DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an application filed on October 23, 2024, and to the preliminary amendment filed on October 31, 2024. Prior to the preliminary amendment, claims 1-25 were pending. By the preliminary amendment, claims 3, 10, 12-14, 17, 20, 21 and 24 were amended, claims 18, 19, 22, 23 and 25 were canceled, and no claims were newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-17, 20, 21 and 24 are currently pending and ready for examination.
Relevant Technical Information Submittal Requirement
Requirement — Overview
The applicant is required to submit copies of non-patent literature and relevant technical information as set forth below.
Basis for Requirement
35 U.S.C. § 131 provides:
The Director shall cause an examination to be made of the application and the alleged new invention; and if on such examination it appears that the applicant is entitled to a patent under the law, the Director shall issue a patent therefor.
37 C.F.R. § 1.105(a) provides:
In the course of examining or treating a matter in a pending or abandoned application filed under 35 U.S.C. 111 or 371 (including a reissue application), in a patent, or in a reexamination proceeding, the examiner or other Office employee may require the submission, from individuals identified under § 1.56(c), or any assignee, of such information as may be reasonably necessary to properly examine or treat the matter, for example:
….
(iii) Related information: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign), by any of the inventors, that relates to the claimed invention.
(iv) Information used to draft application: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign) that was used to draft the application.
(v) Information used in invention process: A copy of any non-patent literature, published application, or patent (U.S. or foreign) that was used in the invention process, such as by designing around or providing a solution to accomplish an invention result.
…
(viii) Technical information known to applicant. Technical information known to applicant concerning the related art, the disclosure, the claimed subject matter, other factual information pertinent to patentability, or concerning the accuracy of the examiner’s stated interpretation of such items.
Background
The applicant has stated in a publicly available European Telecommunication Standards Institute (ETSI) record that the present application, Application No. 18/859,378 (“the Application”), identified as “CN20228001345” and “CN115004775 A,” which are family Chinese application publications of the Application, may be or may become ESSENTIAL in relation to at least the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the attached IPR Information Statement Annex.”1
Necessity for this Requirement.
This Requirement is issued pursuant to the Director’s duty and authority to examine patent applications. See 35 U.S.C. § 131; 37 C.F.R. § 1.105(a). The ETSI record indicates the applicant likely possesses information relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) that is necessary for a more complete understanding of the invention and its context. See MPEP § 704.11. Such information may include non-patent literature and technical materials (e.g., contribution papers or Tdocs) authored, generated, or submitted by the applicant or others that form the basis of, or resulted from, the claimed invention.
Applicant is Required to Submit:
Copies of any non-patent literature relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the ETSI record for the Application, which satisfies any of the following criteria:
Authored by any of the inventors and related to the claimed invention,
Used to draft the present application, or
Used in the invention process (for example, used to design around prior art or to provide a solution that enabled the claimed invention); and
Any technical information known to the applicant relating to the ETSI Work Item(s), STANDARD(S) and/or TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION(S) identified in the ETSI record for the Application, which concerns the related art, the disclosure, the claimed subject matter, other factual information pertinent to patentability, or the accuracy of the examiner’s stated interpretation of such items.
Instructions to Applicant
A complete reply to this Requirement is a reply to each enumerated requirement for information giving either the information required or a statement that the information required to be submitted is unknown and/or is not readily available to the applicant. There is no requirement for the applicant to show that the required information was not, in fact, readily attainable, but the applicant is required to make a good faith attempt to obtain the information and to make a reasonable inquiry once the information is requested. See MPEP § 704.12(b).
This Requirement is subject to the provisions of 37 CFR §§ 1.134, 1.135 and 1.136 and is accorded the same period for reply as the action on the merits sent with this Requirement. See MPEP § 704.13 (third paragraph). EXTENSIONS OF THIS TIME PERIOD MAY BE GRANTED UNDER 37 CFR 1.136 (a).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on October 23, 2024 and on December 18, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11, 15-17, 20, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yan et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2025/0193760) (hereinafter “Yan”).
Regarding claim 1, Yan discloses a method for recording relevant information of a successful primary secondary cell (PScell) addition or change report (See, e.g., Fig. 2), performed by a terminal device (See, e.g., Fig. 1, “UE”), comprising:
recording relevant information of a PScell addition or change (See, e.g., Fig. 2, #201; and ¶[0066], “Based on the network configuration, a UE needs to log/generate/store/record successful PSCell change related parameters or successful CPAC related parameters when one or more trigger condition(s) is satisfied”) in response to triggering the successful PScell addition or change report (See, e.g., ¶[0066], “For successful PSCell change report reporting, configuration(s) for a UE to report the successful PSCell change (e.g., successPSCellChange-Config IE) is sent from the network, e.g., the network sends configuration(s) associated with trigger condition(s) for SPC-report to the UE;” and ¶[0079], “in operation 201, in response to fulfilling a trigger condition, a UE generates, logs, and/or stores information associated with a successful completion of a PSCell change procedure or a CPAC procedure (which is named as “1st information” for simplicity).”).
Regarding claim 2/1, Yan discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Yan further discloses that recording the relevant information of the PScell addition or change comprises at least one of:
recording public land mobile network (PLMN) list information related to a PScell, wherein the PLMN list information comprises at least one of PLMN information, equivalent local public land mobile network (EPLMN) information or registered public land mobile network (RPLMN) information;
recording a cell identifier of the PScell addition or change (See, e.g., ¶[0072], “A successful PSCell change report can be generated, logged, and/or stored to the network, including cell information of the source PSCell, cell information of the target PSCell, …..Cell information can be represented by global cell identity and tracking area code, and/or, PCI and carrier frequency.”);
recording a measurement result of the PScell addition or change (See, e.g., ¶[0072], “A successful PSCell change report … including … and/or measurement result(s);” ¶¶[0103] and [0106], “(3) information associated with the measurement frequency or identity or object that is configured to the UE, e.g., measurement frequency or identity or object of any cell that configured by the network to the UE for RRM measurement”.);
recording time information of the PScell addition or change (See, e.g., ¶¶[0088] and [0089], “the time information related to the 1st information includes:” “(1) absolute time when the 1st information is generated”.);
recording random access information of the PScell addition or change (See, e.g., ¶[0176], “the 1st information and/or the 2nd information includes at least one of:” ¶[0194] “(18) RA-Information of the UE”.);
recording type information of the successful PScell addition or change report (See, e.g., ¶[0081], “the 1st information and/or the 2nd information includes:” and ¶[0087], “(6) an indication for indicating whether both the 1st information and the 2nd information are associated with the PSCell change procedure or the CPAC procedure, i.e., whether the 1st information and the 2nd information are associated with the same PSCell change or CPAC procedure.”); or
recording cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) information of a target cell of the PScell addition or change (See, e.g., ¶¶[0081] and [0083], “the 1st information and/or the 2nd information includes:” “(2) a C-RNTI of the target PSCell of the UE”.).
Regarding claim 3/2, Yan discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 2 as discussed above.
Yan further discloses that recording the cell identifier of the PScell addition or change comprises at least one of:
recording a source cell identifier of the PScell addition or change (See, e.g., ¶[0072], “A successful PSCell change report can be generated, logged, and/or stored to the network, including cell information of the source PSCell”.) in a case that the type information of the successful PScell addition or change report is a successful PScell change report (See, e.g., ¶[0066], “A successful PSCell change report (e.g., SPC-report) would be introduced in the future 3GPP Release, to optimize PSCell change or CPAC related parameters, e.g., if a physical layer issue is detected by the UE during an ongoing PSCell change or CPAC procedure.”) or a successful conditional PScell change report (See, e.g., ¶[0066], “A successful PSCell change report (e.g., SPC-report) would be introduced in the future 3GPP Release, to optimize PSCell change or CPAC related parameters, e.g., if a physical layer issue is detected by the UE during an ongoing PSCell change or CPAC procedure.”), wherein the source cell identifier is a global cell identity of a source cell and a tracking area code of the source cell, or is a physical cell identity of the source cell and a carrier frequency of the source cell (See, e.g., ¶[0072], “Cell information can be represented by global cell identity and tracking area code, and/or, PCI and carrier frequency.” One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that PCI stands for physical cell identity); or
recording a target cell identifier of the PScell addition or change (See, e.g., ¶[0072], “A successful PSCell change report can be generated, logged, and/or stored to the network, including cell information of the source PSCell, cell information of the target PSCell”.), wherein the target cell identifier is a global cell identity of the target cell and a tracking area code of the target cell, or is a physical cell identity of the target cell and a carrier frequency of the target cell (See, e.g., ¶[0072], “Cell information can be represented by global cell identity and tracking area code, and/or, PCI and carrier frequency.”).
Regarding claim 4/3, Yan discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 3 as discussed above.
Yan further discloses that a data type of the source cell identifier is cell global identity information logging (CGI-Info-Logging), or a combination of a physical cell identity (PhysCellId) and an absolute radio frequency channel number value (ARFCN-Value) (See, e.g., ¶[0276], “In the SPC-report, the UE shall include: …e.g., global cell identity and tracking area code, and/or, PCI and carrier frequency (e.g., Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN)) of any cell that configured by the network to the UE for RRM measurement.”); and
[wherein] a data type of the target cell identifier is the CGI-Info-Logging, or a combination of the PhysCellId and the ARFCN-Value (See, e.g., ¶[0276], “In the SPC-report, the UE shall include: …e.g., global cell identity and tracking area code, and/or, PCI and carrier frequency (e.g., Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN)) of any cell that configured by the network to the UE for RRM measurement.”).
Regarding claim 5/2, Yan discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 2 as discussed above.
Yan further discloses that recording the measurement result of the PScell addition or change comprises at least one of:
recording a source cell measurement result of the PScell addition or change (See, e.g., ¶[0072], “A successful PSCell change report … including … and/or measurement result(s);” ¶¶[0103] and [0106], “(3) information associated with the measurement frequency or identity or object that is configured to the UE, e.g., measurement frequency or identity or object of any cell that configured by the network to the UE for RRM measurement”.);
recording a target cell measurement result of the PScell addition or change (See, e.g., ¶[0072], “A successful PSCell change report … including … and/or measurement result(s);” ¶¶[0103] and [0106], “(3) information associated with the measurement frequency or identity or object that is configured to the UE, e.g., measurement frequency or identity or object of any cell that configured by the network to the UE for RRM measurement”.); or
recording a neighboring cell measurement result of the PScell addition or change.
Regarding claim 7/5, wherein recording the neighboring cell measurement result of the PScell addition or change comprises:
recording a new air (NR) measurement result of the PScell addition or change and an evolved universal mobile telecommunications system terrestrial radio access network (EUTRA) measurement result of the PScell addition or change (Because this claim depends from claim 5, and because the additional recitation, “wherein recording the neighboring cell measurement result of the PScell addition or change comprises,” is directed to an alternative limitation not considered in the above rejection of claim 5, the additional recitation does not further limit the scope of claim 5 as interpreted in the above rejection of claim 5. Accordingly, claim 7 is anticipated by Yan for the reasons that claim 5 is anticipated.).
Regarding claim 8/7, the method of claim 7, wherein a data type of the NR measurement result is an NR network measurement result list MeasResultList2NR, and a data type of the EUTRA measurement result is a long-term evolution (LTE) network measurement result list MeasResultList2EUTRA (Because this claim depends from claim 7, and because the additional recitation of claim 7, “wherein recording the neighboring cell measurement result of the PScell addition or change comprises,” is directed to an alternative limitation not considered in the above rejection of claim 5, the additional recitation does not further limit the scope of claim 5 as interpreted in the above rejection of claim 5. Accordingly, claim 8 is anticipated by Yan for the reasons that claims 5 and 7 are anticipated.).
Regarding claim 11/2, Yan discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 2 as discussed above.
Yan further discloses that a triggering condition (See, e.g., ¶[0066], “Based on the network configuration, a UE needs to log/generate/store/record successful PSCell change related parameters or successful CPAC related parameters when one or more trigger condition(s) is satisfied. The trigger condition can include at least one of the following:”) for recording the random access information of the PScell addition or change (See, e.g., ¶[0176], “the 1st information and/or the 2nd information includes at least one of:” ¶[0194] “(18) RA-Information of the UE”.) is:
starting a timer (See, ¶[0067], “(1) radio problem(s) in a source PSCell, e.g., elapsed running time of timer T310 and/or T312 for source SCG is longer than a configured threshold”. The above indicates T310 or T312 is started.), and
triggering a random access operation in a case that the timer reaches a timing threshold (See, ¶[0067], “(1) radio problem(s) in a source PSCell, e.g., elapsed running time of timer T310 and/or T312 for source SCG is longer than a configured threshold”. One skilled in the art would understand that, in 5G NR, the expiry of T310 (or T312) triggers a RRC re-establishment procedure, which involves a random access process.).
Regarding claim 15, Yan discloses a method for recording relevant information of a successful primary secondary cell (PScell) addition or change report (See, Fig. 3), performed by a network side device (See, Fig. 1, MN 102; and ¶[0115], “the exemplary method 300 in the embodiments of FIG. 3 may be performed by a MN, e.g., MN 102 as shown in FIG. 1.”), comprising:
receiving relevant information of a PScell addition or change sent by a terminal device (See, Fig. 3, #302; and ¶[0116], “In operation 302, the MN receives information (e.g., the 1st information) associated with a successful completion of the PSCell change procedure or the CPAC procedure from the UE”.).
Regarding claim 16/15, Yan discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 15 as discussed above.
Yan further discloses that receiving the relevant information of the PScell addition or change sent by the terminal device comprises at least one of:
receiving public land mobile network (PLMN) list information related to a PScell sent by the terminal device, wherein the PLMN list information comprises at least one of PLMN information, equivalent local public land mobile network (EPLMN) information or registered public land mobile network (RPLMN) information;
receiving a cell identifier of the PScell addition or change sent by the terminal device (See, e.g., ¶[0072], “A successful PSCell change report can be generated, logged, and/or stored to the network, including cell information of the source PSCell, cell information of the target PSCell, …..Cell information can be represented by global cell identity and tracking area code, and/or, PCI and carrier frequency.”);
receiving a measurement result of the PScell addition or change sent by the terminal device (See, e.g., ¶[0072], “A successful PSCell change report … including … and/or measurement result(s);” ¶¶[0103] and [0106], “(3) information associated with the measurement frequency or identity or object that is configured to the UE, e.g., measurement frequency or identity or object of any cell that configured by the network to the UE for RRM measurement”.);
receiving time information of the PScell addition or change sent by the terminal device (See, e.g., ¶¶[0088] and [0089], “the time information related to the 1st information includes:” “(1) absolute time when the 1st information is generated”.);
receiving random access information of the PScell addition or change sent by the terminal device (See, e.g., ¶[0176], “the 1st information and/or the 2nd information includes at least one of:” ¶[0194] “(18) RA-Information of the UE”.);
receiving type information of the successful PScell addition or change report sent by the terminal device (See, e.g., ¶[0081], “the 1st information and/or the 2nd information includes:” and ¶[0087], “(6) an indication for indicating whether both the 1st information and the 2nd information are associated with the PSCell change procedure or the CPAC procedure, i.e., whether the 1st information and the 2nd information are associated with the same PSCell change or CPAC procedure.”); or
receiving cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) information of a target cell of the PScell addition or change sent by the terminal device (See, e.g., ¶¶[0081] and [0083], “the 1st information and/or the 2nd information includes:” “(2) a C-RNTI of the target PSCell of the UE”.).
Regarding claim 17/16, Yan discloses a method comprising all elements recited in claim 16 as discussed above.
Yan further discloses that receiving the measurement result of the PScell addition or change sent by the terminal device comprises at least one of:
receiving a source cell measurement result of the PScell addition or change sent by the terminal device (See, e.g., ¶[0072], “A successful PSCell change report … including … and/or measurement result(s);” ¶¶[0103] and [0106], “(3) information associated with the measurement frequency or identity or object that is configured to the UE, e.g., measurement frequency or identity or object of any cell that configured by the network to the UE for RRM measurement”.);
receiving a target cell measurement result of the PScell addition or change sent by the terminal device (See, e.g., ¶[0072], “A successful PSCell change report … including … and/or measurement result(s);” ¶¶[0103] and [0106], “(3) information associated with the measurement frequency or identity or object that is configured to the UE, e.g., measurement frequency or identity or object of any cell that configured by the network to the UE for RRM measurement”.); or
receiving a neighboring cell measurement result of the PScell addition or change sent by the terminal device.
Regarding claim 20, Yan discloses a communication device (Fig. 7, #700), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 7, #708); and
a memory (Fig. 7, #702) having stored therein a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the device to perform (See, ¶[0331], “the non-transitory computer-readable medium 702 may have stored thereon computer-executable instructions to cause a processor to implement the methods with respect to a UE or a network node (e.g., a MN or a source SN) as described or illustrated above.”):
recording relevant information of a PScell addition or change (See, e.g., Fig. 2, #201; and ¶[0066], “Based on the network configuration, a UE needs to log/generate/store/record successful PSCell change related parameters or successful CPAC related parameters when one or more trigger condition(s) is satisfied”) in response to triggering the successful PScell addition or change report (See, e.g., ¶[0066], “For successful PSCell change report reporting, configuration(s) for a UE to report the successful PSCell change (e.g., successPSCellChange-Config IE) is sent from the network, e.g., the network sends configuration(s) associated with trigger condition(s) for SPC-report to the UE;” and ¶[0079], “in operation 201, in response to fulfilling a trigger condition, a UE generates, logs, and/or stores information associated with a successful completion of a PSCell change procedure or a CPAC procedure (which is named as “1st information” for simplicity).”).
Regarding claim 21, Yan discloses a communication device (Fig. 7, #700), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 7, #708); and
a memory (Fig. 7, #702) having stored therein a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the device to perform the method of claim 15. (See, ¶[0331], “the non-transitory computer-readable medium 702 may have stored thereon computer-executable instructions to cause a processor to implement the methods with respect to a UE or a network node (e.g., a MN or a source SN) as described or illustrated above.” See, the above discussion of claim 15.):
Regarding claim 24, Yan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 7, #702) for storing instructions that, when executed, cause the method of claim 1 to be implemented (See, ¶[0331], “the non-transitory computer-readable medium 702 may have stored thereon computer-executable instructions to cause a processor to implement the methods with respect to a UE or a network node (e.g., a MN or a source SN) as described or illustrated above.” See, the above discussion of claim 1.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yan in view of Yan et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US2024/0205763) (hereinafter "Yan-1”).
Regarding claim 6/5, Yan teaches a method comprising all elements recited in claim 5 as discussed above.
Yan, while further teaching radio resource management (RRM) measurements of the cells involved in the PSCell change or CPAC procedure (See, e.g., ¶[0072], “A successful PSCell change report … including … and/or measurement result(s);” ¶¶[0103] and [0106], “(3) information associated with the measurement frequency or identity or object that is configured to the UE, e.g., measurement frequency or identity or object of any cell that configured by the network to the UE for RRM measurement”.), fails to explicitly teach that the source cell measurement result comprises at least one of:
at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of a cell-level synchronization signal block (SSB) or channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS); or
at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, or an SINR of each SSB or CSI-RS.
Yan-1 teaches that the source cell measurement result comprises at least one of:
at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP), a reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of a cell-level synchronization signal block (SSB) or channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS); or
at least one of an RSRP, an RSRQ, or an SINR of each SSB or CSI-RS (See, ¶[0049], “The trigger condition of “a UE successfully completes a RACH procedure to the target PSCell or a T-SN” can be treated as a default trigger condition. As described above, information relating to the PSCell change procedure may be named as “successful SN or PSCell change related information” or the like;” ¶[0051], “besides the abovementioned default trigger condition, there may be one or more other optional trigger condition(s)…. can include at least one of:”; and ¶[0083], (9) A link quality of the source PSCell is higher than a further quality threshold upon successfully completing the SN or PSCell change procedure. … the source PSCell's quality is represented by: a reference signal received power (RSRP); a reference signal received quality (RSRQ); and/or a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the a PSCell change or CPAC reporting procedure taught by Yan to incorporate the above teaching of Yan-1, i.e., the measurement of the RSRP, RSRQ and SINR as a part of a link quality measurements or a radio resource management (RRM) measurement, as such teaching would have been recognized by a person having an ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) as a well-known technical fact. See, e.g., MPEP §2144.I.
Regarding claim 9/2, Yan teaches a method comprising all elements recited in claim 2 as discussed above.
Yan, however, fails to teach explicitly that recording the time information of the PScell addition or change comprises at least one of:
recording a time interval between a reception time point of the PScell addition or change and an execution starting time point of the PScell addition or change; or
recording user plane interruption time information of the PScell change, wherein the user plane interruption time information is used to indicate a user plane interruption time of the terminal device when performing the PScell change.
Yan-1 teaches that recording the time information of the PScell addition or change comprises at least one of:
recording a time interval between a reception time point of the PScell addition or change and an execution starting time point of the PScell addition or change; or
recording user plane interruption time information of the PScell change, wherein the user plane interruption time information is used to indicate a user plane interruption time of the terminal device when performing the PScell change (See, ¶[0089], “the information relating to the PSCell change procedure stored by the UE in operation 202 includes at least one of:”; and ¶[0112], “(5) Interruption time for the SN or PSCell change procedure;” and ¶[0080], “(6) Interruption time for the SN or PSCell change procedure is higher than an interruption threshold. This interruption threshold may be configured in a RRC message (e.g., a RRCConnectionReconfiguration message) for the SN or PSCell change procedure or be predefined in the 3GPP standard specification.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the a PSCell change or CPAC reporting procedure taught by Yan to incorporate the above teaching of Yan-1, i.e., recording the HO interruption time, as such modification would be considered by one of ordinary skill in the art as obvious to try selection of known parameters recorded for legacy HO failure reports for similar mobility robustness optimization purposes (See, e.g., Yan-1, ¶[0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 12/2, Yan teaches a method comprising all elements recited in claim 2 as discussed above.
Yan, however, fails to teach explicitly that a data type of the random access information is radio access information common.
Yan-1 teaches that a data type of the random access information is radio access information common (See, ¶[0089], “the information relating to the PSCell change procedure stored by the UE in operation 202 includes at least one of:”; and ¶[0110] d) RACH related information, e.g., information for RACH procedure towards the target PSCell. For example, RACH related information includes RA-purpose and time or frequency information for RACH, e.g., the details can refer to RA-InformationCommon IE specified in TS38.331.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the a PSCell change or CPAC reporting procedure taught by Yan to incorporate the above teaching of Yan-1, i.e., recording the RA-InformationCommon IE, as such modification would be considered by one of ordinary skill in the art as obvious to try selection of known information element recorded for legacy HO failure reports for similar mobility robustness optimization purposes (See, e.g., Yan-1, ¶[0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 14/1, Yan teaches a method comprising all elements recited in claim 2 as discussed above.
Yan, however, fails to teach explicitly that the relevant information is recorded in a successful PScell addition or change variable report.
Yan-1 teaches that the relevant information is recorded in a successful PScell addition or change variable report (See, ¶[0123], “The transmitted message may include variable(s) that include the information relating to the PSCell change procedure, e.g., successful SN/PSCell change related variable “VarSuccessfulPSCellchange-Report”.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the a PSCell change or CPAC reporting procedure taught by Yan to incorporate the above teaching of Yan-1, i.e., the “VarSuccessfulPSCellchange-Report,” as such modification would be considered by one of ordinary skill in the art as obvious to try selection of known variable report for legacy HO failure reports for similar mobility robustness optimization purposes (See, e.g., Yan-1, ¶[0037]-[0038]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yan in view of Yan-1 and in further view of TS38.3312.
Regarding claim 10/9, Yan in view of Yan-1 teaches a method comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above.
Yan in view of Yan-1, however, fails to explicitly teach that a data type of the time information is an integer type.
TS38.331 teaches that a data type of the time information is an integer type (See, Pp. 418 and 425 reproduced below.).
upInterruptionTimeAtHO
This field is used to indicate the time elapsed between the time of arrival of the last PDCP PDU received from the source cell and the time of arrival of the first non-duplicate PDCP PDU received from the target cell, and it is measured at the time of arrival of the first non-duplicate PDCP PDU received from the target cell only in DAPS HO scenario. Value in milliseconds. The maximum value 1023 means 1023ms or longer.
(p. 425)
“UPInterruptionTimeAtHO-r17 ::= INTEGER (0..1023)” (p. 418)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the a PSCell change or CPAC reporting procedure taught by Yan to incorporate the above teaching of Yan-1, i.e., representing the interruption time in integer milliseconds, as such modification would be considered by one of ordinary skill in the art as a necessary part of the use of the interrupt time in compliance with 3GPP standards. (See, e.g., Yan-1, ¶[0080]). See, also MPEP §2141.III(A); and §2143.I(A), Example 2, the discussion of Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yan in view of TS38.331.
Regarding claim 13/2, Yan teaches a method comprising all elements recited in claim 2 as discussed above.
Yan, however, fails to teach explicitly that a data type of the C-RNTI information is a radio network temporary identifier value.
TS38.331 teaches that a data type of the C-RNTI information is a radio network temporary identifier value (See, Pp. 355 and 425 reproduced below.).
c-RNTI RNTI-Value,
(p. 353)
c-RNTI
This field indicates the C-RNTI assigned by the target PCell of the handover for which the successful HO report was generated.
(p. 425)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the a PSCell change or CPAC reporting procedure taught by Yan to incorporate the above teaching of Yan-1, i.e., representing the C-RNTI as a RNTI value, as such modification would be considered by one of ordinary skill in the art as a necessary part of the use of the C-RNTI in compliance with 3GPP standards. (See, e.g., Yan-1, ¶[0080]). See, also MPEP §2141.III(A); and §2143.I(A), Example 2, the discussion of Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
1) Parichehrehteroujeni et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2023/0397080) teaches various aspects pertinent to the claimed invention (See, e.g., Tables 7 and 8); and
2) Wang et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2024/0306048) teaches various aspects pertinent to the claimed invention (See, e.g., Figs. 2-5, and the descriptions thereof).
/K.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 August 26, 2026
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418
1 See Beijing Xiaomi Mobile Software Co., Ltd.’s IPR Information Statement and IPR Licensing Declaration and IPR
Information Statement Annex, ISLD-202209-065, pp 1 & 3 (listing the Application as “CN20228001345” and “CN115004775 A”), Retrieved from the Internet<URL: https://ipr.etsi.org/IPRDetails.aspx?IPRD_ID=7125&IPRD_TYPE_ID=2&MODE=2&sessionkey=cb02d6> (Year: 2022). A copy of the ISLD-202209-065 is being provided herewith.
2 3GPP TS 38.331 v17.0.0, 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol specification (Release 17) March 2022, 1221 pages. Previously made of record by the Applicant.