DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the pending claims, 4-5, received 23 October 2024. Accordingly, the detailed action of claims 4-5 is as follows:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “controlling circuitry is configured to store….controlling circuitry configured is to determine” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tiwari et al (US 20250039820 A1, hereafter referred to as Tiwari).
Regarding claim 4, Tiwari teaches a User Equipment (UE) comprising:
transmission and reception circuitry (Tiwari [Fig 7-31]);
controlling circuitry (Tiwari [Fig 7-33]); and
storage circuitry (Tiwari [Fig 7-36]), wherein the transmission and reception circuitry is configured to:
transmit, to a core network, a registration request message including information indicating that the UE supports time-related information associated with Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) (Tiwari [0250] teaches the UE sends a registration request message to the AMF including limited slice support indicator indicating the UE supports S-NSSAI with a deployment area and validity time attribution [0285]); and
receive, from the core network, a registration accept message including a configured Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) and time-related information associated with an S-NSSAI (Tiwari [0275] teaches the AMF sends the S-NSSAI along with deployment area and validity time in the configured NSSAI in a accept message if the UE indicated the support indicator in the registration message), the controlling circuitry is configured to store, in the storage circuitry, the configured NSSAI (Tiwari [0291] storing the configured NSSAI) in association with the time-related information associated with the S-NSSAI and a Public land mobile network (PLMN) (Tiwari [0296 and 0298] teaches storing the S-NSSAI in the configured NSSAI along with deployment and validity time or validity time alone), the controlling circuitry is configured to determine to transmit a registration request message including a requested NSSAI including an S-NSSAI, based on the time-related information associated with the S-NSSAI (Tiwari [0305]), the time-related information associated with the S-NSSAI includes information indicating a period of time when one or more S-NS SAI (s) is available (Tiwari [0242]).
Regarding claim 5, it does not teach or further limit over the limitations presented above with respect to claim 4.
Therefore, claim 5 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abe et al (WO 2024028992 A1);
SHEAN TOKUTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2446
/SHEAN TOKUTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2419