Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/26/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 06/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paul (US2048598A).
Regarding claim 1, Paul discloses a tool head (fig.2 and pages 1-2) for manufacturing a separation disc (capable to be used), the tool head comprising:
a ball (figs.2 and 8: (2)) configured to bear on a work piece to form the separation disc on a rotating mandrel (fig.8: (8));
a holder (fig.2: (1)) configured to hold the ball; and
a fastener (fig.2: (11)) configured to detachably and rotatably arrange the ball element at the holder.
Regarding claim 2, Paul discloses wherein the fastener is detachably arranged on the holder by a threaded joint (fig.2: (12)).
Regarding claim 3, Paul discloses wherein the fastener comprises an opening through which a part of the ball is configured to protrude (fig.2).
Regarding claim 4, Paul discloses wherein the fastener comprises grippers configured for tightening and loosening the fastener at the holder (fig.2: see the grippers of element (15)).
Regarding claim 5, Paul discloses wherein the holder comprises a cavity for at least partly accommodating the ball (fig.2).
Regarding claim 6, Paul discloses wherein the holder (fig.1: (1)) is provided with a first control surface and the fastener (fig.1: (11)) is provided with a second control surface, the first and second control surfaces being configured to control a position of the ball (fig.2).
Regarding claim 17, Paul discloses wherein the fastener comprises an opening through which a part of the ball is configured to protrude fig.2).
Regarding claim 18, Paul discloses wherein the fastener comprises grippers configured for tightening and loosening the fastener at the holding device (fig.2: see the grippers of element (15)).
Regarding claim 19, Paul discloses wherein the fastener comprises grippers configured for tightening and loosening the fastener at the holding device (fig.2: see the grippers of element (15)).
Regarding claim 20, Paul discloses wherein the holder comprises a cavity for at least partly accommodating the ball (fig.2).
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gilbert (EP1195206A1 attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Gilbert discloses a tool head (fig.3a: (6)) for manufacturing a separation disc (capable to be used), the tool head comprising:
a ball (figs.3a: (63)) configured to bear on a work piece to form the separation disc on a rotating mandrel (fig.1: (3));
a holder (figs.3a: (60)) configured to hold the ball; and
a fastener (figs.3a: (66) and (67)) configured to detachably and rotatably arrange the ball element at the holder.
Regarding claim 5, Gilbert discloses wherein the holder comprises a cavity for at least partly accommodating the ball (fig.3a).
Regarding claim 7, Gilbert discloses wherein the holder comprises a fluid channel (figs.3a: (69)) for providing pressure fluid on the ball.
Regarding claim 9, Gilbert discloses wherein the holder comprises a fluid channel (figs.3a: (69)) for providing pressure fluid on the ball,
wherein the fluid channel extends to the cavity (fig.3a), and
wherein the cavity is larger than the ball such that the cavity functions as a reservoir for pressure fluid behind the ball (fig.3a).
Regarding claim 10, Gilbert discloses wherein the ball is made of a heat dissipating material (paragraph 0048: ceramic).
Regarding claim 12, Gilbert discloses wherein the tool head is configured to be connected to a machine tool, the machine tool being connected to a controller, and wherein the machine tool is configured to be controlled by the controller (paragraph 0045).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul (GB307034A).
Regarding claim 10, Paul does not disclose wherein the ball is made of a heat dissipating material;
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to Paul to have wherein the ball is made of a heat dissipating material to provide the functionality to act as a ball, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its properties for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. In Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claims 11 and 16, Paul discloses wherein the ball has (fig.2: (2))) a spherical shape;
Paul does not disclose with a diameter in the range of 10-40 mm; and a diameter in the range of 15-30 mm.
However, choosing the dimensions of the parts is known in art and would have resulted from engineering practices that depends on the general design and the required dimensions of the parts as desired;
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the dimension of ball is desired, including a diameter in the range of 10-40 mm; and a diameter in the range of 15-30 mm in order to obtain a ball with specific dimensions as desired.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbert (EP1195206A1) in view of Ostertag (US4947668A).
Regarding claim 8, Gilbert does not disclose wherein the fastener comprises at least one outlet channel for the pressure fluid.
Ostertag teaches a fastener (figs.1 and 15: (4)) comprises at least one outlet channel (figs.1 and 14: (12)) for a pressure fluid;
Both of the prior arts of Gilbert and Ostertag are related to a tool head comprising a ball;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fastener of the apparatus of Gilbert to have at least one outlet channel for the pressure fluid as taught by Ostertag, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725