DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein a ratio of a thickness of the metalized film on the side surface to a thickness of the metalized film on the first principal surface ((thickness on side surface)/(thickness on first principal surface)) is not less than 0.05 and not more than 1.00,” “thickness direction,” “wherein the solder blocking portion is provided on a portion of the side surface constituting not less than 5% and less than 100% of an entire thickness of the side surface and extending in the thickness direction from the second principal surface,” “a surface layer of the light transmission window member,” “wherein the solder is in a ring preform or in paste form,” “method[s] for manufacturing a light transmission window member, the method[s] comprising the steps” and “a surface of the housing” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to Claim 21, the recitation “wherein a surface of the housing in which the opening is provided is provided in substantially the same plane” appears to contain a repeated phrase.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 11-12, 14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11-12, 14, 17, and 19 recite the limitation "solder” and/or “the solder," for there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim(s). It is also unclear if "solder” and/or “the solder" is its own positively recited element, refers to the “solder bonding layer,” or even refers to another element relative to the “solder blocking portion.” Since multiple distinct claim elements are recited using the term “solder,” the claim limitation(s) fail to distinctly identify the structure being referenced, and thus, creates ambiguity as to the metes and bounds of the claim(s).
For the prosecution on merits, examiner interprets the claimed subject matter described above as introducing optional elements, optional structural limitations, optional expressions, and optional functionality within a light transmission window member, method for manufacturing a light transmission window member, prism, and electronic device.
Applicant should clarify the claim limitations as appropriate. Care should be taken during revision of the description and of any statements of problem or advantage, not to add subject-matter which extends beyond the content of the application (specification) as originally filed.
If the language of a claim, considered as a whole in light of the specification and given its broadest reasonable interpretation, is such that a person of ordinary skill in the relevant art would read it with more than one reasonable interpretation, then a rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, is appropriate. See MPEP 2173.05(a), MPEP 2143.03(I), and MPEP 2173.06.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakabaya US 20200091384 A1.
With respect to Claim 1, Nakabaya discloses a light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) comprising:
a plate-shaped substrate (substrate 4; [0169]; fig. 2) including a light transmission portion (light transmissive member 10; [0182]); and
a metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]) provided on at least a portion (outer connection portion 3b provided on end surfaces 2b; fig. 2) of a side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]),
wherein a solder blocking portion (base material 2, solder resist; [0067-70], [0086], [0170]) is provided on at least a portion (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au from base material 2 side onto surfaces; [0170]) of the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]).
With respect to Claim 2, Nakabaya discloses the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) according to claim 1, wherein
the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]) includes: a first principal surface (e.g., upper surface 2a as first main surface, protruding portions 3a on central portion of upper surface 2a side; [0170-171]) provided on a light entrance side (figs. 1-2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]); a second principal surface (e.g., lower surface 2c as second main surface, lower surface 2c comprising portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-171]) opposed to (fig. 2) the first principal surface (e.g., upper surface 2a as first main surface, protruding portions 3a on central portion of upper surface 2a side; [0170-171]) and provided on a light exit side (figs. 1-2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]), the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) connects (connection terminals 3 extend from protruding portion 3a from upper surface 2a through respective end surface 2b to lower surface 2c of substrate; [0171]) the first principal surface (e.g., upper surface 2a as first main surface, protruding portions 3a on central portion of upper surface 2a side; [0170-171]) and the second principal surface (e.g., lower surface 2c as second main surface, lower surface 2c comprising portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-171]), and
the metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]) is also provided on (fig. 2) the first principal surface (e.g., upper surface 2a as first main surface, protruding portions 3a on central portion of upper surface 2a side; [0170-171]).
With respect to Claim 3, Nakabaya discloses the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) according to claim 2, wherein the metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]) is also provided on a corner portion (edge portion; [0172]; fig. 2) connecting the first principal surface (e.g., upper surface 2a as first main surface, protruding portions 3a on central portion of upper surface 2a side; [0170-171]) and the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]).
With respect to Claim 4, Nakabaya discloses the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) according to claim 2, wherein a ratio of a thickness (film exhibits minimum thickness on connection terminal, outer connection portion 3b thickness; [0081]; fig. 2) of the metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]) on the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) to a thickness (thickness of protruding portion 3a is about 1 to 40 microns when thickness of thin film portion of connection terminal on first main surface has minimum thickness of 10 to 40 microns; [0081]) of the metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]) on the first principal surface (e.g., upper surface 2a as first main surface, protruding portions 3a on central portion of upper surface 2a side; [0170-171]) ((thickness on side surface)/(thickness on first principal surface)) (1 to 40 microns/10 to 40 microns; [0081]) is not less than 0.05 and not more than 1.00 (e.g., at least 10%, at least 50%, etc.; [0081]).
With respect to Claim 5, Nakabaya discloses the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) according to claim 2, wherein when a direction (longitudinal direction; [0170-172]) connecting the first principal surface (e.g., upper surface 2a as first main surface, protruding portions 3a on central portion of upper surface 2a side; [0170-171]) and the second principal surface (e.g., lower surface 2c as second main surface, lower surface 2c comprising portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-171]) is a thickness direction (fig. 2), the solder blocking portion (base material 2, solder resist; [0067-70], [0086], [0170]) is provided on the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]) to extend in the thickness direction (along longitudinal direction; [0170-173]) from the second principal surface (e.g., lower surface 2c as second main surface, lower surface 2c comprising portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-171]).
With respect to Claim 6, Nakabaya discloses the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) according to claim 5, wherein the solder blocking portion (base material 2, solder resist; [0067-70], [0086], [0170]) is provided on a portion (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au from base material 2 side onto surfaces; [0170]) of the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) constituting not less than 5% and less than 100% of an entire thickness (as seen in figs. 1-2) of the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) and extending in the thickness direction (along longitudinal direction; [0170-173], [0185-187]; fig. 4) from the second principal surface (e.g., lower surface 2c as second main surface, lower surface 2c comprising portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-171]).
With respect to Claim 7, Nakabaya discloses the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) according to claim 1, wherein the solder blocking portion (base material 2, solder resist; [0067-70], [0086], [0170]) is constituted by a portion (lower surface 2c as second main surface; [0170]; fig. 2) which is other than where the metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]) is provided and in which the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]) is exposed (fig. 2).
With respect to Claim 8, Nakabaya discloses the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) according to claim 1, wherein the solder blocking portion (base material 2, solder resist; [0067-70], [0086], [0170]) is constituted by an inorganic film (base material formed of inorganic, conductive materials e.g., a metal, carbon, or the like; [0067], [0170]) being provided in a surface layer (base material 2 side of surfaces; [0170]; fig. 2) of the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]).
With respect to Claim 9, Nakabaya discloses the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) according to claim 8, wherein the inorganic film (base material 2 formed of inorganic, conductive materials e.g., a metal, carbon, or the like; [0067], [0170]) is an oxide film, a nitride film, a fluoride film or a sulfide film (base material 2 formed of resin including a white pigment such as titanium oxide; [0067], [0170]).
With respect to Claim 10, Nakabaya discloses the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) according to claim 1, wherein the metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au from base material 2; [0170]) comprises:
an adhesion layer (connection terminal 3 formed of multiple layers comprising a configuration that exhibits good mounting properties, e.g., multiple layers of a metal such as Ti; [0082]) that contacts the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]; fig. 2) and contains at least one of Cr and Ti (multiple layers of a metal such as Ti; [0082]);
an anti-diffusion layer (connection terminal 3 formed of multiple layers comprising a configuration that exhibits good conductive properties, multiple layers include W/Ni/Pd/Au, W/NiCo/Pd/Au, and the like; [0082]) that is provided on the adhesion layer ([0082]; fig. 2) and contains at least one selected from the group consisting of Ni, Pt, and Pd (multiple layers include W/Ni/Pd/Au, W/NiCo/Pd/Au, and the like; [0082]); and
a solder bonding layer (molten material 6, Au—Sn eutectic solder; [0175]) that is provided on the anti-diffusion layer (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating from base material 2 side onto surfaces, molten material 6 as Au—Sn eutectic solder to protruding portions 3a of connection terminals 3 laminated from base material 2 on substrate 4; [0170-175]) and contains at least one of Au and Pt (Au—Sn eutectic solder; [0175]).
With respect to Claim 11, Nakabaya discloses the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) according to claim 1, wherein
solder (solder 54; [0185]) is provided on (solder 54 extends over end surfaces 2b of substrate 4 on outer connection portion 3b; [0185]) the metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]; fig. 4), and
the solder (solder 54; [0185]) contains at least one selected from the group consisting of Au, Sn, and In (molten material e.g., the solder, comprising solder such as tin-bismuth solder, tin-copper solder, tin-silver solder and gold-tin solder, or the like, and conductive pastes of silver, gold, palladium, or the like; [0082], [0119-120], [0175]).
With respect to Claim 12, Nakabaya discloses the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) according to claim 11, wherein the solder (solder 54; [0185]) is in a ring preform or in paste form (molten material e.g., the solder, comprising conductive pastes of silver, gold, palladium, or the like; [0082], [0119-120], [0175]; fig. 4).
With respect to Claim 13, Nakabaya discloses the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) according to claim 1, wherein a shape in plan (fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]) is approximately circular or approximately rectangular (rectangular parallelepiped base material 2 of substrate 4, substrate 4 serves as wiring base; [0170]; rectangular shape as seen in fig. 2).
With respect to Claim 14, Nakabaya discloses a light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) comprising:
a plate-shaped substrate (substrate 4; [0169]; fig. 2) including a light transmission portion (light transmissive member 10; [0182]); and
a metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]) provided on at least a portion (outer connection portion 3b provided on end surfaces 2b; fig. 2) of a side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]) and having a high wettability for solder (connection terminals 3 having high wettability properties for solder; [0170], metal such as Au, Pt, Pd, Cu, Ag having good wettability and connection performance; [0082]),
wherein a solder blocking portion (base material 2, solder resist; [0067-70], [0086], [0170]) having a low wettability for solder (base material 2, solder resist, having low wettability properties for solder, base material 2 formed of resin including a white pigment such as titanium oxide; [0067-70], [0086], [0170]) is provided on at least a portion (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au from base material 2 side onto surfaces; [0170]) of the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]).
With respect to Claim 15, Nakabaya discloses a method for manufacturing (method of manufacturing; [0006]) a light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]), the method comprising the steps of:
preparing ([0006]) a plate-shaped substrate (substrate 4; [0169]; fig. 2) including a light transmission portion (light transmissive member 10; [0182]); and
depositing (via vapor deposition; [0084]) a metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]) on at least a portion (outer connection portion 3b provided on end surfaces 2b; fig. 2) of a side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]),
wherein depositing (via vapor deposition; [0084]) the metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]) is performed to provide ([0063-64]) a solder blocking portion (base material 2, solder resist; [0067-70], [0086], [0170]) on at least a portion (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au from base material 2 side onto surfaces; [0170]) of the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]).
With respect to Claim 16, Nakabaya discloses the method for manufacturing (method of manufacturing; [0006]) a light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) according to claim 15, wherein the metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]) is deposited by a vacuum evaporation method (via vapor deposition; [0084]) or a sputtering method (sputtering method; [0084]) to spread from a portion of a principal surface of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]) located on a light entrance side (fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]) to the portion of the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2).
With respect to Claim 17, Nakabaya discloses a method for manufacturing (method of manufacturing; [0006]) a light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]), the method comprising the steps of:
preparing ([0006]) a plate-shaped substrate (substrate 4; [0169]; fig. 2) including a light transmission portion (light transmissive member 10; [0182]); and
depositing (via vapor deposition; [0084]) a metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]) having a high wettability for solder (connection terminals 3 having high wettability properties for solder; [0170], metal such as Au, Pt, Pd, Cu, Ag having good wettability and connection performance; [0082]) on at least a portion (outer connection portion 3b provided on end surfaces 2b; fig. 2) of a side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]),
wherein depositing (via vapor deposition; [0084]) the metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]) is performed to provide ([0063-64]) a solder blocking portion (base material 2, solder resist; [0067-70], [0086], [0170]) having a low wettability for solder (base material 2, solder resist, having low wettability properties for solder, base material 2 formed of resin including a white pigment such as titanium oxide; [0067-70], [0086], [0170]) on at least a portion (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au from base material 2 side onto surfaces; [0170]) of the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]).
With respect to Claim 18, Nakabaya discloses a prism (light reflective member 7 comprised within light emitting device 1; [0169]) comprising:
a prism-shaped substrate (substrate 4; [0169]; rectangular prism shape as seen in figs. 1-2) that has a bottom surface (lower surface 2c as second main surface of base material 2 comprised within substrate 4; [0170]) and a side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) connected to the bottom surface (connection terminals 3 extend from protruding portion 3a from upper surface 2a through respective end surface 2b to lower surface 2c of substrate; [0171]) and includes a light transmission portion (light transmissive member 10; [0182]); and
a metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]) provided on at least a portion (outer connection portion 3b provided on end surfaces 2b; fig. 2) of the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]),
wherein a solder blocking portion (base material 2, solder resist; [0067-70], [0086], [0170]) is provided on at least a portion (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au from base material 2 side onto surfaces; [0170]) of the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]).
With respect to Claim 19, Nakabaya discloses a prism (light reflective member 7 comprised within light emitting device 1; [0169]) comprising:
a prism-shaped substrate (substrate 4; [0169]; rectangular prism shape as seen in figs. 1-2) that has a bottom surface (lower surface 2c as second main surface of base material 2 comprised within substrate 4; [0170]) and a side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) connected to the bottom surface (connection terminals 3 extend from protruding portion 3a from upper surface 2a through respective end surface 2b to lower surface 2c of substrate; [0171]) and includes a light transmission portion (light transmissive member 10; [0182]); and
a metalized film (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au; [0170]) provided on at least a portion (outer connection portion 3b provided on end surfaces 2b; fig. 2) of the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]) and having a high wettability for solder (connection terminals 3 having high wettability properties for solder; [0170], metal such as Au, Pt, Pd, Cu, Ag having good wettability and connection performance; [0082]),
wherein a solder blocking portion (base material 2, solder resist; [0067-70], [0086], [0170]) having a low wettability for solder (base material 2, solder resist, having low wettability properties for solder, base material 2 formed of resin including a white pigment such as titanium oxide; [0067-70], [0086], [0170]) is provided on at least a portion (connection terminals 3 formed by laminating Cu/Ni/Au from base material 2 side onto surfaces; [0170]) of the side surface (e.g., end surfaces 2b, end surface along longitudinal direction of connection terminal 3 as portion of outer connection portion 3b; [0170-173]; fig. 2) of the substrate (substrate 4; [0169]).
With respect to Claim 20, Nakabaya discloses an electronic device (light emitting element 5 as LED chip comprised within light emitting device 1; [0169]) comprising:
a housing (mounting board 51; [0184]) having an opening (wiring pattern 52; [0185]); and
the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) according claim 1 and fitted in the opening (light emitting device 1 respectively disposed on wiring pattern 52 corresponding to positive and negative electrodes; [0185]) of the housing (mounting board 51; [0184]).
With respect to Claim 21, Nakabaya discloses the electronic device (light emitting element 5 as LED chip comprised within light emitting device 1; [0169]) according to claim 20, wherein a surface (mounting board 51 that has a surface wiring pattern; [0184]) of the housing (mounting board 51; [0184]) in which the opening (wiring pattern 52; [0185]) is provided is provided in substantially the same plane (end surfaces in coplanar configuration 52 configured as mounting surface of light emitting device 1; [0184]) as a surface (fig. 4) of the light transmission window member (light emitting device 1; [0169]) located on a light exit side (fig. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kobayashi et al. JP 2008277438 A (see machine translation) discloses an electronic component, substrate, and method of manufacturing electronic component and substrate substantially similar to that of the claimed invention.
/K MUHAMMAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 18 June 2026
/SHARRIEF I BROOME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872