DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 10/23/24. Examiner acknowledged that claims 4-6, 8, 10-14 are amended. Currently, claims 1-15 are pending.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 10/23/24, 11/03/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6,11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brashear (US 2017/0370763).
Regarding Claim 1, Brashear teaches a fluid routing module (Fig. 1) for a vacuum pumping system, the fluid routing module comprising: a first fluid inlet (Fig. 1: 102); a first fluid outlet (Fig. 1; 122); a first fluid line (Fig. 1; 101) coupled between the first fluid inlet and the fluid outlet; and a restrictor module (Fig. 1: 116-120_106-110) disposed along the first fluid line between the first fluid inlet and the first fluid outlet, the restrictor module being configured to variably restrict a flow of fluid (Fig. [0066] “116 have high flow…120 have the lowest flow”) between the first fluid inlet and the first fluid outlet.
Regarding Claim 2, Brashear teaches the fluid routing module of claim 1, wherein: the restrictor module comprises a plurality of restrictors (Fig. 1: 116, 117, 118, 119, 120) disposed along the first fluid line between the first fluid inlet and the fluid outlet, the plurality of restrictors being arranged in parallel with each other, each restrictor of the plurality of restrictors being configured to restrict a flow of fluid therethrough; and the fluid routing module further comprises means (Fig. 1: 106-110) configured to selectably direct a fluid flow through a selected one or more restrictors of the plurality of restrictors while preventing the flow of fluid through the other restrictors of the plurality of restrictors.
Regarding Claim 3, Brashear teaches the fluid routing module of claim 2, wherein the means configured to selectably direct a fluid flow through a selected one or more restrictors comprises a plurality of valves (Fig. 1; 106-110 are valves), each valve in the plurality of valves being arranged in series with a respective restrictor of the plurality of restrictors.
Regarding Claim 4, Brashear teaches the fluid routing module of claim 2, further comprising: a bypass line (Fig. 1: 123) arranged in parallel with the restrictor module whereby to allow a flow of fluid to bypass the plurality of restrictors; and one or more further valves (Fig. 1: 105) configured to selectably direct a fluid flow through either the bypass line or the plurality of restrictors.
Regarding Claim 5, Brashear teaches the fluid routing module of claim 3, further comprising a valve controller (Fig. 1; 124) configured to control operation of a valve.
Regarding Claim 6, Brashear teaches the fluid routing module of claim 2, wherein each restrictor of the plurality of restrictors is configured to restrict a flow of fluid therethrough to a different extent (Fig. [0066] “116 have high flow…120 have the lowest flow”).
Regarding Claim 11, Brashear teaches the fluid routing module of claim 1 except a system comprising: a semiconductor processing tool comprising a processing chamber; wherein the first fluid inlet is fluidly coupled; to the processing chamber; and a vacuum pump operatively coupled to the first fluid outlet. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art from Fig. 5 to understand Brashear teaches a processing chamber (Fig. 5: 570); wherein the first fluid inlet is fluidly coupled (Fig. 5: first fluid inlet is coupled to chamber via valve 573) to the processing chamber; and a vacuum pump (Fig. 5: 565) operatively coupled to the first fluid outlet. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Brashear in order to understand vacuum pump and fluid inlet/outlet are used to cool a processing chamber since this is well known in the art.
Regarding Claim 14, Brashear teaches a method for routing a fluid through a fluid routing module, the fluid routing module being in accordance with claim 1, the method comprising: receiving a flow of a fluid at the first fluid inlet (Fig. 1: 102); variably restricting (Fig. 1: 116-120), by the restrictor module, the fluid through the restrictor module; and thereafter, the fluid flowing out of the first fluid outlet (Fig. 1: 122).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brashear.
Regarding Claim 7, Brashear teaches the fluid routing module of claim 6, except wherein each restrictor of the plurality of restrictors comprises a flow restricting orifice having a different respective diameter. However, [0004] teaches “each one of the plurality of differently-sized flow restrictors coupled in series with the inlet and a respective one of the plurality of isolation valves”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Brashear in order to understand that differently sized flow restrictors would have restricting orifice with different diameter since the sizing would be the component that restricting the flow of the liquid.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brashear as applied to claim 11 in view of Shiokawa (US 2017/0200622).
Regarding Claim 12, Brashear teaches the system of claim 11, except wherein: the semiconductor processing tool further comprises one or more further processing chambers; the system further comprises one or more further fluid routing modules, each further fluid routing module being a fluid routing module in accordance with claim 1, wherein the first fluid inlets of each further fluid routing module are fluidly coupled to a respective further processing chamber; the system further comprises a fluid line manifold, wherein the first fluid outlets of the fluid routing module and each of the further fluid routing modules are fluidly coupled to the fluid line manifold; and the vacuum pump is operatively coupled to the fluid line manifold.
Shiokawa is in the field of semiconductor processing (abstract) and teaches the semiconductor processing tool further comprises one or more further processing chambers (Fig. 1: 1); the system further comprises one or more further fluid routing modules (Fig. 1; 5), each further fluid routing module being a fluid routing module in accordance with claim 1, wherein the first fluid inlets of each further fluid routing module are fluidly coupled to a respective further processing chamber; the system further comprises a fluid line manifold (Fig. 1: 22), wherein the first fluid outlets of the fluid routing module and each of the further fluid routing modules are fluidly coupled to the fluid line manifold; and the vacuum pump (Fig. 1: 8) is operatively coupled to the fluid line manifold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brashear with the corresponding chambers and fluid routing modules as taught by Shiokawa in order to evacuate processed gas from a plurality of chambers since a plurality of chambers and be evacuate quickly with a plurality of pumps.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8-10, 13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Henry Luong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845