DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to application filed on 10/24/2024.
Claims 24 – 42 are pending.
Priority is claimed as 371 application of PCT/GB2023/051087 (filed on 4/25/2023), which further claims priority if provisional application 63/334311 (filed on 4/25/2022).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: audio processing system in claim 41.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because:
As per claim 40, it claimed a “program which, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to…”. software program is not a statutory category under 35 USC 101. Applicants are advise to amend the claim into ““A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing program which, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to…” to overcome this deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 – 31, 34 and 38 – 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galdy et al (US 20260034306, prior art part of IDS dated 10/27/2024, hereinafter Galdy), in view of Yurchenko et al (US 20170154123, hereinafter Yurchenko).
As per claim 24, Galdy discloses: A method for generating a dependable real-time audio processing system, the method comprising:
[obtaining] an acyclic audio processing graph; (Galdy [0061]: “the orchestrator creates a task graph based on the received request. The task graph is a directed acyclic graph (DAG) of tasks for processing the video source. A DAG is a directed graph with no directed cycles. The directed graph is formed by a collection of nodes (also referred to as vertices) and directed edges, each edge connecting one node to another, such that there is no way to start at a node and follow a sequence of edges that eventually loops back to the node. Each node of the task graph represents a processing task, and each edge represents a data flow across two processing tasks and corresponding input and output of each processing task.”)
partitioning (404-405) an acyclic audio processing graph to generate one or more isolated partial subgraphs; (Galdy [0070]: “the orchestrator revises the task graph... For example, the orchestrator may determine that a video processing task is too computationally intensive to be processed by a single worker. In the example in FIGS. 3A-B, input 1 at 380 corresponds to an input of a work flow where a single worker does not have sufficient resources to process the entire graph. Since input redundancy is important in this example, input 1 at 380 is cloned into two inputs, input 1-1 and input 2-2 at 382 and 384 respectively, where the two inputs are collocated to produce outputs to respective sets of processing tasks. Of course, the split of processing tasks for the audio, the video layers, and the publisher may also be performed in task graph revision as needed.”.)
measuring performance (412) of one or more audio processors in the isolated partial subgraphs; analyzing the measured performance (412) of the one or more audio processors to generate audio processor analysis data (413); (Galdy [0065]: “after the task graph is created, the orchestrator estimates resource requirements for each processing task represented in the task graph at reference 206.”; [0070]: “the computational resource requirements for the processing tasks may be too much for a single VM that hosts a worker being assigned the processing tasks for the channel, thus the graph may be revised to split the processing tasks into two groups.”; [0075]: “after either the task graph revision at reference 208 or the task graph split at reference 210, the orchestrator may go back to reference 206 to re-estimate the resource requirements of processing tasks as the task graph revision and split may impact workloads (e.g., storage usage, communication bandwidth usage, and computing resource consumption) associated with processing tasks.”.)
and performing at least one of: inter-subgraph scheduling (421) using the isolated partial subgraphs and the audio processor analysis data (413) to generate a per-CPU schedule (431); and intra-subgraph scheduling (422) using the isolated partial subgraphs and the audio processor analysis data (413) to generate a per-subgraph schedule (432). (Galdy [0086]: “the worker initiates one or more task running processes to execute the allocated task group. Each task running process corresponds to one processing task in the task group, where each processing task corresponds to a node of the task graph created by the orchestrator.”)
Galdy did not explicitly disclose:
wherein obtaining an acyclic audio processing graph comprises inferring (401-403) delta nodes to convert a received cyclic audio processing graph into the acyclic audio processing graph, by breaking a cyclic chain of edges in the cyclic audio processing graph;
However, Yurchenko teaches:
wherein obtaining an acyclic audio processing graph comprises inferring (401-403) delta nodes to convert a received cyclic audio processing graph into the acyclic audio processing graph, by breaking a cyclic chain of edges in the cyclic audio processing graph; (Yurchenko [0027]: “The graph transformation module 154 analyzes the directed graph to determine cycles or cyclic dependencies (e.g., where the sequence starts and ends at the same node). If one or more cyclic dependencies are found, the graph transformation module 154 transforms the directed graph from a cyclic directed graph to an acyclic directed graph. For example, in various embodiments, the graph transformation module 154 performs a depth-first search on the nodes in the graph, and searches for edges that point to an ancestor of the current node. The graph transformation module 154 determines the cyclic dependencies based on these identified edges. The graph transformation module 154 then determines which cycles to break and/or which cycles to remove. The graph transformation module 154 breaks the cycles, for example, by removing an edge of the cycle. The cycle can be broken, for example, right before the end of the cycle or at a determined point between the beginning and the end. In another example, the graph transformation module 154 removes the cycle (including each node in the cycle) from the directed graph and temporarily stores the removed cycle for later processing. The edges that are chosen to be removed first are the ones that point from the object with the highest number of edges pointing to other nodes (Objects). This helps to solve loading bottlenecks and to improve data loading performance by choosing objects with the most dependencies to be loaded first (although partially) such that they can be referenced by other objects.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yurchenko into that of Galdy in order to have the obtaining an acyclic audio processing graph comprises inferring (401-403) delta nodes to convert a received cyclic audio processing graph into the acyclic audio processing graph, by breaking a cyclic chain of edges in the cyclic audio processing graph. Yurchenko [0027] has provided a detailed reasoning supporting the combination of references by teaches the claimed limitation is a commonly used step when cyclic dependency is discovered in the cyclic graph, thus applicant have merely claimed combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
As per claim 25, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko further teach:
The method according to claim 24, the method further comprising: configuring an audio processing system according to the per-CPU schedule (431) and the per-subgraph schedule (432). (Galdy [0086])
As per claim 26, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko further teach:
The method according to claim 24, the method further comprising: adding (406-407) redundancy to one or more of the isolated partial subgraphs. (Galdy [0070] – [0072])
As per claim 27, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko further teach:
The method according to claim 26, wherein: the per-CPU schedule (431) is generated by performing inter-subgraph scheduling (421) using the isolated partial subgraphs (407) and the audio processor analysis data (413). (Galdy [0070] – [0072])
As per claim 28, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko further teach:
The method according to claim 26, wherein: the per-subgraph schedule (432) is generated by performing intra-subgraph scheduling (422) using the isolated partial subgraphs (407) and the audio processor analysis data (413). (Galdy [0086])
As per claim 29, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko further teach:
The method according to claim 24, wherein: the audio processing graph is received (401) by it being specified by a user. (Galdy [0041])
As per claim 30, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko further teach:
The method according to claim 24, wherein :the audio processing graph is received (401) by the user selecting a pre-specified audio processing graph. (Galdy [0041])
As per claim 31, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko further teach:
The method according to claim 24, wherein: the audio processing graph is received (401) from an available set of audio processor software modules. (Galdy [0041])
As per claim 34, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko further teach:
The method according to claim 24, the method further comprising: performing parallel processing of the acyclic audio processing graph. (Galdy [0076])
As per claim 38, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko further teach:
The method according to claim 24, the method further comprising: employing dual audio networks to provide a configuration comprising a primary network and a failover network. (Galdy [0070])
As per claim 39, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko further teach:
The method according to claim 38, the method further comprising: a first parallel and independent audio network (M);a second parallel and independent audio network (N);a logical host (X) configured to perform a set of processing tasks; a first parallel and independent implementation of the logical host (A);a second parallel and independent implementations of the logical host (B); and a client (C) configured to exchange data with the logical host (X) via the first and second audio networks (M, N), the client (C) being configured in a primary/secondary redundant arrangement; wherein: the first logical host (A) presents itself as the logical host (X) on the first audio network (M); and the second logical host (B) presents itself as the logical host (X) on the second audio network (N);such that if the first logical host (A) were to fail, the client (C) would assume that the first audio network (M) has failed, and fall back to the second audio network (N), wherein correct service would be restored due to the function of the second logical host (B). (Galdy figure 1 and [0006]: plurality of workers; [0081] - [0086])
As per claim 40, it is the computer program variant of claim 24 and is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 41, it is the system variant of claim 24 and is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 42, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko further teach:
The audio processing system according to claim 41, the system comprising a multi-core processor. (Galdy [00141])
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galdy and Yurchenko, in view of Snook et al (US 20230079741, hereinafter Snoop).
As per claim 32, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko did not teach:
The method according to claim 24, wherein: measuring the performance (412) and analyzing the measured performance (413) are performed before the inferring (401-403) of the delta nodes and the partitioning (404-405) of the acyclic audio processing graph.
However, Snook teaches:
The method according to claim 24, wherein: measuring the performance (412) and analyzing the measured performance (413) are performed before the inferring (401-403) of the delta nodes and the partitioning (404-405) of the acyclic audio processing graph. (Snook [0022])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Snook into that of Galdy and Yurchenko in order to measure the performance (412) and analyzing the measured performance (413) are performed before the inferring (401-403) of the delta nodes and the partitioning (404-405) of the acyclic audio processing graph. Snook [0042] has demonstrated that it would be beneficial to run the audio first to determine optimization criteria prior to performing said optimization, the combination of reference would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to seek such improvements in audio processing and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galdy and Yurchenko, in view of Leopoldseder et al (US 20190012154, hereinafter Leopoldseder).
As per claim 33, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko did not teach:
The method according to claim 24, the method further comprising: inserting one or more nodes into the acyclic audio processing graph, wherein the one or more nodes includes a sigma node, a phi node and/or a delta node.
However, Leopoldseder teaches:
The method according to claim 24, the method further comprising: inserting one or more nodes into the acyclic audio processing graph, wherein the one or more nodes includes a sigma node, a phi node and/or a delta node. (Leopoldseder [0039] – [0041])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Leopoldseder into that of Galdy and Yurchenko in order to one or more nodes into the acyclic audio processing graph, wherein the one or more nodes includes a sigma node, a phi node and/or a delta node. Leopoldseder [0039] – [0041] has shown the claimed limitations are merely commonly known steps for audio processing, thus applicant have merely claimed combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galdy and Yurchenko, in view of Moore (USPAT 6715062).
As per claim 35, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko did not teach:
The method according to claim 24, the method further comprising: performing (412-413) fault detection of the one or more audio processor by analysis of input data that is provided to the one or more audio processor and output data that is received from the one or more audio processor.
However, Moore teaches:
The method according to claim 24, the method further comprising: performing (412-413) fault detection of the one or more audio processor by analysis of input data that is provided to the one or more audio processor and output data that is received from the one or more audio processor. (Moore col 7, line 46 – col 8, line 16.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Moore into that of Galdy and Yurchenko in order to measure the performance (412) and analyzing the measured performance (413) are performed before the inferring (401-403) of the delta nodes and the partitioning (404-405) of the acyclic audio processing graph. Moore col 7, line 46 – col 8, line 16 has demonstrated that verify a processor using a test case would be advantage to ensure the processing of the audio/multimedia workload, the combination of reference would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to seek such improvements in audio processing and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galdy and Yurchenko, in view of Yang et al (US 20190012154, hereinafter Leopoldseder).
As per claim 36, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko did not teach:
The method according to claim 24, the method further comprising: performing (412-413) fault detection of the one or more audio processor by analyzing memory consumption of the one or more audio processor.
However, Yang teaches:
The method according to claim 24, the method further comprising: performing (412-413) fault detection of the one or more audio processor by analyzing memory consumption of the one or more audio processor. (Yang [0014])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yang into that of Galdy and Yurchenko in order to fault detection of the one or more audio processor by analyzing memory consumption of the one or more audio processor. Yang [0014] has demonstrated performing fault detection of the one or more audio processor by analyzing memory consumption would allow efficient ranking in the processing elements that can be used for processing the workload, the combination of reference would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to seek such improvements in audio processing and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galdy and Yurchenko, in view of Kasztenny (US 20120057266).
As per claim 37, the combination of Galdy and Yurchenko did not teach:
The method according to claim 24, the method further comprising: performing (412-413) fault detection of the one or more audio processor by setting one or more input stimulus parameters, detecting whether the one or more audio processor exhibits a fault, and recording the one or more input stimulus parameters if the fault is detected.
However, Kasztenny teaches:
The method according to claim 24, the method further comprising: performing (412-413) fault detection of the one or more audio processor by setting one or more input stimulus parameters, detecting whether the one or more audio processor exhibits a fault, and recording the one or more input stimulus parameters if the fault is detected. (Kasztenny [0019])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kasztenny into that of Galdy and Yurchenko in order to perform fault detection of the one or more audio processor by setting one or more input stimulus parameters, detecting whether the one or more audio processor exhibits a fault, and recording the one or more input stimulus parameters if the fault is detected. Kasztenny [0019] has demonstrated performing fault detection of the one or more processor by using stimulus is merely commonly known and used steps for fault detection, applicants have merely claimed the combination of known parts in the field to achieve predictable results of fault detection through using stimulus inputs and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al (US 20210406068) teaches “A stream computing method and apparatus based on directed acyclic graph (DAG) interaction is provided. A stream computing method based on DAG interaction includes the following steps: generating first DAG job stream description information according to a first DAG node graph composed of DAG nodes belonging to a first type set; converting the first DAG job stream description information into second DAG job stream description information by converting the DAG nodes belonging to the first type set into DAG nodes belonging to a second type set suitable for a FLINK engine; encapsulating the second DAG job stream description information into a DAG execution package, the DAG execution package comprising the second DAG job stream description information and an arithmetic logic of nodes associated with the second DAG job stream description information; and sending the DAG execution package to a job running cluster.”
/CHARLES M SWIFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196