DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1 and 6-11 in the reply filed on 05/19/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the prior art does disclose the claimed special technical feature of the instant application. This is not found persuasive because Toppan discloses a blank for making a cup wherein a tape (i.e. resin layer along a margin of the blank) extends from a bottom edge to the top edge (see Figures 4 and 7). Examiner notes that the claimed feature is recited in the alternative of “…wherein the edge tape extends to the top edge or ends at about 50% of the height of the rim portion”. Examiner notes that Toppan at least satisfies the former.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 05/19/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the height" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; therefore, the metes and bounds of the limitation are not readily understood.
Claims 6-11 fail to cure the deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toppan Printing (JP 2014024571 A; hereinafter Toppan).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 10, Toppan discloses a blank for forming a disposable cup comprising opposing first and second surfaces (i.e. interior and exterior surfaces); opposing first and second side edges (i.e. left and right marginal edges; see Fig. 4) opposing top and bottom edges; a rim portion (23) extending across the top edge; and an edge tape (i.e. resin layer 3d/26; Examiner considers the resin layer to extend as an edge tape) extending along the first side edge from the bottom edge toward the top edge (see Fig. 7), the edge tape folded over such that the edge tape extends along the first surface and second surface (see Fig. 9 and Par. 0029); wherein the first side edge extends such that the edge tape folds over onto itself in at least part of the rim portion; wherein the first side edge extends in a straight line from the bottom edge to the start of the rim portion and then extends at an angle from the straight line portion; and wherein the edge tape extends to the top edge (see Figures 4 and 7).
Regarding claim 6, Toppan discloses a blank for forming a disposable cup wherein at least one of the first and second surfaces comprises a coating (3a-b).
Regarding claim 7, Toppan discloses a blank for forming a disposable cup wherein the second side edge extends with a straight line from the bottom edge to the start of the rim portion and then extends at an angle (25a) from the straight line portion.
Regarding claim 9, Toppan discloses a blank for forming a disposable cup wherein the blank is rolled into a circular or conical sleeve such that the first and
second side edges overlap with the first side edge with edge tape in an inside
position (see Fig. 3); wherein the blank is sealed along at least part of the overlapping portion; wherein the rim portion is rolled or folded over to form a cup rim (see Fig. 5); and further comprising a bottom portion (30) connected at a base of the sleeve.
Regarding claim 11, Toppan discloses a blank for forming a disposable cup further comprising a lid (10) heat-sealed to the rim (see Par. 0044).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734