DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 does not end in a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the negative lenses" in claim 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 2 only contains a single negative lens.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Yoshida (WO 2020/044410 A1) [for purpose of rejection examiner is utilizing Yoshida et. al. (US 12,189,107 B2)].
Regarding claim 1 teaches (figs. 1,2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16) an image formation lens for a microscope that forms an image of light from an objective lens, comprising:
a negative lens;
and a positive lens (Table 1, lens made from surfaces 14,15) that satisfies the following conditional expression:
-0.002 X (vdP - 35) + 0.602 - ΘgFP<0 and 23<vdP<65
(from table 1 vdP =23, ΘgFP = 0.631; yield to the above value of -0.005)
where vdP: an Abbe number of the positive lens, and ΘgFP: a partial dispersion ratio of the positive lens that is defined by the following expression:
ΘgFP = (ngP - nFP)/(nFP - nCP)
where ngP is a refractive index of the positive lens to a g-line, nFP is a refractive index of the positive lens to an F-line, and nCP is a refractive index of the positive lens to a C-line.
Regarding claim 2 teaches (figs. 1,2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16) an image formation lens for a microscope that forms an image of light from an objective lens, comprising:
a positive lens; and a negative lens that satisfies the following conditional expression:
-0.0033 X (vdN - 35) + 0.593 - ΘgFN<0 and 20<vdN<37 (vdN = 32.3)
(from table 1 vdN =32.3, ΘgFP = 0.59; yield to the above value of -.0069)
where vdN: an Abbe number of the negative lens, and ΘgFN: a partial dispersion ratio of the negative lens that is defined by the following expression:
ΘgFN = (ngN - nFN)/(nFN - nCN)
where ngN is a refractive index of the negative lens to a g-line, nFN is a refractive index of the negative lens to an F-line, and nCN is a refractive index of the negative lens to a C-line.
Regarding claim 3 teaches (figs. 1,2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16) an image formation lens for a microscope, where the positive lens satisfies the following conditional expression:
1.55<ndP<1.79 (from table 1 ndP =1.8)
where ndP: a refractive index of the positive lens to the d-line.
Regarding claim 4 teaches (figs. 1,2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16) an image formation lens for a microscope, where the negative lens satisfies the following conditional expression:
ndN<1.78 (from table 1 ndN =1.74)
where ndN: a refractive index of the negative lens to a d-line.
Regarding claim 5 teaches (figs. 1,2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16) an image formation lens for a microscope where the positive lens satisfies the following conditional expression:
0.4<fP/f<1.2 (fP = 69mm; f=60mm: fP/f =1.2)
where fP: a focal length of the positive lens, and f: a focal length of the image formation lens.
Regarding claim 6 teaches (figs. 1,2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16) an image formation lens for a microscope, where the negative lens satisfies the following conditional expression:
-1.1<fN/f<-0.2 (fN = -37mm; f=60mm: fN/f = -0.6)
where fN: a focal length of the negative lens, and f: a focal length of the image formation lens.
Regarding claim 7 teaches (figs. 1,2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16) an image formation lens for a microscope where the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.2<Bfr/TL<0.6 (from table 1 Bfr -35.5mm, TL = 169.5; Bfr/TL = 0.21)
where Bf: a back focus of the image formation lens, and TL: an entire length of the image formation lens.
Regarding claim 8 teaches (figs. 1,2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16) an image formation lens for a microscope further, consisting of:
a first lens group having positive refractive power (calculated from table 1 using paraxial matrix method: F1 = 85mm);
a second lens group having negative refractive power (calculated from table 1 using paraxial matrix method: F2 =-502mm);
and a third lens group having the positive refractive power calculated from table 1 using paraxial matrix method: F3 = 95mm),
[AltContent: textbox (Group 1)][AltContent: textbox (Group 2)][AltContent: textbox (Group 3)]where the second lens group consists of a single lens component having the negative refractive power, and the third lens group consists of a single lens component having the positive refractive power (see annotated figure 2 below).
Regarding claim 9 teaches (figs. 1,2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16) an image formation lens for a microscope, where the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.45<f1/f3<2.4 (F1/F3 = 0.9)
where f1: a focal length of the first lens group, and f3: a focal length of the third lens group.
Regarding claim 11 teaches (figs. 1,2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16) a microscope device comprising: an objective lens that receives light from an object and converts the light into a parallel light; and the image formation lens according to claim 1 (col. 7, lines 13-25).
Regarding claim 14 teaches (figs. 1,2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16) an image formation lens for a microscope, where the positive lens that satisfies the conditional expression, is placed Npth from an object side and satisfies the following conditional expression:
Np-N/2 <0 (table 1: the positive lens is in the back half of the image forming lens)
where N: a total number of lenses in the image formation lens.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10, 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Robert E. Tallman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872