Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, and 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2024/0080737).
As per claim 1 Park discloses a method of a first base station (see figures 1, 10, and 14-21, paragraphs 139, 162, 172, serving satellite feeder-link to gateway, base stations 200, terminals 100) comprising: in response to a second non-terrestrial network (NTN) link being established with a terminal through a second satellite while a first NTN link is established with the terminal through a first satellite, configuring the first NTN link as a temporary low latency link (see figures 10, and 14-21, paragraphs 139,149, 150, 162, 172, 212, 217, 220, 231, 236, 261,282, 292, serving satellite serving a terminal and neighboring satellites serving terminals in SR or outside SR where measurements are triggered and reports are shared for handover, switchover, service area determinations, SMTC window increases, reselections etc. using location and delays, delays are measured, tracked and reported); obtaining first low latency link-related information for nodes of the first NTN link (see figures 10, and 14-21, paragraphs 139,149, 150, 162, 172, 212, 217, 220, 231, 236, 261,282, 292, serving satellite serving a terminal and neighboring satellites serving terminals in SR or outside SR where measurements are triggered and reports are shared for handover, switchover, service area determinations, SMTC window increases, reselections etc. using location and delays, delays are measured, tracked and reported); obtaining second low latency link-related information for nodes of the second NTN link (see figures 10, and 14-21, paragraphs 139,149, 150, 162, 172, 212, 217, 220, 231, 236, 261,282, 292, serving satellite serving a terminal and neighboring satellites serving terminals in SR or outside SR where measurements are triggered and reports are shared for handover, switchover, service area determinations, SMTC window increases, reselections etc. using location and delays, delays are measured, tracked and reported); determining a low latency link based on the first low latency link-related information and the second low latency link-related information; and transmitting information on the determined low latency link to the terminal (see figures 10, and 14-21, paragraphs 139,149, 150, 162, 172, 212, 217, 220, 231, 236, 261,282, 292, serving satellite serving a terminal and neighboring satellites serving terminals in SR or outside SR where measurements are triggered and reports are shared for handover, switchover, service area determinations, SMTC window increases, reselections etc. using location and delays) .
As per claim 2, Park discloses wherein the nodes of the first NTN link include: a first gateway directly connected to the first base station; the first satellite connected to the first gateway through a first feeder link; and the terminal connected to the first satellite through a first service link (see figure 10 and 1).
As per claim 3, Park discloses wherein the nodes of the second NTN link include: a second base station; a second gateway directly connected to the second base station; a second satellite connected to the second gateway through a second feeder link, and the terminal connected to the second satellite through a second service link (see figures 1, 10, 14-21).
As per claim 4, Park discloses transmitting information on the low latency link to the second base station (ISL, Handover, switchover information based on location and delay, see figures 10, and 14-21, paragraphs 139,149, 150, 162, 172, 212, 217, 220, 231, 236, 261,282, 292).
As per claim 6, Park discloses wherein the nodes of the second NTN link include: the first gateway directly connected to the first base station; a second satellite connected to the first gateway through a second feeder link, and the terminal connected to the second satellite through a second service link (see figures 1, 10, 14-21).
As per claim 7, Park discloses wherein the first low latency link-related information for the first NTN link includes at least one of location information of the nodes of the first NTN link or information on delays between the nodes of the first NTN link, and the second low latency link-related information for the second NTN link includes at least one of location information of the nodes of the second NTN link or information on delays between the nodes of the second NTN link (measurement reports with location and delay, see figures 10, and 14-21, paragraphs 139,149, 150, 162, 172, 212, 217, 220, 231, 236, 261,282, 292).
As per claim 8, Park discloses further comprising: re-determining the low latency link when periodic location or delay information is received from the terminal (SR are updates, window adjustments, satellite/ue movements etc., see figures 10, and 14-21, paragraphs 139,149, 150, 162, 172, 212, 217, 220, 231, 236, 261,282, 292).
As per claim 17, Park discloses first base station comprising a processor, wherein the processor causes the first base station to perform: in response to a second non-terrestrial network (NTN) link being established with a terminal through a second satellite while a first NTN link is established with the terminal through a first satellite, configuring the first NTN link as a temporary low latency link (see figures 10, and 14-21, paragraphs 139,149, 150, 162, 172, 212, 217, 220, 231, 236, 261,282, 292, serving satellite serving a terminal and neighboring satellites serving terminals in SR or outside SR where measurements are triggered and reports are shared for handover, switchover, service area determinations, SMTC window increases, reselections etc. using location and delays, delays are measured, tracked and reported); obtaining first low latency link-related information for nodes of the first NTN link; obtaining second low latency link-related information for nodes of the second NTN link; determining a low latency link based on the first low latency link-related information and the second low latency link-related information (see figures 10, and 14-21, paragraphs 139,149, 150, 162, 172, 212, 217, 220, 231, 236, 261,282, 292, serving satellite serving a terminal and neighboring satellites serving terminals in SR or outside SR where measurements are triggered and reports are shared for handover, switchover, service area determinations, SMTC window increases, reselections etc. using location and delays, delays are measured, tracked and reported); and transmitting information on the determined low latency link to the terminal (see figures 10, and 14-21, paragraphs 139,149, 150, 162, 172, 212, 217, 220, 231, 236, 261,282, 292, serving satellite serving a terminal and neighboring satellites serving terminals in SR or outside SR where measurements are triggered and reports are shared for handover, switchover, service area determinations, SMTC window increases, reselections etc. using location and delays, delays are measured, tracked and reported).
As per claim 18, Park discloses, wherein the processor further causes the first base station to perform: transmitting information on the low latency link to the second base station (ISL, Handover, switchover information based on location and delay, see figures 10, and 14-21, paragraphs 139,149, 150, 162, 172, 212, 217, 220, 231, 236, 261,282, 292).
As per claim 20, Park discloses wherein the first low latency link- related information for the first NTN link includes at least one of location information of the nodes of the first NTN link or information on delays between the nodes of the first NTN link, and the second low latency link-related information for the second NTN link includes at least one of location information of the nodes of the second NTN link or information on delays between the nodes of the second NTN link (measurement reports with location and delay, see figures 10, and 14-21, paragraphs 139,149, 150, 162, 172, 212, 217, 220, 231, 236, 261,282, 292).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-16 are allowed.
Claims 5, 9, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831