DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 09 April 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 21-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09 April 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-8, 13, 14 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-8 do not end in a period.
In claim 13, line 2, “as” should be -- in --.
In claim 14, line 2, “as” should be -- in --.
As to claim 18, the limitation, “a temperature at a viscosity at high temperature of 102.5 dPa·s of 1,680°C or less,” is not idiomatic English. The limitation could be rewritten as “the glass sheet has a temperature corresponding to a viscosity of 102.5 dPa·s of 1680°C or less.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 15-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuki et al. (WO 2020/138062 A1)(Yuki).
The rejection is over WO 2020/138062 A1 because the reference has an earlier publication date. However, the English-language equivalent, US 2022/0041493 A1, will be cited below.
Yuki discloses a tempered glass sheet. See the abstract. Sample No’s 35, 81, 82, 84, 85, 91, 92, 94, 105, 110-112, 114, 115, 117-121, 123, 124, 126-135, 138, 139, 142-144, 210, 212 and 213 have glass compositions and values for Q, U, W, X, Y and Z that fall within the ranges of instant claims 1-12. See Tables 9-22 of Yuki and the table below showing the values calculated by the examiner for the claimed formulas (Q, U, W, X, Y and Z). An example falling within a claimed range anticipates the range. See MPEP 2131.03.
35
81
82
84
85
91
92
SiO2
63.58
62.99
63.58
63.58
62.58
64.36
63.36
Al2O3
16.55
17.81
16.55
15.55
17.55
17.81
17.81
B2O3
0.10
0.10
0.10
Li2O
8.19
8.90
9.19
8.69
8.19
8.34
8.84
Na2O
8.09
8.90
7.09
8.59
8.09
8.10
8.60
K2O
0.52
1.25
0.52
0.52
0.52
1.25
1.25
MgO
0.33
0.33
0.33
0.33
P2O5
2.70
2.70
2.70
2.70
2.70
SnO2
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
Fe2O3
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
Cl
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
B2O3+MgO+CaO
0.33
0.10
0.33
0.33
0.33
0.10
0.10
R2O/Al2O3
1.02
1.07
1.02
1.14
0.96
0.99
1.05
Q
-11.87
-22.94
-12.37
-10.62
-15.87
-16.01
-22.00
U
7482.74
7604.78
7507.64
7243.97
7575.47
7699.25
7661.21
W
407.91
435.53
478.64
395.81
426.01
435.87
441.86
X
552.81
602.25
625.67
537.96
581.28
592.45
606.07
Y
19.31
19.76
18.31
19.01
19.35
19.99
19.73
Z
42.01
44.60
52.44
39.34
44.24
46.46
46.01
Na2O/Li2O
0.99
1.00
0.77
0.99
0.99
0.97
0.97
R2O+Al2O3
33.35
36.86
33.35
33.35
34.35
35.50
36.50
Li2O/Al2O3
0.49
0.50
0.56
0.56
0.47
0.47
0.50
Softening point (°C)
N.A.
N.A.
N.A.
N.A.
915
N.A.
N.A.
T at 102.5 dPa·s (°C)
1593
1556
1589
1575
N.A.
1595
1570
94
105
110
111
112
114
115
SiO2
63.50
62.96
64.50
64.50
64.50
64.50
64.50
Al2O3
15.56
18.10
18.50
18.50
18.50
18.50
18.50
B2O3
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
Li2O
8.10
8.72
6.00
7.00
8.00
7.00
8.00
Na2O
8.00
7.93
6.00
5.00
4.00
6.00
5.00
K2O
2.15
0.75
0.76
0.76
0.76
0.76
0.76
MgO
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
P2O5
2.55
1.40
4.00
4.00
4.00
3.00
3.00
SnO2
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
Fe2O3
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
Cl
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
B2O3+MgO+CaO
0.10
0.10
0.20
0.20
0.20
0.20
0.20
R2O/Al2O3
1.17
0.96
0.69
0.69
0.69
0.74
0.74
Q
-10.57
-19.85
-8.06
-8.56
-9.06
-11.26
-11.76
U
7190.29
7704.97
8081.28
8106.18
8131.08
8075.08
8099.98
W
387.91
461.76
413.14
483.87
554.60
454.57
525.30
X
523.81
624.95
548.23
621.09
693.95
596.79
669.65
Y
19.34
19.49
20.44
19.44
18.44
19.89
18.89
Z
40.41
49.76
48.04
58.47
68.90
52.94
63.37
Na2O/Li2O
0.99
0.91
1.00
0.71
0.50
0.86
0.63
R2O+Al2O3
33.81
35.50
31.26
31.26
31.26
32.26
32.26
Li2O/Al2O3
0.52
0.48
0.32
0.38
0.43
0.38
0.43
Softening point (°C)
N.A.
915
981
972
966
968
961
T at 102.5 dPa·s (°C)
1579
1574
1644
1632
1618
1623
1612
117
118
119
120
121
123
124
SiO2
64.50
64.50
64.50
64.50
64.50
64.50
64.50
Al2O3
18.50
18.50
18.50
18.50
18.50
18.50
18.50
B2O3
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
Li2O
7.00
8.00
6.38
7.38
8.38
7.38
8.38
Na2O
7.00
6.00
6.38
5.38
4.38
6.38
5.38
K2O
0.76
0.76
MgO
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
P2O5
2.00
2.00
4.00
4.00
4.00
3.00
3.00
SnO2
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
Fe2O3
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
Cl
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
B2O3+MgO+CaO
0.20
0.20
0.20
0.20
0.20
0.20
0.20
R2O/Al2O3
0.80
0.80
0.69
0.69
0.69
0.74
0.74
Q
-13.96
-14.46
-8.63
-9.13
-9.63
-11.83
-12.33
U
8043.98
8068.88
8081.24
8106.14
8131.04
8075.04
8099.94
W
425.27
496.00
417.75
488.48
559.21
459.18
529.91
X
572.49
645.35
557.45
630.31
703.17
606.01
678.87
Y
20.34
19.34
20.40
19.40
18.40
19.85
18.85
Z
47.41
57.84
47.80
58.23
68.66
52.70
63.13
Na2O/Li2O
1.00
0.75
1.00
0.73
0.52
0.86
0.64
R2O+Al2O3
33.26
33.26
31.26
31.26
31.26
32.26
32.26
Li2O/Al2O3
0.38
0.43
0.34
0.40
0.45
0.40
0.45
Softening point (°C)
965
957
N.A.
N.A.
N.A.
N.A.
N.A.
T at 102.5 dPa·s (°C)
1618
1609
N.A.
N.A.
N.A.
N.A.
N.A.
126
127
128
129
130
131
132
SiO2
64.50
64.50
61.30
61.00
60.20
59.80
59.80
Al2O3
18.50
18.50
15.40
15.00
15.40
16.50
15.40
B2O3
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
Li2O
7.38
8.38
7.80
8.00
8.00
7.80
7.80
Na2O
7.38
6.38
7.00
7.80
7.80
7.00
7.00
K2O
2.50
1.50
1.50
2.50
2.50
MgO
0.10
0.10
2.36
2.06
2.46
3.46
2.36
P2O5
2.00
2.00
3.50
4.50
4.50
2.80
4.00
SnO2
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
Fe2O3
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
Cl
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
B2O3+MgO+CaO
0.20
0.20
2.46
2.16
2.56
3.56
2.46
R2O/Al2O3
0.80
0.80
1.12
1.15
1.12
1.05
1.12
Q
-14.53
-15.03
-9.40
-7.90
-9.90
-15.04
-10.30
U
8043.94
8068.84
7264.18
7084.26
7131.91
7484.38
7113.09
W
429.88
500.61
405.10
382.22
390.01
426.55
404.99
X
581.71
654.57
531.84
511.85
523.72
563.44
534.07
Y
20.30
19.30
16.26
16.64
16.18
15.15
15.95
Z
47.17
57.60
38.76
34.97
34.96
38.81
38.56
Na2O/Li2O
1.00
0.76
0.90
0.98
0.98
0.90
0.90
R2O+Al2O3
33.26
33.26
32.70
32.30
32.70
33.80
32.70
Li2O/Al2O3
0.40
0.45
0.51
0.53
0.52
0.47
0.51
Softening point (°C)
N.A.
N.A.
883
875
873
N.A.
879
T at 102.5 dPa·s (°C)
N.A.
N.A.
1560
1554
1545
1524
1553
133
134
135
138
139
142
143
SiO2
60.50
61.00
60.50
58.46
61.26
61.30
60.40
Al2O3
15.00
15.00
15.00
16.15
15.40
15.40
16.15
B2O3
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
0.10
Li2O
8.00
9.00
9.00
9.25
8.64
7.80
9.25
Na2O
7.80
6.80
6.80
6.75
6.46
7.00
6.75
K2O
1.50
1.50
1.50
0.75
2.50
2.50
0.75
MgO
2.06
2.06
2.06
4.00
2.40
2.36
2.06
P2O5
5.00
4.50
5.00
4.50
3.20
3.50
4.50
SnO2
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
0.04
Fe2O3
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
Cl
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
B2O3+MgO+CaO
2.16
2.16
2.16
4.10
2.50
2.46
2.16
R2O/Al2O3
1.15
1.15
1.15
1.04
1.14
1.12
1.04
Q
-7.80
-8.40
-8.30
-14.07
-10.67
-9.40
-12.13
U
7020.56
7109.16
7045.46
7351.02
7276.82
7264.18
7299.82
W
382.19
452.95
452.92
488.27
455.77
405.10
485.63
X
512.60
584.71
585.46
632.33
585.80
531.84
629.99
Y
16.53
15.64
15.53
13.35
15.51
16.26
15.64
Z
34.91
45.40
45.34
45.14
45.77
38.76
49.54
Na2O/Li2O
0.98
0.76
0.76
0.73
0.75
0.90
0.73
R2O+Al2O3
32.30
32.30
32.30
32.90
33.00
32.70
32.90
Li2O/Al2O3
0.53
0.60
0.60
0.57
0.56
0.51
0.57
Softening point (°C)
872
870
864
N.A.
N.A.
884
N.A.
T at 102.5 dPa·s (°C)
1554
1546
1543
1492
1537
1556
1534
144
210
212
213
SiO2
68.20
59.61
59.61
59.61
Al2O3
9.50
18.60
18.60
18.60
B2O3
0.10
0.20
0.20
0.50
Li2O
9.00
8.11
8.11
8.11
Na2O
6.16
8.10
8.10
8.10
K2O
3.00
0.45
0.15
0.15
MgO
4.00
0.50
0.50
0.50
P2O5
0.00
4.30
4.60
4.30
TiO2
0.01
0.01
0.01
SnO2
0.04
0.03
0.03
0.03
Fe2O3
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
Cl
0.01
0.01
0.01
0.01
B2O3+MgO+CaO
4.10
0.70
0.70
1.00
R2O/Al2O3
1.91
0.90
0.88
0.88
Q
9.36
-20.05
-19.39
-20.05
U
7106.05
7486.20
7491.78
7531.87
W
375.05
440.63
440.63
439.31
X
440.60
609.21
609.21
608.25
Y
13.61
18.80
18.80
18.70
Z
32.75
45.49
45.49
45.45
Na2O/Li2O
0.68
1.00
1.00
1.00
R2O+Al2O3
27.66
35.26
34.96
34.96
Li2O/Al2O3
0.95
0.44
0.44
0.44
Softening point (°C)
713
N.A.
N.A.
N.A.
T at 102.5 dPa·s (°C)
1445
N.A.
N.A.
N.A.
In the above table, “R2O” means Li2O + Na2O + K2O.
As to claim 13, Yuki discloses Cl may be added in an amount of 0.01 or more and 0.1 or less. See paragraph [0055]. This range is sufficiently specific to anticipate the range recited in claim 13. See MPEP 2131.03.
As to claim 15, anticipatory Sample No’s 85, 105, 128-130, 132-135, 142 and 144 of Yuki have a softening point of 920°C or less. See Tables 9-22 of Yuki and the table above.
As to claim 16, anticipatory Sample No’s 35, 81, 82, 84, 85, 91, 92, 94, 105, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 117, 128-131, 133-135, 138, 139, 210, 212 and 213 have a CSK (i.e., surface compressive stress) between 200 and 1400 MPa and a DOL_ZEROK (i.e., depth of compression) between 3 and 200 µm. See Tables 9-22.
As to claim 18, anticipatory Sample No’s 35, 81, 82, 84, 91, 92, 94, 105, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 117-118, 128-135, 138, 139, 142-144 of Yuki have a temperature corresponding to a viscosity of 102.5 dpa·s of 1680°C or less. See Tables 9-22 of Yuki and the table above.
As to claim 19, Yuki discloses the glass is formed by the overflow down-draw method (paragraph [0021]) which will inherently result in an overflow merged surface in the inside.
As to claim 20, Yuki discloses a two-step ion exchange method that results in a compressive stress having an inflection point. See Examples 2-4, and Figures 1-2.
Claims 1-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murayama et al. (US 2018/0319706 A1)(Murayama).
Yuki discloses a chemically strengthened (i.e., tempered) glass sheet. See paragraph [0020]. Glasses 1, 6 and 7 of Murayama have glass compositions and values for Q, U, W, X, Y and Z that fall within the ranges of instant claims 1-12. See Table 1 of Murayama and the table below showing the values calculated by the examiner for the claimed formulas: Q, U, W, X, Y and Z. An example falling within a claimed range anticipates the range. See MPEP 2131.03.
1
6
7
SiO2
70.00
69.00
70
Al2O3
10.00
9.00
7.5
B2O3
0.10
Li2O
10.00
9.5
8.00
Na2O
3.00
4.50
5.30
K2O
1.00
1.00
1.00
MgO
5.00
6.00
7.00
CaO
0.20
P2O5
6.80
TiO2
0.04
0.04
ZrO2
1.00
1.00
1.00
B2O3+MgO+CaO
5.10
6.00
7.20
R2O/Al2O3
1.40
1.67
1.91
Q
14.40
23.41
22.55
U
7762.86
7244.22
7482.39
W
519.71
438.68
325.25
X
576.48
490.30
356.33
Y
11.17
10.72
10.48
Z
54.40
39.04
21.24
Na2O/Li2O
0.30
0.47
0.66
R2O+Al2O3
24.00
24.00
21.80
Li2O/Al2O3
1.00
1.06
1.07
In the above table, “R2O” means Li2O + Na2O + K2O.
The properties of instant claims 15 and 18 are presumed to be inherent to the glasses 1, 6 and 7 because the composition is identical to the presently claimed glass.
As to claim 16, Examples 1-10 of Murayama employ anticipatory Glass 1 and are chemically strengthened to a surface compressive stress (CS) 200 to 1400 MPa and a depth of compression (DOL) of 3 to 200 µm.
As to claim 17, Examples 16-25 of Murayama employ anticipatory Glass 1 and are chemically strengthened to a depth of compression of 50 to 200 µm and a compressive stress at 30 µm (CS30) of 35 to 400 MPa. See Table 4 of Murayama. In Table 4, the depth compression can be found between the positive (i.e., compressive stress) numbers and the negative (i.e., tensile stress) numbers.
As to claim 19, Murayama discloses the glass is formed by the down-draw method (paragraph [0206]) which will inherently result in an overflow merged surface in the inside.
As to claim 20, Murayama discloses a two-step ion exchange method (see Table 4) which inherently compressive stress having an inflection point. See Examples 2 and 3, and figures 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama et al. (US 2018/03197806 A1)(Murayama) OR Yuki et al. (WO 2020/138062 A1)(Yuki) as each is applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kondo et al. (US 2011/0071012 A1)(Kondo).
Each of Murayama and Yuki discloses tempered glass sheets formed by the down-draw method that anticipate claim 1 for the reasons related above. Each reference fails to disclose the inclusion of 0.0001 mol% or more MoO3 to the glass composition.
However, MoO3 is a glass colorant which is known to be added to down-draw, chemically strengthened glass compositions. In this regard, Kondo discloses it is known to add colorants such as MoO3 in amounts of less than 1% in order to color down draw glasses that are chemically strengthened. See the title and paragraphs [0068], [0071].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have added any of the colorants disclosed by Kondo including, MoO3, to the glasses of Murayama or Yuki in an amount of less than 1%. The rationale for doing so is that it has been held to have used a known material (i.e., a MoO3 colorant) based upon its suitability for its intended purpose (to color the glass). See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ping et al. (US 2022/0371942 A1) discloses chemically strengthened aluminosilicate glasses and reports the compressive stress at 30 µm. Hashimoto et al. (US 2012/0052275 A1) discloses molybdenum oxide as a clarifying agent for glass compositions.
/David Sample/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784