DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on 10/25/2024.
Claims 1-10, 13, and 16-22 are currently pending.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is merely one sentence in length. Additional, the abstract is written in a claim format, the claim format is a broad outline of the invention that is written with a legal format. The abstract should be a brief description of the inventive concept that is separate from a claim format.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter for the following reasons.
With respect to claim 16 and 17, the claims recites a “computer-readable storage medium” and a “computer-readable storage media,” in accordance with applicant’s specification (filed on 10/25/2024) these may be “infrared or microwave” (paragraph [00221]). This subject matter is not one of the statutory categories of invention, it is not a process, machine, manufacture, or a composition of matter. “Infrared or microwave” transmissions are a form of energy and thus does not fall within one of the statutory categories.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13, 16-18, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LI et al. (US 2025/0175836 A1; hereafter LI).
With respect to claim 1, LI discloses a method for sending a measurement report (Abstract; Title), performed by a terminal device (UE, 115-a in FIG. 3; UE, 115-b of FIG. 9), comprising:
receiving configuration information (935 in FIG. 9; paragraph [0120]) sent by a network side device (Network Entity, 305 in FIG. 3; Network Entity, 905 in FIG. 9);
determining a measurement report according to the configuration information (935 in FIG. 9; paragraph [0120]), wherein the measurement report comprises a reference signal identifier of a reference signal, a layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) or layer 1-signal to interference plus noise ratio (L1-SINR) (paragraph [0086]), and
receiving beam information (paragraph [0101], see the reference signal associated with a beam); and
sending the measurement report (940 in FIG. 9) to the network side device (Network Entity, 305 in FIG. 3; Network Entity, 905 in FIG. 9).
With respect to claim 2, LI further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
acquiring the reference signal identifier according to the configuration information (paragraph [0105], see reference and resource ID); acquiring the L1-RSRP or the L1-SINR corresponding to the reference signal identifier, wherein each receiving beam corresponds to the reference signal identifier (paragraph [0105], see reference and resource ID);
acquiring the receiving beam information of each receiving beam (paragraph [0101], see the reference signal associated with a beam).
With respect to claim 6, LI further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the reference signal comprises at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) (paragraph [0084]).
With respect to claim 7, LI discloses a method for receiving a measurement report (Abstract; Title), performed by a network side device (Network Entity, 305 in FIG. 3; Network Entity, 905 in FIG. 9), comprising:
sending configuration information (935 in FIG. 9; paragraph [0120]) to a terminal device (UE, 115-a in FIG. 3; UE, 115-b of FIG. 9);
receiving a measurement report sent by the terminal device (UE, 115-a in FIG. 3; UE, 115-b of FIG. 9), wherein the measurement report comprises a reference signal identifier of a reference signal, a layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) or layer 1-signal to interference plus noise ratio (L1-SINR) (paragraph [0086]), and
receiving beam information (paragraph [0101], see the reference signal associated with a beam).
With respect to claim 9, LI further discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the reference signal comprises at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) (paragraph [0084]).
With respect to claim 10, LI discloses a terminal device (UE, 115-a in FIG. 3; UE, 115-b of FIG. 9), comprising a processor (1040, 1030 in FIG. 10) and a memory (1040, 1030 in FIG. 10) having a computer program (1035 in FIG. 10) stored thereon, wherein the processor is configured to:
receive configuration information (935 in FIG. 9; paragraph [0120]) sent by a network side device (Network Entity, 305 in FIG. 3; Network Entity, 905 in FIG. 9);
determine a measurement report based on the configuration information, wherein the measurement report comprises a reference signal identifier of a reference signal, a layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) or layer 1-signal to interference plus noise ratio (L1-SINR) (paragraph [0086]), and receiving beam information (paragraph [0101], see the reference signal associated with a beam); and
send the measurement report (940 in FIG. 9) to the network side device (Network Entity, 305 in FIG. 3; Network Entity, 905 in FIG. 9).
With respect to claim 13, LI discloses a network side device (Network Entity, 305 in FIG. 3; Network Entity, 905 in FIG. 9), configure to execute the method according to claim 7.
With respect to claim 16, LI discloses a computer-readable storage medium (paragraph [0009]) for storing instructions (paragraph [0009]), wherein when the instructions are executed, the method according to claim 1 is implemented.
With respect to claim 17, LI discloses a computer-readable storage medium (paragraph [0009]) for storing instructions (paragraph [0009]), wherein when the instructions are executed, the method according to claim 7 is implemented.
With respect to claim 18, LI further discloses the terminal device of claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to:
acquire the reference signal identifier according to the configuration information (paragraph [0105], see reference and resource ID); acquire the L1-RSRP or the L1-SINR corresponding to the reference signal identifier, wherein each receiving beam corresponds to the reference signal identifier (paragraph [0105], see reference and resource ID);
acquire the receiving beam information of each receiving beam (paragraph [0101], see the reference signal associated with a beam).
With respect to claim 22, LI further discloses the terminal device according to claim 10, wherein the reference signal comprises at least one of a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) (paragraph [0084]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 8, and 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 September 17, 2026