DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office action in response to communications received on June 10, 2026. Claims 1-19 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections set forth in the previous Office Action except for one rejection in claim 8. This rejection is maintained and repeated herein below.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections set forth in the previous Office Action have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues (pp. 8-9 of Remarks):
However, even if, arguendo, the teachings of Stouffer and Sudan are combined, the combination fails to arrive at the combination of features including "a security means configured to block or stop an operation of the ESS in another domain separate from a network switch," "wherein the network switch is configured to control at least one of the two or more monitoring levels of the monitoring means," as recited in amended claim 1. That is, the "another domain" in which the "security means" claim 1 operates is separate and, therefore, different from the ones controlled by the "network switch."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Initially, Applicant’s argument rests on a specific interpretation of the claim language that is not explicitly recited. Applicant argues that “the ‘another domain’ in which the ‘security means’ claim 1 operates is separate and, therefore, different from the ones controlled by the ‘network switch.’” This is simply not stated in the claim. The claim merely requires the security means to block or stop operation in a domain separate from the network switch itself, not separate from every domain the network switch controls. There is no requirement in the claim for the security means to be in any particular domain, let alone a separate domain from either the monitoring means or the network switch. Secondly, even if Applicant’s interpretation was correct (which Examiner does not concede), the combination of Stouffer and Sudan do disclose the newly added limitations. Stouffer teaches multiple different security domains (section 5.1). Stouffer also teaches the control network on n separate devices (section 5.4). Stouffer further teaches a network switch controlling a domain containing a monitoring level (section 5.14 and 6.2.1.3) while blocking communication or shutting down of operation occurs in a different domain than the network switch (sections 5.1, 5.3, 5.4, 5.13, 6.2.8 and CP-2). Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Limitations “monitoring means” and “security means” in claims 1 and 10 are considered to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites in the preamble an “energy storage system (ESS) security management system:” where it appears the term “comprising” was mistakenly deleted. It is suggested the preamble be amended to “energy storage system (ESS) security management system comprising:” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 8 recites the limitations “the collected information”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stouffer et al. (“Guide to Industrial Control Systems (ICS) Security” and hereinafter referred to as Stouffer) in view of Sudan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0354234 and hereinafter referred to as Sudan).
As to claim 1, Stouffer discloses a security management system having:
a monitoring means configured to observe a state (sections 5.16, 5.17 and SI-4, Stouffer teaches monitoring industrial control systems); and
a security means configured to block or stop an operation of the system in another domain separate from a network switch in response to unauthorized access to or an abnormal state of the system (sections 5.1, 5.3, 5.4, 5.13, 6.2.8 and CP-2, Stouffer teaches stopping operation of an ICS by for example, blocking communication or shutting down, in response to either abnormal conditions or attacks involving unauthorized access. Stouffer teaches this may occur in separate domains involving network switches/gateways),
wherein the network switch is configured to control the monitoring means (sections 5.1, 5.3, 5.4, 5.13, 5.14, 5.16, 5.17, 6.2.1.3, 6.2.8 and CP-2, Stouffer teaches the network switches controlling devices.).
Stouffer does not specifically disclose an energy storage system (ESS); wherein the monitoring means comprises two or more monitoring levels having different monitoring ranges; and wherein the network switch is configured to control at least one of the two or more monitoring levels of the monitoring means (emphasis added) as claimed. However, Sudan does disclose
an energy storage system (ESS) (paragraphs [0007] and [0086], Sudan teaches an energy storage system that shuts down in response to abnormal operation);
wherein the monitoring means comprises two or more monitoring levels having different monitoring ranges; and wherein the network switch is configured to control at least one of the two or more monitoring levels of the monitoring means (paragraphs [0020], [0030], [0036], [0047] and Fig. 1, Sudan teaches a battery management system (BMS) and a control, protection and power management unit (CPPM) connected to each other and used for control and command of the power system. The BMS and CPPM monitor different aspects/ranges.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Stouffer with the teachings of Sudan for using an energy storage system (ESS) because Stouffer already discloses a system (ICS) and it is a simple substitution to replace the system of Stouffer with the ESS of Sudan to yield the predictable results of protecting an ESS.
As to claim 2, the combination of teachings between Stouffer and Sudan disclose the ESS security management system of claim 1, wherein the monitoring levels are being connected to each other via a network communication line, the monitoring levels having functions of transmitting and receiving signals or giving or enforcing commands (paragraphs [0020], [0030], [0036], [0047] and Fig. 1, Sudan teaches a battery management system (BMS) and a control, protection and power management unit (CPPM) connected to each other and used for control and command of the power system. The BMS and CPPM monitor different aspects/ranges.).
Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of the references as in claim 1 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-19 are allowed.
Claims 3-7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 recites, inter alia, “level 1 comprising a module battery management system (BMS) directly connected to a plurality of battery cells; level 2 comprising a pack BMS connected to one or more module BMSs of level 1; level 3 comprising a system BMS connected to one or more pack BMSs of level 2 and comprising a power management system (PMS) configured to control one or more of heating and cooling, load, and grid; and level 4 comprising one or more of level 3 and comprising an energy management system (EMS) configured to control one or more of an ESS and a power system in various region”. The prior art was not found to disclose the particular combination of limitations cited. Therefore, claim 3 is considered to recite allowable subject matter over the prior art. Dependent claims 4-9 are considered to recite allowable subject matter over the prior art based on their dependency.
Claim 10, inter alia, “a dual domain switch control system connected to the network communication line, the dual domain switch control system being configured to selectively block unauthorized access to or abnormal operation of at least one of the first battery management system and the second battery management system”. The prior art was not found to disclose the particular combination of limitations cited. Therefore, claim 10 is considered to recite allowable subject matter over the prior art. Dependent claims 11-19 are considered to recite allowable subject matter over the prior art based on their dependency.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THADDEUS J PLECHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2438