DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 09/26/2025 has been considered and entered. The response was considered but was not found to be persuasive. Therefore, the previous prior art rejections are maintained.
The rejections of claims 9, 11 – 14 based on indefiniteness was overcome by the amendment. The amendment does not overcome the rejection of claim 10 based on indefiniteness which is maintained.
The amendment also necessitates new grounds of rejections based on obviousness double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Also claim 10 recites a compound of formula (II) but does not provide the recited structure which is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 2, 4 – 9, 11 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Brewer (US 2014/0173973) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Brewer (US 2014/0173973)
In regards to claims 2, 15, 16, 19, Brewer teaches liquid fuel composition having diesel base fuel (abstract). The fuel is used in engines having EGR (Exhaust Gas Recirculation) system [0132]. The composition comprises one or more nitrogen-based detergents (i.e., detergent dispersants) such as polyisobutylene succinimides which are acylated products of polyamines, Mannich reaction products of phenols, aldehyde and polyamine, and quaternary ammonium compounds for removing, reducing or slowing the build-up of engine deposits which anticipates the claim or at least makes it obvious [0019, 0086 – 0091].
Brewer provides the method and teaches the fuel and the EGR system comprising it and thus provides for the method of reducing the impact of deposits in the EGR system by adding the fuel to the EGR [0019]. By adding the fuel comprising the detergent/dispersants nitrogen additives to the EGR system, similar properties as claimed such as the reduction in deposits, reduction in the formation of deposits on a cooler of the EGR system and/or reduction in deposits in the EGR system, improvements in power generation, torque, emissions, fuel efficiency, drivability etc., will be intrinsically provided.
In regards to claim 4, Brewer provides the method and teach the EGR system useful in off-road, railroad, stationary and marine engines which are similar to those in applicant’s disclosure and would be expected to use similar high pressure EGR systems of the claims (See applicant’s specification page 38 lines 33 – 34).
In regards to claims 5 – 8, Brewer teaches the composition having the claimed ingredients as previously stated. The succinimide is a reaction product of hydrocarbyl-substituted acylating agent with amine as previously discussed.
In regards to claim 9, 11, Brewer provides the method and teaches the composition having the quaternary ammonium salts comprising reaction products of PIBSA having Mw of 1000 with dimethyl aminopropylamine and methyl salicylate as discussed in WO2011/110860A1 which Brewer incorporates by reference [0090].
In regards to claim 12, Brewer provides the method and teaches the composition having succinimides which are reaction products of polyisobutene succinic anhydride and polyethylene polyamines of the claims as discussed in several prior arts incorporated by reference such as GB 960493 [0087].
In regards to claim 13, Brewer provides the method and teach the composition having Mannich detergent/dispersants prepared from formaldehyde, polyethylene polyamine and substituted phenol [0090]. Mannich detergents prepared from para-monoalkyl phenols of the claims are well known as discussed by EP 0385633 and which would have been obvious to have been used in Brewer as additives in fuels (see abstract & page 2 lines 37 – 49).
In regards to claim 14, Brewer provides the method and teaches the composition comprising additives such as detergents as previously stated. Additives can be present in the composition at from 0 to 10,000 ppmw in the composition which makes the claimed amounts obvious [0102].
In regards to claims 17, 18 Brewer provides the method and teaches the composition having the claimed limitations as previously stated. The diesel engine is an off-road engine [0075].
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 5 – 9, 17, 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, 27 – 31 of copending Application No. 18/859,448 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application teaches method for reducing deposits in the EGR of a diesel engine using a fuel comprising at least 4% of one or more nitrogen compounds including Mannich reaction products of an aldehyde and an amine, reaction products of a carboxylic acid acylating agent and an amine, Quaternary ammonium salt of methyl salicylate or dimethyl oxalate with a reaction product of dimethylaminopropylamine and polyisobutylene succinic anhydride, wherein the PIB has a molecular weight (Mn) of from 700 to 1300. Since the same additives of the claims are taught, the composition would be expected to have similar properties as recited in claim 19.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that there is no teaching of fuel with the claimed additives used in an EGR system and providing a reduction in the formation of deposits. The argument is not persuasive.
Brewer teaches fuel composition and additives for the fuel having the limitations a), b) and c) of the claims. The fuel composition is useful in a diesel engine comprising EGR. The additives comprise deposit controlling agents of the claims and would be expected to provide the effect of controlling deposits as claimed.
Applicant argues that using the deposit controlling agents provided surprising reduction in deposit control. The argument is not persuasive.
The reduction in deposit control using conventional deposit controlling agents which are nitrogen compounds such as succinimides, Mannich detergent/dispersants are well known in the art for providing deposit control. For instance, paragraph 0086 of Brewer clearly recites the function of deposit removal and reduction by the detergents.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771