DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to the Response to Non-Final filed 01/22/2026.
The status of the Claims is as follows:
Claims 18-20 are new;
Claim 9 has been cancelled;
Claims 8, 10 and 16 have been amended;
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2024 and 11/19/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 10/23/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamauchi (US 4641483; Yamauchi).
Regarding Claim 18 Yamauchi discloses a method for applying packaging (34) to an article combination (36) comprising at least two articles (36), the method comprising:
folding a packaging blank at one or more folding edges (Fig. 4)
thereafter applying the folding packaging blank (34) to an article combination (36) by a downward movement,
wherein the packaging blank (34) applied to the articles (36) is disposed, at least in part, between the articles (36) and at least partially surrounds outer lateral surfaces of the article combination (36). (Col 3 line 63-Col 4 line 30)
Regarding Claim 19 Yamauchi discloses the invention as described above. Yamauchi further discloses folding over at least two opposing edge regions (40) of a packaging blank (34) wherein the folding edges (Fig. 4) facilitate the folding of the regions. (Col 3 line 63-Col 4 line 30)
Regarding Claim 20 Yamauchi discloses the invention as described above. Yamauchi further discloses the folding over of the at least tow opposing edge regions comprises folding over to approximately 90 degrees. (Col 3 line 63-Col 4 line 30)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 and 10-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 1 the Prior Art teaches a die for prepping blanks and applying blanks:
Kalden DE20314088
Frederick et al. (US 20220348368)
Wimmer et al. (DE 102022115413)
However the Prior Art does not teach a preparation die and an application die in the manner claimed in the instant application.
Regarding Claim 8 the Prior Art does not disclose simultaneously or approximately simultaneously applying at least two packaging blanks to articles to form at least two packaging units, feeding the articles directly adjacent to one another in the ordered mass flow, disposing the at least two folded packaging blanks next to one another in receptacles of at least one application die, wherein the application die comprises at least one vertically formed or vertically aligned separating device between the receptacles, wherein the a folded edge region of packaging blanks rests against the separating device, and wherein the separating device projects downward beyond the folded edge regions of the packaging blanks, lowering the application die , with the at least two folded packaging blanks over the articles being fed in the ordered mass flow, inserting the separating device between articles of the ordered mass flow and whereupon the at least two packaging blanks are applied to a defined number and composition of articles of the ordered mass flow for to simultaneously approximately simultaneously form at least two adjacent packaging units.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kalden (DE20314088)
Federick et al. (US 20220348368)
Wimmer et al. (DE 102022115413)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHINYERE J RUSHING-TUCKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3731