Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1, 2, 5-9, 12, 13 & 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1as being anticipated by Deng et al. US 2019/0036569 A1.
Claims 1 and 28:
Deng discloses a method for determining precoding based on a codebook, performed by a terminal, the method comprising: determining, based on at least one channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (See para 36, “the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information include CSI-RS resources of N coordinated transmission points”), channel information corresponding to each CSI-RS resource (See para 17, “the performing corresponding CSI feedback includes: feeding back N groups of CSI based on the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information configured by a network side, where each group of CSI includes one or a combination of the following information: a rank indicator RI, a precoding matrix indicator PMI”); and sending, according to the channel information determined corresponding to each CSI- RS resource and codebook parameter information, CSI to a network device, wherein the CSI comprises indication information corresponding to a plurality of CSI-RS resources and indication information corresponding to each CSI-RS resource, or the CSI comprises indication information corresponding to a plurality of port groups in one CSI-RS resource and indication information corresponding to each port group, the port group comprises a plurality of CSI-RS ports corresponding to the CSI-RS resource (See para 17, “the performing corresponding CSI feedback includes: feeding back N groups of CSI based on the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information configured by a network side, where each group of CSI includes one or a combination of the following information: a rank indicator RI, a precoding matrix indicator PMI”); wherein the CSI is configured to determine precoding of the terminal based on a codebook structure corresponding to the codebook parameter information (See para 156, “selects a precoding matrix from a preconfigured precoding matrix set (that is, a codebook)”).
With regards to claim 28, a processor and a transceiver connected to the processor (See fig. 11, transceiver and processor).
Claims 2 and 13:
Deng discloses that the CSI comprises at least one of following information: N pieces of spatial domain basis vector indication information or N pieces of port selection indication information, where N is the same as a number of the CSI-RS resources or a number of the port groups, and N is a positive integer greater than 1 (See para 169, “the first CSI measurement configuration information is a CSI-RS resource configured for a cell 1 in a coordination set. The coordination set further includes a cell 2. In this case, interference corresponding to the cell 1 (that is, interference to the cell 1) includes interference outside an antenna port specified by the CSI-RS resource configured for the cell 1”).
Claim 5:
The limitation is reliant on an alternate limitation that the Examiner did not elect in their original rejection and are not rejected by the Examiner.
Claim 6:
Deng discloses that sending, according to the channel information determined corresponding to each CSI-RS resource and codebook parameter information, CSI to the network device comprises:
determining, according to channel information or valid channel information corresponding to each CSI-RS resource and the codebook parameter information, the spatial domain basis vector indication information or the port selection indication information, the combination coefficient indication information and the frequency domain basis vector indication information (See para 17, “the performing corresponding CSI feedback includes: feeding back N groups of CSI based on the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information configured by a network side, where each group of CSI includes one or a combination of the following information: a rank indicator RI, a precoding matrix indicator PMI”); and sending the CSI to the network device, wherein the CSI comprises the spatial domain basis vector indication information or the port selection indication information, the combination coefficient indication information and the frequency domain basis vector indication information (See para 17, “the performing corresponding CSI feedback includes: feeding back N groups of CSI based on the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information configured by a network side, where each group of CSI includes one or a combination of the following information: a rank indicator RI, a precoding matrix indicator PMI”).
Claim 7:
Deng discloses receiving configuration information from the network device, wherein the configuration information is used to configure the codebook parameter information, and the codebook parameter information is used by the terminal to determine the CSI (See para 17, “the performing corresponding CSI feedback includes: feeding back N groups of CSI based on the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information configured by a network side, where each group of CSI includes one or a combination of the following information: a rank indicator RI, a precoding matrix indicator PMI”).
Claim 8:
Deng discloses sending first indication information to the network device, wherein the first indication information indicates an adopted codebook structure; or receiving second indication information from the network device, wherein the second indication information indicates an adopted codebook structure (See para 156, “selects a precoding matrix from a preconfigured precoding matrix set (that is, a codebook)”).
Claim 9:
Deng discloses that the CSI-RS resource is a channel measurement resource (CMR) (See para 36, “the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information include CSI-RS resources of N coordinated transmission points”).
Claim 10:
Deng discloses different CMRs belong to a same CSI-RS resource set or different CSI-RS resource sets (See para 36, “the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information include CSI-RS resources of N coordinated transmission points”. It is understood that either different CMRs will be belong to the same or different resource sets).
Claims 12 and 29:
Deng discloses a method for determining precoding based on a codebook, performed by a network device, the method comprising: receiving channel status information (CSI) from a terminal, wherein the CSI comprises indication information corresponding to a plurality of channel status information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources and indication information corresponding to each CSI-RS resource, or the CSI comprises indication information corresponding to a plurality of port groups in one CSI-RS resource and indication information corresponding to each port group, the port group comprises a plurality of CSI-RS ports corresponding to the CSI-RS resource, and the CSI is determined by a terminal based on channel information corresponding to each CSI- RS resource in at least one CSI-RS resource and codebook parameter information (See para 17, “the performing corresponding CSI feedback includes: feeding back N groups of CSI based on the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information configured by a network side, where each group of CSI includes one or a combination of the following information: a rank indicator RI, a precoding matrix indicator PMI”); and determining, according to the CSI and a codebook structure corresponding to the codebook parameter information, precoding of the terminal (See para 156, “selects a precoding matrix from a preconfigured precoding matrix set (that is, a codebook)”).
With regards to claim 29, a processor and a transceiver connected to the processor (See fig. 12, transceiver and processor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 15, 17, 19 & 21are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. in view of Ahmed et al. US 2025/0226865 A1
Claim 11:
Deng doesn’t disclose each of the plurality of CSI- RS resources correspond to one transmission reception point (TRP), and at least two TRPs are configured for coherent joint transmission (CJT); or each of the plurality of port groups in the one CSI-RS resource corresponds to one TRP, and at least two TRPs are configured for CJT.
Ahmed discloses each of the plurality of CSI- RS resources corresponds to one transmission reception point (TRP), and at least two TRPs are configured for coherent joint transmission (CJT); or each of the plurality of port groups in the one CSI-RS resource corresponds to one TRP, and at least two TRPs are configured for CJT (See para 48, “a port group configuration indicating at least two groups of antenna ports in a channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, resource set comprising one or more CSI-RS resources, the at least two CSI-RS port groups being associated with at least two respective transmission reception points, TRPs, using coherent joint transmission, CJT, for downlink, DL, communication”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deng with the teachings of Ahmed to improve the method disclosed by Deng by including the feature of CJT. The motivation to combine would have been to improve coverage, capacity and performance.
Claim 21:
Deng discloses sending configuration information to the terminal, wherein the configuration information is used to configure the codebook parameter information (See para 36, “the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information include CSI-RS resources of N coordinated transmission points”), and the codebook parameter information is used by the terminal to determine the CSI (See para 156, “selects a precoding matrix from a preconfigured precoding matrix set (that is, a codebook)”); and receiving first indication information from the terminal, wherein the first indication information indicates an adopted codebook structure; or sending second indication information to the terminal, wherein the second indication information indicates an adopted codebook structure (See para 156, “selects a precoding matrix from a preconfigured precoding matrix set (that is, a codebook)”); the CSI-RS resource is a channel measurement resource (CMR) (See para 36, “the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information include CSI-RS resources of N coordinated transmission points”); different CMRs belong to a same CSI-RS resource set or different CSI-RS resource sets (See para 36, “the N pieces of associated CSI measurement configuration information include CSI-RS resources of N coordinated transmission points”. It is understood that either different CMRs will be belong to the same or different resource sets).
Deng doesn’t disclose each of the plurality of CSI-RS resources corresponds to one transmission reception point (TRP), and at least two TRPs are configured for coherent joint transmission (CJT); or each of the plurality of port groups in the one CSI-RS resource corresponds to a TRP, and at least two TRPs are configured for CJT.
Ahmed discloses the CSI-RS resource is a channel measurement resource (CMR); wherein different CMRs belong to a same CSI-RS resource set or different CSI-RS resource sets; wherein each of the plurality of CSI-RS resources corresponds to one transmission reception point (TRP), and at least two TRPs are configured for coherent joint transmission (CJT); or each of the plurality of port groups in the one CSI-RS resource corresponds to a TRP, and at least two TRPs are configured for CJT (See para 48, “a port group configuration indicating at least two groups of antenna ports in a channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, resource set comprising one or more CSI-RS resources, the at least two CSI-RS port groups being associated with at least two respective transmission reception points, TRPs, using coherent joint transmission, CJT, for downlink, DL, communication”).
Claim 15:
Deng doesn’t discloses that the CSI comprises at least one of following information: G pieces of spatial domain basis vector indication information or G pieces of port selection indication information; G pieces of combination coefficient indication information; or G pieces of frequency domain basis vector indication information; wherein G is the same as a number of CSI-RS resource groups in the plurality of CSI- RS resources, and the CSI-RS resource group comprises at least one CSI-RS resource, or G is the same as a number of first groups among the plurality of port groups in the one CSI-RS resource, and the first group comprises at least one port group, and G is a positive integer greater than 1.
Ahmed discloses that the CSI comprises at least one of following information: G pieces of spatial domain basis vector indication information or G pieces of port selection indication information; G pieces of combination coefficient indication information; or G pieces of frequency domain basis vector indication information; wherein G is the same as a number of CSI-RS resource groups in the plurality of CSI- RS resources, and the CSI-RS resource group comprises at least one CSI-RS resource, or G is the same as a number of first groups among the plurality of port groups in the one CSI-RS resource, and the first group comprises at least one port group, and G is a positive integer greater than 1 (See para 37, “The common set of precoding parameters may include (e.g. linear) combination (or combining) coefficients of basis components. For instance, the combining coefficients provide for a weighted combination of selected basis components. For instance, the combination coefficients may provide for a weighted combination of the columns of the spatial domain matrix W.sub.1. For instance, the combination coefficients are provided as a linear combination subband matrix W.sub.2, e.g. as defined in Rel. 15 (spanning L beams per polarization and N.sub.3 frequency bands, i.e. having dimension 2L×N.sub.3). For instance, the combination coefficients are provided as a frequency compressed combination subband matrix W.sub.2, e.g. as defined in Rel. 16 (spanning L beams per polarization and M selected frequency basis, e.g. having dimension 2L×M, which may be determined based on a product of a matrix containing the combination coefficients of the selected basis components for the respective sub-bands (e.g. dimension 2L×N.sub.3) and an FD compression matrix W.sub.f (e.g. dimension N.sub.3×M)). For instance, the common set of precoding parameters across the at least two CSI-RS port groups includes non-zero combination coefficients applied to the selected basis components to form a subband precoder. For instance, the common set of precoding parameters across the at least two CSI-RS port groups includes non-zero combination coefficients applied to the selected CSI-RS ports to form a wideband or subband precoder”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deng with the teachings of Ahmed to improve the method disclosed by Deng by including the feature of spatial domain vector, coefficient indication and port group. The motivation to enhance throughput.
Claim 17:
Deng doesn’t disclose that the CSI comprises at least one of following information: spatial domain basis vector indication information, wherein the spatial domain basis vector indication information corresponds to the plurality of CSI-RS resources, or the plurality of port groups in the one CSI-RS resource; combination coefficient indication information, wherein the combination coefficient indication information corresponds to the plurality of CSI-RS resources, or the plurality of port groups in the one CSI-RS resource; frequency domain basis vector indication information, wherein the frequency domain basis vector indication information corresponds to the plurality of CSI-RS resources, or the plurality of port groups in the one CSI-RS resource.
Ahmed discloses that the CSI comprises at least one of following information: spatial domain basis vector indication information, wherein the spatial domain basis vector indication information corresponds to the plurality of CSI-RS resources, or the plurality of port groups in the one CSI-RS resource; combination coefficient indication information, wherein the combination coefficient indication information corresponds to the plurality of CSI-RS resources, or the plurality of port groups in the one CSI-RS resource; frequency domain basis vector indication information, wherein the frequency domain basis vector indication information corresponds to the plurality of CSI-RS resources, or the plurality of port groups in the one CSI-RS resource (See para 37, “The common set of precoding parameters may include (e.g. linear) combination (or combining) coefficients of basis components. For instance, the combining coefficients provide for a weighted combination of selected basis components. For instance, the combination coefficients may provide for a weighted combination of the columns of the spatial domain matrix W.sub.1. For instance, the combination coefficients are provided as a linear combination subband matrix W.sub.2, e.g. as defined in Rel. 15 (spanning L beams per polarization and N.sub.3 frequency bands, i.e. having dimension 2L×N.sub.3). For instance, the combination coefficients are provided as a frequency compressed combination subband matrix W.sub.2, e.g. as defined in Rel. 16 (spanning L beams per polarization and M selected frequency basis, e.g. having dimension 2L×M, which may be determined based on a product of a matrix containing the combination coefficients of the selected basis components for the respective sub-bands (e.g. dimension 2L×N.sub.3) and an FD compression matrix W.sub.f (e.g. dimension N.sub.3×M)). For instance, the common set of precoding parameters across the at least two CSI-RS port groups includes non-zero combination coefficients applied to the selected basis components to form a subband precoder. For instance, the common set of precoding parameters across the at least two CSI-RS port groups includes non-zero combination coefficients applied to the selected CSI-RS ports to form a wideband or subband precoder”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deng with the teachings of Ahmed to improve the method disclosed by Deng by including the feature of spatial domain vector, coefficient indication and port group. The motivation to enhance throughput.
Claim 19:
Deng doesn’t disclose that the combination coefficient indication information comprises non-zero coefficient information and non-zero coefficient position information, the non-zero coefficient information indicates non-zero coefficient(s) in the combination coefficient indication information, and the non-zero coefficient position information indicates a position of the non-zero coefficient in the combination coefficient indication information; and wherein receiving the CSI from the terminal comprises: receiving the CSI from the terminal, wherein the CSI comprises the spatial domain basis vector indication information or the port selection indication information, the combination coefficient indication information and the frequency domain basis vector indication information; the spatial domain basis vector indication information or the port selection indication information, the combination coefficient indication information and the frequency domain basis vector indication information are determined by the terminal according to channel information or valid channel information corresponding to each CSI-RS resource and the codebook parameter information.
Ahmed discloses that the combination coefficient indication information comprises non-zero coefficient information and non-zero coefficient position information, the non-zero coefficient information indicates non-zero coefficient(s) in the combination coefficient indication information, and the non-zero coefficient position information indicates a position of the non-zero coefficient in the combination coefficient indication information; and wherein receiving the CSI from the terminal comprises: receiving the CSI from the terminal, wherein the CSI comprises the spatial domain basis vector indication information or the port selection indication information, the combination coefficient indication information and the frequency domain basis vector indication information; the spatial domain basis vector indication information or the port selection indication information, the combination coefficient indication information and the frequency domain basis vector indication information are determined by the terminal according to channel information or valid channel information corresponding to each CSI-RS resource and the codebook parameter information (See para 37, “The common set of precoding parameters may include (e.g. linear) combination (or combining) coefficients of basis components. For instance, the combining coefficients provide for a weighted combination of selected basis components. For instance, the combination coefficients may provide for a weighted combination of the columns of the spatial domain matrix W.sub.1. For instance, the combination coefficients are provided as a linear combination subband matrix W.sub.2, e.g. as defined in Rel. 15 (spanning L beams per polarization and N.sub.3 frequency bands, i.e. having dimension 2L×N.sub.3). For instance, the combination coefficients are provided as a frequency compressed combination subband matrix W.sub.2, e.g. as defined in Rel. 16 (spanning L beams per polarization and M selected frequency basis, e.g. having dimension 2L×M, which may be determined based on a product of a matrix containing the combination coefficients of the selected basis components for the respective sub-bands (e.g. dimension 2L×N.sub.3) and an FD compression matrix W.sub.f (e.g. dimension N.sub.3×M)). For instance, the common set of precoding parameters across the at least two CSI-RS port groups includes non-zero combination coefficients applied to the selected basis components to form a subband precoder. For instance, the common set of precoding parameters across the at least two CSI-RS port groups includes non-zero combination coefficients applied to the selected CSI-RS ports to form a wideband or subband precoder”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Deng with the teachings of Ahmed to improve the method disclosed by Deng by including the feature of spatial domain vector, coefficient indication and port group. The motivation to enhance throughput.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 16 & 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
HASHIM S. BHATTI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475