DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are presented for examination. Claims 13 is canceled in the 10/23/2024 preliminary amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 2/5/2025 and 6/12/2026 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda et al (Takeda), US 2023/0085896.
As per claim 1, Takeda teaches the invention including a method of monitoring a control signal by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
Determining a control channel element (CCE) index corresponding to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate (pp. 0077; Equation 1); and
Monitoring the PDCCH candidate for a downlink control information (DCI) format on a scheduling cell based on the CCE index (pp. 0077-0080, 0083, 0087-0090),
Wherein, based on cross carrier scheduling being configured, the CCE index is configured based on a value of a carrier indicator field (CIF) included in the DCI format (pp. 0079-0081, 0089), and
Wherein, based on multi cell scheduling being configured, the CCE index is configured based on a value for each set of scheduling cells (pp. 0078-0080, 0083, 0089-0091).
As per claim 2, Takeda teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Takeda further teaches wherein based on multi cell scheduling being configured, the DCI format does not include the CIF (pp. 0091).
As per claim 3, Takeda teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Takeda further teaches wherein, based on multi cell scheduling being configured, the DCI format schedules PDSCHs or PUSCHs on all or some of a set of scheduled cells (pp. 0080, 0083-0086, 0089).
As per claim 4, Takeda teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Takeda further teaches wherein the DCI format satisfies a DCI size budget through a DCI size alignment process (pp. 0090).
As per claim 5, Takeda teaches the invention as claimed in claim 4. Takeda further teaches wherein the DCI size alignment process is performed for one reference cell among a set of schedule cells (pp. 0090).
As per claim 11, Takeda teaches the invention including a user equipment (UE) configured to monitor a signal in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
At least one transceiver (pp. 0100: transceiver 410);
At least one processor (pp. 0100-0101: processor 402); and
At least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, when executed, caused the at least one processor to perform specific operations (pp. 0100, 0102; memory 404) comprising:
Determining a control channel element (CCE) index corresponding to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate (pp. 0077; Equation 1); and
Monitoring the PDCCH candidate for a downlink control information (DCI) format on a scheduling cell based on the CCE index (pp. 0077-0080, 0083, 0087-0090),
Wherein, based on cross carrier scheduling being configured, the CCE index is configured based on a value of a carrier indicator field (CIF) included in the DCI format (pp. 0079-0081, 0089), and
Wherein, based on multi cell scheduling being configured, the CCE index is configured based on a value for each set of scheduling cells (pp. 0078-0080, 0083, 0089-0091).
As per claim 12, Takeda teaches the invention including an apparatus for a user equipment (UE), the apparatus comprising:
At least one processor (pp. 0100-0101: processor 402); and
At least one memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to, when executed, caused the at least one processor to perform operations (pp. 0100, 0102; memory 404) comprising:
Determining a control channel element (CCE) index corresponding to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate (pp. 0077; Equation 1); and
Monitoring the PDCCH candidate for a downlink control information (DCI) format on a scheduling cell based on the CCE index (pp. 0077-0080, 0083, 0087-0090),
Wherein, based on cross carrier scheduling being configured, the CCE index is configured based on a value of a carrier indicator field (CIF) included in the DCI format (pp. 0079-0081, 0089), and
Wherein, based on multi cell scheduling being configured, the CCE index is configured based on a value for each set of scheduling cells (pp. 0078-0080, 0083, 0089-0091).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al (Takeda), US 2023/0085896, in view of Moon et al (Moon), US 2023/0254857.
As per claim 6, Takeda teaches the invention as claimed in claim 5. Takeda does not teach wherein the DCI size alignment process comprises, based on that a total number of DCI sizes configured to be monitored for the reference cell except a DCI format for the multi cell scheduling exceeds 4 or that a total number of DCI sizes associated with a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) configured to be monitored for the reference cell except for the DCI format for the multi cell scheduling exceeding 3, performing a first DCI size alignment process for legacy DCI formats, and
wherein the first DCI size alignment process is performed in an order of:
DCI size alignment between DCI format 1_0 and DCI format 0_0;
DCI size alignment between DCI format 0_2 and DCI format 1_2; and
DCI size alignment between DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 1_1.
Moon teaches wherein the DCI size alignment process comprises, based on that a total number of DCI sizes configured to be monitored for the reference cell except a DCI format for the multi cell scheduling exceeds 4 or that a total number of DCI sizes associated with a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) configured to be monitored for the reference cell except for the DCI format for the multi cell scheduling exceeding 3 (pp. 0108-0110, 0123-0125), performing a first DCI size alignment process for legacy DCI formats, and
wherein the first DCI size alignment process is performed in an order of:
DCI size alignment between DCI format 1_0 and DCI format 0_0 (pp. 0127);
DCI size alignment between DCI format 0_2 and DCI format 1_2 (pp. 0128); and
DCI size alignment between DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 1_1 (pp. 0129).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Takeda and Moon and perform DCI size alignment for DCIs in different DCI format according to the DCI format of the reference cell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al, EP4117366A1
Gao et al, US 12,634,938
Takeda et al, US 2023/0345478
Moon et al, US 2015/0223213
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
August 5, 2026