).
Regarding claims 15 – 17, Yang, MolavianJazi and Nishio teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 5 – 7, and therefore method claims 15 – 17 are rejected using the same rationales.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Park et al. US 20200267750 A1 teaches in para. [0221-0222] shortened DCI may be used to schedule repetitive transmission, and each of the normal DCI and the secondary DCI may correspond to a PDSCH of a different TRP to be involved in the repetitive transmission.
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418