DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwak et al. (US Publication 2020/0028645 A1).
In regards to claims 1, 10 and 11, Kwak et al. (US Publication 2020/0028645 A1) teaches, a method performed the method comprising: receiving a first reference signal (RS) for first wireless communication (see paragraph 17; a pattern of a downlink demodulation reference signal used for demodulating a short physical downlink control channel (sPDCCH)); and receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for the first wireless communication based on the first RS (see paragraph 17; a pattern of a downlink demodulation reference signal used for demodulating a short physical downlink control channel (sPDCCH)), wherein based on that the first RS overlaps with a second RS for [[the]] second wireless communication in at least one symbol in a time domain (see paragraph 17; in a short TTI (sTTI) structure is newly defined so that the downlink demodulation reference signal may not collide with a legacy cell-specific reference signal (CRS) and a legacy channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); reads on an overlap/collision happening), a frequency domain interval between resource elements (REs) to which the first RS is mapped is changed from a first RE interval to a second RE interval in the at least one overlapping symbol (see paragraph 119; the method of avoiding collision with the CRS by shifting the DM-RS in the direction of a frequency axis (v-shift) according to the v.sub.shift value of the CRS may be extended).
In regards to claim 2, Kwak teaches, wherein the first wireless communication is wireless communication based on 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) New Radio (NR) (see paragraph 2; designing the next-generation mobile communication system called new radio access technology (RAT)), and wherein the second wireless communication is wireless communication based on 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE) (see paragraph 39; In 3GPP LTE-A systems, a UE can measure downlink channel state from a specific node using one or more CSI-RSs (Channel State Information Reference Signals)).
In regards to claim 3, Kwak teaches, wherein the first RS is a 3GPP NR demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for the PDCCH , and wherein the second reference signal is a 3GPP LTE cell-specific signal (CRS) (see paragraph 99; a DM-RS may collide with a legacy PDCCH region when the size of the legacy PDCCH region is 3 OFDM symbols. In addition, if a CSI-RS is transmitted in the third and fourth OFDM symbols (i.e., OFDM symbols 2 and 3) of the second slot, the DM-RS may collide with the CSI-RS).
In regards to claim 4, Kwak teaches, wherein the second RE interval is a 3-RE interval or a 6-RE interval (see paragraph 13; the RS for decoding the DL channel may be applied to 2, 4, or 6 resource elements per antenna port in every sTTI of one resource block).
In regards to claim 5, Kwak teaches, wherein the first RE interval is a 4-RE interval (see paragraph 55; a CCE corresponds to 9 REGs and an REG (resource element group) corresponds to 4 REs).
In regards to claim 6, Kwak teaches, wherein the second RE interval is determined based on a frequency domain interval between REs to which the second RS is mapped (see paragraph 116; A DM-RS pattern that differs according to the v.sub.shift value of the CRS may be considered. Simply, v.sub.shift of the DM-RS may be applied according to the v.sub.shift value of the CRS of a serving cell).
In regards to claim 7, Kwak teaches, wherein the second RE interval is an integer multiple of a frequency domain interval between REs to which the second RS is mapped (see paragraph 132; FIG. 14 illustrates examples of 4-AP DM-RS patterns that vary with v.sub.shift values 0, 1, and 2 of a 4-AP CRS in a subframe including a 4-AP CSI-RS of CSI-RS configuration 4 in an sTTI structure of <2,3,2,2,2,3> pattern).
In regards to claim 8, Kwak teaches, wherein in the at least one overlapping symbol, the REs to which the first RS is mapped are different from REs to which the second RS is mapped (see paragraph 99; use of DM-RS pattern B may be problematic. If DM-RS pattern B is used in an sTTI of the first slot (i.e., a 7-OS sTTI), a DM-RS may collide with a legacy PDCCH region when the size of the legacy PDCCH region is 3 OFDM symbols. In addition, if a CSI-RS is transmitted in the third and fourth OFDM symbols (i.e., OFDM symbols 2 and 3) of the second slot, the DM-RS may collide with the CSI-RS. To solve such collision, DM-RS pattern A is used in an sTTI of the first slot. The same DM-RS pattern (i.e., DM-RS pattern A) is used in an sTTI of the second slot. In this case, a DM-RS pattern in the sTTI of the first slot is equal to a DM-RS pattern in 2-OS sTTI2 and a DM-RS pattern in the sTTI of the second slot is equal to a DM-RS pattern in 2-OS sTTI4; see paragraph 114; a DM-RS in an sTTI should be located at a position except for a region in which a CRS is located. The CRS may be located in sTTI0, sTTI1, sTTI3, or sTTI5. Since the location of the CRS may differ according to frequency shift, i.e., a v-shift (v.sub.shift) value, caused by a physical cell ID PCellID, it may be impossible to design a common fixed DM-RS pattern capable of avoiding collision with the CRS in all sTTI of a normal subframe).
In regards to claim 9, Kwak teaches, wherein in symbols in which the first RS and the second RS do not overlap, the first RS is mapped at the first RE interval in a frequency domain (see the DMRS and CSIRS patterns on figures 11, 12, 13 and 14).
In regards to claim 12, Kwak teaches, a transceiver configured to transmit or receive wireless signals under control of the processor, wherein the device is a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (see the UE device of figure 15 with a transmitter/receiver and a processor).
In regards to claim 13, Kwak teaches wherein the device is an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or a digital signal processor configured to control a use equipment (UE) (see paragraph 137; In a hardware configuration, Application Specific Integrated Circuits (ASICs), Digital Signal Processors (DSPs), Digital Signal Processing Devices (DSPDs), Programmable Logic Devices (PLDs), or Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs) may be included in the processors 11 and 21).
In regards to claim 14, Kwak teaches, a method performed by a base station (BS) the method comprising: transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for first wireless communication(see paragraph 17; a pattern of a downlink demodulation reference signal used for demodulating a short physical downlink control channel (sPDCCH)); and transmitting a first reference signal (RS) for the PDCCH (see paragraph 17; a pattern of a downlink demodulation reference signal used for demodulating a short physical downlink control channel (sPDCCH)), wherein based on that the first RS overlaps with a second RS for second wireless communication in at least one symbol in a time domain (see paragraph 17; in a short TTI (sTTI) structure is newly defined so that the downlink demodulation reference signal may not collide with a legacy cell-specific reference signal (CRS) and a legacy channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); reads on an overlap/collision happening), a frequency domain interval between resource elements (REs) to which the first RS is mapped is changed from a first RE interval to a second RE interval in the at least one overlapping symbol (see paragraph 119; the method of avoiding collision with the CRS by shifting the DM-RS in the direction of a frequency axis (v-shift) according to the v.sub.shift value of the CRS may be extended).
Relevant Prior Art
Prior art Gupta et al. (US Publication 2019/0141703 A1) teaches multiple DMRS patterns to avoid collisions with a CSI-RS (see figures 3 through 9C).
Prior art Schober et al. (US Publication 2021/0195619 A1) teaches, in figure 3, a resource mapping where DM-RS ports are configured on a legacy LTE TTI.
Conclusion
/JAY P PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466