DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4, 5, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4 & 5 the limitation “the optical element” is unclear because it was optional when it was introduced in claim 1 and so it is unclear if the optical element is still optional, of the rest of the limitation included in that option in claim 1 are still optional, and if the entirety of claims 4 & 5 are optional. Amending claim 1 to replace the “or” with an –and—would overcome this rejection.
Regarding claim 20 it is unclear if the “at least one rail lighting fixture” introduced in claim 13 is part of the “an array of rail lighting fixtures” introduced in claim 20 or there is some other relationship. Additionally, reintroducing the limitations of claim 1 into a claim which is already dependent on claim 1 makes the scope of the claim unclear. Amending claim 20 to recite that the at least one rail lighting fixture is a plurality of lighting fixtures instead of reintroducing the bulk of claim 1 would overcome this rejection.
Claim Interpretation
In particular, 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is applied to claim 6 and the limitation “fastening means arranged for attaching the housing to the rail”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rudiger( EP 3418449 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Rudiger teaches a rail lighting fixture for providing illumination along a rail of a railway track (FIG. 1: 1), wherein the lighting fixture comprises a housing (FIG. 2: 2), arranged for attachment to the rail (FIG. 1: 5) and provided with at least one aperture (FIG. 2: 15), and at least one light source provided in the housing and arranged to emit a light beam (FIG. 2: 3), wherein the lighting fixture is arranged to direct the light beam through the aperture towards a lighting direction (FIG. 2: depicted structure), wherein the lighting direction has a component that is parallel to a longitudinal direction of the rail (the light will extend out from the aperture in a three dimensional cone, some of that light will travel in a direction which is partially in the direction of the longitudinal direction of the rail), wherein: the aperture is provided with an optical element arranged to receive the light beam and to direct the light beam towards diverging directions (FIG. 2: 16); or the aperture has an optical axis extending, as seen in the horizontal plane, at an acute angle with the longitudinal direction and away from the rail as seen along the lighting direction.
Regarding claim 5 Rudiger teaches that the optical element is a lens (FIG. 2: 16).
Regarding claim 6 Rudiger teaches fastening means arranged for attaching the housing to the rail (FIG. 1: 4).
Regarding claim 7 Rudiger teaches that the fastening means comprise a mounting bracket arranged for connecting the housing to the rail (FIG. 1: depicted), wherein the mounting bracket is arranged for coupling with the rail (FIG. 1: depicted at 10.3), wherein the mounting bracket is further arranged to engage the housing (FIG. 1: 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudiger( EP 3418449 A1.
Regarding claim 10 Rudiger does not explicitly teach that the housing is less than 4 centimetres in width as seen from the lighting direction. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudiger to use a housing width of less than 4cm, so as to achieve an optimal ease of installation, since it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. See, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Moreover, Applicant should note that nothing of record, nor known in the art, suggests that using the specific claimed range or value yields any previously unexpected results.
Regarding claim 11 Rudiger does not explicitly teach that the housing is less than 40 centimetres in length. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudiger to use a housing length of less than 40cm, so as to achieve an optimal ease of installation, since it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. See, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Moreover, Applicant should note that nothing of record, nor known in the art, suggests that using the specific claimed range or value yields any previously unexpected results.
Regarding claim 12 Rudiger does not explicitly teach that the housing is less than 20 centimetres in height as seen from the lighting direction. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rudiger to use a housing height of less than 20cm, so as to achieve an optimal ease of installation, since it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. See, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Moreover, Applicant should note that nothing of record, nor known in the art, suggests that using the specific claimed range or value yields any previously unexpected results.
Claim(s) 3 & 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudiger( EP 3418449 A1) in view of Rooks (EP 3251916 A1).
Regarding claim 3 Rudiger teaches that the light beam directed towards the lighting direction has an asymmetric light distribution (FIG. 1: depicted pointing to the left) but does not explicitly teach that a horizontal light distribution of the light beam is wider than a vertical light distribution of the light beam.
However, Rooks does teach the use of a light beam that is wider than it is tall (FIG. 2: depicted). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively modified Rudiger to have the wide light beam of Rooks in order to illuminate a wider patch of ground.
Regarding claim 4 Rudiger as modified above teaches that the optical element is arranged to create the asymmetric light distribution (Rudiger, FIG. 2: depicted).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudiger( EP 3418449 A1) in view of Morrow et al. (US 20060050507 A1, herein after referred to as Morrow).
Regarding claim 8 Rudiger does not explicitly teach a heatsink body arranged to cool the at least one light source, however Morrow does teach the use of a heatsink for a light source (FIG. 6: 616). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a heatsink for the light source in order to run the light source at a higher intensity safely.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2, 9, & 13-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2 no prior art made of record teaches a rail lighting fixture comprising a single lighting fixture arranged to direct two light beams in mutually opposite lighting directions parallel to the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 9 no prior art made of record teaches a rail lighting fixture comprising a housing monolithically formed, by an insert moulding technique, onto the at least one light source and any other components provided in the housing, such that the housing comprises a solidified material that at least partially covers the at least one light source and the respective other components of the rail lighting fixture that are provided in the housing.
A combination of these limitations and the other recited features was not reasonably found in the prior art.
Regarding claim 13 no prior art made of record teaches a rail lighting fixture comprising a presence detector for detecting a presence of a person alongside of the rail, wherein the presence detector is arranged to provide a presence detection signal indicative for the presence of a person alongside of the rail, wherein the rail lighting system is arranged to control, based on the presence detection signal, an illumination intensity of the light source of the at least one lighting fixture at a first illumination intensity when the presence detection signal indicates the presence of a person alongside of the rail, and at a second illumination intensity when the presence detection signal does not indicate the presence of a person alongside of the rail, wherein the first intensity exceeds the second intensity.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not replied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references noted on the attached PTO 892 teach [THING] of interest.
/MAXWELL L MESHAKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615