Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-20, 22-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (KR 20190007604 A) in view of Norman et al (US 20200121409 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Kim discloses a portable weighing system (100) and method comprising: a battery (106); that includes an external charge port (ex: USB) configured to receive power (para [0047]) for charging the battery (106); a scale (131); that receives power from the battery (106) by wire (para [0047]), and that measures weights of objects (para [0030]), respectively, placed on the scale (131); a user interface module (para [0031] and [0054]); and configured to receive the measured weights of the objects (para [0054]), respectively, from the scale (131) by wire from the scale (131); and a cellular hotspot module (para [0011]); and configured to: receive the measured weights of the objects (para [0011]), respectively, wirelessly from the user interface module (para [0031] and [0054]); and transmit the measured weights of the objects (para [0012]), respectively, via a cellular network (para [0035]). Kim fails to explicitly disclose a portable table.
Norman teaches a portable table (medical cart 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Kim’s smart scale with Norman’s medical cart because this will improve safety, allow the cart to be mobile and provide real-time data.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Kim discloses the portable weighing system (100) and method further comprising a temperature sensor (103a); and configured to measure a temperature of air (para [0018]), wherein: the user interface module (para [0031] and [0054]) is further configured to receive the temperature (para [0037]); and the cellular hotspot module (para [0011]) is further configured to transmit the temperature via the cellular network (para [0011] and [0044]). Kim fails to explicitly disclose a portable table. Norman teaches a portable table (medical cart 10).
The motivation would be the same as the one stated above.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Kim discloses the portable weighing system (100) and method further comprising a humidity sensor (103b); and configured to measure a humidity of air (para [0018]), wherein: the user interface module (para [0031] and [0054]) is further configured to receive the humidity (para [0044]); and the cellular hotspot module (para [0011]) is further configured to transmit the humidity via the cellular network (para [0011] and [0044]). Kim fails to explicitly disclose a portable table. Norman teaches a portable table (medical cart 10).
The motivation would be the same as the one stated above.
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Kim discloses the portable weighing system and method (100) further comprising a viscosity sensor (para [0035]) configured to measure viscosities of the objects (para [0035]), respectively, wherein: the user interface module (para [0031] and [0054]) is further configured to receive the viscosities (para [0035]); and the cellular hotspot module (para [0011])) is further configured to transmit the viscosities (para [0035]) via the cellular network (Fig.4).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Kim discloses the portable weighing system (100) and method wherein the scale is one of a food grade scale and an industrial grade scale (Abstract).
Regarding claims 7 and 22, Kim discloses the portable weighing system (100) and method wherein the user interface module (para [0031] and [0054]) includes a touchscreen display (133 and 134; para [0032]).
Regarding claims 8 and 23, Kim discloses the portable weighing system (100) and method wherein the user interface module (para [0031] and [0054]) includes a Raspberry Pi circuit board (para [0030]-[0032]).
Regarding claims 9 and 24, Kim discloses the portable weighing system (100) and method wherein the user interface module (para [0031] and [0054]) is configured to wirelessly transmit the measured weights of the objects (para [0012]), respectively, to the cellular hotspot module (para [0011]) using the message queuing telemetry transport (MQTT) communication protocol (para [0054]; Fig.4).
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Kim discloses the portable weighing system (100) and method. Kim fails to explicitly disclose wherein the portable table includes at least three wheels.
Norman teaches the portable table (10) includes at least three wheels (see Figs. 1-9).
The motivation would be the same as the one stated above.
Regarding claims 11 and 26, Kim discloses a system (second system) and method comprising: the portable weighing system (100); and a control module (101) configured to receive the measured weights of the objects (para [0011]), respectively, from the cellular hotspot module (para [0011] and [0044]) via the cellular network (para [0035).
Regarding claims 12 and 27, Kim discloses the system (second system) and method wherein the control module (101) is configured to selectively output at least one of a visual alert and an audible alert (para [0030]-[0032]) based on at least one of the measured weights of the objects, respectively (para [0030]-[0032] and [0051]).
Regarding claims 14 and 29, Kim discloses the system (second system) and method wherein the control module (101) is further configured to output the measured weights of the objects, respectively (para [0030]-[0032]) and [0051]), to a computing device via a network (Fig.4).
Regarding claims 15 and 30, Kim discloses the system (second system) and method further comprising the computing device (150), wherein the computing device (150) is configured to display the measured weights of the objects (para [0011]), respectively, on a display (133, 134).
Claims 6, 13, 21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al in view of Norman et al in further view of Tellenbach et al (US 20070119226 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Kim discloses the portable weighing system (100) and method wherein the user interface module (para [0031] and [0054]). Kim and Norman fail to explicitly disclose an ingress protection (IP) rating for dust and water of the IP66 rating or higher.
Tellenbach teaches an ingress protection (IP) rating for dust and water of the IP66 rating or higher (para [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Kim as modified with an ingress protection as taught by Tellenbach because this will enhance safety.
Regarding claims 13 and 28, Kim discloses the system (second system) and method wherein the control module (101) is configured to output the at least one of the visual alert and the audible alert (para [0030]-[0032]) when the at least one of the measured weights is one of: Kim and Norman fail to explicitly disclose greater than a predetermined weight by at least a predetermined amount; and less than the predetermined weight by at least the predetermined amount.
Tellenbach teaches greater than a predetermined weight by at least a predetermined amount (para [0018]); and less than the predetermined weight by at least the predetermined amount (para [0018]).
The motivation would be the same as the one stated above.
Conclusion
/MIREILLE S SADATE-MOUALEU/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855