Preliminary Amendment
The amendment filed 10/23/2024 pursuant to 37 CFR 1.115 and 37 CFR 1.125 was entered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 10/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Filter and Multiplexer Having T-networks and Acoustic Resonators
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent Application Publication CN 109672422 A, published 4/23/2019 (“Wang”), cited by the applicant, a machine translation of which is provided herewith.
Wang discloses in Figs. 3, 10 and the corresponding description:
Claims 1 and 10
a filter (Fig. 3, annotated) comprising:
a first port (port A),
a second port (port B) and
at least one filtering unit (components connected between Ports A and B), wherein
each filtering unit of the at least one filtering unit comprises a T network (C1, C2, C4, L3) and a resonator (11);
the T network comprises a first capacitive element (C1), a second capacitive element (C2) and a first element (C4 and/or L3); and
the first capacitive element (C1) and the second capacitive element (C2) are connected in series between the first port (A) and the second port (B), the first element is connected to a node (Fig. 3, annotated) between the first capacitive element and the second capacitive element, and the resonator (11) is connected in parallel with the T network.
Regarding claims 10-18, Wang discloses a multiplexer comprising a plurality of filters as recited in claim 1. (Figs. 3 and 10).
Claims 2 and 11
wherein the first element comprises a first inductive element (L3), a first terminal of the first inductive element is connected to the node, and a second terminal of the first inductive element serves as a third port of the filter (Fig. 3, annotated). The point of connection, as annotated, is considered a port because a signal can be provided to or taken from the filter circuit at that point. See, e.g., Steven M. Kaplan, Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering Dictionary, p. 591, 2004, a copy of which is provided herewith.
Claims 3 and 12
wherein the first element comprises a third capacitive element (C4), a first terminal of the third capacitive element is connected to the node, and a second terminal of the third capacitive element serves as a third port of the filter (Fig. 3).
Claims 4 and 13
wherein the first element comprises a first inductive element (L3) and a third capacitive element (C4), and a circuit formed by the first inductive element and the third capacitive element connected in series or parallel is are connected to the node (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0136588 A1, published 4/30/2020 (“Alicioglu”).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Wang discloses all the limitations except an LC filtering element, wherein the LC filtering element and the at least one filtering unit are connected in series between the first port and the second port.
However, Alicioglu, in the same field of endeavor, discloses an LC filtering element (450 or 460) connected in series with a filtering unit (410 and/or 420) between the first port 431 and the second port 432 (Fig. 4, ¶¶29-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter/multiplexer of Wang by adding an LC element for the benefit of matching impedance with the first and/or the second node, as taught by Alicioglu (¶30).
Claims 6, 15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0244382 A1, published 8/24/2017 (“Lear”).
Regarding claims 6, 15, 19-20, Wang discloses all the limitations except wherein the filter comprises at least two filtering units, and the at least two filtering units are connected in series between the first port and the second port.
However, Lear, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a cascaded filter including four filtering units (Fig. 23-24, ¶¶90-95, filtering units 20, 76, 100, 102) connected in series between the first port (OUT1) and the second port (OUT2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter/multiplexer of Wang by cascading at least two filtering units for the benefit of improving the filter characteristics, as taught by Lear (¶95).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Wang in view of Lear discloses a fourth port (IN) provided between the at least two filtering units (Lear, Fig. 23, ¶94).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter/multiplexer of Wang by providing a fourth port between at least two filtering units for the benefit of providing a duplexer with different filtering responses, as taught by Lear (¶94).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lear as applied to claims 6 and 15 above, and further in view of Alicioglu.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Wang in view of Lear discloses all the limitations except an LC filtering unit connected in series between the at least two filtering units.
However, Alicioglu, in the same field of endeavor, discloses an LC filtering unit (450 or 460) connected in series with a filtering unit (410 and/or 420) between the first port 431 and the second port 432 (Fig. 4, ¶¶29-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter/multiplexer of Wang by adding an LC filtering unit of Alicioglu for the benefit of matching impedance between the filtering units, as taught by Alicioglu (¶30).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lear as applied to claims 6 and 15 above, and further in view of A. Zverev, Handbook of Filter Synthesis, 1967, pp. 43-44, 488-490 (“Zverev”).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Wang in view of Lear discloses all the limitations except wherein transmission zeros of different filtering units of the at least two filtering units correspond to equal frequencies.
However, Zverev, in the same field of endeavor, teaches cascading identical filtering sections, that is, different filtering units with transmission zeros corresponding to equal frequencies, for the benefit of improving the filter characteristics (pp. 43-44, 488-490).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter/multiplexer of Wang by having transmission zeros of different cascaded filtering units correspond to equal frequencies, as taught by Zverev (pp. 43-44, 488-490).
In addition, it was well-known in the art to arrange the distribution of zeros and poles to ensure equal maximum in the passband and equal minimum in the stopband of the filter. See, e.g., Zverev, p. 43. Thus, the selection of transmission zeros and corresponding frequencies would have been considered obvious design considerations known to one of ordinary skill in the art. In addition, the relative transmission zeros of different filtering units may be set (greater, smaller, equal or different) as a result of a routine, computer-based optimization to achieve the desired characteristics of the filter as known in the art (MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)) and/or simply obvious to try as there are only limited choices of the relationships (greater, smaller, same, or different). MPEP 2143(I)(E).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0338801 A1, published 11/23/2017 (“Hey-Shipton”) discloses filters (Fig. 7A) and multiplexers (Fig. 11) including T networks of two capacitors in series and an inductor with an acoustic resonator in parallel with the T network (¶¶53-54, 61).
/VICTOR COLE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843