DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hama et al. (JP 2009-224568A).
Regarding claim 1, Hama et al. disclose a manufacturing method of an electrolytic capacitor including a porous anode body (3), a dielectric layer (4) formed on a surface of the anode body (3), and a solid electrolyte layer (6) covering at least a portion of the dielectric layer (4), the method comprising:
a step of forming the dielectric layer (4) by anodizing the anode body (3, [0015]); and
a step of covering the surface of the anode body (3) on which the dielectric layer (4) is formed, with an insulating polymer (5, [0011], [0015]),
wherein the step of covering with the insulating polymer (5) is a step of impregnating the anode body (3) with a solution containing a monomer that is a raw material of the insulating polymer [0015], Fig. 2,
applying a voltage between the anode body and an electrode immersed in the solution such that the anode body side is at a lower potential (Fig. 2, [0014]), and polymerizing the monomer [0015] on a surface of the dielectric layer (4) to form the insulating polymer (5).
Regarding claim 2, Hama et al. disclose the insulating polymer (5) is formed so as to cover a defective portion [0011] of the dielectric layer (4) and to cover a surface of the dielectric layer (4) other than the defective portion [0011].
Regarding claim 4, Hama et al. disclose the anode body (3) contains at least one of tantalum and niobium [0015].
Regarding claim 5, Hama et al. disclose an electrolytic capacitor (Fig. 1) including a porous anode body (3), a dielectric layer (4) formed on a surface of the anode body (3) and containing an oxide of a metal constituting the anode body [0015], and
a solid electrolyte layer (6) covering at least a portion of the dielectric layer (4),
wherein the electrolytic capacitor further includes an insulating polymer layer (5, [0011]) covering at least a portion of the dielectric layer (4), and
the insulating polymer layer (5) covers a defective portion [0011] of the dielectric layer (4) and at least a portion of a surface of the dielectric layer (4) other than the defective portion [0011].
Regarding claim 7, Hama et al. disclose the anode body (3) contains at least one of tantalum and niobium [0015].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hama et al. (JP 2009-224568A).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Hama et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the monomer includes a vinyl compound.
An insulating film formed from a vinyl compound is well known in the insulating film art.
Lacking unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the insulating film art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the insulating film of Hama et al. using a vinyl compound since, insulating films are selected based on design considerations and tradeoffs between cost, mechanical properties, and dielectric properties.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2012/0147530 A1 – Polymer formed on solid electrolytic layer
JP 2009-200224 A – Solid electrolytic capacitor comprising insulator on oxide defective regions.
JP 10-247612 A - solid electrolytic capacitor having polymer containing layer on dielectric portions
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847