DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to communications received on October 23, 2024. Claims 1-19 are pending and addressed below.
Specification
For the record, Examiner acknowledges that the Specification submitted on October 23, 2024 has been accepted.
Drawings
For the record, Examiner acknowledges that the Drawings submitted on October 23-24, 2024 have been accepted.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Limitations “monitoring means” and “security means” in claim 1 are considered to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “one or more module BMSs of level 1 are connected to each other.” It is not possible to have one module connected to each other. Therefore, the limitation is unclear. Similarly, claim 3 recites the limitation “one or more pack BMSs of level 2 are connected to each other.” It is not possible to have one pack connected to each other. Therefore, the limitation is unclear. Dependent claims 4-9 are rejected for containing the same indefinite language as parent claim 3 without further remedying the indefinite language.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the plurality of module BMSs of level 1.” There is no direct antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “transmitting the same to each pack.” It is unclear what entity “same” is referring to.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "such as". This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Also, claim 8 recites the limitations “the collected information” and “the EMS”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the physical switch.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stouffer et al. (“Guide to Industrial Control Systems (ICS) Security” and hereinafter referred to as Stouffer) in view of Sudan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0354234 and hereinafter referred to as Sudan).
As to claim 1, Stouffer discloses a security management system having:
a monitoring means configured to observe a state (sections 5.16, 5.17 and SI-4, Stouffer teaches monitoring industrial control systems); and
a security means configured to block or stop an operation of the system in another domain separate from a network switch in response to unauthorized access to or an abnormal state of the system (sections 5.1, 5.3, 5.4, 5.13, 6.2.8 and CP-2, Stouffer teaches stopping operation of an ICS by for example, blocking communication or shutting down, in response to either abnormal conditions or attacks involving unauthorized access. Stouffer teaches this may occur in separate domains involving network switches/gateways.). Stouffer does not specifically disclose an energy storage system (ESS) as claimed. However, Sudan does disclose
an energy storage system (ESS) (paragraphs [0007] and [0086], Sudan teaches an energy storage system that shuts down in response to abnormal operation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Stouffer with the teachings of Sudan for using an energy storage system (ESS) because Stouffer already discloses a system (ICS) and it is a simple substitution to replace the system of Stouffer with the ESS of Sudan to yield the predictable results of protecting an ESS.
As to claim 2, the combination of teachings between Stouffer and Sudan disclose the ESS security management system of claim 1, wherein the monitoring means comprises two or more monitoring levels having different monitoring ranges, the monitoring levels being connected to each other via a network communication line, the monitoring levels having functions of transmitting and receiving signals or giving or enforcing commands (paragraphs [0020], [0030], [0036], [0047] and Fig. 1, Sudan teaches a battery management system (BMS) and a control, protection and power management unit (CPPM) connected to each other and used for control and command of the power system. The BMS and CPPM monitor different aspects/ranges.).
Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of the references as in claim 1 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 and 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3-9 and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 recites, inter alia, “level 1 comprising a module battery management system (BMS) directly connected to a plurality of battery cells; level 2 comprising a pack BMS in which one or more module BMSs of level 1 are connected to each other; level 3 comprising a system BMS in which one or more pack BMSs of level 2 are connected to each other and comprising a power management system (PMS) configured to control one or more of heating and cooling, load, and grid; and level 4 comprising one or more of level 3 and comprising an energy management system (EMS) configured to control one or more of an ESS and a power system in various region”. The prior art was not found to disclose the particular combination of limitations cited. Therefore, claim 3 is considered to recite allowable subject matter over the prior art. Dependent claims 4-9 are considered to recite allowable subject matter over the prior art based on their dependency.
Claim 10, inter alia, “a dual domain switch control system connected to the network communication line, the dual domain switch control system being configured to selectively block unauthorized access to or abnormal operation of at least one of the first battery management system and the second battery management system”. The prior art was not found to disclose the particular combination of limitations cited. Therefore, claim 10 is considered to recite allowable subject matter over the prior art. Dependent claims 11-19 are considered to recite allowable subject matter over the prior art based on their dependency.
Conclusion
/THADDEUS J PLECHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2438